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437-001-0744 Rule Addressing COVID-19 Workplace Risks  

Note: Oregon OSHA's temporary rule addressing COVID-19 in the workplace expired May 4, 2021, 

180 days after its adoption. Under the Oregon Administrative Procedures Act, a temporary rule cannot 

be renewed or extended beyond 180 days. Therefore, in order to extend protections for workers 

against COVID-19, which remains a significant concern, Oregon OSHA initially adopted this rule 

following the normal process for permanent rulemaking. However, the purpose of this rule is to 

address the COVID-19 pandemic in Oregon workplaces. Oregon OSHA will repeal the rule when it is 

no longer necessary to address th[at]e pandemic. Because it is not possible to assign a specific time 

for that decision, Oregon OSHA will continue to consult with the Oregon OSHA Partnership 

Committee, the Oregon Health Authority, the two Infectious Disease Rulemaking Advisory 

Committees, and other stakeholders as circumstances change to determine when all or part of the 

rule can be appropriately repealed.[ The first of these discussions took place in June 2021, and they 

will continue every month until the rule has been repealed. In making determinations about when to 

repeal all or part of the rule], Oregon OSHA and its stakeholders will consider indicators and other 

information such as (but not limited to) Executive Orders issued by the Governor, guidance issued by 

the Oregon Health Authority and the Centers for Disease Control, infection rates (including the rate of 

spread of COVID-19 variants), test positivity rates, and vaccination rates, as well as indicators of 

severity such as hospitalizations and fatalities. 

 

In accordance with its commitment to repeal the rule when it is no longer necessary, on March 

18, 2022, Oregon OSHA amended this rule to remove the indoor masking requirements and 

most of the other provisions no longer appropriate for that stage of the pandemic. The changes 

were in response to Governor Brown's announcement of updated health guidance on February 

28, 2022, and direction from the Oregon Health Authority. In order for these changes to take 

immediate effect, they were effectuated via a temporary rule. As stated above, a temporary rule 

cannot be renewed or extended beyond 180 days. Therefore, in order to preserve the changes 

made on March 18, 2022, and to remove some additional requirements as advised by the 

Oregon Health Authority, Oregon OSHA is adopting this rule following the normal process for 

permanent rulemaking. Failure to adopt this rule would result in the rule reverting to its form 

as of December 21, 2021 (Administrative Order 14-2021).  

 

(1) Scope and Application. 
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(a) This rule applies to all employees working in places of employment subject to 

Oregon OSHA's jurisdiction and exposed to one or more other individuals 

outside their household. For clarity and ease of reference, this rule refers to 

"COVID-19" when describing exposures or potential exposures to SARS-CoV-2, 

the virus that causes Coronavirus Disease 2019.  

 

(b) The requirements of sections (3) [of this rule are applicable to all workplaces. 

In addition to the requirements of section (3), the requirements of section]and 

(4) of this rule are applicable to [all] exceptional risk workplaces. For purposes 

of this rule, "workplaces at exceptional risk," include any setting (whether a 

healthcare setting or not) where an employee (including temporary and part-

time employees) performs one or any combination of the following job duties:  

 

(A) Direct patient care;  

 

(B) Environmental decontamination services in a healthcare setting;  

 

(C) Aerosol-generating healthcare or postmortem procedures; 

 

(D) Direct client service in residential care or assisted living facilities; 

 

(E) Emergency first responder activities;  

 

(F) Personal care activities that involve very close contact with an individual, 

such as toileting or bathing; or 

 

(G) Handling, packaging, cleaning, processing, or transporting human 

remains or human tissue specimens or laboratory cultures collected from 

an individual known or suspected to be infected with COVID-19. 

¶  
Note: "Contact tracing" requirements as described in subsections (3)(l) and (4)(i) 

of this rule are not applicable for law enforcement covered in the emergency first 

responder definition of subsection (2)(e), personal care activities in (1)(b)(F), and 

handling, packaging, cleaning, processing, or transporting human remains or 

human tissue specimens or laboratory cultures in (1)(b)(G).  

 

Note: "Exceptional risk" does not include workers of other departments or job duties 

outside the scope and underlying definitions of subsection (1)([c]b) of this rule. For 

example, employees in the accounting department at a hospital would be covered by 

the requirements applicable to all workplaces, while other workers at the same hospital 

who actually perform any of those job operations listed under subsection (1)([c]b), 

such as direct patient care, would be subject to the supplementary requirements for 

workplaces at exceptional risk in addition to the requirements for all workplaces. 
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Note: It is important to recognize other regulatory bodies may have additional 

requirements relating to exceptional risk beyond Oregon OSHA requirements.  

 

(c) The requirements of section (5) of this rule are applicable to all 

workplaces not otherwise covered under the exceptional risk workplace 

requirements of sections (3) and (4). 

 

(2) Definitions . 

(a) Aerosol-generating healthcare or postmortem procedure - means a medical, 

dental, or postmortem procedure on human patients or remains that is likely to 

result in exposure to small droplet nuclei in high concentration, presenting a risk 

for airborne transmission of COVID-19. 

(b) Common areas - means building lobbies, reception areas, waiting rooms, 

restrooms, break rooms, eating areas, smoking areas, locker rooms, bathing 

areas, transit lounges, conference rooms, or other locations indoors or outdoors 

that multiple individuals may use or congregate that employers operate or 

control. 

(c) Decontamination of filtering facepiece respirators (FFR) - means a process 

approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) that reduces the 

number of pathogens, does not negatively affect the fit or filtration performance 

of the FFR, and presents no residual chemical hazard. 

(d) Direct patient care - means any employee job duties that include direct 

physical contact with a patient during the delivery of healthcare services. A 

worker performs direct patient care under the authority granted by a license or 

certification issued by federal, state, or local entities to provide healthcare 

services within the scope of practice. Workers may be providing direct patient 

care under their own licensure or certification, or may be providing care under the 

supervision of a licensed or certified worker. Workers involved in direct patient 

care include, but are not limited to, physicians, physician assistants, nurses, 

nurse practitioners, certified nursing aides, medical technologists, phlebotomists, 

respiratory therapists, dentists, dental hygienists, physical or occupational 

therapists, chiropractors, and other workers who otherwise provide in-person 

healthcare services. Direct patient care does not include customer service 

activities provided in retail settings that have embedded healthcare offices, such 

as retail pharmacies.   

 

(e) Emergency first responder activities - means those job duties that require an 

employee to be able to arrive first and provide assistance at the scene of an 

emergency, such as an accident, fire, or natural disaster. First responders include 

but are not limited to law enforcement officers, firefighters, emergency medical 

technicians, and paramedics. Emergency first responder activities under this rule 
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do not include tasks where only first aid is provided in accordance with OAR 437-

002-0161. 

 

(f) Employee - means any individual, including a minor whether lawfully or 

unlawfully employed, who engages to furnish services for a remuneration, 

financial or otherwise, subject to the direction and control of an employer; any 

salaried, elected and appointed official of the state, state agencies, counties, 

cities, school districts and other public corporations; and any individual who is 

provided with workers' compensation coverage as a subject worker pursuant to 

ORS chapter 656, whether by operation of law or election. 

  

(g) Employer - means any person who has one or more employees, any sole 

proprietor or member of a partnership who elects workers' compensation 

coverage, or any corporation in relation to the exposure of its corporate officers 

except for corporations without workers' compensation coverage under ORS 

656.128 and whose only employee is the sole owner of the corporation, or any 

successor or assignee of an employer as described in OAR 437-001-0015. 

  

(h) Employment, Place of - has the meaning provided in OAR 437-001-0015 and 

excludes any place where the only employment involves workers not covered by 

workers' compensation and employed in or around a private home, as well as any 

corporate farm where the only employment involves the farm's family members  

 
Note: The employment of home care and home healthcare workers by a resident of the home in 

which they work is not subject to workers' compensation (even though the employees receive 

such coverage through the Home Care Commission) and therefore their employment is not 

covered by Oregon OSHA. Such workers who are employed by private home health or in-home 

care agencies are subject to workers' compensation and therefore their employment is covered by 

Oregon OSHA. Private homes, such as adult foster care homes, where the only employment is for 

the care and comfort of the residents are also not required to obtain workers' compensation and 

are therefore not subject to Oregon OSHA unless the employer has opted to provide workers' 

compensation coverage under ORS 656.039. 

 

(i) Environmental decontamination services - means the work performed by 

janitorial, custodial, maintenance, or similar employees who are responsible for 

cleaning equipment, surfaces, or other items in direct patient care healthcare 

settings. This includes routine and non-routine cleaning or disinfecting of high-

touch surfaces as defined by this rule, equipment, or procedural tools that are 

used in patient care areas in healthcare settings, including those settings in which 

aerosol-generating procedures are performed. 

 

(j) Face covering - means a cloth, polypropylene, paper or other covering that 

covers the nose and the mouth and that rests snugly above the nose, below the 

mouth, and on the sides of the face. Coverings that incorporate a valve that is 

designed to facilitate easy exhalation or mesh masks or other covers with 

openings, holes, visible gaps in the design or material, or vents are not 
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appropriate face coverings because they allow droplets to be released from the 

covering. 

 

(k) Face shield - means a transparent plastic shield that covers the wearer's 

forehead, extends below the chin, and wraps around the sides of the face. 

