July 15, 2015
In this issue:
You might recall that the major rulemaking news in late 2013 was a long-awaited Notice of Proposed Rulemaking on silica in the Sept. 12 Federal Register, but no one was waiting with bated breath for the announcement. Federal OSHA sent the proposal to the Office of Management and Budget for vetting in February 2011, which took a glacial 921 days to accomplish.
Q: As a general contractor, what are my responsibilities when subcontractors at a multi-employer site use hazardous chemicals?
Oregon OSHA is now accepting grant applications for innovative workplace safety and health training programs such as mobile apps, videos, or online educational games to engage workers.
The grants are intended to focus on training programs that target a high-hazard Oregon industry such as construction, agriculture, and logging, or a specific work process, to reduce or eliminate hazards. Any association or educational institution affiliated with a labor group or other nonprofit organization may apply for up to $40,000 per grant without a requirement for any matching dollars or in-kind contributions.
Did you ever wish you could get a quick summary of an Oregon OSHA rule - or a key requirement of an Oregon OSHA rule - on your phone or another mobile device instead of trying to navigate through an unwieldy PDF document? No? Even if that thought is not on your wish list, we want your help as we test the concept.
Two new fact sheets from Oregon OSHA cover key requirements in the agency's oxygen-fuel gas welding and cutting rule (437-002-2253), which went into effect May 1 and applies to general industry and construction employers.
Comments or questions about the Construction Depot? See our Contact Us form.
Reprinting, excerpting, or plagiarizing any part of this publication is fine with us!
But remember: the information in this newsletter is intended to highlight safe work practices, but it does not replace Oregon OSHA workplace safety and health rules.
For information about Oregon OSHA services and answers to technical questions, call (503) 378-3272 or toll-free within Oregon, (800) 922-2689.