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OAR 437-001-0744 Rule Addressing COVID-19 Workplace Risks 

Note: Oregon OSHA’s temporary rule addressing COVID-19 in the workplace expired May 4, 

2021, 180 days after its adoption. Under the Oregon Administrative Procedures Act, a 

temporary rule cannot be renewed or extended beyond 180 days. Therefore, in order to extend 

protections for workers against COVID-19, which remains a significant concern, Oregon OSHA 

adopted this rule following the normal process for permanent rulemaking. However, the 

purpose of this rule is to address the COVID-19 pandemic in Oregon workplaces. Oregon OSHA 

will repeal the rule when it is no longer necessary to address that pandemic. Because it is not 

possible to assign a specific time for that decision, Oregon OSHA will continue to consult with 

the Oregon OSHA Partnership Committee, the Oregon Health Authority, the two Infectious 

Disease Rulemaking Advisory Committees, and other stakeholders as circumstances change to 

determine when all or part of the rule can be appropriately repealed. [The first of these 

discussions took place in June 2021, and they will continue every month until the rule has been 

repealed. In making determinations about when to repeal all or part of the rule,] Oregon OSHA 

and its stakeholders will consider indicators and other information such as (but not limited to) 

Executive Orders issued by the Governor, guidance issued by the Oregon Health Authority and 

the Centers for Disease Control, infection rates (including the rate of spread of COVID-19 

variants), test positivity rates, and vaccination rates, as well as indicators of severity such as 

hospitalizations and fatalities. 

(1) Scope and Application. 

(a) This rule applies to all employees working in places of employment 

subject to Oregon OSHA’s jurisdiction and exposed to one or more other 

individuals outside their household. For clarity and ease of reference, this 

rule refers to “COVID-19” when describing exposures or potential 

exposures to SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes Coronavirus Disease 

2019. 

(b) The requirements of section (3) [of this rule are applicable to all 

workplaces.] 
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[(c) In addition to the requirements of section (3), the requirements of 

section]and (4) of this rule are applicable to [all] exceptional [risk]risks 

workplaces. For purposes of this rule, [“]workplaces at exceptional risk[,”] 

include any setting (whether a healthcare setting or not) where an 

employee (including temporary and part-time employees) performs one or 

any combination of the following job duties: 

(A) Direct patient care;  

(B) Environmental decontamination services in a healthcare setting;  

(C) Aerosol-generating healthcare or postmortem procedures; 

(D) Direct client service in residential care or assisted living 

facilities; 

(E) Emergency first responder activities;  

(F) Personal care activities that involve very close contact with an 

individual, such as toileting or bathing; or 

(G) Handling, packaging, cleaning, processing, or transporting 

human remains or human tissue specimens or laboratory cultures 

collected from an individual known or suspected to be infected with 

COVID-19. 

Note: “Contact tracing” requirements as described in subsections (3)(l) and (4)(i) of this 

rule are not applicable for law enforcement covered in the emergency first responder 

definition of subsection (2)(e), personal care activities in (1)(c)(F), and handling, packaging, 

cleaning, processing, or transporting human remains or human tissue specimens or 

laboratory cultures in (1)(c)(G). 

Note: “Exceptional risk” does not include workers of other departments or job duties outside 

the scope and underlying definitions of (1)([c]b) of this rule. For example, employees in the 

accounting department at a hospital would be covered by the requirements applicable to all 

workplaces, while other workers at the same hospital who actually perform any of those job 

operations listed under (1)([c]b), such as direct patient care, would be subject to the 

supplementary requirements for workplaces at exceptional risk in addition to the requirements 

for all workplaces. 

(c) The requirements of section (5) of this rule are applicable to all 

workplaces not otherwise covered under the exceptional risk 

workplace requirements of section (3) and (4). 

(2) Definitions.  

(a) Aerosol-generating healthcare or postmortem procedure – means a 

medical, dental, or postmortem procedure on human patients or remains 

that is likely to result in exposure to small droplet nuclei in high 

concentration, presenting a risk for airborne transmission of COVID-19.  
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(b) Common areas – means building lobbies, reception areas, waiting 

rooms, restrooms, break rooms, eating areas, smoking areas, locker 

rooms, bathing areas, transit lounges, conference rooms, or other 

locations indoors or outdoors that multiple individuals may use or 

congregate that employers operate or control. 

(c) Decontamination of filtering facepiece respirators (FFR) – means a 

process approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) that 

reduces the number of pathogens, does not negatively affect the fit or 

filtration performance of the FFR, and presents no residual chemical 

hazard.  

(d) Direct patient care – means any employee job duties that include 

direct physical contact with a patient during the delivery of healthcare 

services. A worker performs direct patient care under the authority 

granted by a license or certification issued by federal, state, or local 

entities to provide healthcare services within the scope of practice. 

Workers may be providing direct patient care under their own licensure or 

certification, or may be providing care under the supervision of a licensed 

or certified worker. Workers involved in direct patient care include, but 

are not limited to, physicians, physician assistants, nurses, nurse 

practitioners, certified nursing aide, medical technologists, 

phlebotomists, respiratory therapists, dentists, dental hygienists, physical 

or occupational therapists, chiropractors, and other workers who 

otherwise provide in-person healthcare services. Direct patient care does 

not include customer service activities provided in retail settings that 

have embedded healthcare offices, such as retail pharmacies.  

(e) Emergency first responder activities – means those job duties that 

require an employee to be able to arrive first and provide assistance at 

the scene of an emergency, such as an accident, fire, or natural disaster. 

First responders include but are not limited to law enforcement officers, 

firefighters, emergency medical technicians, and paramedics. Emergency 

first responder activities under this rule do not include tasks where only 

first aid is provided in accordance with OAR 437-002-0161. 

(f) Employee – means any individual, including a minor whether lawfully 

or unlawfully employed, who engages to furnish services for a 

remuneration, financial or otherwise, subject to the direction and control 

of an employer; any salaried, elected and appointed official of the state, 

state agencies, counties, cities, school districts and other public 

corporations; and any individual who is provided with workers’ 

compensation coverage as a subject worker pursuant to ORS chapter 656, 

whether by operation of law or election. 
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(g) Employer – means any person who has one or more employees, any 

sole proprietor or member of a partnership who elects workers’ 

compensation coverage, or any corporation in relation to the exposure of 

its corporate officers except for corporations without workers’ 

compensation coverage under ORS 656.128 and whose only employee is 

the sole owner of the corporation, or any successor or assignee of an 

employer as described in OAR 437-001-0015.  

(h) Employment, Place of – has the meaning provided in OAR 437-001-

0015 and excludes any place where the only employment involves 

workers not covered by workers’ compensation and employed in or 

around a private home, as well as any corporate farm where the only 

employment involves the farm’s family members. 

Note: The employment of home care and home healthcare workers by a resident of the 

home in which they work is not subject to workers’ compensation (even though the 

employees receive such coverage through the Home Care Commission) and therefore 

their employment is not covered by Oregon OSHA. Such workers who are employed by 

private home health or in-home care agencies are subject to workers’ compensation and 

therefore their employment is covered by Oregon OSHA. Private homes, such as adult 

foster care homes, where the only employment is for the care and comfort of the 

residents are also not required to obtain workers’ compensation and are therefore not 

subject to Oregon OSHA unless the employer has opted to provide workers’ 

compensation coverage under ORS 656.039. 

(i) Environmental decontamination services – means the work performed 

by janitorial, custodial, maintenance, or similar employees who are 

responsible for cleaning equipment, surfaces, or other items in direct 

patient care healthcare settings. This includes routine and non-routine 

cleaning or disinfecting of high-touch surfaces as defined by this rule, 

equipment, or procedural tools that are used in patient care areas in 

healthcare settings, including those settings in which aerosol-generating 

procedures are performed. 

(j) Face covering – means a cloth, polypropylene, paper or other covering 

that covers the nose and the mouth and that rests snugly above the nose, 

below the mouth, and on the sides of the face. Coverings that incorporate 

a valve that is designed to facilitate easy exhalation or mesh masks or 

other covers with openings, holes, visible gaps in the design or material, 

or vents are not appropriate face coverings because they allow droplets 

to be released from the covering. 

(k) Face shield – means a transparent plastic shield that covers the 

wearer’s forehead, extends below the chin, and wraps around the sides of 

the face. Devices that place a shield in front of only the user’s nose and 

mouth do not meet the definition of a mask, face covering, or face shield. 
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Face shields are normally used as protection for the face and eyes and 

their use as a means of “source control” should be discouraged when 

more suitable alternatives are available, but they remain a compliant 

(although not preferred) means of “source control” in relation to COVID-

19. 

(l) Feasibility – refers to the ability of an employer to implement any 

requirement in a rule. Oregon OSHA rules never prohibit work. Whether 

feasibility is mentioned in a provision of the rule or not, if the employer 

can demonstrate that it is functionally impossible to comply or if doing so 

would prevent completion of the work, the employer need not comply, 

but must take any available reasonable alternative steps to protect the 

employees involved. 

(m) Filtering facepiece respirator – means a tight-fitting, negative 

pressure, particulate respirator, where the particulate filter is the 

facepiece itself. Such respirators are often referred to as “dust masks,” 

but dust masks that are not certified by the National Institute for 

Occupational Safety and Health are not respirators. The most common 

filtering facepiece respirators for general use are known as N95 

respirators. 

(n) Hand hygiene – means the cleaning, sanitizing, or disinfecting of 

one’s hands by using standard handwashing methods with soap and 

running water, antiseptic hand wash, antiseptic hand rub (alcohol-based 

hand sanitizer including foam or gel), or surgical hand antisepsis. 

(o) Healthcare setting – means any space at the workplace where a worker 

routinely provides direct patient care as defined by this rule or performs 

aerosol-generating healthcare or postmortem procedures. A healthcare 

setting does not include any establishment where only personal support 

services are provided or places where direct patient care is provided to a 

patient outside the healthcare setting itself.  