Devices that place a shield in front of only the user's nose and mouth do not meet 

the definition of a mask, face covering, or face shield. Face shields are normally 

used as protection for the face and eyes and their use as a means of "source 

control" should be discouraged when more suitable alternatives are available, but 

they remain a compliant (although not preferred) means of "source control" in 

relation to COVID-19. 

  

(l) Feasibility - refers to the ability of an employer to implement any requirement 

in a rule. Oregon OSHA rules never prohibit work. Whether feasibility is 

mentioned in a provision of the rule or not, if the employer can demonstrate that 

it is functionally impossible to comply or if doing so would prevent completion of 

the work, the employer need not comply, but must take any available reasonable 

alternative steps to protect the employees involved.  

 

(m) Filtering facepiece respirator - means a tight-fitting, negative pressure, 

particulate respirator, where the particulate filter is the facepiece itself. Such 

respirators are often referred to as "dust masks," but dust masks that are not 

certified by the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health are not 

respirators. The most common filtering facepiece respirators for general use are 

known as N95 respirators.  

 

(n) Hand hygiene - means the cleaning, sanitizing, or disinfecting of one's hands 

by using standard handwashing methods with soap and running water, antiseptic 

hand wash, antiseptic hand rub (alcohol-based hand sanitizer including foam or 

gel), or surgical hand antisepsis.  

 

(o) Healthcare setting - means any space at the workplace where a worker 

routinely provides direct patient care as defined by this rule or performs aerosol-

generating healthcare or postmortem procedures. A healthcare setting does not 

include any establishment where only personal support services are provided or 

places where direct patient care is provided to a patient outside the healthcare 

setting itself.  

 

(p) High-touch surface - means equipment or surfaces that are handled frequently 

throughout the day by multiple individuals. High-touch surfaces can include, but 

are not limited to, countertops, tabletops, credit card terminals, doorknobs, door 

handles, digital kiosks, touch-screen enabled devices, light switches, handrails, 

elevator control panels, and steering wheels in work vehicles  
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(q) Individual - means any person who is present in the place of employment, 

whether an employee or not. 

 

(r) Mask - means a U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) cleared surgical, 

medical procedure, dental, or isolation mask (commonly referred to as a "surgical 

mask"). Masks are medical grade masks that function as a physical barrier to 

protect workers from hazards such as splashes of large droplets of blood or 

bodily fluids; they do not provide reliable protection to the wearer against 

aerosols or airborne pathogens. 

 

(s) Personal protective equipment (PPE) - means specialized clothing or equipment 

worn by a worker for protection against a hazard. General work clothing (for 

example, uniforms, pants, shirts or blouses) not intended to function as 

protection against a hazard for the user is not considered to be PPE.  

 

(t) Personal support services - means the work performed by a caretaker or similar 

employee who is responsible for assisting individuals with day-to-day living issues 

that are not direct patient care activities. Personal support services include, but 

are not limited to housekeeping, assisting with medication, personal 

transportation (such as taking a client to an appointment), and other day-to-day 

living activities that may occur in an individual's private residence are not 

otherwise considered to be direct patient care under this rule.  

 

(u) Respirator - means a type of personal protective equipment that protects 

against respiratory hazards by removing specific air contaminants from the 

ambient (surrounding) air or by supplying breathable air from a safe source. 

Respirators that remove contaminants from the ambient air are called air-

purifying respirators. Respirators that supply air from a safe source other than 

the ambient air are called atmosphere-supplying respirators. Masks, face 

coverings, and face shields are not respirators.  

 

(v) SARS-CoV-2 - refers to a specific betacoronavirus (MERS-CoV and SARS-CoV are 

other betacoronaviruses) that causes what has been designated as Coronavirus 

Disease 2019 (COVID-19)  

 

(w) Shared equipment - means devices or tools that are used by multiple 

employees or other individuals including, but not limited to, elevators, 

computers, phones, gym or personal fitness devices, escalators, and work 

vehicles. 

 

(x) Source control - means the use of protective equipment or other measures 

such as face coverings to prevent the spread of illness from a potentially 

infectious person to others. A typical example of source control for COVID19 is to 

use a mask or face covering to limit the spread of respiratory droplets and 



7 
 

aerosols from the wearer to others. Respirators can be used as source control in 

addition to providing protection for the wearer.  

 

(y) Suspected to be infected with COVID-19 - means a person who has signs or 

symptoms of COVID-19 but has not tested positive for SARS-CoV-2 infection and 

no alternative diagnosis has been made consistent with Oregon Health Authority 

definitions.  

 

(3) COVID-19 Requirements for [All]Exceptional Risk Workplaces. Except as 

otherwise provided by this rule, the following requirements [apply to all]in section 

(3) apply to exceptional risk workplaces.  

 

(a) Physical distancing. Oregon OSHA [only]no longer requires employers to 

implement physical distancing[ in healthcare settings and transit settings in 

accordance with subsection (4)(k) and the appendix. Employers who wish to 

evaluate their workplaces to determine how they can keep their employees safe 

and healthy are encouraged to contact Oregon OSHA Consultation Services.]  

(b) Masks, face coverings, or face shields. [Employers with employees working in 

indoor workspaces must implement the requirements of OAR 333-019-1025: 

Masking Requirements for Indoor Spaces, adopted by the Oregon Health 

Authority.]¶ The specific requirements for masks, face coverings, and face 

shields are covered under subsection (4)(l) of this rule. 

 

(A) [The employer must provide masks, face coverings, or face shields for 

employees at no cost to the worker. If an employee chooses to wear their 

own mask, face shield, or face covering instead of those provided by the 

employer, the employer may allow it but is not required to do so.   

 

(B) When an employee chooses to wear a filtering facepiece respirator to 

protect against COVID-19, the employer must allow that use and follow the 

"voluntary use" provisions of the Respiratory Protection Standard (29 CFR 

1910.134). 

 
Note: An employer is not obligated to provide filtering facepiece respirators to employees 

under this section, nor are employers required to provide or allow any other type of 

respirator, unless required by another part of this rule.  

 

(C) If an employee chooses to wear a mask, face shield, or face covering 

even when it is not required, the employer must allow them to do so. .]  

 

(c) Cleaning and sanitation. Except for healthcare settings, which are covered 

under subsection (4)(d) of this rule, Oregon OSHA no longer requires employers 

to regularly clean or sanitize all common areas, shared equipment, and high-

touch surfaces as defined by this rule that are under its control and that are used 
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by employees or the public. [All other sanitation requirements of OAR 437-001-

0744(3)(c) remain in effect for all workplaces.] 

 

(A) Employers must provide employees with the supplies (such as soap and 

water) and the reasonable time necessary to clean or sanitize more 

frequently than would otherwise be required if the worker chooses to do 

so. 

 

(B) Employers must provide employees with the supplies (such as soap and 

water) and reasonable time necessary to perform hand hygiene before 

using shared equipment.  

 

[(C) Except in healthcare settings where patients known or suspected to be 

infected with COVID-19 are being treated, employers must clean and 

disinfect any common areas, high-touch-surfaces, and any shared 

equipment under the employer's control that an individual known to be 

infected with COVID-19 used or had direct physical contact with. If the 

employer learns of the exposure between 24 and 72 hours after the 

individual was last present in the space, only cleaning is required, not 

sanitation. If the employer learns of the exposure more than 72 hours after 

the individual was last present in the space, no exceptional cleaning or 

sanitation is required. 

 
Note: It is recommended that the area be closed off and a waiting period of at least several 

hours (or as long as is feasible) be followed prior to cleaning and disinfecting. ]  

 

Note: Additional sanitation requirements for exceptional risk workplaces are included in 

subsection (4)(d) of this rule.  

 

(d) Posting requirements. [In addition to posting the "It's the Law" poster 

provided by Oregon OSHA in a conspicuous manner in a central location where 

workers can be expected to see it (for example, a location where employees 

report each day or at a location from which employees operate to carry out their 

activities), as required by OAR 437-001-0275(2)(a), employers must provide 

employees working remotely with a copy through electronic or equally effective 

means.] Oregon OSHA no longer requires the COVID-19 poster to be posted 

in the workplace. 

  

(e) Building operators. [Those employers who operate or otherwise control 

buildings where the employees of other employers work must take the following 

steps in common areas to the extent that they have control over such areas:] 

Oregon OSHA no longer requires building operators to take the additional 

steps related to sanitation and posting of signs.  
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(A) [Ensure that the sanitation requirements under subsection (3)(c) of this 

rule are met; and   

 

(B) Post signs in areas where masks, face coverings, or face shields are 

required To meet this provision, the building operator may post a copy of 

the "Masks Required," sign developed by the Oregon Health  

Authority]  

 

(f) Routine ventilation maintenance and evaluation. [The e]Employers covered by 

section (3) of this rule must optimize the amount of outside air circulated 

through its existing heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system(s), to 

the extent the system(s) can do so when operating as designed and maintaining 

healthy indoor temperatures, whenever there are employees in the workplace and 

the outdoor air quality index remains at either "good" or "moderate" levels.  

 
Note: This does not require installation of new ventilation equipment.   

 

Note: While not required, ventilation systems that are installed and maintained in accordance with 

the provisions of the American National Standards (ANSI)/American Society of Heating, 

Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) Standards 62.1 and 62.2 (ASHRAE 2019a, 

2019b) meet this requirement. 

