
Key requirements: Oregon OSHA’s rule addressing 
high ambient temperatures in labor housing

Heat in Labor Housing
Cooling areas
When it’s 80 degrees Fahrenheit or more outside, and 
bedrooms cannot maintain a temperature of 78 degrees 
F or less (using air conditioners or other reliable means), 
then employers must provide at least one cooling area 

for occupants to cool off.  

The cooling area must be large enough to allow use by 
at least 50 percent of the occupants at any time and 
must use at least one of the following methods:

	Ī Give occupants continual access to one or more 
common rooms that are maintained at or below a 
temperature of 78 degrees F with air conditioners, 
evaporative coolers, air purifiers with coolers, or other 
reliable means. This can be done with existing common 
rooms, otherwise unused housing units, or other 
available indoor spaces that do not present additional 
risks to the occupants.

	Ī Give occupants continual access to outdoor rest areas that 
are located away from work areas or activities that could 
increase their exposure to heat. The rest areas must:

	¹ Be shaded by natural or artificial means so that 

occupants can sit or stand in the shade.

	¹ Have water misters, cooling vests, cooling towels, or 
equally effective means of relief. If these can be used 
by only one person at a time, then enough must be 
available to allow use by at least 50 percent of the 
occupants at any time; they must not be shared 
without being washed.

	¹ Locate chairs, benches, and other seating arranged 
in a manner that encourages their use.

It is encouraged to provide at least some of the required 

space using the methods listed in the indoor option. 

Effective June 15, 2022, Oregon OSHA adopted subparagraph 25 to OAR 437-004-1120, Agricultural Labor 
Housing and Related Facilities to ensure that workers living in employer-provided labor housing can recover 
after working long hours outdoors. This fact sheet describes the rule’s key requirements.
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Minimizing heat in housing units
If rooms where people sleep are not able to maintain 

an indoor temperature of 78 degrees F or less with 

air conditioners, evaporative coolers, air purifiers with 

coolers, or other reliable means, then employers must:

	Ī Protect windows from direct sunlight in a way that 
minimizes radiant heat during all hours of the day. This 
can be done with natural or artificial shade. Coverings 
and shades must not prevent the windows from opening 
and closing. If window coverings are used, they must 
deflect the sun and not simply absorb the heat. For 
example, hanging black plastic garbage bags over the 
windows would not deflect the heat (but would absorb 
it) and, therefore, would not meet the intent of the rule. 

	Ī Make fans available at no cost for any housing 
occupants who want to use them.

Temperature awareness
Employers must provide a thermometer that displays 

the temperature in both Fahrenheit and Celsius in 

each individual housing unit to ensure that occupants 

know the current indoor temperature. Employers are 

encouraged, but not required, to provide a device that 

also measures humidity.

Employee and occupant information
Employees must receive the training required by 

437-004-1131(5), Heat Illness prevention. Employers 

must also display the “Heat Risks in Housing” poster 

(Spanish) provided by Oregon OSHA in one or more 

locations that housing occupants will see, and must 

include emergency contact information on the poster.

Access to emergency services
Employers must ensure that occupants have access at 

all times to a working telephone to contact emergency 

services. A cellphone may be used only if reception in 

the area is reliable.

WORKERS
Your employer cannot retaliate 
against you for reporting any 
workplace health or safety concern 
or violation, for more information on 
your rights visit Oregon OSHA.Visit Oregon OSHA
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The Technical Section of Oregon OSHA produced this fact sheet to highlight health and safety programs and rules. The 
information is intended to supplement the rules and provide best practices to employers.
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