(p) High-touch surface – means equipment or surfaces that are handled 

frequently throughout the day by multiple individuals. High-touch 

surfaces can include, but are not limited to, countertops, tabletops, credit 

card terminals, doorknobs, door handles, digital kiosks, touch-screen 

enabled devices, light switches, handrails, elevator control panels, and 

steering wheels in work vehicles. 

(q) Individual – means any person who is present in the place of 

employment, whether an employee or not. 
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(r) Mask – means a U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) cleared 

surgical, medical procedure, dental, or isolation mask (commonly 

referred to as a “surgical mask”). Masks are medical grade masks that 

function as a physical barrier to protect workers from hazards such as 

splashes of large droplets of blood or bodily fluids; they do not provide 

reliable protection to the wearer against aerosols or airborne pathogens. 

(s) Personal protective equipment (PPE) – means specialized clothing or 

equipment worn by a worker for protection against a hazard. General 

work clothing (for example, uniforms, pants, shirts or blouses) not 

intended to function as protection against a hazard for the user is not 

considered to be PPE. 

(t) Personal support services – means the work performed by a caretaker 

or similar employee who is responsible for assisting individuals with day-

to-day living issues that are not direct patient care activities. Personal 

support services include, but are not limited to housekeeping, assisting 

with medication, personal transportation (such as taking a client to an 

appointment), and other day-to-day living activities that may occur in an 

individual’s private residence are not otherwise considered to be direct 

patient care under this rule. 

(u) Respirator – means a type of personal protective equipment that 

protects against respiratory hazards by removing specific air 

contaminants from the ambient (surrounding) air or by supplying 

breathable air from a safe source. Respirators that remove contaminants 

from the ambient air are called air-purifying respirators. Respirators that 

supply air from a safe source other than the ambient air are called 

atmosphere-supplying respirators. Masks, face coverings, and face 

shields are not respirators. 

(v) SARS-CoV-2 – refers to a specific betacoronavirus (MERS-CoV and SARS-

CoV are other betacoronaviruses) that causes what has been designated 

as Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19). 

(w) Shared equipment – means devices or tools that are used by multiple 

employees or other individuals including, but not limited to, elevators, 

computers, phones, gym or personal fitness devices, escalators, and work 

vehicles. 

(x) Source control – means the use of protective equipment or other 

measures such as face coverings to prevent the spread of illness from a 

potentially infectious person to others. A typical example of source 

control for COVID-19 is to use a mask or face covering to limit the spread 

of respiratory droplets and aerosols from the wearer to others. 
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Respirators can be used as source control in addition to providing 

protection for the wearer. 

(y) Suspected to be infected with COVID-19 – means a person who has 

signs or symptoms of COVID-19 but has not tested positive for SARS-CoV-

2 infection and no alternative diagnosis has been made consistent with 

Oregon Health Authority definitions. 

(3) COVID-19 Requirements for [All]Exceptional Risk Workplaces. Except as 

otherwise provided by this rule, the following requirements in this section (3) 

apply to [all]exceptional risk workplaces. 

(a) Physical distancing. Oregon OSHA only requires employers to 

implement physical distancing in healthcare settings [and transit settings 

in accordance with subsection (4)(k) and the appendix. Employers who 

wish to evaluate their workplaces to determine how they can keep their 

employees safe and healthy are encouraged to contact Oregon OSHA 

Consultation Services.]in accordance with subsection (4)(k). 

(b) Masks, face coverings, or face shields. [Employers with employees 

working in indoor workspaces must implement the]The specific 

requirements [of OAR 333-019-1025: Masking Requirements for Indoor 

Spaces, adopted by the Oregon Health Authority.]masks, face coverings, 

[or]and face shields [for employees at no cost to the worker. If an 

employee chooses to wear their own mask, face shield, or face covering 

instead of those provided by the employer, the employer may allow it but 

is not required to do so.] are covered under subsection (4)(l) of this 

rule. 

[(A) The employer must provide masks, face coverings, or face 

shields for employees at no cost to the worker. If an employee 

chooses to wear their own mask, face shield, or face covering 

instead of those provided by the employer, the employer may allow 

it but is not required to do so.  

(B) When an employee chooses to wear a filtering facepiece 

respirator to protect against COVID-19, the employer must allow 

that use and follow the “voluntary use” provisions of the 

Respiratory Protection Standard (29 CFR 1910.134). 

Note: An employer is not obligated to provide filtering facepiece respirators to 

employees under this section, nor are employers required to provide or allow any 

other type of respirator, unless required by another part of this rule. 
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(C) If an employee chooses to wear a mask, face shield, or face 

covering even when it is not required, the employer must allow 

them to do so. ] 

(c) Cleaning and sanitation. Except for healthcare settings, which are 

covered under subsection (4)(d) of this rule, Oregon OSHA no longer 

requires employers to regularly clean or sanitize all common areas, 

shared equipment, and high-touch surfaces as defined by this rule that 

are under its control and that are used by employees or the public. [All 

other sanitation requirements of OAR 437-001-0744(3)(c) remain in effect 

for all workplaces.] 

(A) Employers must provide employees with the supplies (such as 

soap and water) and the reasonable time necessary to clean or 

sanitize more frequently than would otherwise be required if the 

worker chooses to do so. 

(B) Employers must provide employees with the supplies (such as 

soap and water) and reasonable time necessary to perform hand 

hygiene before using shared equipment. 

[(C) Except in healthcare settings where patients known or 

suspected to be infected with COVID-19 are being treated, 

employers must clean and disinfect any common areas, high-touch-

surfaces, and any shared equipment under the employer’s control 

that an individual known to be infected with COVID-19 used or had 

direct physical contact with. If the employer learns of the exposure 

between 24 and 72 hours after the individual was last present in 

the space, only cleaning is required, not sanitation. If the employer 

learns of the exposure more than 72 hours after the individual was 

last present in the space, no exceptional cleaning or sanitation is 

required. 

Note: It is recommended that the area be closed off and a waiting period of at 

least several hours (or as long as is feasible) be followed prior to cleaning and 

disinfecting. ] 

Note: Additional sanitation requirements for exceptional risk workplaces are 

included in subsection (4)(d) of this rule. 

(d) Posting requirements. [In]For employers cover by section (3), in 

addition to posting the “It’s the Law” poster provided by Oregon OSHA in 

a conspicuous manner in a central location where workers can be 

expected to see it (for example, a location where employees report each 

day or at a location from which employees operate to carry out their 

activities), as required by OAR 437-001-0275(2)(a), employers must 
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provide employees working remotely with a copy through electronic or 

equally effective means. 

(e) Building operators. [Those employers who operate or otherwise 

control buildings where the employees of other employers work must 

take the following steps in common areas to the extent that they have 

control over such areas:]Oregon OSHA no longer requires building 

operators to take the additional steps related to sanitation and 

posting of signs.  

[(A) Ensure that the sanitation requirements under subsection (3)(c) 

of this rule are met; and  

(B) Post signs in areas where masks, face coverings, or face shields 

are required  To meet this provision, the building operator may 

post a copy of the “Masks Required,” sign developed by the Oregon 

Health Authority. ] 

(f) Routine ventilation maintenance and evaluation.[ The 

employer]Employers covered by section (3) of this rule must optimize 

the amount of outside air circulated through its existing heating, 

ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system(s), to the extent the 

system(s) can do so when operating as designed and maintaining healthy 

indoor temperatures, whenever there are employees in the workplace and 

the outdoor air quality index remains at either “good” or “moderate” 

levels.  

Note: This does not require installation of new ventilation equipment.  

Note: While not required, ventilation systems that are installed and maintained in 

accordance with the provisions of the American National Standards (ANSI)/American 

Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) Standards 

62.1 and 62.2 (ASHRAE 2019a, 2019b) meet this requirement. 

(A) All employers covered by section (3) of this rule with more 

than ten employees statewide and an existing HVAC system must 

certify in writing that they are operating that system in accordance 

with the rule, to the best of their knowledge. Although not 

required, such certifications can be made using the sample format 

provided by Oregon OSHA. 

(i) The certification must be dated and must include the 

name of the individual making the certification; and  

(ii) Such certification records must be maintained as long as 

this rule is in effect. 

(B) On a quarterly basis, all employers must ensure the following:   
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(i)  All air filters are maintained and replaced as necessary to 

ensure the proper function of the ventilation system; and 

(ii) All intake ports that provide outside air to the HVAC 

system are cleaned, maintained, and cleared of any debris 

that may affect the function and performance of the 

ventilation system.  

(g) Exposure risk assessment. All employers covered by section (3) of 

this rule must conduct a COVID-19 exposure risk assessment, without 

regard to the use of personal protective equipment, masks, face 

coverings, or face shields. A risk assessment conducted in compliance 

with the Oregon OSHA temporary COVID-19 rule adopted November 6, 

2020, satisfies this requirement and need not be repeated. If an employer 

has multiple facilities that are substantially similar, the assessment may 

be developed by facility type rather than site-by-site so long as any site-

specific information that affects employee exposure risk to COVID-19 is 

included in the assessment.  

(A) The exposure risk assessment must involve participation and 

feedback from employees. This feedback may be achieved via a 

safety meeting, safety committee, supervisor, process negotiated 

with the exclusive bargaining agent (if any), or any other similarly 

interactive process. 

(B) Each employer with more than ten employees statewide 

(including temporary and part-time workers) [or ]that is covered by 

subsection (1)([c]b) of this rule (workplaces at exceptional risk) 

must record their COVID-19 exposure risk assessment in writing by 

documenting the following information: 

(i) The name(s), job title(s), and contact information of the 

person(s) who performed the exposure risk assessment; 

(ii) The date the exposure risk assessment was completed; 

(iii) The employee job classifications that were evaluated; 

and  

(iv) A summary of the employer’s answers to each of the 

applicable exposure risk assessment questions in this 

subsection.  