 

(A) All employers covered by section (3) of this rule with more than ten 

employees statewide and an existing HVAC system must certify in writing 

that they are operating that system in accordance with the rule, to the best 

of their knowledge. Although not required, such certifications can be made 

using the sample format provided by Oregon OSHA.  

 

(i) The certification must be dated and must include the name of the 

individual making the certification; and   

 

(ii) Such certification records must be maintained as long as this rule is 

in effect.  

 

(B) On a quarterly basis, all employers must ensure the following:   

 

(i) All air filters are maintained and replaced as necessary to ensure the 

proper function of the ventilation system; and 

  

(ii) All intake ports that provide outside air to the HVAC system are 

cleaned, maintained, and cleared of any debris that may affect the 

function and performance of the ventilation system.   

 

(g) Exposure risk assessment. All employers covered by section (3) of this rule 

must conduct a COVID-19 exposure risk assessment, without regard to the use of 
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personal protective equipment, masks, face coverings, or face shields. A risk 

assessment conducted in compliance with the Oregon OSHA temporary COVID-19 

rule adopted November 6, 2020, satisfies this requirement and need not be 

repeated. If an employer has multiple facilities that are substantially similar, the 

assessment may be developed by facility type rather than site-by-site so long as 

any site-specific information that affects employee exposure risk to COVID-19 is 

included in the assessment.  

 

(A) The exposure risk assessment must involve participation and feedback 

from employees. This feedback may be achieved via a safety meeting, 

safety committee, supervisor, process negotiated with the exclusive 

bargaining agent (if any), or any other similarly interactive process.  

 

(B) Each employer with more than ten employees statewide (including 

temporary and part-time workers) or that is covered by subsection (1)([c]b) 

of this rule (workplaces at exceptional risk) must record their COVID-19 

exposure risk assessment in writing by documenting the following 

information  

 

(i) The name(s), job title(s), and contact information of the person(s) who 

performed the exposure risk assessment;  

 

(ii) The date the exposure risk assessment was completed; 

 

(iii) The employee job classifications that were evaluated; and   

 

(iv) A summary of the employer's answers to each of the applicable 

exposure risk assessment questions in this subsection.  

 

(C) The risk assessment must address the following questions related to 

potential employee exposure to COVID19 in the workplace:  

 

(i) Can employees telework or otherwise work remotely? How are 

employees encouraged or empowered to use those distance work 

options to reduce COVID-19 transmission at the workplace?  

  

(ii) What are the anticipated working distances between employees? 

How might those physical working distances change during non-routine 

work activities?  

 

(iii) What is the anticipated working distance between employees and 

other individuals? How might those working distances change during 

non-routine work activities? 
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(iv) How have the workplace or employee job duties, or both, been 

modified to provide at least six feet of physical distancing between all 

individuals?  

 

(v) How are employees and other individuals at the workplace 

notified where and when masks, face coverings, or face shields are 

required? How is this policy enforced and clearly communicated to 

employees and other individuals?  

 

(vi) How have employees been informed about the workplace policy 

and procedures related to reporting COVID19 symptoms? How might 

employees who are identified for quarantine or isolation as a result of 

medical removal under this rule be provided with an opportunity to work 

at home, if such work is available and they are well enough to do so?  

 

(vii) How have engineering controls such as ventilation (whether 

portable air filtration units equipped with HEPA filters, airborne infection 

isolation rooms, local exhaust ventilation, or general building HVAC 

systems) and physical barriers been used to minimize employee 

exposure to COVID-19?  

 

(viii) How have administrative controls (such as foot-traffic control) 

been used to minimize employee exposure to COVID-19?  

 

(ix) What is the procedure or policy for employees to report workplace 

hazards related to COVID-19? How are these hazard reporting 

procedures or policies communicated to employees?  

 

(x) How are sanitation measures related to COVID-19 implemented in 

the workplace? How have these sanitation practices been explained to 

employees and other individuals at the workplace?   

 

(xi) How have the industry-specific or activity-specific COVID-19 

requirements in Appendix A of this rule and applicable guidance from 

the Oregon Health Authority been implemented for workers? How will 

periodic updates to such Oregon Health Authority guidance documents 

incorporated into the workplace on an on-going basis?  

 

(xii) In settings where the workers of multiple employers work in the 

same space or share equipment or common areas, how are the physical 

distancing;, mask, face covering, or face shield requirements; and 

sanitation measures required under this rule communicated to and 

coordinated between all employers and their affected employees?  
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(xiii)How can the employer implement appropriate controls that provide 

layered protection from COVID-19 hazards and that minimize, to the 

degree possible, reliance on individual employee training and behavior 

for their efficacy?  

 
Note: Oregon OSHA has made a Risk Assessment template and sample Risk 

Assessments available to assist employers in completing this task.  

 

(h) Infection control plan. All employers covered by section (3) of this rule must 

establish and implement an infection control plan based on the risks identified in 

subsection (3)(g) of this rule that implements the controls identified in 

subparagraph (3)(g)(C)(xiii) including, but not limited to, ventilation, staggered 

shifts, redesigning the workplace to accommodate physical distancing, reducing 

use of shared surfaces and tools, limiting the number of employees and other 

individuals in work areas, personal protective equipment, etc. An infection control 

plan developed in compliance with the Oregon OSHA temporary COVID-19 rule 

adopted November 6, 2020, satisfies this requirement and need not be repeated. 

If an employer has multiple facilities that are substantially similar, its infection 

control plan may be developed by facility type rather than site-by-site so long as 

any site-specific information that affects employee exposure risk to COVID-19 is 

included in the plan. Employers may also rely upon materials developed by 

associations, licensing agencies, and franchisors to assist with compliance and 

provided that mechanisms for appropriate employee feedback and involvement 

are provided. 

 

(A) Each employer with more than ten employees statewide (including 

temporary and part-time workers) and every employer, regardless of size, 

that is covered by subsection (1)([c]b) of this rule (workplaces at 

exceptional risk) must document their infection control plan in writing and 

must ensure that a copy is accessible to employees at their workplace.  

 
Note: Additional requirements related to the infection control plan, which are applicable 

only to those employers covered by subsection (1)([c]b) of this rule (workplaces at 

exceptional risk), are contained in subsection (4)(c) of this rule. 

 

(B) The infection control plan must contain, at a minimum, the following 

elements: 

  

(i) A list of all job assignments or worker tasks requiring the use of 

personal protective equipment (including respirators) necessary to 

minimize employee exposure to COVID-19;   

 

(ii) The procedures the employer will use to ensure that there is an 

adequate supply of masks, face coverings, or face shields and personal 
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protective equipment (including respirators) necessary to minimize 

employee exposure to COVID-19; 

 

(iii) A list and description of the specific hazard control measures that 

the employer installed, implemented, or developed to minimize 

employee exposure to COVID-19;  

 

(iv) A description of the employer's COVID-19 mask, face covering, 

and face shield requirements at the workplace, and the method of 

informing individuals entering the workplace where such source control 

is required;  

 

(v)  The procedures the employer will use to communicate with its 

employees and other employers in multiemployer worksites regarding 

an employee's exposure to an individual known or suspected to be 

infected with COVID-19 to whom other workers may have been exposed. 

This includes the communication to individuals identified through 

COVID-19 contact tracing and general communication to the workplace 

at large; and  

 

(vi)  The procedures the employer will use to provide its workers with 

the initial employee information and training required by this rule. 

 
Note: Oregon OSHA has made sample Infection Control Plans available to assist 

employers in completing this task.  

 

(i) Employee information and training. All employers covered by section (3) of 

this rule must provide workers with information and training regarding COVID-

19. Infection control training conducted in compliance with the Oregon OSHA 

temporary COVID-19 rule adopted November 6, 2020, satisfies this requirement. 

This information and training can be provided remotely or using computer-based 

models but must be provided in a manner and language understood by the 

affected workers. Employers must ensure that the training provides an 

opportunity for feedback from employees about the topics covered in the 

training, which must include at least the following elements: 

  

(A) Physical distancing requirements as they apply to the 

employee's workplace and job function(s); 

 

(B) Mask, face covering, or face shield requirements as they apply to 

the employee's workplace and job function(s);  

 

(C) COVID-19 sanitation requirements as they apply to the employee’s 

workplace and job function(s);  
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(D) COVID-19 signs and symptom reporting procedures that apply to the 

employee's workplace;  

  

(E) COVID-19 infection notification process as [required]suggested by this 

rule;   

 

(F) Medical removal as required by this rule;  

 

(G) The characteristics and methods of transmission of the SARS-CoV-2 

virus;  

 
Note: Oregon OSHA has provided training materials that can be used to complete this 

portion of the training. 

 

(H) The symptoms of the COVID-19 disease;  

 
Note: Oregon OSHA has provided training materials that can be used to complete this 

portion of the training.  

 

(I) The ability of pre-symptomatic and asymptomatic COVID-19 persons to 

transmit the SARS-CoV-2 virus; and 

 
Note: Oregon OSHA has provided training materials that can be used to complete this 

portion of the training.  

 

(J) Safe and healthy work practices and control measures, including but not 

limited to, physical distancing, sanitation and disinfection practices.  

