Law Enforcement Letter of Agreement

HEARING CONSERVATION PROGRAM

a sample for law enforcement agencies
A.
Purpose

1.
The following Hearing Conservation Program has been adopted by the Entity name for the protection of all employees involved in weapons qualifications and/or other training or work where noise exposures equal or exceed 85 decibels (dBA) on average, during an 8-hour shift.  This program will ensure compliance with Oregon OSHA Noise and Hearing Conservation Regulations (OAR 437 Division 2 -1910.95).  
2.
Noise surveys conducted at various Law Enforcement outdoor and indoor ranges show that the majority of officer noise exposure levels during weapons qualifications exceed Oregon OSHA’s hearing conservation standard of 85 dBA (without the use of hearing protection). The representative noise levels provided in this policy and listed in Attachment A were used to determine the basic employee noise exposure. This noise sampling will be provided to the professional conducting our hearing testing and medical reviews.
B.
Hearing Testing



1.  Baseline Tests will be given to all new employees included in the hearing conservation program within six months of hire or exposure to 85 dBA or above. Any employee with a hearing impairment that would be exacerbated or compromised will not be assigned to a hazardous noise area until further investigation is completed.  Any hearing loss threshold will be noted in initial test records.

The baseline tests require that the employee is not in an occupational noise area for 14 hours prior to the test. This test will be the reference for further tests to determine if hearing levels change.

2.
Annual tests will be given (e.g., between August 1st and September 30th) and will be used to compare to the baseline tests.  These tests may be given anytime during an employee’s shift or at another mutually agreed upon time.


Employees will be informed of test results and provided a copy of the information.  


· Standard Threshold Shift (STS) criterion: The hearing loss criterion is a change in hearing threshold relative to the baseline audiogram of an average of 10 dB or more at 2000, 3000, and 4000 hertz (Hz) in either ear.  

· The employee may be re-tested within 30 days and the results of the re-test considered to determine if a permanent shift has occurred and/or if the employee needs to be further evaluated
· The employee must be informed in writing within 21 days of the determination of suspected permanent hearing shift. A follow-up by the employee's supervisor will be conducted once the employee is notified of the change by the contract audiologists.  
· In all cases of hearing loss, the employee will be re-instructed on when and how to properly wear hearing protection.  The supervisor and/or range safety officer will follow-up on all hearing tests that have a standard threshold shift. The follow-up will include a review of the hearing protection provided to ensure it is still appropriate. 

· The contract audiologist will determine if additional follow-up tests or medical attention is warranted. The status of the employee’s hearing will be forwarded to the Chief and Human Resources. 

C.
Hearing Protection
      1.
All employees included in this program must wear proper hearing protection when exposed to noise 90 dBA or greater and 85 dBA or greater for employees with a Standard Threshold Shift (STS).  Hearing protection will be worn at all times during weapons qualifications. Earmuffs and earplugs for hearing protection will be provided by the employer at no charge to the employee. Employees are responsible for maintaining this equipment or notifying their supervisor if replacement protective equipment is needed.

D.
Training 


1.
All employees included in our Hearing Conservation Program will receive annual 
training on hearing loss and the proper use of hearing protection.

· A copy of the training materials will be available to employees by contacting their supervisor or a safety committee member.  

· A copy of the Oregon OSHA Noise & Hearing Conservation Rules are posted at the firing range where employees are potentially exposed to hazardous noise levels (and where ever else you would normally post safety information).

E.
Recordkeeping 

1.
Noise Exposure Measurement:

Time Frame: Appendix A will be maintained.  If any additional monitoring is done, these records must be kept as long as they are current.  Archive records will be maintained for two years
2.
Audiogram records: 

Time Frame: Audiogram records will be kept for duration of the affected employee’s employment 

3.
Training Records

Time Frame: Our policy is to keep the training records for each employee for the duration of employment and then forward all records to Personnel.

OSHA 300 Log Record

· Hearing loss will be recorded on the OSHA 300 Log when an annual audiogram reveals a Standard Threshold Shift (STS) in either or both ears and the hearing level in the same ear is 25 decibels (dBA) above audiometric zero.
· OSHA 300 Logs must be kept and updated as needed
for five years.
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