(C) The risk assessment must address the following questions 

related to potential employee exposure to COVID-19 in the 

workplace: 
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(i) Can employees telework or otherwise work remotely? How 

are employees encouraged or empowered to use those 

distance work options to reduce COVID-19 transmission at 

the workplace?  

(ii) What are the anticipated working distances between 

employees? How might those physical working distances 

change during non-routine work activities? 

(iii) What is the anticipated working distance between 

employees and other individuals? How might those working 

distances change during non-routine work activities? 

(iv) How have the workplace or employee job duties, or both, 

been modified to provide at least six feet of physical 

distancing between all individuals? 

(v) How are employees and other individuals at the workplace 

notified where and when masks, face coverings, or face 

shields are required? How is this policy enforced and clearly 

communicated to employees and other individuals? 

(vi) How have employees been informed about the workplace 

policy and procedures related to reporting COVID-19 

symptoms? How might employees who are identified for 

quarantine or isolation as a result of medical removal under 

this rule be provided with an opportunity to work at home, if 

such work is available and they are well enough to do so? 

(vii) How have engineering controls such as ventilation 

(whether portable air filtration units equipped with HEPA 

filters, airborne infection isolation rooms, local exhaust 

ventilation, or general building HVAC systems) and physical 

barriers been used to minimize employee exposure to 

COVID-19? 

(viii) How have administrative controls (such as foot-traffic 

control) been used to minimize employee exposure to 

COVID-19? 

(ix) What is the procedure or policy for employees to report 

workplace hazards related to COVID-19? How are these 

hazard reporting procedures or policies communicated to 

employees? 
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(x) How are sanitation measures related to COVID-19 

implemented in the workplace? How have these sanitation 

practices been explained to employees and other individuals 

at the workplace?  

(xi) How have the industry-specific or activity-specific COVID-

19 requirements in Appendix A of this rule and applicable 

guidance from the Oregon Health Authority been 

implemented for workers? How will periodic updates to such 

Oregon Health Authority guidance documents incorporated 

into the workplace on an on-going basis?  

(xii) In settings where the workers of multiple employers 

work in the same space or share equipment or common 

areas, how are the physical distancing; mask, face covering, 

or face shield requirements; and sanitation measures 

required under this rule communicated to and coordinated 

between all employers and their affected employees? 

(xiii) How can the employer implement appropriate controls 

that provide layered protection from COVID-19 hazards and 

that minimize, to the degree possible, reliance on individual 

employee training and behavior for their efficacy? 

Note: Oregon OSHA has made a Risk Assessment template and sample Risk Assessments 

available to assist employers in completing this task. 

(h) Infection control plan. All employers covered by section (3) of this 

rule must establish and implement an infection control plan based on the 

risks identified in subsection (3)(g) of this rule that implements the 

controls identified in subparagraph (3)(g)(C)(xiii) including, but not 

limited to, ventilation, staggered shifts, redesigning the workplace to 

accommodate physical distancing, reducing use of shared surfaces and 

tools, limiting the number of employees and other individuals in work 

areas, personal protective equipment, etc. An infection control plan 

developed in compliance with the Oregon OSHA temporary COVID-19 rule 

adopted November 6, 2020, satisfies this requirement and need not be 

repeated. If an employer has multiple facilities that are substantially 

similar, its infection control plan may be developed by facility type rather 

than site-by-site so long as any site-specific information that affects 

employee exposure risk to COVID-19 is included in the plan. Employers 

may also rely upon materials developed by associations, licensing 

agencies, and franchisors to assist with compliance and provided that 

mechanisms for appropriate employee feedback and involvement are 

provided. 
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(A) Each employer with more than ten employees statewide 

(including temporary and part-time workers) and every employer, 

regardless of size, that is covered by subsection (1)([c]b) of this 

rule (workplaces at exceptional risk) must document their infection 

control plan in writing and must ensure that a copy is accessible to 

employees at their workplace. 

Note: Additional requirements related to the infection control plan, which are 

applicable only to those employers covered by subsection (1)([c]b) of this rule 

(workplaces at exceptional risk), are contained in subsection (4)(c) of this rule. 

(B) The infection control plan must contain, at a minimum, the 

following elements: 

(i) A list of all job assignments or worker tasks requiring the 

use of personal protective equipment (including respirators) 

necessary to minimize employee exposure to COVID-19;  

(ii) The procedures the employer will use to ensure that there 

is an adequate supply of masks, face coverings, or face 

shields and personal protective equipment (including 

respirators) necessary to minimize employee exposure to 

COVID-19; 

(iii) A list and description of the specific hazard control 

measures that the employer installed, implemented, or 

developed to minimize employee exposure to COVID-19; 

(iv) A description of the employer’s COVID-19 mask, face 

covering, and face shield requirements at the workplace, and 

the method of informing individuals entering the workplace 

where such source control is required; 

(v) The procedures the employer will use to communicate 

with its employees and other employers in multi-employer 

worksites regarding an employee’s exposure to an individual 

known or suspected to be infected with COVID-19 to whom 

other workers may have been exposed. This includes the 

communication to individuals identified through COVID-19 

contact tracing and general communication to the workplace 

at large; and 

(vi) The procedures the employer will use to provide its 

workers with the initial employee information and training 

required by this rule. 



14 
 

Note: Oregon OSHA has made sample Infection Control Plans available to 

assist employers in completing this task. 

(i) Employee information and training. All employers covered by section 

(3) of this rule must provide workers with information and training 

regarding COVID-19. Infection control training conducted in compliance 

with the Oregon OSHA temporary COVID-19 rule adopted November 6, 

2020, satisfies this requirement. This information and training can be 

provided remotely or using computer-based models but must be provided 

in a manner and language understood by the affected workers. Employers 

must ensure that the training provides an opportunity for feedback from 

employees about the topics covered in the training, which must include at 

least the following elements: 

(A) Physical distancing requirements as they apply to the 

employee’s workplace and job function(s); 

(B) Mask, face covering, or face shield requirements as they apply 

to the employee’s workplace and job function(s); 

(C) COVID-19 sanitation requirements as they apply to the 

employee’s workplace and job function(s); 

(D) COVID-19 signs and symptom reporting procedures that apply 

to the employee’s workplace;  

(E) COVID-19 infection notification process as required by this rule;  

(F) Medical removal as required by this rule; 

(G) The characteristics and methods of transmission of the SARS-

CoV-2 virus; 

Note: Oregon OSHA has provided training materials that can be used to complete 

this portion of the training. 

(H) The symptoms of the COVID-19 disease; 

Note: Oregon OSHA has provided training materials that can be used to complete 

this portion of the training. 

(I) The ability of pre-symptomatic and asymptomatic COVID-19 

persons to transmit the SARS-CoV-2 virus; and 

Note: Oregon OSHA has provided training materials that can be used to complete 

this portion of the training. 

(J) Safe and healthy work practices and control measures, including 

but not limited to, physical distancing, sanitation and disinfection 

practices. 
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Note: Oregon OSHA has provided training materials that can be used to complete 

this portion of the training. 

(j) COVID-19 infection notification process. [The employer]All employers 

covered by section (3) of this rule must establish and implement a 

process to notify exposed employees (those who were within six feet of a 

confirmed COVID-19 individual for a cumulative total of 15 minutes or 

more, regardless of whether one or both of them were wearing source 

control) that they had a work-related contact with an individual who has 

tested positive for COVID-19, as well as to notify affected employees 

(those who worked in the same facility or in the same well-defined 

portion of the facility such as a particular floor) that an individual who 

was present in the facility has confirmed COVID-19. This notification 

process must include the following elements:  

(A) A mechanism for notifying both exposed and affected 

employees within 24 hours of the employer being made aware that 

an individual with COVID-19 was present in the workplace while 

infectious or otherwise may have had work-related contact with its 

employee(s) while infectious; and 

(B) This notification process must be established and implemented 

in accordance with all applicable federal and Oregon laws and 

regulations. 

Note: Employers can satisfy this requirement by adopting the model procedure 

published by Oregon OSHA. 

Note: The reporting of COVID-19 cases is required under existing Oregon Health 

Authority rules regarding reporting of disease cases. OAR 333-018-0016 requires such 

cases to be reported by healthcare providers and laboratories within 24 hours of 

identification.  

Note: Whenever an exposure notification as described by this rule is provided in writing, 

the notification may be subject to the existing requirements of Oregon OSHA’s Access to 

Employee Exposure and Medical Records standard (29 CFR 1910.1020). 

(k) COVID-19 testing for workers. The employer must cooperate by 

making its employees and appropriate space available at no cost to the 

workers whenever a local public health agency or Oregon Health 

Authority indicate that COVID-19 diagnostic testing within the workplace 

is necessary. If such testing is conducted at the employer’s own direction, 

the employer is responsible for covering the costs of testing including 

but not limited to the COVID-19 test itself, employee time, and employee 

travel. However, if the employer is not requesting the test, the employer 

is not expected to cover the direct cost of such testing or of any involved 

employee travel. 
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(l) Medical removal. Whenever the Oregon Health Authority, local public 

health agency, or medical provider recommends an employee be 

restricted from work due to quarantine or isolation for COVID-19, such as 

through identification during contact tracing activities, the affected 

worker(s) must be directed to isolate at home and away from other non-

quarantined individuals. 

Note: There are additional medical removal provisions for healthcare settings in 

subsection (4)(j) of this rule.  

Note: Other than the obligation to provide such direction and to remove such employees 

from the workplace, the employer has no obligation to enforce the employee’s 

quarantine or isolation. 