 
Note: Oregon OSHA has provided training materials that can be used to complete this 

portion of the training. 

 

(j) COVID-19 infection notification process. [The]All employer[ must]s covered 

by section (3) of this rule should establish and implement a process to notify 

exposed employees (those who were within six feet of a confirmed COVID-19 

individual for a cumulative total of 15 minutes or more, regardless of whether 

one or both of them were wearing source control) that they had a work-related 

contact with an individual who has tested positive for COVID-19, as well as to 

notify affected employees (those who worked in the same facility or in the same 

well-defined portion of the facility such as a particular floor) that an individual 

who was present in the facility has confirmed COVID-19. This notification 

process [must]should include the following elements:  

  

(A) A mechanism for notifying both exposed and affected employees within 

24 hours of the employer being made aware that an individual with COVID-
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19 was present in the workplace while infectious or otherwise may have had 

work-related contact with its employee(s) while infectious; and  

 

(B) This notification process [must]should be established and implemented 

in accordance with all applicable federal and Oregon laws and regulations.  

 
Note: Employers can satisfy this requirement by adopting the model procedure published 

by Oregon OSHA.  

 

Note: The reporting of COVID-19 cases [is]may be required under existing Oregon Health 

Authority rules regarding reporting of disease cases. OAR 333-018-0016 requires such 

cases to be reported by healthcare providers and laboratories within 24 hours of 

identification.   

 

Note: Whenever an exposure notification as described by this rule is provided in writing, 

the notification may be subject to the existing requirements of Oregon OSHA's Access to 

Employee Exposure and Medical Records standard (29 CFR 1910.1020).  

 

(k) COVID-19 testing for workers. The employer must cooperate by making its 

employees and appropriate space available at no cost to the workers whenever a 

local public health agency or Oregon Health Authority indicate that COVID-19 

diagnostic testing within the workplace is necessary. If such testing is conducted 

at the employer's own direction, the employer is responsible for covering the 

costs of testing, including but not limited to the COVID-19 test itself, employee 

time, and employee travel. However, if the employer is not requesting the test, 

the employer is not expected to cover the direct cost of such testing or of any 

involved employee travel.  

 

(l) Medical removal. Whenever the Oregon Health Authority, local public health 

agency, or medical provider recommends an employee be restricted from work 

due to quarantine or isolation for COVID-19, such as through identification 

during contact tracing activities, the affected worker(s) must be directed to 

isolate at home and away from other non-quarantined individuals.  

 
Note: There are additional medical removal provisions for healthcare settings in subsection 

(4)(j) of this rule.  

 

Note: Other than the obligation to provide such direction and to remove such employees from the 

workplace, the employer has no obligation to enforce the employee's quarantine or isolation. 

 

Note: "Contact tracing" requirements as described in subsections (3)(l) and (4)(i) of this rule 

are not applicable for law enforcement covered in the emergency first responder definition 

of subsection (2)(e), personal care activities in (1)(c)(F), and handling, packaging, cleaning, 

processing, or transporting human remains or human tissue specimens or laboratory 

cultures in (1)(c)(G).  
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(A) Whenever an employee participates in quarantine or isolation for COVID-

19, the employer must allow the affected employee(s) to work at home if 

suitable work is available and the employee's condition does not prevent it.   

 

(B) Whenever an employee participates in quarantine or isolation, whether 

as a result of the requirements of this rule or because the employer 

chooses to take additional precautions, the affected worker(s) must be 

notified that they are entitled to return to their previous job duties if still 

available without any adverse action as a result of participation in COVID-19 

quarantine or isolation activities. The employee must be advised in writing 

of the right to return as described and should be provided any relevant 

information about the employer's paid time off, sick leave, or any other 

available benefits in accordance with local, state, or federal law.  

 
Note: The prohibition on "adverse action" does not require the employer to keep a job 

available that would not otherwise have been available had the employee not been 

quarantined or isolated, but it does mean that the employer cannot fill the job with 

another employee and thereby make it unavailable.  

 

(C) Decisions regarding testing and return to work after an employee 

participates in COVID-19 quarantine or isolation activities must be made in 

accordance with applicable public health guidance and must be otherwise 

consistent with guidance from the employee's medical provider.  

 
Note: This provision does not require a negative COVID-19 test or a separate contact with 

the medical provider.  

 

Note: Employees are protected from discrimination or retaliation under ORS 654.062(5). 

This includes protections for actions against employees for opposing any practice 

forbidden under the Oregon Safe Employment Act and related statutes and rules (including 

this rule for COVID-19), making a complaint or causing any proceeding to be instituted 

under the Oregon Safe Employment Act, or exercising any rights under the law, including 

those conferred by this Rule Addressing COVID-19 Workplace Risks (OAR 437-001-0744).  

 

Note: Notwithstanding the language of OAR 437-001-0700(10), employers do not need to 

record such "medical removal" cases on their OSHA 300 log(s) simply because the medical 

removal required by this rule occurred. Cases must be recorded only if the infection of a 

worker is determined to be "work-related" in accordance with OAR 437-001-0700.  

 

(m) Mandatory appendix[ces. Employers covered by one or more of the 

mandatory industry-specific and activityspecific appendices that make up 

Appendix A of this rule must comply with those appendices. To the degree an 

appendix provides specific guidance regarding an issue addressed by this rule, it 

supersedes the general requirements of this rule. To the degree a situation is not 

addressed by the specific language of an appendix, the requirements of this rule 

apply as written. Appendix A contains the following:¶] Employers covered by 

the mandatory industry-specific requirements for Emergency Medical 
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Services: First Responders, Firefighters, Emergency Medical Services and Non-

Emergency Medical Transport must comply with this appendix. To the degree 

the appendix provides specific guidance regarding an issue addressed by 

this rule, it supersedes the general requirements of this rule. To the degree a 

situation is not addressed by the specific language of the appendix, the 

requirements of this rule apply as written.¶ 

 

[A-1: No Longer Required - Restaurants, Bars, Brewpubs and Public Tasting Rooms 

at Breweries, Wineries and  

Distilleries]  

 

[A-2: No Longer Required - Retail Stores]  

 

[A-3: Personal Services Providers]  

 

[A-4: No Longer Required - Construction Operations] 

 

[A-5: Transit Agencies]  

 

[A-6: No Longer Required - Professional, Division 1, Pac-12, West Coast 

Conference and Big Sky Conference Sports]  

 

[A-7: No Longer Required - Employers Operating Fitness-Related Organizations] 

  

[A-8: K-12 Educational Institutions (Public or Private)]  

 

[A-9: Employers Operating Child Care and Early Education Programs]  

 

[A-10: Veterinary Clinics] 

 

[A-11: Emergency Medical Services: First Responders, Firefighters, Emergency 

Medical Services and NonEmergency Medical Transport]  

 

[A-12: Law Enforcement Activities] 

 

[A-13:Jails, Prisons, and Other Custodial Institutions] 

 

(4) Additional COVID-19 Requirements for Workplaces at Exceptional Risk.  

Workplaces identified by subsection (1)([c]b) of this rule must adhere to the 

following specific provisions and additional requirements. 

 

(a) Infection control training. In addition to the employee information and training 

requirements for all workplaces under subsection (3)(i) of this rule, employers of 
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workplaces at exceptional risk must provide infection control training that 

includes the following provisions:  

 

(A) The training is overseen or conducted by a person knowledgeable in the 

covered subject matter as it relates to the employee's job duties;   

 

(B) The training material is appropriate in content and vocabulary to the 

education, literacy, and language of the affected workers; and  

 

(C) The training provides an opportunity for interactive questions and 

answers (must be "live" in order to allow immediate response and further 

clarification but need not be in person) with a person knowledgeable in the 

training program's subject matter and basic epidemiology as it relates to 

the workplace and employee job duties.  

 

(b) Infection control training for employees required under this subsection must 

include the following elements:  

 

(A) An explanation of this rule and its applicable appendices and provisions;   

 

(B) An explanation of contact, droplet, and airborne modes of transmission 

of COVID-19, including how workers can recognize hazardous work 

activities that may involve exposure to COVID-19 and how employees can 

take precautionary measures to minimize their exposure; 

 

(C) An explanation of the basic risk factors associated with COVID-19 

transmission including, but not limited to, behavioral risk factors (this may 

include non-work activities that are higher-risk activities such as attending 

large social gatherings); physiological risk factors; demographic risk 

factors; and environmental risk factors;  

 

(D) An explanation of the employer's COVID-19 exposure risk assessment 

required by this rule and which employee job classifications, tasks, or job 

duties were considered as part of that risk assessment;   

 

(E) An explanation of the employer's physical distancing; mask, face 

covering, and face shield requirements; and COVID-19 sanitation 

requirements at the workplace. Where applicable, this information must 

include any multiemployer worksite agreements related to the use of 

common areas and shared equipment that affect employees at the 

workplace;  

 

(F) Information on the types, use, storage, removal, handling, and 

maintenance of masks, face coverings, face shields and personal protective 
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equipment (including respirators) provided to employees by the employer; 

and  

 

(G) An explanation of the use and limitation of COVID-19 hazard control 

measures implemented or installed by the employer. Hazard control 

measures include engineering, administrative, or work practice controls 

that eliminate or otherwise minimize employee exposure to COVID-19.   

