# New Oregon OSHA Administrative Rule Adopted March 18, 2015, Effective January 1, 2016

## Division 1, General Administrative Rules

### 437-001-0704 Reporting Fatalities and Injuries to Oregon OSHA

(1) Purpose. This rule requires employers to report certain work-related fatalities, injuries and illnesses.

Note: Reporting a work-related injury, illness, or fatality does not assign fault to anybody, does not prove the violation of an OSHA rule, and does not establish the employee's eligibility for workers' compensation or other benefits.

- (2) Scope. This standard covers all employers covered by the Oregon Safe Employment Act.
- (3) You must report fatalities and catastrophes to Oregon OSHA only in person or by telephone within 8 hours of occurrence or employer knowledge (reported to you or any of your agents) of a fatality or catastrophe:

#### (a) Fatalities

You must report all work-related fatalities. You must report all fatalities caused by a heart attack at work. Report a fatality only if death occurs within 30 days of the incident. Note: Work-related fatalities include those caused by a motor vehicle accident that happens during the employee's work shift.

#### (b) Catastrophe

A catastrophe is an incident in which two or more employees are fatally injured, or three or more employees are admitted to a hospital or an equivalent medical facility (for example, a clinic) as a result of the same incident.

(4) You must report in-patient hospitalizations, loss of an eye, and either amputations or avulsions that result in bone loss, to Oregon OSHA within 24 hours after occurrence of the work related incident or employer knowledge (reported to you or any of your agents) of the event. When an amputation, avulsion or loss of an eye involves in-patient hospitalization, you need only to make a single report.

#### (a) In-Patient Hospitalization

In-patient hospitalization is the formal admission to the in-patient service of a hospital or clinic for care or medical treatment (includes first-aid). Hospitalization for observation only is not reportable, nor is emergency room treatment. In-patient hospitalization for any reason after emergency room treatment is reportable. You must report all incidents that result in in-patient hospitalization, including heart attacks and motor vehicle accidents. Report in-patient hospitalizations only if they occur within 24 hours of the incident that caused the hospitalization.

#### (b) Loss of an eye

Report the loss of an eye only if it occurs within 24 hours of the incident that caused the loss.

#### (c) Amputations and avulsions

An amputation is the traumatic loss of a limb or other external body part, including a fingertip. Amputations include loss of a body part due to a traumatic incident, a gunshot wound, and medical amputations due to irreparable traumatic injuries.

An avulsion is the tearing away or forcible separation of any body part by trauma.

Report an amputation or avulsion only if it includes bone and/or cartilage loss.

Report an amputation or avulsion only if it occurs within 24 hours of the incident that caused the amputation or avulsion.

Note: There are additional reporting requirements for injuries relating to Mechanical Power Presses, 1910.217(g).

Oregon OSHA Office locations and telephone numbers are:

Salem Central Office 350 Winter Street NE, Room 430 Salem OR 97301-3882 (503) 378-3272 Toll Free: (800) 922-2689 Eugene 1140 Willagillespie, Suite 42 Eugene OR 97401-2101 (541) 686-7562 Medford 1840 Barnett Road, Suite D Medford OR 97504-8250 (541) 776-6030

Portland area 16760 SW Upper Boones Ferry Rd, Ste 200 Tigard OR 97224 (503) 229-5910 Bend Red Oaks Square 1230 NE Third Street, Suite A-115 Bend OR 97701-4374 (541) 388-6066 Pendleton 721 SE Third Street, Suite 306 Pendleton OR 97801-3056 (541) 276-9175

Salem 1340 Tandem Avenue NE, Suite 160 Salem OR 97309-0417 (503) 378-3274

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) and 656.726(4).

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.001 through 654.295.

Hist: OR-OSHA Admin. Order 2-2015, f. 3/18/15, ef. 1/1/16.