Note: “Contact tracing” requirements as described in subsections (3)(l) and (4)(i) of 

this rule are not applicable for law enforcement covered in the emergency first 

responder definition of subsection (2)(e), personal care activities in (1)(c)(F), and 

handling, packaging, cleaning, processing, or transporting human remains or 

human tissue specimens or laboratory cultures in (1)(c)(G). 

(A) Whenever an employee participates in quarantine or isolation 

for COVID-19, the employer must allow the affected employee(s) to 

work at home if suitable work is available and the employee’s 

condition does not prevent it.  

(B) Whenever an employee participates in quarantine or isolation, 

whether as a result of the requirements of this rule or because the 

employer chooses to take additional precautions, the affected 

worker(s) must be notified that they are entitled to return to their 

previous job duties if still available without any adverse action as a 

result of participation in COVID-19 quarantine or isolation 

activities. The employee must be advised in writing of the right to 

return as described and should be provided any relevant 

information about the employer’s paid time off, sick leave, or any 

other available benefits in accordance with local, state, or federal 

law. 

Note: The prohibition on “adverse action” does not require the employer to keep 

a job available that would not otherwise have been available had the employee 

not been quarantined or isolated, but it does mean that the employer cannot fill 

the job with another employee and thereby make it unavailable. 

(C) Decisions regarding testing and return to work after an 

employee participates in COVID-19 quarantine or isolation activities 

must be made in accordance with applicable public health guidance 

and must be otherwise consistent with guidance from the 

employee’s medical provider. 
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Note: This provision does not require a negative COVID-19 test or a separate 

contact with the medical provider. 

Note: Employees are protected from discrimination or retaliation under ORS 

654.062(5). This includes protections for actions against employees for 

opposing any practice forbidden under the Oregon Safe Employment Act and 

related statutes and rules (including this rule for COVID-19), making a complaint 

or causing any proceeding to be instituted under the Oregon Safe Employment 

Act, or exercising any rights under the law, including those conferred by this 

Rule Addressing COVID-19 Workplace Risks (OAR 437-001-0744). 

Note: Notwithstanding the language of OAR 437-001-0700(10), employers do 

not need to record such “medical removal” cases on their OSHA 300 log(s) simply 

because the medical removal required by this rule occurred. Cases must be 

recorded only if the infection of a worker is determined to be “work-related” in 

accordance with OAR 437-001-0700. 

(m) Mandatory [appendices]appendix. Employers covered by [one or 

more of] the mandatory industry-specific requirements for Emergency 

Medical Services: First Responders, Firefighters, Emergency Medical 

Services and [activity-specific appendices that make up Appendix A of 

this rule]Non-Emergency Medical Transport must comply with [those 

appendices.]this appendix. To the degree [an]the appendix provides 

specific guidance regarding an issue addressed by this rule, it supersedes 

the general requirements of this rule. To the degree a situation is not 

addressed by the specific language of [an]the appendix, the requirements 

of this rule apply as written.[ Appendix A contains the following: 

A-1: No Longer Required – Restaurants, Bars, Brewpubs and Public 

Tasting Rooms at Breweries, Wineries and Distilleries  

A-2: No Longer Required – Retail Stores 

A-3: Personal Services Providers 

A-4: No Longer Required – Construction Operations 

A-5: Transit Agencies 

A-6: No Longer Required – Professional, Division 1, Pac-12, West Coast 

Conference and Big Sky Conference Sports   

A-7: No Longer Required – Employers Operating Fitness-Related 

Organizations  

A-8: K-12 Educational Institutions (Public or Private)  

A-9: Employers Operating Child Care and Early Education Programs  

A-10: Veterinary Clinics 
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A-11: Emergency Medical Services: First Responders, Firefighters, 

Emergency Medical Services and Non-Emergency Medical Transport   

A-12: Law Enforcement Activities 

A-13:Jails, Prisons, and Other Custodial Institutions] 

(4) Additional COVID-19 Requirements for Workplaces at Exceptional Risk. 

Workplaces identified by subsection (1)([c]b) of this rule must adhere to the 

following specific provisions and additional requirements.  

(a) Infection control training. In addition to the employee information and 

training requirements for all workplaces under subsection (3)(i) of this 

rule, employers of workplaces at exceptional risk must provide infection 

control training that includes the following provisions: 

(A) The training is overseen or conducted by a person 

knowledgeable in the covered subject matter as it relates to the 

employee’s job duties;  

(B) The training material is appropriate in content and vocabulary to 

the education, literacy, and language of the affected workers; and 

(C) The training provides an opportunity for interactive questions 

and answers (must be “live” in order to allow immediate response 

and further clarification but need not be in person) with a person 

knowledgeable in the training program’s subject matter and basic 

epidemiology as it relates to the workplace and employee job 

duties. 

(b) Infection control training for employees required under this 

subsection must include the following elements: 

(A) An explanation of this rule and its applicable appendices and 

provisions;  

(B) An explanation of contact, droplet, and airborne modes of 

transmission of COVID-19, including how workers can recognize 

hazardous work activities that may involve exposure to COVID-19 

and how employees can take precautionary measures to minimize 

their exposure; 

(C) An explanation of the basic risk factors associated with COVID-

19 transmission including, but not limited to, behavioral risk 

factors (this may include non-work activities that are higher-risk 

activities such as attending large social gatherings); physiological 
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risk factors; demographic risk factors; and environmental risk 

factors; 

(D) An explanation of the employer’s COVID-19 exposure risk 

assessment required by this rule and which employee job 

classifications, tasks, or job duties were considered as part of that 

risk assessment;  

(E) An explanation of the employer’s physical distancing; mask, 

face covering, and face shield requirements; and COVID-19 

sanitation requirements at the workplace. Where applicable, this 

information must include any multi-employer worksite agreements 

related to the use of common areas and shared equipment that 

affect employees at the workplace;  

(F) Information on the types, use, storage, removal, handling, and 

maintenance of masks, face coverings, face shields and personal 

protective equipment (including respirators) provided to employees 

by the employer; and 

(G) An explanation of the use and limitation of COVID-19 hazard 

control measures implemented or installed by the employer. 

Hazard control measures include engineering, administrative, or 

work practice controls that eliminate or otherwise minimize 

employee exposure to COVID-19.  

(c) Additional infection control plan requirements. In addition to the 

infection control plan requirements for all workplaces, each employer 

covered by section (4) of this rule must provide the following in its 

infection control plan: 

(A) The name(s) of the person responsible for administering the 

plan. This person must be knowledgeable in infection control 

principles and practices as they apply to the workplace and 

employee job operations; and 

(B) The plan must be reevaluated as frequently as necessary to 

reflect changes in the facility, employee job duties, new 

technologies, or workplace policies established by the employer 

that affect worker exposure to COVID-19 or in response to updated 

guidance published by the Oregon Health Authority (including 

increases in COVID-19 community spread) that is applicable to the 

employer’s workplace. This reevaluation and update of the 

infection plan must include feedback from non-managerial, front-

line employees who perform activities that reflect the employer’s 
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exceptional risk under this rule. This feedback is not required from 

all employees and may be achieved via a safety meeting, safety 

committee, supervisor, process negotiated with the exclusive 

bargaining agent (if any), or any other similarly interactive process.  

(C) Healthcare employers must develop and implement a written 

personal protective equipment (PPE) supply and crisis management 

plan in accordance with [Oregon Health Authority and Oregon 

OSHA Interim Guidance: Use of]CDC’s Optimizing Personal 

Protective Equipment [by Healthcare Personnel in Resource 

Constrained Settings](PPE) Supplies During the COVID-19 

Pandemic. 

(d) Additional sanitation requirements. Use appropriate sanitation 

measures in addition to the requirements of subsection (3)(c) of this rule 

to reduce the risk of COVID-19 transmission. Each employer must: 

(A) Develop and implement procedures for routine cleaning and 

disinfection that are appropriate for SARS-CoV-2 in healthcare 

settings, including those patient-care areas in which aerosol-

generating procedures are performed (for example, using cleaners 

and EPA-registered, hospital-grade disinfectants for frequently 

touched surfaces or objects in accordance with manufacturer 

instructions and contact time specifications). Refer to List N on the 

EPA website for EPA-registered disinfectants that have qualified 

under EPA's emerging viral pathogens program for use against 

SARS-CoV-2; and 

(B) Follow standard practices for disinfection and sterilization of 

medical devices contaminated with COVID-19, as described in the 

CDC Guideline for Disinfection and Sterilization in Healthcare 

Facilities, 2008. 

(e) Healthcare personal protective equipment. Depending on the 

requirements of the procedure (for example, aerosol generating 

procedures) in question and the disease status of the involved patient(s), 

employers must use a combination of standard precautions, contact 

precautions, droplet precautions, airborne precautions, and eye 

protection (for examples, goggles, face shields) to protect healthcare 

workers with exposure or potential exposure to COVID-19. 

(A) When an employee performs an aerosol-generating healthcare 

or post-mortem procedure for a patient without evidence of COVID-

19 infection, the employer must provide PPE in accordance with 

CDC’s [Interim Infection Prevention and Control Recommendations 
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for Healthcare Personnel]Optimizing Personal Protective 

Equipment (PPE) Supplies During the [Coronavirus Disease 2019] 

[(]COVID-19[)] Pandemic. Oregon OSHA recognizes that risk of 

infection in asymptomatic patients can vary based on clinical 

presentation, level of COVID-19 transmission in the community, 

recent COVID-19 testing results, and other factors. These factors 

must be considered in clinical judgment by healthcare personnel 

involved in direct patient care and medical examiners in making 

decisions about use of transmission-based precautions. 

(B) Whenever an employee provides direct patient care for a patient 

known or suspected to be infected with COVID-19, the employer 

must provide the affected worker with gloves, a gown, eye 

protection (goggles or face shield), and either a NIOSH-approved 

respirator or a respirator with a current emergency use 

authorization by the United States Food and Drug Administration 

(FDA). If the employer can demonstrate that the availability of 

respirators is genuinely limited, the employer must ensure that a 

medical-grade mask is used in place of the respirator. 