 

(c) Additional infection control plan requirements. In addition to the infection 

control plan requirements for all workplaces, each employer covered by section 

(4) of this rule must provide the following in its infection control plan: 

  

(A) The name(s) of the person responsible for administering the plan. This 

person must be knowledgeable in infection control principles and practices 

as they apply to the workplace and employee job operations; and  

 

(B) The plan must be reevaluated as frequently as necessary to reflect 

changes in the facility, employee job duties, new technologies, or 

workplace policies established by the employer that affect worker exposure 

to COVID-19 or in response to updated guidance published by the Oregon 

Health Authority (including increases in COVID-19 community spread) that 

is applicable to the employer's workplace. This reevaluation and update of 

the infection plan must include feedback from non-managerial, front-line 

employees who perform activities that reflect the employer's exceptional 

risk under this rule. This feedback is not required from all employees and 

may be achieved via a safety meeting, safety committee, supervisor, 

process negotiated with the exclusive bargaining agent (if any), or any 

other similarly interactive process.   

 

(C) Healthcare employers must develop and implement a written personal 

protective equipment (PPE) supply and crisis management plan in 

accordance with Oregon Health Authority and Oregon OSHA Interim 

Guidance: Use of CDC's Optimizing Personal Protective Equipment by 

Healthcare Personnel in Resource Constrained Settings [Personal 

Protective Equipment by Healthcare Personnel in Resource Constrained 

Settings].  

 

(d) Additional sanitation requirements. Use appropriate sanitation measures in 

addition to the requirements of subsection (3)(c) of this rule to reduce the risk of 

COVID-19 transmission. Each employer must:  

 

(A) Develop and implement procedures for routine cleaning and disinfection 

that are appropriate for SARS-CoV-2 in healthcare settings, including those 

patient-care areas in which aerosol-generating procedures are performed 
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(for example, using cleaners and EPA-registered, hospital-grade 

disinfectants for frequently touched surfaces or objects in accordance with 

manufacturer instructions and contact time specifications). Refer to List N 

on the EPA website for EPA-registered disinfectants that have qualified 

under EPA's emerging viral pathogens program for use against SARS-CoV-2; 

and  

 

(B) Follow standard practices for disinfection and sterilization of medical 

devices contaminated with COVID-19, as described in the CDC Guideline for 

Disinfection and Sterilization in Healthcare Facilities, 2008.  

 

(e) Healthcare personal protective equipment. Depending on the requirements of the 

procedure (for example, aerosol generating procedures, a.k.a. AGPs) in question and 

the disease status of the involved patient(s), employers must use a combination of 

standard precautions, contact precautions, droplet precautions, airborne 

precautions, and eye protection (for example, goggles, face shields) to protect 

healthcare workers with exposure or potential exposure to COVID-19.  

 

(A) When an employee performs an aerosol-generating healthcare or post-

mortem procedure for a patient without evidence of COVID-19 infection, the 

employer must provide PPE in accordance with CDC's Interim Infection 

Prevention and Control Recommendations for Healthcare Personnel. [During 

the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Pandemic] Oregon OSHA 

recognizes that risk of infection in asymptomatic patients can vary based 

on clinical presentation, level of COVID-19 transmission in the community, 

recent COVID-19 testing results, and other factors. These factors must be 

considered in clinical judgment by healthcare personnel involved in direct 

patient care and medical examiners in making decisions about use of 

transmission-based precautions.  

 

(B) Whenever an employee provides direct patient care for a patient known 

or suspected to be infected with COVID-19, the employer must provide the 

affected worker with gloves, a gown, eye protection (goggles or face 

shield), and either a NIOSH-approved respirator or a respirator with a 

current emergency use authorization by the United States Food and Drug 

Administration (FDA). If the employer can demonstrate that the availability 

of respirators is genuinely limited, the employer must ensure that a 

medical-grade mask is used in place of the respirator. 

 
Note: If PPE availability is genuinely limited, a procedure cannot be deferred, and 

appropriate, good-faith efforts are made by the employer to ensure the safety and 

protection of the healthcare workers, Oregon OSHA will evaluate the situation based on PPE 

availability and the employer's adherence to CDC's Optimizing Personal Protective 

Equipment (PPE) Supplies During the COVID-19 Pandemic[ guidance outlined in the 
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Oregon Health Authority and Oregon OSHA Interim Guidance: Use of Personal Protective 

Equipment by Healthcare Personnel in Resource Constrained Settings]. 

 

(C) In lieu of (A) and (B) above, and if PPE availability is limited, such 

employers may follow CDC's Optimizing  

Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) Supplies During the COVID-19 

Pandemic [Oregon Health Authority-Oregon OSHA Interim Guidance: Use of 

Personal Protective Equipment by Healthcare Personnel in Resource 

Constrained Settings]. 

 
Note: The CDC does not have a comprehensive list of AGPs in a healthcare setting. 

Employers should refer to the AGP list maintained by Oregon Health Authority 

[Clinical Care, and Healthcare Infection Prevention and Control Guidance for COVID-19.] 

 

(f) Heightened risk ventilation requirements. In addition to the ventilation 

provisions of subsection (3)(f) of this rule (including any applicable certification 

provisions), certain heightened risk facilities must meet the following 

requirements to the degree that they are under the employer's control:  

 

(A) Existing ventilation systems in hospitals, ambulatory surgical centers, 

and long-term care facilities that provide skilled or intermediate level 

nursing care must be operated, when possible, in accordance with local 

building codes and applicable provisions of the American National 

Standards Institute (ANSI)/American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and 

Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) Standards 62.1 and 62.2 (ASHRAE 

2019a, 2019b), which include requirements for outdoor air ventilation in 

most residential and nonresidential spaces, and ANSI/ASHRAE/ASHE 

Standard 170 (ASHRAE 2017a) covers both outdoor and total air ventilation 

in healthcare facilities.  

 

Note: This does not require installation of new ventilation equipment.  

 

(B) Existing ventilation systems in other healthcare facilities must be 

upgraded to a minimum MERV 13 rating, provided that such an upgrade 

will result in no significant performance reduction of the system.  

 
Note: This does not require installation of new ventilation equipment. 

 

(g) Barriers, partitions, and airborne infection isolation rooms in healthcare 

settings. The employer must employ the following measures to protect healthcare 

employees, support workers, patients, and visitors from individuals known or 

suspected to be infected with COVID-19:  

 

(A) When available, use airborne infection isolation rooms (AIIRs) with 

proper ventilation to house patients known or suspected to be infected with 

COVID-19;  
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(B) Patients known or suspected of being infected with COVID-19 must don 

a face covering and be isolated in an examination room with the door 

closed. If an examination room is not immediately available, such patients 

must not be allowed to wait within six feet of other patients seeking care 

and should be encouraged to wait in a personal vehicle or outside the 

healthcare setting where they can be contacted by mobile device when it is 

their turn to be evaluated. During a medical emergency, all measures may 

not be feasible, but must be implemented in whole or in part as the 

patient's condition and necessary medical care allow. If a patient cannot 

tolerate any form of face covering due to a medical condition, strict 

physical distancing and appropriate PPE must be used to protect patients 

and workers, respectively;   

 

(C) Use physical barriers or partitions in triage areas to guide patients when 

appropriate; and  

 

(D) Use curtains to separate patients in semi-private areas.  

 

(h) Screening in healthcare settings. Oregon OSHA no longer requires 

employers to screen and triage all individuals entering its healthcare setting 

for symptoms of COVID-19.[The employer must screen and triage all individuals 

entering its healthcare setting for symptoms of COVID-19. Although screening for 

symptoms may not identify asymptomatic or presymptomatic individuals with 

SARS-CoV-2 infection, symptom screening remains an important strategy to 

identify those who may have COVID-19 so appropriate precautions can be 

implemented. At a minimum, each employer must:]  

 

(A) [Limit and monitor points of entry to the healthcare setting where direct 

patient care, or aerosol-generating healthcare or postmortem procedures 

are performed by workers. Consideration must be given to establishing 

stations at the healthcare setting entrance to screen individuals before they 

enter;]  

 

(B) [Screen all individuals and employees (other than emergency responders 

entering with a patient) entering the healthcare setting for symptoms 

consistent with COVID-19. This can be achieved by asking the affected 

individual about symptoms of COVID-19 and asking if they have been 

advised to self-quarantine because of exposure to someone with COVID-19 

or if they have been told to isolate after testing positive for COVID-19; and]  

 

(C) [Develop a triage and screening protocol that isolates patients known or 

suspected to be infected with COVID19 from other non-COVID-19 patients; 

procedures for transporting patients known or suspected to be infected 
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with COVID-19 within the facility and between facilities as applicable; 

implementation of temporary air infection isolation rooms (AIIRs) as 

available.]  

 

 

(i) Exposure notification process in certain healthcare settings. Oregon OSHA no 

longer requires exposure notification in healthcare settings. [ The only 

exceptions to the notification requirements of subsection (3)(j) of this rule are in 

healthcare settings where patients are hospitalized on the basis that they are 

known or suspected to be infected with COVID-19 and in healthcare settings 

where contact tracing has become infeasible, based upon guidance from the 

Oregon Health Authority and the Centers for Disease Control regarding such 

scenarios and the implementation of universal PPE recommendations addressing 

both identified and unidentified risks.]  

