November 17, 2014
The year is not over, but it is a safe bet that Oregon OSHA's general fall protection requirements [437-003-1501] will head the list of Oregon OSHA's top 25 construction-industry violations for 2014. This has been the case every year since 2008. Overall, fall-protection rules account for 45 percent of the top 25 construction-industry violations issued this year. Most are serious or repeat violations as shown below.
|Rule violated||Top 25 rank||Total
Source: DCBS Information Technology and Research Section
"Wear your safety harness." Picture by Wyatt Stapleton, age 7.
437-003-1501, General fall-protection requirements: Requires protection for fall hazards of 10 feet or more to a lower level. Requires protection at 6 feet for falls through holes; wall openings; established floors, mezzanines, balconies and walkways; excavations 6 feet or more in depth; and falls onto dangerous equipment.
437-003-0503(2), Certification of fall-protection training: Requires documentation of fall protection training for each employee exposed to fall hazards. Documentation must include the employee's name, the training date, and the trainer's signature.
1926.502(d), Personal fall-arrest systems: Establishes the requirements for personal fall arrest systems, including connecting components, lifelines, lanyards, anchorages, body belts, and harnesses.
1926.451(g), Fall protection (scaffolds): Requires each employee on a scaffold more than 10 feet above a lower level to be protected from falling.
437-003-0503(1), Fall-protection training program: Requires training for each employee who might be exposed to fall hazards.
437-003-1501(3), Fall protection for established floors and walkways: Requires each employee on established floors, mezzanines, balconies, and walkways, with an unprotected side or edge 6 feet or more above a lower level, to be protected with personal fall arrest systems, personal fall restraint systems, safety net systems, or guardrails.
437-003-0073(2), Boom-supported elevating work platforms: Requires employees to use personal fall protection that complies with Division 3/M (fall protection) requirements.
437-003-1501(2), Fall protection for wall openings: Requires each employee working on, at, above, or near wall openings where the outside bottom edge of the wall opening is 6 feet or more above lower levels and the inside bottom edge of the wall opening is less than 39 inches above the walking or working surface, to be protected from falling with personal fall arrest systems, personal fall restraint systems, safety net systems, or guardrails.
Comments or questions about the Construction Depot? See our Contact Us form.
Reprinting, excerpting, or plagiarizing any part of this publication is fine with us!
But remember: the information in this newsletter is intended to highlight safe work practices, but it does not replace Oregon OSHA workplace safety and health rules.
For information about Oregon OSHA services and answers to technical questions, call (503) 378-3272 or toll-free within Oregon, (800) 922-2689.