Note: If PPE availability is genuinely limited, a procedure cannot be deferred, and 

appropriate, good-faith efforts are made by the employer to ensure the safety 

and protection of the healthcare workers, Oregon OSHA will evaluate the 

situation based on PPE availability and the employer’s adherence to [guidance 

outlined in the Oregon Health Authority and Oregon OSHA Interim Guidance: Use 

of]CDC’s Optimizing Personal Protective Equipment [by Healthcare Personnel in 

Resource Constrained Settings](PPE) Supplies During the COVID-19 Pandemic. 

(C) In lieu of (A) and (B) above, and if PPE availability is limited, such 

employers may follow [Oregon Health Authority-Oregon OSHA 

Interim Guidance: Use of]CDC’s Optimizing Personal Protective 

Equipment [by Healthcare Personnel in Resource Constrained 

Settings](PPE) Supplies During the COVID-19 Pandemic. 

Note: The CDC does not have a comprehensive list of AGPs in a healthcare 

setting. Employers should refer [to Clinical Care, and Healthcare Infection 

Prevention and Control Guidance for COVID-19.]the AGP list maintained by 

Oregon Health Authority.  

(f) Heightened risk ventilation requirements. In addition to the ventilation 

provisions of subsection (3)(f) of this rule (including any applicable 

certification provisions), certain heightened risk facilities must meet the 

following requirements to the degree that they are under the employer’s 

control: 

(A) Existing ventilation systems in hospitals, ambulatory surgical 

centers, and long-term care facilities that provide skilled or 
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intermediate level nursing care must be operated, when possible, 

in accordance with local building codes and applicable provisions 

of the American National Standards Institute (ANSI)/American 

Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers 

(ASHRAE) Standards 62.1 and 62.2 (ASHRAE 2019a, 2019b), which 

include requirements for outdoor air ventilation in most residential 

and nonresidential spaces, and ANSI/ASHRAE/ASHE Standard 170 

(ASHRAE 2017a) covers both outdoor and total air ventilation in 

healthcare facilities. 

Note: This does not require installation of new ventilation equipment. 

(B) Existing ventilation systems in other healthcare facilities must 

be upgraded to a minimum MERV 13 rating, provided that such an 

upgrade will result in no significant performance reduction of the 

system. 

Note: This does not require installation of new ventilation equipment. 

(g) Barriers, partitions, and airborne infection isolation rooms in 

healthcare settings. The employer must employ the following measures 

to protect healthcare employees, support workers, patients, and visitors 

from individuals known or suspected to be infected with COVID-19: 

(A) When available, use airborne infection isolation rooms (AIIRs) 

with proper ventilation to house patients known or suspected to be 

infected with COVID-19; 

(B) Patients known or suspected of being infected with COVID-19 

must don a face covering and be isolated in an examination room 

with the door closed. If an examination room is not immediately 

available, such patients must not be allowed to wait within six feet 

of other patients seeking care and should be encouraged to wait in 

a personal vehicle or outside the healthcare setting where they can 

be contacted by mobile device when it is their turn to be evaluated. 

During a medical emergency, all measures may not be feasible, but 

must be implemented in whole or in part as the patient’s condition 

and necessary medical care allow. If a patient cannot tolerate any 

form of face covering due to a medical condition, strict physical 

distancing and appropriate PPE must be used to protect patients 

and workers, respectively;  

(C) Use physical barriers or partitions in triage areas to guide 

patients when appropriate; and 

(D) Use curtains to separate patients in semi-private areas.  
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(h) Screening in healthcare settings. The employer must screen and triage 

all individuals entering its healthcare setting for symptoms of COVID-19. 

[Although screening for symptoms may not identify asymptomatic or pre-

symptomatic individuals with SARS-CoV-2 infection, symptom screening 

remains an important strategy to identify those who may have COVID-19 

so appropriate precautions can be implemented. At a minimum, each 

employer must: 

(A) Limit and monitor points of entry to the healthcare setting 

where direct patient care, or aerosol-generating healthcare or 

postmortem procedures are performed by workers. Consideration 

must be given to establishing stations at the healthcare setting 

entrance to screen individuals before they enter;  

(B) Screen all individuals and employees (other than emergency 

responders entering with a patient) entering the healthcare setting 

for symptoms consistent with COVID-19. This can be achieved by 

asking the affected individual about symptoms of COVID-19 and 

asking if they have been advised to self-quarantine because of 

exposure to someone with COVID-19 or if they have been told to 

isolate after testing positive for COVID-19; and 

(C) Develop a triage and screening protocol that isolates patients 

known or suspected to be infected with COVID-19 from other non-

COVID-19 patients; procedures for transporting patients known or 

suspected to be infected with COVID-19 within the facility and 

between facilities as applicable; implementation of temporary air 

infection isolation rooms (AIIRs) as available.] 

Note: Oregon OSHA highly recommends utilizing the CDC Facilities COVID-19 

Screening tool. The CDC has a screening tool available at: 

https://www.cdc.gov/screening/index.html 

 

(i) Exposure notification process in certain healthcare settings. The only 

exceptions to the notification requirements of subsection (3)(j) of this 

rule are in healthcare settings where patients are hospitalized on the 

basis that they are known or suspected to be infected with COVID-19 and 

in healthcare settings where contact tracing has become infeasible, based 

upon guidance from the Oregon Health Authority and the Centers for 

Disease Control regarding such scenarios and the implementation of 

universal PPE recommendations addressing both identified and 

unidentified risks. 

Note: The term “settings where patients are hospitalized on the basis that they are 

known or suspected to be infected,” is intended to be narrowly construed and applies 

only to those situations where patients are receiving health services primarily related to 

COVID-19 and where all workers are aware of that potential exposure. For example, 

https://www.cdc.gov/screening/index.html
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patient care related to labor and delivery in a hospital that is also caring for COVID-19 

patients is not subject to this exclusion. 

Note: “Contact tracing” requirements as described in subsections (3)(l) and (4)(i) of 

this rule are not applicable for law enforcement covered in the emergency first 

responder definition of subsection (2)(e), personal care activities in (1)(c)(F), and 

handling, packaging, cleaning, processing, or transporting human remains or 

human tissue specimens or laboratory cultures in (1)(c)(G). 

(j) Medical removal provisions in healthcare settings. The only exception 

to the quarantine and isolation provisions of subsection (3)(l) of this rule 

exists when a healthcare provider, emergency responder, or other worker 

who would otherwise be quarantined or isolated remains on the job 

under Oregon Health Authority guidelines. 

(k) Physical distancing. All healthcare employers must ensure that both 

work activities and workflow are designed to eliminate the need for any 

employee to be within six feet of another individual in order to fulfill their 

job duties unless the employer determines and can demonstrate that 

such physical distancing is not feasible for certain activities. 

(l) Mask, face covering, or face shield requirements.  

(A) Healthcare employers must ensure that all individuals in the 

workplace wear a mask, face covering, or face shield:  

(i) When working inside where six feet of distance between 

employees and other individuals cannot be consistently 

maintained, or  

(ii) When an employee shares a room with one or more other 

individuals and the total enclosed area of the room does not 

provide at least 100 square feet per person.  

(B) Masks, face coverings, or face shields are not required if the 

individual: 

(i) Is under 5 years of age (or is under 2 years of age and 

using public transportation or in transportation hubs), 

(ii) Is eating or drinking, 

(iii) Is engaged in an activity that makes wearing a mask, face 

covering or face shield not feasible, such as when taking a 

shower, 

(iv) Is sleeping, 
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(v) Is in a room or vehicle shared only with members of the 

same household, or 

(vi) Is required to briefly remove their mask, face covering, or 

face shield because their identity needs to be confirmed by 

visual comparison, such as at the bank or if interacting with 

law enforcement. During such instances, individuals should 

limit speaking while the mask, face covering, or face shield is 

removed or displaced. 

Note: While reasonable accommodation for those unable to wear a mask, 

face covering, or face shield due to a disability must be provided under 

applicable state law (ORS 659A.103 to 659A.145) and federal law (42 

U.S.C. Chapter 126), such an accommodation does not include simply 

exempting individuals from the requirement to wear masks, face 

coverings, or face shields in public spaces or places of employment. 

(C) The employer must provide masks, face coverings, or face 

shields for employees at no cost to the worker. If an employee 

chooses to wear their own mask, face shield, or face covering 

instead of those provided by the employer, the employer may allow 

it but is not required to do so.  

(D) When an employee chooses to wear a filtering facepiece 

respirator instead of a mask, face covering, or face shield, the 

employer must allow that use and follow the “voluntary use” 

provisions of the Respiratory Protection Standard (29 CFR 

1910.134). 

Note: An employer is not obligated to provide filtering facepiece respirators to 

employees under this section, nor are employers required to provide or allow any 

other type of respirator, unless required by another part of this rule. 

(E) If an employee chooses to wear a mask, face shield, or face 

covering even when it is not required, the employer must allow 

them to do so. 

(m) Medical removal protection benefits. Medical removal protection 

benefits as described by this subsection must be provided whenever 

employees covered by this subsection are unable to work due to the 

medical removal provisions outlined under subsections (3)(l) and (4)(j) of 

this rule. 

(A) Except as otherwise provided by paragraph (4)(m)(B), medical 

removal protection benefits as outlined under paragraph (4)(m)(C) 

apply to all employees engaged in direct patient care or in direct 

support of such care, including patient intake or admission, patient 

food services, equipment and facility maintenance, housekeeping 
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services, healthcare laundry services, medical waste handling 

services, and medical equipment cleaning or reprocessing services. 