 

[Note: The term "settings where patients are hospitalized on the basis that they 

are known or suspected to be infected," is intended to be narrowly construed and 

applies only to those situations where patients are receiving health services 

primarily related to COVID-19 and where all workers are aware of that potential 

exposure. For example, patient care related to labor and delivery in a hospital 

that is also caring for COVID-19 patients is not subject to this exclusion.]  

 

(j) Medical removal provisions in healthcare settings. The only exception to the 

quarantine and isolation provisions of subsection (3)(l) of this rule exists when a 

healthcare provider, emergency responder, or other worker who would otherwise 

be quarantined or isolated remains on the job under Oregon Health Authority 

guidelines.  

 

(k) Physical distancing. Oregon OSHA no longer requires healthcare 

employers to implement physical distancing [All healthcare employers must 

ensure that both work activities and workflow are designed to eliminate the need 

for any employee to be within six feet of another individual in order to fulfill their 

job duties unless the employer determines and can demonstrate that such 

physical distancing is not feasible for certain activities.]  

 

(l) Mask, face covering, or face shield requirements.    

 

(A) Healthcare employers must ensure that all individuals in the workplace 

wear a mask, face covering, or face shield unless otherwise exempt under 

paragraph (4)(l)(B) of this rule.     

 

(i) [When working inside where six feet of distance between 

employees and other individuals cannot be consistently maintained, or ]  
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(ii) [When an employee shares a room with one or more other 

individuals and the total enclosed area of the room does not provide at 

least 100 square feet per person. ] 

 

(B) Masks, face coverings, or face shields are not required if the individual:  

 

(i) Is under 5 years of age (or is under 2 years of age and using public 

transportation or in transportation hubs), 

 

 (ii) Is eating or drinking,  

 

(iii) Is engaged in an activity that makes wearing a mask, face 

covering or face shield not feasible, such as when taking a shower, 

 

(iv) Is sleeping, 

 

(v) Is in a room or vehicle shared only with members of the same 

household, or 

  

(vi) Is required to briefly remove their mask, face covering, or face shield 

because their identity needs to be confirmed by visual comparison, such 

as at the bank or if interacting with law enforcement. During such 

instances, individuals should limit speaking while the mask, face 

covering, or face shield is removed or displaced.  

 
Note: While reasonable accommodation for those unable to wear a mask, face 

covering, or face shield due to a disability must be provided under applicable state law 

(ORS 659A.103 to 659A.145) and federal law (42 U.S.C. Chapter 126), such an 

accommodation does not include simply exempting individuals from the requirement 

to wear masks, face coverings, or face shields in public spaces or places of 

employment.  

 

(C) The employer must provide masks, face coverings, or face shields for 

employees at no cost to the worker. If an employee chooses to wear their 

own mask, face shield, or face covering instead of those provided by the 

employer, the employer may allow it but is not required to do so.  

 

(D) When an employee chooses to wear a filtering facepiece respirator 

instead of a mask, face covering, or face shield, the employer must allow 

that use and follow the "voluntary use" provisions of the Respiratory 

Protection Standard (29 CFR 1910.134).  

 
Note: An employer is not obligated to provide filtering facepiece respirators to employees 

under this section, nor are employers required to provide or allow any other type of 

respirator, unless required by another part of this rule.  



25 
 

 

(E) If an employee chooses to wear a mask, face shield, or face covering 

even when it is not required, the employer must allow them to do so. 

 

(m) Medical removal protection benefits. Medical removal protection benefits as 

described by this subsection must be provided whenever employees covered by 

this subsection are unable to work due to the medical removal provisions 

outlined under subsections (3)(l) and (4)(j) of this rule.  

 

(A) Except as otherwise provided by paragraph (4)(m)(B), medical removal 

protection benefits as outlined under paragraph (4)(m)(C) apply to all 

employees engaged in direct patient care or in direct support of such care, 

including patient intake or admission, patient food services, equipment and 

facility maintenance, housekeeping services, healthcare laundry services, 

medical waste handling services, and medical equipment cleaning or 

reprocessing services. This provision does not apply to office or 

administrative functions that do not involve contact with patients or patient 

care spaces, such as bookkeeping, payroll, or accounting services.  

 

(B) The medical removal protection benefits of this subsection do not apply 

to the following: 

  

(i) Employers with 10 or fewer employees, 

 

(ii) Employees whose COVID-19 illness or quarantine cannot reasonably 

have resulted from a workplace exposure,  

 

(iii) Individuals who are not in compliance with Oregon Health Authority 

COVID-19 vaccination requirements, without regard to the effective date 

of those requirements,  

 

(iv) The provision of first aid by an employee who is not otherwise a 

healthcare provider,  

 

(v) The dispensing of prescriptions by pharmacists in retail settings,  

 

(vi) Non-hospital ambulatory care settings where all non-employees are 

screened prior to entry and individuals with suspected or confirmed 

COVID-19 are not permitted to enter those settings, 

  

(vii) Well-defined ambulatory care settings within hospitals where all 

employees are fully vaccinated and all nonemployees are screened prior 

to entry and people with suspected or confirmed COVID-19 are not 

permitted to enter those settings,  
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(viii) Home healthcare settings where all employees are fully vaccinated 

and all non-employees are screened prior to entry and people with 

suspected or confirmed COVID-19 are not present,  

 

(ix)Healthcare support services not performed in a healthcare setting 

(for example, off-site laundry, off-site food preparation), or  

 

(x) Telehealth services performed outside of a setting where direct 

patient care occurs.  

 

(C) When an employee subject to this subsection is subject to medical 

removal as required by the rule and the required isolation or quarantine 

prevents the employee from working, the following medical removal 

protection benefits must be provided: 

 

(i) The employer must continue to provide the benefits to which the 

employee would normally be entitled when working;  

 

(ii) For employers with 500 or more employees, the employer must pay 

the employee the same regular (non-overtime) pay the employee would 

have received had the employee not been absent from work, up to a 

maximum of $1,400 per week, until the employee is able to return to 

work as described in subsection (3)(l) of this rule; 

 

(iii) For employers with fewer than 500 employees, the employer must 

pay the employee benefit described in subparagraph (4)(m)(C)(ii) of this 

rule, but beginning in the third week of an employee's removal, the 

employer is permitted to reduce the amount to only two-thirds of the 

same regular pay the employee would have received had the employee 

not been absent from work, up to $200 per day ($1,000 per week in 

most cases).  

 

(D) The employer's obligation under paragraph (4)(m)(C) of this rule is 

reduced by the amount of compensation for lost earnings that the 

employee receives from any other source, such as a publicly or employer-

funded compensation program (for example, workers compensation, paid 

sick leave, administrative leave, or other employer-provided leave that does 

not carry a cash value). The employer cannot take such benefits into 

account until they have actually been received by the employee. 

 
Note: It is important to recognize other regulatory bodies may have additional 

requirements relating to exceptional risk beyond Oregon OSHA requirements. 
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(5) COVID-19 Requirements for all workplaces not covered under exceptional 

risk workplaces sections (3) and (4), as defined in section (1)(b).  

 

(a) Masks, face coverings, and face shields.  

 

(A) The employer must provide masks, face coverings, or face shields 

for employees at no cost to the worker. If an employee chooses to wear 

their own mask, face covering, or face shield instead of those provided 

by the employer, the employer may allow it but is not required to do so.  

 

(B) When an employee chooses to wear a filtering facepiece respirator 

to protect against COVID-19, the employer must allow that use and 

follow the "voluntary use" provisions of the Respiratory Protection 

Standard (29 CFR 1910.134). 

 

Note: An employer is not obligated to provide filtering facepiece respirators to 

employees under this section, nor are employers required to provide or allow any 

other type of respirator, unless required by another part of this rule. 

 

(C) When an employee chooses to wear a mask, face covering, or face 

shield even when it is not required, the employer must allow them to 

do so.   

 
Note: Employees are protected from discrimination or retaliation under ORS 

654.062(5). This includes protections for actions against employees for opposing any 

practice forbidden under the Oregon Safe Employment Act and related statutes and 

rules (including this rule for COVID-19), making a complaint or causing any 

proceeding to be instituted under the Oregon Safe Employment Act, or exercising any 

rights under the law, including those conferred by this Rule Addressing COVID-19 

Workplace Risks (OAR 437-001-0744).  

 

(b) COVID-19 testing for workers. If COVID-19 testing is conducted at the 

employer's own direction, the employer is responsible for covering the costs 

of testing including but not limited to the COVID-19 test itself, employee 

time, and employee travel. However, if the employer is not requesting the 

test, the employer is not expected to cover the direct cost of such testing or 

of any involved employee travel.  

 

(c) Routine ventilation maintenance and evaluation. Employers covered by 

section (5) of this rule, should optimize the amount of outside air circulated 

through its existing heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) 

system(s), in accordance of subsection (3)(f).   

