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Getting a job  
	 anytime soon?

Money isn’t the only thing to think about. If 
you’re under 18 and thinking about working 
in Oregon, here are a few other things you 
should know. 

You’re protected!
You’re protected at work by the same laws 
that protect older workers — laws that 
cover minimum wage, overtime hours, 
paydays, and workplace safety. 
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How many hours  
can you work?

It depends on your age. In most cases, you have to be at 
least 14 to work in Oregon. If you’re 14 or 15 you can’t 
work as many hours as you can when you’re 16 or 17. 
It depends on whether your school is in session. You can’t 
work as many hours on school days as you can when 
school isn’t in session. 

This table shows how many hours you can work.

	 When your school is in session	When your school isn 't  in session

	Your age	 hours per day	 hours per week	 hours per day	 hours per week

	 14-15	 3 hours	 18 hours	 8 hours	 40 hours

	 16-17	 No limit	 44 hours	 No limit	 44 hours



3

What jobs can you do?
It’s easier to answer the question by telling you the jobs 
that you can’t do until you’re older. Most of these jobs 
are off limits because the equipment or the working 
conditions are dangerous. 

Jobs that you can’t do  
if you’re 14-15

*	 Construction
*	 Firefighting
* 	 Land clearing that involves blasting or heavy equipment
* 	 Logging
*	 Operating amusement park rides
*	 Surveying
*	 Window cleaning outside and above ground
*	 Wood cutting
*	 Work in cold storage and ice plants
*	 Work in grain elevators
*	 Work in gravel or sand pits
*	 Work in shops where power-driven machinery is used
*	 Work on commercial docks
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Jobs that you can’t do  
if you’re 14-17

*	 Brick and tile manufacturing
*	 Delivering messages or goods between 10 p.m. and 5 a.m.
*	 Driving motor vehicles (some exceptions for 17-year-olds)
*	 Excavation work
*	 Logging and saw milling
*	 Mining 
*	 Operating hoisting equipment such as elevators, cranes, 	

	 and derricks, and forklifts
*	 Operating power saws and shears
*	 Roofing work
*	 Using metal-forming equipment such as metal forming, 		

	 punching, and shearing machines
*	 Using power-driven bakery machines such as mixers and 		

slicing and wrapping machines
*	 Using power-driven paper products machines such as cover 	

	 cutters, die cutting presses, and punch presses
*	 Using power-driven woodworking machines
*	 Work involving explosives
*	 Work involving exposure to radioactive substances
*	 Work involving meat slaughtering, packing, or processing
*	 Wrecking, demolition, and shipbreaking (dismantling)

Five ways to get hurt  
on a job

1.		 Trying to do work that you’re not trained to do
2.	 Working for long periods without supervision
3.	 Using dangerous tools or equipment
4.	 Trying to work too quickly
5.	 Using alcohol or other drugs



Eight ways to be 		
	 safe on the job
1. Be careful with machines 

Don’t use machines unless they’re 
properly guarded, and never reach inside 
moving machinery. Don’t wear gloves or 
loose clothing while using machines with 
high-speed moving parts, such as drill 
presses. Never use electrical equipment 
when you’re standing on a wet surface.

2. Beat the heat
High temperatures, high humidity, and 
hard work can make you ill or even kill you. Be aware of heat 
exhaustion (primarily from dehydration) and heat stroke, which 
can be fatal. Wear cool, comfortable, breathable clothing when it’s 
hot. Wear a hat and use sunscreen if you work out in the sun. 
And drink plenty of fluids.

3. Stay out of confined spaces
Confined spaces are places you wouldn’t want to be anyway — like 
tanks, pits, or crawlspaces. Confined spaces can have hazards 
like toxic gases, lack of oxygen, and dangerous equipment. 
The most hazardous confined spaces are called permit-required 
confined spaces and they have a sign like this: “DANGER. PERMIT-
REQUIRED CONFINED SPACE, AUTHORIZED ENTRANTS ONLY.”

4. Dress for success
We don’t mean fancy clothes. Your employer has to provide you 
with any protective gear that you need to do your job and has 
to make sure that you use it properly. It’s called PPE (personal 
protective equipment) and includes things like hardhats, safety 
shoes, safety glasses, and hearing protectors.
If you have to shout when you talk to someone next to you, 
it’s usually too loud for work. Wear hearing protectors such as 
earplugs or earmuffs. 
If you use chemicals or work with grinding machines, wear 
safety glasses to protect your eyes. 
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5. Lift loads safely
Know how much weight you can safely lift. If it seems too 
heavy to lift, it probably is. Here’s the right way to lift: 
*	 Get close to the load. 
*	 Bend your knees, keep your feet slightly spread for balance 	
	 and stability. 
*	 Keep your head, shoulders, and hips in a straight 	
	 line as you lift. 
* 	 If you need to turn, don’t twist; turn your entire body, 		
	 including your feet. 

6. Know what to do in an emergency
There should be a first-aid kit where you work. Make sure that 
you know where it is. Also, make sure that you know what to do 
during an emergency such as a fire or an earthquake. 

7. Help prevent slips and falls
Floors where you work should be clean — free of spills and trash. 
And electrical cords should be out of the way, so people won’t trip 
over them. 
If you have to use a ladder, your supervisor should tell you how 
to use it. Falls from ladders are a major cause of injuries.

8. Report unsafe conditions
You have a right to a safe 
workplace. If you feel that you’re 
in danger, you probably are. 
Report unsafe conditions or 
equipment to your supervisor.
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Where 
accidents 
are 
happening

More than half of all 
accidents happen in 
retail businesses — places 
such as restaurants and 
general merchandise stores. 
The top three causes of 
injuries are being struck 
by equipment, falls, and 
overexertion from lifting 
and moving things.
More than 50 percent of 
accidents among workers 
younger than 18 are in 
retail businesses.

What to do  
if you get 
hurt

If you’re injured when 
you’re working, tell your 
supervisor. You have a right 
to paid medical treatment 
if you’re injured on the job.



Work safe,  
	 play hard,  
			   live happy!

For more information call (503) 378-3272 or
Toll-free in Oregon (800) 922-2689

www.orosha.org 