This provision does not apply to office or administrative functions 

that do not involve contact with patients or patient care spaces, 

such as bookkeeping, payroll, or accounting services. 

(B) The medical removal protection benefits of this subsection do 

not apply to the following: 

(i) Employers with 10 or fewer employees, 

(ii) Employees whose COVID-19 illness or quarantine cannot 

reasonably have resulted from a workplace exposure, 

(iii) Individuals who are not in compliance with Oregon Health 

Authority COVID-19 vaccination requirements, without regard 

to the effective date of those requirements, 

(iv) The provision of first aid by an employee who is not 

otherwise a healthcare provider, 

(v) The dispensing of prescriptions by pharmacists in retail 

settings, 

(vi) Non-hospital ambulatory care settings where all non-

employees are screened prior to entry and individuals with 

suspected or confirmed COVID-19 are not permitted to enter 

those settings, 

(vii) Well-defined ambulatory care settings within hospitals 

where all employees are fully vaccinated and all non-

employees are screened prior to entry and people with 

suspected or confirmed COVID-19 are not permitted to enter 

those settings, 

(viii) Home healthcare settings where all employees are fully 

vaccinated and all non-employees are screened prior to entry 

and people with suspected or confirmed COVID-19 are not 

present, 

(ix) Healthcare support services not performed in a 

healthcare setting (for example, off-site laundry, off-site food 

preparation), or 

(x) Telehealth services performed outside of a setting where 

direct patient care occurs. 

(C) When an employee subject to this subsection is subject to 

medical removal as required by the rule and the required isolation 

or quarantine prevents the employee from working, the following 

medical removal protection benefits must be provided: 
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(i) The employer must continue to provide the benefits to 

which the employee would normally be entitled when 

working; 

(ii) For employers with 500 or more employees, the employer 

must pay the employee the same regular (non-overtime) pay 

the employee would have received had the employee not 

been absent from work, up to a maximum of $1,400 per 

week, until the employee is able to return to work as 

described in subsection (3)(l) of this rule; 

(iii) For employers with fewer than 500 employees, the 

employer must pay the employee benefit described in 

subparagraph (4)(m)(C)(ii) of this rule, but beginning in the 

third week of an employee’s removal, the employer is 

permitted to reduce the amount to only two-thirds of the 

same regular pay the employee would have received had the 

employee not been absent from work, up to $200 per day 

($1,000 per week in most cases). 

(D) The employer’s obligation under paragraph (4)(m)(C) of this rule 

is reduced by the amount of compensation for lost earnings that 

the employee receives from any other source, such as a publicly or 

employer-funded compensation program (for example, workers 

compensation, paid sick leave, administrative leave, or other 

employer-provided leave that does not carry a cash value). The 

employer cannot take such benefits into account until they have 

actually been received by the employee. 

(5) COVID-19 Requirements for all workplaces not covered under 

exceptional risk workplaces section (3) and (4), as defined in section 1(b).  

(a) Masks, face coverings, and face shields.  

(A) The employer must provide masks, face coverings, or face 

shields for employees at no cost to the worker. If an employee 

chooses to wear their own mask, face covering, or face shield 

instead of those provided by the employer, the employer may 

allow it but is not required to do so.  

(B) When an employee chooses to wear a filtering facepiece 

respirator to protect against COVID-19, the employer must 

allow that use and follow the “voluntary use” provisions of the 

Respiratory Protection Standard (29 CFR 1910.134). 

Note: An employer is not obligated to provide filtering facepiece respirators 

to employees under this section, nor are employers required to provide or 

allow any other type of respirator, unless required by another part of this 

rule. 
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(C) When an employee chooses to wear a mask, face covering, 

or face shield even when it is not required, the employer must 

allow them to do so.  

Note: Employees are protected from discrimination or retaliation under ORS 

654.062(5). This includes protections for actions against employees for 

opposing any practice forbidden under the Oregon Safe Employment Act 

and related statutes and rules (including this rule for COVID-19), making a 

complaint or causing any proceeding to be instituted under the Oregon Safe 

Employment Act, or exercising any rights under the law, including those 

conferred by this Rule Addressing COVID-19 Workplace Risks (OAR 437-001-

0744). 

(b) COVID-19 testing for workers. If COVID-19 testing is conducted at 

the employer’s own direction, the employer is responsible for 

covering the costs of testing including but not limited to the COVID-

19 test itself, employee time, and employee travel. However, if the 

employer is not requesting the test, the employer is not expected to 

cover the direct cost of such testing or of any involved employee 

travel. 

(c) Routine ventilation maintenance and evaluation. Employers 

covered by section (5) of this rule, should optimize the amount of 

outside air circulated through its existing heating, ventilation, and air 

conditioning (HVAC) system(s), in accordance of subsection (3)(f).    

(d) COVID-19 infection notification process. The employers covered 

by this section (5) of this rule, should establish and implement a 

process to notify exposed employees (those who were within six feet 

of a confirmed COVID-19 individual for a cumulative total of 15 

minutes or more, regardless of whether one or both of them were 

wearing source control) that they had a work-related contact with an 

individual who has tested positive for COVID-19, as well as to notify 

affected employees (those who worked in the same facility or in the 

same well-defined portion of the facility such as a particular floor) 

that an individual who was present in the facility has confirmed 

COVID-19. This notification process should include the following 

elements:  

(A) A mechanism for notifying both exposed and affected 

employees within 24 hours of the employer being made aware 

that an individual with COVID-19 was present in the workplace 

while infectious or otherwise may have had work-related 

contact with its employee(s) while infectious; and 
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(B) This notification process should be established and 

implemented in accordance with all applicable federal and 

Oregon laws and regulations. 

Note: Employers may use the model procedure published by Oregon OSHA. 

Note: The reporting of COVID-19 cases is required under existing Oregon 

Health Authority rules regarding reporting of disease cases. OAR 333-018-

0016 requires such cases to be reported by healthcare providers and 

laboratories within 24 hours of identification.  

Note: Whenever an exposure notification as described by this rule is 

provided in writing, the notification may be subject to the existing 

requirements of Oregon OSHA’s Access to Employee Exposure and Medical 

Records standard (29 CFR 1910.1020). 

(e) Medical removal. Employers covered by section (5) of this rule 

should follow Oregon Health Authority, public heath, or medical 

provider recommendations for isolation or quarantine of employees 

for COVID-19.  

 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2), 654.025(3)(a), ORS 654.035 and 656.726(4). 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.001 to 654.295. 

Hist: OR OSHA Admin. Order 3-2020, f. 11/6/20, ef. 11/16/20  

OR OSHA Admin. Order 4-2020, f. 12/11/20, ef. 12/11/20. 

OR OSHA Admin. Order 2-2021, f. 5/4/21, ef. 5/4/21. 

OR OSHA Admin. Order 5-2021, f. 6/30/21, ef. 6/30/21. 

OR OSHA Admin. Order 10-2021, f. 8/13/21, ef. 8/13/21. 

OR OSHA Admin. Order 12-2021, f. 9/14/21, ef. 9/16/21  

OR-OSHA Admin. Order 14-2021, f. 12/21/21, ef. 12/21/21 

OR-OSHA Admin Order 1-2022, f. 3/18/22, ef. 3/18/22 

OR-OSHA Admin Order X--XXXX, f. XX/XX/XXXX, ef. XX/XX/XXXX 

 

 

 

OAR 437-001-0744 

Rule Addressing COVID-19 Workplace Risks 

[Appendix A - Mandatory Workplace Guidance For Industry-

Specific And Activity-Specific Situations 

A-1: No Longer Required – Restaurants, Bars, Brewpubs, and Public Tasting 

Rooms at Breweries, Wineries, and Distilleries  

A-2: No Longer Required – Retail Stores 

A-3: Personal Services Providers 

A-4: No Longer Required – Construction Operations 
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A-5: Transit Agencies 

A-6: No Longer Required – Professional, Division 1, Pac-12, West Coast 

Conference and Big Sky Conference Sports   

A-7: No Longer Required – Employers Operating Fitness-Related Organizations 

A-8: K-12 Educational Institutions (Public or Private)  

A-9: Employers Operating Child Care and Early Education Programs 

A-10: Veterinary Clinics 

A-11: Emergency Medical Services: First Responders, Firefighters, Emergency 

Medical Services and Non-Emergency Medical Transport  

A-12: Law Enforcement Activities 

A-13: Jails, Prisons, and Other Custodial Institutions 

A-1: No Longer Required – Restaurants, Bars, Brewpubs, and Public 

Tasting Rooms at Breweries, Wineries, and Distilleries 

This guidance is no longer required. 

A-2: No Longer Required – Retail Stores 

This guidance is no longer required. 

A-3: Personal Services Providers 

 Application: This appendix applies to employers operating barber shops, hair 

salons, esthetician practices, medical spas, facial spas and day spas, non-

medical massage therapy services, nail salons, tanning salons, and 

tattoo/piercing parlors. To the degree this appendix provides specific 

guidance, it supersedes the requirements of the Rule Addressing COVID-19 

Workplace Risks (OAR 437-001-0744); to the degree a situation is not 

addressed by the specific language of this appendix, the requirements of the 

rule apply. 

A. Masks, Face Coverings, and Face Shields. To reduce the risk of 

transmission from potentially infected individuals, employers of personal 

services providers must implement the requirements of OAR 437-001-0744 

subsection (3)(b) of this rule, except as otherwise provided by this appendix. 

1. Allow clients to remove the face covering when appropriate to or 

necessary for certain services; for example, a client does not need to 

wear a face covering when face-down on a massage table. And some 

services, such as mustache or beard trims, may require the cloth, paper 

or disposable face covering to be temporarily removed; and 
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2. Allow employees to wear medical grade masks if they choose to do so 

when providing services. 

A-4: No Longer Required – Construction Operations 

This guidance is no longer required. 