 

(d) COVID-19 infection notification process. The employers covered by this 

section (5) of this rule, should establish and implement a process to notify 

exposed employees (those who were within six feet of a confirmed COVID-19 
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individual for a cumulative total of 15 minutes or more, regardless of 

whether one or both of them were wearing source control) that they had a 

work-related contact with an individual who has tested positive for COVID-

19, as well as to notify affected employees (those who worked in the same 

facility or in the same well-defined portion of the facility such as a particular 

floor) that an individual who was present in the facility has confirmed 

COVID-19. This notification process should include the following elements:   

 

(A) A mechanism for notifying both exposed and affected employees 

within 24 hours of the employer being made aware that an individual 

with COVID-19 was present in the workplace while infectious or 

otherwise may have had work-related contact with its employee(s) 

while infectious; and  

 

(B) This notification process should be established and implemented in 

accordance with all applicable federal and Oregon laws and 

regulations. 

 

Note: Employers may use the model procedure published by Oregon OSHA.  

 

Note: The reporting of COVID-19 cases may be required under existing Oregon Health 

Authority rules regarding reporting of disease cases. OAR 333-018-0016 requires 

such cases to be reported by healthcare providers and laboratories within 24 hours of 

identification.  

 

Note: Whenever an exposure notification as described by this rule is provided in 

writing, the notification may be subject to the existing requirements of Oregon 

OSHA's Access to Employee Exposure and Medical Records standard (29 CFR 

1910.1020).  

 

(e) Medical removal. Employers covered by section (5) of this rule should 

follow Oregon Health Authority, public heath, or medical provider 

recommendations for isolation or quarantine of employees for COVID-19.  

 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2), ORS 654.035, ORS 656.726(4), ORS 654.025(3)(a)  

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.001 through 654.295 

Hist: OR OSHA Admin. Order 3-2020, f. 11/6/20, ef. 11/16/20  

OR OSHA Admin. Order 4-2020, f. 12/11/20, ef. 12/11/20. 

OR OSHA Admin. Order 2-2021, f. 5/4/21, ef. 5/4/21. 

OR OSHA Admin. Order 5-2021, f. 6/30/21, ef. 6/30/21. 

OR OSHA Admin. Order 10-2021, f. 8/13/21, ef. 8/13/21. 

OR OSHA Admin. Order 12-2021, f. 9/14/21, ef. 9/16/21  

OR-OSHA Admin. Order 14-2021, f. 12/21/21, ef. 12/21/21 

OR-OSHA Admin Order 1-2022, f. 3/18/22, ef. 3/18/22 

OR-OSHA Admin Order 5--2022, f. 09/09/2022, ef. 09/12/2022 
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OAR 437-001-0744 

Rule Addressing COVID-19 Workplace Risks 

[Appendix A - Mandatory Workplace Guidance For Industry-Specific 

And Activity-Specific Situations 

A-1: No Longer Required – Restaurants, Bars, Brewpubs, and Public Tasting Rooms at 

Breweries, Wineries, and Distilleries 

A-2: No Longer Required – Retail Stores 

A-3: Personal Services Providers 

A-4: No Longer Required – Construction Operations 

A-5: Transit Agencies 

A-6: No Longer Required – Professional, Division 1, Pac-12, West Coast Conference 

and Big Sky Conference Sports   

A-7: No Longer Required – Employers Operating Fitness-Related Organizations] 

A-8: K-12 Educational Institutions (Public or Private)  

A-9: Employers Operating Child Care and Early Education Programs 

A-10: Veterinary Clinics 

A-11: Emergency Medical Services: First Responders, Firefighters, Emergency Medical 

Services and Non-Emergency Medical Transport  

A-12: Law Enforcement Activities 

A-13: Jails, Prisons, and Other Custodial Institutions 

A-1: No Longer Required – Restaurants, Bars, Brewpubs, and Public 

Tasting Rooms at Breweries, Wineries, and Distilleries 

This guidance is no longer required. 

A-2: No Longer Required – Retail Stores 

This guidance is no longer required. 
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A-3: Personal Services Providers 

 Application: This appendix applies to employers operating barber shops, hair 

salons, esthetician practices, medical spas, facial spas and day spas, non-medical 

massage therapy services, nail salons, tanning salons, and tattoo/piercing 

parlors. To the degree this appendix provides specific guidance, it supersedes 

the requirements of the Rule Addressing COVID-19 Workplace Risks (OAR 437-

001-0744); to the degree a situation is not addressed by the specific language of 

this appendix, the requirements of the rule apply. 

A. Masks, Face Coverings, and Face Shields. To reduce the risk of transmission 

from potentially infected individuals, employers of personal services providers 

must implement the requirements of OAR 437-001-0744 subsection (3)(b) of this 

rule, except as otherwise provided by this appendix. 

1. Allow clients to remove the face covering when appropriate to or necessary 

for certain services; for example, a client does not need to wear a face 

covering when face-down on a massage table. And some services, such as 

mustache or beard trims, may require the cloth, paper or disposable face 

covering to be temporarily removed; and 

2. Allow employees to wear medical grade masks if they choose to do so when 

providing services. 

A-4: No Longer Required – Construction Operation 

This guidance is no longer required. 

A-5: Transit Agencies 

Application: This appendix applies to public transit agencies and providers 

statewide. To the degree this appendix provides specific guidance, it 

supplements, but does not replace, the requirements of the Rule Addressing 

COVID-19 Workplace Risks (OAR 437-001-0744). 

 Note: This appendix is consistent with existing Oregon Health Authority statewide guidance as it 

relates to the protection of workers in such establishments. However, Oregon Health Authority 

guidance may also contain public health provisions that are not reflected by this document. 

Employers engaged in such activity need to be aware of and comply with those public health 

requirements as well as with this appendix.  

A. Physical Distancing Measures. Transit agencies must take the following specific 

steps: 

1. Require at least six feet of physical distance between the driver and 

passengers (except during boarding and when assisting those with mobility 

devices), cordoning off seats as necessary to reinforce this requirement; 
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2. Use physical partitions or visual cues (for example, floor decals, colored tape, 

or signs) to discourage passengers from standing or sitting within six feet of 

drivers and other transit employees on the bus or train; 

3. Determine and post maximum occupancy for each bus; and 

4. For rail systems, make verbal announcements about maximum occupancy 

before and after each stop. 

B.  Masks, Face Coverings, and Face Shields. To reduce the risk of transmission 

from potentially infected individuals, transit employers must ensure that any 

employees exposed to individuals without facial coverings are provided 

appropriate NIOSH-approved respiratory protection (including N95 respirators or 

better) in accordance with the rule.  

C. Signage. To reinforce the need to minimize COVID-19 risks, transit agencies 

must do the following: 

1. Post clear signs listing COVID-19 symptoms, asking employees and visitors 

with symptoms to stay home and telling them whom to contact if they need 

assistance; 

2. Use clear signs to encourage physical distancing; and 

3. Post clear signs about the mask, face covering, or face shield requirements; 

and 

4. For rail systems, post maximum occupancy for each train car using clear, 

prominently placed signs. 

Note: Transit agencies are encouraged, but not required, to use signs at high-traffic stops to 

encourage physical distancing while riders are waiting for a bus or train.A-6: No Longer 

Required – Professional, Division 1, Pac-12, West Coast Conference and Big 

Sky Conference Sports 

This guidance is no longer required. 

 

A-7: No Longer Required – Employers Operating Fitness-Related 

Organizations 

This guidance is no longer required. 
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A-8: K-12 Educational Institutions (Public or Private)  

Application: This appendix applies to employers who operate schools or other 

educational institutions for children from kindergarten through the 12
th

 grade (K-

12 schools) or any portion thereof. To the degree this appendix provides specific 

guidance, it supersedes the requirements of the Rule Addressing COVID-19 

Workplace Risks (OAR 437-001-0744); to the degree a situation is not addressed 

by the specific language of this appendix, the requirements of the rule apply.  

A. Masks, Face Coverings, and Face Shields. Employers must ensure that the 

requirements of Oregon Health Authority’s OAR 333-019-1015: Masking 

Requirements in Schools and other employee protections imposed by the 

Oregon Health Authority or the Oregon Department of Education are 

implemented and enforced in public and private K-12 schools. 

A-9: Employers Operating Child Care and Early Education Programs 

Application: This appendix applies to employers who operate any of the following 

types of child care and early education programs:  

✓ All licensed programs, including Certified Center (CC), Certified Family (CF), and 

Registered Family (RF).  

✓ All child care and preschool provided in public school settings.  

✓ All Recorded Programs, including school-age.  

✓ Oregon Pre-Kindergarten (Prenatal to Kindergarten), Preschool Promise, and Baby 

Promise.  

✓ Oregon Relief Nurseries.  

✓ Early Intervention and Early Childhood Special Education (EI/ECSE) provided in a 

child care or early education setting. 

A. Exception for Masks, Face Coverings, and Face Shields, and Personal 

Protective Equipment for Children and Adults.  

1. All children who are in the child care facility or in the designated child care 

section of the child care provider’s home must wear a face covering indoors 

unless: 

✓ The child is under five years of age or not yet in kindergarten; 

✓ They have a verified medical condition or disability that prevents them from 

safely wearing a face covering; 

✓ They are unable to remove the face covering independently; 

✓ They are sleeping, eating, or drinking. 
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A-10: Veterinary Clinics 

Application: This appendix applies to veterinarians licensed under ORS 686, and to 

their assistants and other employees. To the degree this appendix provides 

specific guidance, it supplements, but does not replace, the requirements of the 

Rule Addressing COVID-19 Workplace Risks (OAR 437-001-0744). 

