Subscribe icon Subscribe
About icon About
Oregon OSHA icon Oregon OSHA

Oregon OSHA

Construction Depot

Safety and health newsletter for the Oregon construction industry

October 17, 2015

 

Infographics: Oregon's history of pure premium rate changes

Oregon employers will see a key portion of their workers' compensation costs drop by an average 6.6 percent in 2017. That number – the "pure premium rate" – is the portion of their premiums that employers pay insurers to cover anticipated costs of workers compensation claims.

Workers compensation claims have fallen steadily over the past 26 years, which has helped lower cumulative pure premium rates by more than 70 percent since 1990.

Not only have lower pure premium rates been good news for employers and workers; they have helped establish Oregon with one of the nation’s least expensive workers’ compensation systems - without siphoning benefits from workers.

These three infographics illustrate the history of Oregon’s’ pure premium rate changes.

Infographic No. 1:

Graph of annual pure premium rate changes
Average annual pure premium rate changes since, 1987-2017. Beginning in 1990, Oregon had a 21-year period without an increase in pure premium rates. Small increases were approved for 2012 and 2013, followed by decreases in 2014, 2015, 2016, and 2017. Pure premium is the base rate employers pay to their insurance company before insurer expenses and profit.

Infographic No. 2:

Graph of cummulative rate changes since 1990
Cumulative rate change, 1990-2017. Workers’ compensation pure premium rates have dropped more than 70 percent since 1990.

Infographic No. 3:

Graph of average pure premium rate change by industry 2017
Average pure premium rate change by industry, 2017. The average pure premium rate change across all industries will decrease an average of 6.6 percent in 2017 from 2016. Contracting (primarily construction) will decrease an average of 7.3 percent.

PDF of all three infographics 

 

Share

In this issue:

Comments or questions about the Construction Depot? Contact Us

Reprinting, excerpting, or plagiarizing any part of this publication is fine with us!

But remember: the information in this newsletter is intended to highlight safe work practices, but it does not replace Oregon OSHA workplace safety and health rules.

For information about Oregon OSHA services and answers to technical questions, call (503) 378-3272 or toll-free within Oregon, (800) 922-2689.