A-5: Transit Agencies 

Application: This appendix applies to public transit agencies and providers 

statewide. To the degree this appendix provides specific guidance, it 

supplements, but does not replace, the requirements of the Rule Addressing 

COVID-19 Workplace Risks (OAR 437-001-0744). 

 Note: This appendix is consistent with existing Oregon Health Authority statewide guidance 

as it relates to the protection of workers in such establishments. However, Oregon Health 

Authority guidance may also contain public health provisions that are not reflected by this 

document. Employers engaged in such activity need to be aware of and comply with those 

public health requirements as well as with this appendix.  

A. Physical Distancing Measures. Transit agencies must take the following 

specific steps: 

1. Require at least six feet of physical distance between the driver and 

passengers (except during boarding and when assisting those with 

mobility devices), cordoning off seats as necessary to reinforce this 

requirement; 

2. Use physical partitions or visual cues (for example, floor decals, colored 

tape, or signs) to discourage passengers from standing or sitting within 

six feet of drivers and other transit employees on the bus or train; 

3. Determine and post maximum occupancy for each bus; and 

4. For rail systems, make verbal announcements about maximum 

occupancy before and after each stop. 

B.  Masks, Face Coverings, and Face Shields. To reduce the risk of 

transmission from potentially infected individuals, transit employers must 

ensure that any employees exposed to individuals without facial coverings 

are provided appropriate NIOSH-approved respiratory protection (including 

N95 respirators or better) in accordance with the rule.  

C. Signage. To reinforce the need to minimize COVID-19 risks, transit agencies 

must do the following: 

1. Post clear signs listing COVID-19 symptoms, asking employees and 

visitors with symptoms to stay home and telling them whom to contact 

if they need assistance; 
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2. Use clear signs to encourage physical distancing; and 

3. Post clear signs about the mask, face covering, or face shield 

requirements; and 

4. For rail systems, post maximum occupancy for each train car using 

clear, prominently placed signs. 

Note: Transit agencies are encouraged, but not required, to use signs at high-traffic stops 

to encourage physical distancing while riders are waiting for a bus or train.A-6: No 

Longer Required – Professional, Division 1, Pac-12, West Coast 

Conference and Big Sky Conference Sports 

This guidance is no longer required. 

 

A-7: No Longer Required – Employers Operating Fitness-Related 

Organizations 

This guidance is no longer required. 

A-8: K-12 Educational Institutions (Public or Private)  

Application: This appendix applies to employers who operate schools or other 

educational institutions for children from kindergarten through the 12
th

 

grade (K-12 schools) or any portion thereof. To the degree this appendix 

provides specific guidance, it supersedes the requirements of the Rule 

Addressing COVID-19 Workplace Risks (OAR 437-001-0744); to the degree a 

situation is not addressed by the specific language of this appendix, the 

requirements of the rule apply.  

A. Masks, Face Coverings, and Face Shields. Employers must ensure that 

the requirements of Oregon Health Authority’s OAR 333-019-1015: 

Masking Requirements in Schools and other employee protections 

imposed by the Oregon Health Authority or the Oregon Department of 

Education are implemented and enforced in public and private K-12 

schools. 

A-9: Employers Operating Child Care and Early Education Programs 

Application: This appendix applies to employers who operate any of the 

following types of child care and early education programs:  

✓ All licensed programs, including Certified Center (CC), Certified Family (CF), 

and Registered Family (RF).  

✓ All child care and preschool provided in public school settings.  
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✓ All Recorded Programs, including school-age.  

✓ Oregon Pre-Kindergarten (Prenatal to Kindergarten), Preschool Promise, and 

Baby Promise.  

✓ Oregon Relief Nurseries.  

✓ Early Intervention and Early Childhood Special Education (EI/ECSE) provided in 

a child care or early education setting. 

A. Exception for Masks, Face Coverings, and Face Shields, and Personal 

Protective Equipment for Children and Adults.  

1. All children who are in the child care facility or in the designated child care 

section of the child care provider’s home must wear a face covering indoors 

unless: 

✓ The child is under five years of age or not yet in kindergarten; 

✓ They have a verified medical condition or disability that prevents them 

from safely wearing a face covering; 

✓ They are unable to remove the face covering independently; 

✓ They are sleeping, eating, or drinking. 

A-10: Veterinary Clinics 

Application: This appendix applies to veterinarians licensed under ORS 686, 

and to their assistants and other employees. To the degree this appendix 

provides specific guidance, it supplements, but does not replace, the 

requirements of the Rule Addressing COVID-19 Workplace Risks (OAR 437-

001-0744). 

A.  Personal Protective Equipment. To reduce the risk of transmission, 

veterinary employers must provide and ensure the use of personal 

protective equipment in accordance with the following table: 

“Interim Infection Prevention and Control Guidance for Veterinary Clinics 

Treating Companion Animals During the COVID-19 Response,” published by 

the United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (last updated 

August 12, 2020) 

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/veterinarians.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/veterinarians.html
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Animal History Mask 

Eye 

Protection 

(face 

shield or 

goggles) 

Gloves 
Gown or 

Coveralls 

N95 

respirator 

or 

suitable 

alternative 

Healthy companion animal 

without exposure to a 

person with COVID-19 

compatible symptoms 

No No No No No 

Companion animal with an 

illness that is not suspicious 

of SARS-CoV-2 infection 

AND without exposure to a 

person with COVID-19 

compatible symptoms 

No No No No No 

Companion animal that is 

not suspicious for SARS-

CoV-2 infection BUT has 

exposure to a person with 

COVID-19 compatible 

symptoms 

Yes No Yes No No 

Companion animal with an 

illness that is suspicious for 

SARS-CoV-2 infection 

Yes Yes Yes Yes No 

Aerosol-generating 

procedure for any animal 

without an exposure to a 

person with COVID-19 

compatible symptoms 

Yes Yes Yes Yes No 

Aerosol-generating 

procedure for any animal 

with an exposure to a 

person with COVID-19 

compatible symptoms 

No Yes Yes Yes Yes 

Any procedure on an animal 

that is known to be 

currently infected with SARS-

CoV-2 through detection by 

a validated RT-PCR assay 

No Yes Yes Yes Yes 

Any procedure where a 

person with known or 

suspected of being infected 

with COVID-19 will be 

present 

No Yes Yes Yes Yes 
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A-11:]Appendix A – Emergency Medical Services: First 

Responders, Firefighters, Emergency Medical Services and Non-

Emergency Medical Transport 

Application: This appendix applies to first responders, firefighters, emergency 

medical services, and non-emergency medical transport employers. It also 

provides direction specific to Emergency Communication Centers. To the 

degree this appendix provides specific guidance, it supersedes the 

requirements of the Rule Addressing COVID-19 Workplace Risks (OAR 437-

001-0744); to the degree a situation is not addressed by the specific 

language of this appendix, the requirements of the rule apply. 

  Note: Although this appendix is based upon the workplace health portions of Quarantine 

Guidance for Fire and EMS Responders and Information Bulletin 2020-02 on Personal 

Protective Equipment Advisory, published by the Office of the Oregon State Fire Marshal, it 

does not address many other issues included in that document. Employers of first 

responders, firefighters, EMS, and non-emergency medical transport should therefore be 

familiar with that guidance as well. 

Definitions. For purposes of this appendix, the following definitions apply: 

Emergency Communication Centers means 911 Public Safety Answering 

Points/Emergence Communication Centers (PSAP/ECCs). 

Emergency Medical Services Provider (EMS Provider) means a person who 

has received formal training in prehospital and emergency care, and is 

licensed to attend to any person who is ill or injured or who has a 

disability. Police officers, fire fighters, funeral home employees and 

other persons serving in a dual capacity, one of which meets the 

definition of "emergency medical services provider" are "emergency 

medical services providers" within the meaning of ORS chapter 682. 

Fire Department means public and private employers who engage in 

structural fire service activities, including emergency first response, who 

are covered under OAR 437-002-0182. 

A. General Operations Screening, Isolation and Quarantine. In order to 

reduce the risks of outbreaks within the workplace and the broader 

community, EMS employers must take the following steps: 

1. Instruct employees to self-monitor for symptoms consistent with COVID-

19; 

2. Screen employees for fever and symptoms prior to each shift, excluding 

them from the workplace as appropriate based on guidance from the 

Oregon Health Authority; and 

3. Exclude any employees from the workplace if they test positive via a 

COVID-19 diagnostic test. 

https://www.oregon.gov/osp/Docs/QuarantineGuidanceforFireandEMSRespondersMarch2020.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/osp/Docs/QuarantineGuidanceforFireandEMSRespondersMarch2020.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/osp/Docs/2020-02InformationBulletinPPEAdvisory.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/osp/Docs/2020-02InformationBulletinPPEAdvisory.pdf
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 Note: Quarantine Guidance for Fire and EMS Responders provides detailed information 

on monitoring, quarantine, isolation, and subsequent return to work. 

B. General Operations – Emergency Communication Centers. Emergency 

 Communication Centers (ECC) must comply with the provisions of the rule, 

 with the following specific provisions and exceptions: 

[1. Whether shields or barriers have been installed, ECC communications 

personnel are not required to wear face coverings while handling 

emergency calls, but must be allowed to do so at their discretion; 

2]1. ECC should implement an EIDS or screen for fever, cough, difficulty 

breathing, and diarrhea for all calls, when feasible, if local triggers 

determined by the PSAP director have been met. Additionally, PSAPs 

should ask: 

✓ Is anyone in the call location a known or suspected COVID-positive 

individual undergoing either quarantine or isolation? 

✓ Is the call location a long-term care facility known to have COVID-19 

cases? 

3. The query process should never supersede the provision of pre-arrival 

instructions to the caller when immediate lifesaving interventions (for 

example, CPR) are indicated. 

