Subscribe icon Subscribe
About icon About
Oregon OSHA icon Oregon OSHA

Oregon OSHA

Construction Depot

Safety and health newsletter for the Oregon construction industry

October 17, 2015

In this issue:

 
graph of annual pure premium rate changes

Infographics: Oregon's history of pure premium rate changes

Oregon employers will see a key portion of their workers' compensation costs drop by an average 6.6 percent in 2017. That number – the "pure premium rate" – is the portion of their premiums that employers pay insurers to cover anticipated costs of workers compensation claims.

Workers compensation claims have fallen steadily over the past 26 years, which has helped lower cumulative pure premium rates by more than 70 percent since 1990.

Read article

 

Construction Q&A: I'm working near an RF rooftop antenna. What are my risks?

This construction Q&A addresses the broader issues of radiofrequency radiation from the perspective of construction and maintenance workers who may need to work near antennas used for cellular and other personal communications services.

Read article

 

An overview of Oregon OSHA's new silica rules

As many of you know, federal OSHA adopted its final rules for respirable crystalline silica last March. On Sept. 23, 2016, Oregon OSHA adopted its own set of silica rules – 437-002-1053 through 437-002-1065 – that apply to general industry and construction employers.

Oregon OSHA's silica rules become effective July 1, 2018. The medical surveillance requirements for general industry employers become effective July 1, 2020.

Here's an overview of what you need to know about the new silica rules.

Read article

 

Hearings set for proposed amendments to 437-001-0700, Recording workplace injuries and illnesses

Oregon OSHA is proposing to amend 437-001-0700, Recording workplace injuries and illnesses, to reflect federal OSHA’s requirements.

In May 2016, federal OSHA adopted rules to improve tracking of workplace injuries and illnesses for employers, and Oregon OSHA – along with other state-plan states – must establish rules that are identical to these federal rules.

Read article

 

Share

 

Comments or questions about the Construction Depot? Contact Us

Reprinting, excerpting, or plagiarizing any part of this publication is fine with us!

But remember: the information in this newsletter is intended to highlight safe work practices, but it does not replace Oregon OSHA workplace safety and health rules.

For information about Oregon OSHA services and answers to technical questions, call (503) 378-3272 or toll-free within Oregon, (800) 922-2689.