4. If the patient meets the above criteria, then PSAPs should: 

a. Provide medical care per protocol. 

b. Alert responding agencies of the possibility of a respiratory pathogen 

as soon as possible. 

c. Follow LPHA policies for reporting and follow up of healthcare workers 

with contact to suspected cases. 

d. For ill travelers at US international airports or other ports of entry to 

the United States (maritime ports or border crossings) should be in 

contact with the CDC quarantine station of jurisdiction for the port of 

entry CDC Quarantine Station Contact List for planning guidance. 

5. If the patient does not meet criteria, discontinue questioning and follow 

appropriate case entry. 

6. If call volumes increase to the point that screening is interfering with the 

timely processing of calls, consider suspending EIDS screening. 

C.[ General Operations – Fire Departments and Ambulance Agencies. Fire 

Departments and Ambulance Agencies must comply with the provisions of the 

rule, with the following specific provisions and exceptions: 

https://www.oregon.gov/osp/Docs/QuarantineGuidanceforFireandEMSRespondersMarch2020.pdf
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1. Spacing requirements do not need to be followed on any Agency 

apparatus when responding to or returning from a call, although 

respiratory protection must be worn as necessary. 

2. The personnel residing in common living areas in a fire station or 

ambulance agency facility are not required to wear masks, face 

coverings or face shields (this exception applies only to shared living 

areas; it does not apply to break rooms, shared toilet facilities, or other 

common areas used by other employees or individuals other than those 

residing in the living areas). 

3. The driver of an emergency response vehicle may adjust or remove a 

mask or face covering that impedes their vision or distracts from the 

safe operation of the vehicle. 

D.] Personal Protective Equipment. Masks or respirators must be worn by EMS 

providers while they are engaged in emergency medical services or other patient 

care. Face coverings must not be used as a substitute for a mask or respirator 

when respiratory protection (droplet precautions for a mask, airborne 

precautions for a respirator) is required. EMS providers must apply the following 

guidance: 

1. During direct patient care in the EMS setting, use of respirators without 

exhalation valves is preferred but not required; and 

2. When dealing with an individual known or suspected of being infected 

with COVID-19, EMS providers must wear a NIOSH-approved N95 or 

equivalent or a higher-level respirator, a gown, gloves, and eye protection 

(face shield or goggles). 

 Note: The use of respirators must comply with the Respiratory Protection standard (29 CFR 

1910.134). 

Note: The use of face coverings, masks, or respirators are not required when EMS employees are 

not involved in direct patient care, unless the conditions for the Special Provisions for the 

Transport of Patients of this appendix apply. 

D. Special Provisions for the Transport of Patients (Emergency and Non-

Emergency) with Suspected or Confirmed COVID-19.  

For any patient meeting any of following criteria: 

• Symptoms of lower respiratory infection, such as fever, cough, or 

shortness of breath; 

• Recent contact with someone with known COVID-19; or 

• Call location is a long-term care facility known to have COVID-19 cases. 

 EMS providers must apply the following procedures when engaging in 

transporting, whether emergency or non-emergency: 
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1. Involve the fewest EMS personnel required to minimize possible 

exposures; others riding in the ambulance must be limited to those 

essential for the patient’s physical or emotional well-being or care (for 

example, care partner or parent); 

2. Ensure that the patient is masked. The patient mask must not have an 

exhalation valve, as it would allow unfiltered, exhaled breath to escape; 

3. Provide medical care per protocol; 

4.  Ensure that personnel use contact, droplet, and airborne precautions, as 

follows: 

a. Wear a single pair of disposable patient examination gloves. 

b. Wear disposable isolation gown. If there are shortages of gowns, 

they should be prioritized for aerosol-generating procedures, and 

care activities where splashes and sprays are anticipated. 

c. Use respiratory protection (an N95 or higher-level respirator). If 

respirator supplies have been depleted, facemasks are an acceptable 

alternative. Respirators should be prioritized for procedures that are 

likely to generate respiratory aerosols. 

d. Wear eye protection (goggles or a disposable face shield that fully 

covers the front and sides of the face). 

5.  Use caution with aerosol-generating procedures and ventilate ambulance 

if possible; 

6.  Notify the receiving hospital (according to local protocols) of potential 

infection as soon as possible; 

7.  Disinfect using EPA registered Disinfectants for Use Against SARS-CoV-2; 

and 

8.  Drivers, if they provide direct patient care (for example, moving patients 

onto stretchers), must wear the PPE listed above. 

a. After completing patient care and before entering an isolated driver’s 

compartment, the driver must remove and dispose of PPE and 

perform hand hygiene to avoid soiling the compartment. 

b. If the transport vehicle does not have an isolated driver’s 

compartment, the driver must remove the face shield or goggles, 

gown, and gloves and perform hand hygiene, but continue to wear a 

respirator, mask, or face covering during transport. 

Patients who do not meet the criteria listed above can be cared for using 

standard precautions, with use of transmission-based precautions determined 

by clinical presentation. 
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[A-12: Law Enforcement Activities 

 Application: This appendix applies to the activities of law enforcement officers 

in the performance of their duties. To the degree this appendix provides 

specific guidance, it supersedes the requirements of the Rule Addressing 

COVID-19 Workplace Risks (OAR 437-001-0744); to the degree a situation is 

not addressed by the specific language of this appendix, the requirements 

of the rule apply. 

Definitions. For purposes of this appendix, the following definitions apply: 

Law enforcement agency means the Oregon State Police, a county sheriff’s 

office, a municipal police department, a police department established 

by a university under ORS 352.121 or 353.125, or an agency that 

employs one or more parole and probation officers as defined in ORS 

181A.355. 

Law enforcement officer means a member of the Oregon State Police, a 

sheriff or deputy sheriff, a municipal police officer, an authorized police 

officer of a police department established by a university under ORS 

352.121 or 353.125, or a parole or probation officer as defined in ORS 

181A.355. 

A. Masks, Face Coverings, and Face Shields. To reduce the risk of 

transmission from potentially infected individuals, law enforcement 

agencies must require masks, face coverings, or face shields in spaces 

under their control and when employees interact with other individuals, as 

required by OAR 437-001-0744(3)(b). However, the following specific 

modifications apply to certain law enforcement activities: 

1. Law enforcement agencies must ensure that all employees, visitors, and 

persons in custody wear a mask, face covering, or face shield as 

required in this rule unless enforcing this requirement would require the 

use of physical force or place an employee or member of the public at 

greater risk of COVID-19 exposure; 

2. Law enforcement agencies must provide masks and face shield to law 

enforcement officers to wear in combination in situations when a person 

in custody refuses to wear a face covering; 

3. Law enforcement officers are permitted adjust or remove the face mask, 

face covering, or face shield while interviewing a member of the public 

when necessary to establish sufficient rapport with the interviewee; 

4. Law enforcement officers driving during an emergency response or 

pursuit may adjust or remove a mask, face covering, or face shield that 

impedes their vision or distracts from the safe operation of the vehicle; 

5. Law enforcement officers are permitted to remove their mask, face 

covering, or face shield when the officer’s ability to clearly communicate 

is impaired by the mask, face covering, or face shield; and 
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6. Law enforcement employees transporting a person in custody or a 

member of the public must ensure that that person wears a mask, face 

covering, or face shield unless compliance would require the use of 

force or place law enforcement employees or a member of the public at 

greater risk for COVID-19 exposure or physical jeopardy. 

A-13: Jails, Prisons, and Other Custodial Institutions 

 Application: This appendix applies to jails, prisons, and other custodial 

institutions. To the degree this appendix provides specific guidance, it 

supersedes the requirements of the Rule Addressing COVID-19 Workplace 

Risks (OAR 437-001-0744); to the degree a situation is not addressed by the 

specific language of this appendix, the requirements of the rule apply. 

A. Masks, Face Coverings, and Face Shields. To reduce the risk of 

transmission from potentially infected individuals, jails, prisons, and other 

custodial institutions must require masks, face coverings or face shields 

within the premises. However, the following specific modifications to the 

requirements to OAR 437-001-0744(3)(b) apply within the secure perimeter 

of the jail, prison, or other custodial institution: 

1. Jails, prisons, and other custodial institutions must require all person 

entering the secure perimeter of the jail to wear a mask, face shield, or 

face covering when within six feet of other individuals, if there are no 

physical barriers between them, with the following exceptions: 

✓ During scheduled mealtimes when eating or drinking; 

✓ If a physical or mental condition or disability limits the ability to wear 

a mask, face covering, or face shield; 

✓ When an order from the Oregon Judicial Department, presiding 

judge, or local health authority provides an exception to the wearing 

of masks, face coverings or face shields; 

✓ In a housing unit where all adults in custody have been in quarantine 

for a minimum period of time established by the local health 

authority after considering CDC and OHA guidelines, provided that 

all staff members wear a mask or face covering at all times while in 

the unit; 

✓ In youth correctional facility common areas when all youth in custody 

have been in quarantine for a minimum period of time established by 

the Oregon Health Authority, provided that all non-youth-in-custody 

individuals wear a face covering and the Oregon Health Authority has 

authorized such practice; or 
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✓ During an emergency, such as when responding to a spontaneous 

use of force event, a medical emergency, or a suicide attempt in a 

housing unit. 

2. The jail, prison, or other custodial institution must not charge 

individuals in custody for masks, face coverings or face shields, except 

in the case of knowing damage or destruction to the mask, face 

covering, or face shield in violation of institution rules. 

3. The jail, prison, or other custodial institution must not charge 

employees for masks, face coverings or face shields. 

4. Custodial institution employees transporting a person in custody or a 

member of the public must ensure that that person wears a mask, face 

covering, or face shield unless compliance would require the use of 

force or place law enforcement employees or a member of the public at 

greater risk for COVID-19 exposure or physical jeopardy.] 

 

 