A.  Personal Protective Equipment. To reduce the risk of transmission, 

veterinary employers must provide and ensure the use of personal protective 

equipment in accordance with the following table: 

“Interim Infection Prevention and Control Guidance for Veterinary Clinics Treating 

Companion Animals During the COVID-19 Response,” published by the United 

States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (last updated August 12, 2020) 

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/veterinarians.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/veterinarians.html
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Animal History Mask 

Eye 

Protection 

(face 

shield or 

goggles) 

Gloves 
Gown or 

Coveralls 

N95 

respirator 

or 

suitable 

alternative 

Healthy companion animal 

without exposure to a person with 

COVID-19 compatible symptoms 

No No No No No 

Companion animal with an illness 

that is not suspicious of SARS-

CoV-2 infection AND without 

exposure to a person with COVID-

19 compatible symptoms 

No No No No No 

Companion animal that is not 

suspicious for SARS-CoV-2 

infection BUT has exposure to a 

person with COVID-19 compatible 

symptoms 

Yes No Yes No No 

Companion animal with an illness 

that is suspicious for SARS-CoV-2 

infection 

Yes Yes Yes Yes No 

Aerosol-generating procedure for 

any animal without an exposure 

to a person with COVID-19 

compatible symptoms 

Yes Yes Yes Yes No 

Aerosol-generating procedure for 

any animal with an exposure to a 

person with COVID-19 compatible 

symptoms 

No Yes Yes Yes Yes 

Any procedure on an animal that 

is known to be currently infected 

with SARS-CoV-2 through 

detection by a validated RT-PCR 

assay 

No Yes Yes Yes Yes 

Any procedure where a person 

with known or suspected of being 

infected with COVID-19 will be 

present 

No Yes Yes Yes Yes 
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A-11:]Appendix A – Emergency Medical Services: First Responders, 

Firefighters, Emergency Medical Services and Non-Emergency 

Medical Transport 

Application: This appendix applies to first responders, firefighters, emergency 

medical services, and non-emergency medical transport employers. It also 

provides direction specific to Emergency Communication Centers. To the degree 

this appendix provides specific guidance, it supersedes the requirements of the 

Rule Addressing COVID-19 Workplace Risks (OAR 437-001-0744); to the degree a 

situation is not addressed by the specific language of this appendix, the 

requirements of the rule apply. 

  Note: Although this appendix is based upon the workplace health portions of Quarantine 

Guidance for Fire and EMS Responders and Information Bulletin 2020-02 on Personal Protective 

Equipment Advisory, published by the Office of the Oregon State Fire Marshal, it does not 

address many other issues included in that document. Employers of first responders, firefighters, 

EMS, and non-emergency medical transport should therefore be familiar with that guidance as 

well. 

Definitions. For purposes of this appendix, the following definitions apply: 

Emergency Communication Centers means 911 Public Safety Answering 

Points/Emergence Communication Centers (PSAP/ECCs). 

Emergency Medical Services Provider (EMS Provider) means a person who has 

received formal training in prehospital and emergency care, and is licensed to 

attend to any person who is ill or injured or who has a disability. Police 

officers, fire fighters, funeral home employees and other persons serving in a 

dual capacity, one of which meets the definition of "emergency medical 

services provider" are "emergency medical services providers" within the 

meaning of ORS chapter 682. 

Fire Department means public and private employers who engage in structural 

fire service activities, including emergency first response, who are covered 

under OAR 437-002-0182. 

A. General Operations Screening, Isolation and Quarantine. In order to reduce 

the risks of outbreaks within the workplace and the broader community, EMS 

employers must take the following steps: 

1. Instruct employees to self-monitor for symptoms consistent with COVID-19; 

2. Screen employees for fever and symptoms prior to each shift, excluding them 

from the workplace as appropriate based on guidance from the Oregon 

Health Authority; and 

3. Exclude any employees from the workplace if they test positive via a COVID-19 

diagnostic test. 

https://www.oregon.gov/osp/Docs/QuarantineGuidanceforFireandEMSRespondersMarch2020.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/osp/Docs/QuarantineGuidanceforFireandEMSRespondersMarch2020.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/osp/Docs/2020-02InformationBulletinPPEAdvisory.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/osp/Docs/2020-02InformationBulletinPPEAdvisory.pdf
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 Note: Quarantine Guidance for Fire and EMS Responders provides detailed information on 

monitoring, quarantine, isolation, and subsequent return to work. 

B. General Operations – Emergency Communication Centers. Emergency 

 Communication Centers (ECC) must comply with the provisions of the rule, 

 with the following specific provisions and exceptions: 

[1. Whether shields or barriers have been installed, ECC communications 

personnel are not required to wear face coverings while handling emergency 

calls, but must be allowed to do so at their discretion; 

2]1. ECC should implement an EIDS or screen for fever, cough, difficulty 

breathing, and diarrhea for all calls, when feasible, if local triggers determined 

by the PSAP director have been met. Additionally, PSAPs should ask: 

✓ Is anyone in the call location a known or suspected COVID-positive 

individual undergoing either quarantine or isolation? 

✓ Is the call location a long-term care facility known to have COVID-19 cases? 

3.2. The query process should never supersede the provision of pre-arrival 

instructions to the caller when immediate lifesaving interventions (for 

example, CPR) are indicated. 

4.3. If the patient meets the above criteria, then PSAPs should: 

a. Provide medical care per protocol. 

b. Alert responding agencies of the possibility of a respiratory pathogen as 

soon as possible. 

c. Follow LPHA policies for reporting and follow up of healthcare workers with 

contact to suspected cases. 

d. For ill travelers at US international airports or other ports of entry to the 

United States (maritime ports or border crossings) should be in contact 

with the CDC quarantine station of jurisdiction for the port of entry CDC 

Quarantine Station Contact List for planning guidance. 

54.  If the patient does not meet criteria, discontinue questioning and follow 

appropriate case entry. 

6.5. If call volumes increase to the point that screening is interfering with the 

timely processing of calls, consider suspending EIDS screening. 

C.[ General Operations – Fire Departments and Ambulance Agencies. Fire 

Departments and Ambulance Agencies must comply with the provisions of the rule, 

with the following specific provisions and exceptions: 

1. Spacing requirements do not need to be followed on any Agency apparatus 

when responding to or returning from a call, although respiratory protection 

must be worn as necessary. 

https://www.oregon.gov/osp/Docs/QuarantineGuidanceforFireandEMSRespondersMarch2020.pdf
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2. The personnel residing in common living areas in a fire station or ambulance 

agency facility are not required to wear masks, face coverings or face shields 

(this exception applies only to shared living areas; it does not apply to break 

rooms, shared toilet facilities, or other common areas used by other 

employees or individuals other than those residing in the living areas). 

3. The driver of an emergency response vehicle may adjust or remove a mask or 

face covering that impedes their vision or distracts from the safe operation of 

the vehicle. 

D.] Personal Protective Equipment. Masks or respirators must be worn by EMS 

providers while they are engaged in emergency medical services or other patient care. 

Face coverings must not be used as a substitute for a mask or respirator when 

respiratory protection (droplet precautions for a mask, airborne precautions for a 

respirator) is required. EMS providers must apply the following guidance: 

1. During direct patient care in the EMS setting, use of respirators without 

exhalation valves is preferred but not required; and 

2. When dealing with an individual known or suspected of being infected with 

COVID-19, EMS providers must wear a NIOSH-approved N95 or equivalent or a 

higher-level respirator, a gown, gloves, and eye protection (face shield or 

goggles). 

 Note: The use of respirators must comply with the Respiratory Protection standard (29 CFR 

1910.134). 

Note: The use of face coverings, masks, or respirators are not required when EMS employees are not 

involved in direct patient care, unless the conditions for the Special Provisions for the Transport of 

Patients of this appendix apply. 

D. Special Provisions for the Transport of Patients (Emergency and Non-

Emergency) with Suspected or Confirmed COVID-19.  

For any patient meeting any of following criteria: 

• Symptoms of lower respiratory infection, such as fever, cough, or shortness 

of breath; 

• Recent contact with someone with known COVID-19; or 

• Call location is a long-term care facility known to have COVID-19 cases. 

 EMS providers must apply the following procedures when engaging in 

transporting, whether emergency or non-emergency: 

1. Involve the fewest EMS personnel required to minimize possible exposures; 

others riding in the ambulance must be limited to those essential for the 

patient’s physical or emotional well-being or care (for example, care partner or 

parent); 
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2. Ensure that the patient is masked. The patient mask must not have an 

exhalation valve, as it would allow unfiltered, exhaled breath to escape; 

3. Provide medical care per protocol; 

4.  Ensure that personnel use contact, droplet, and airborne precautions, as 

follows: 

a. Wear a single pair of disposable patient examination gloves. 

b. Wear disposable isolation gown. If there are shortages of gowns, they 

should be prioritized for aerosol-generating procedures, and care 

activities where splashes and sprays are anticipated. 

c. Use respiratory protection (an N95 or higher-level respirator). If respirator 

supplies have been depleted, facemasks are an acceptable alternative. 

Respirators should be prioritized for procedures that are likely to 

generate respiratory aerosols. 

d. Wear eye protection (goggles or a disposable face shield that fully covers 

the front and sides of the face). 

5.  Use caution with aerosol-generating procedures and ventilate ambulance if 

possible; 

6.  Notify the receiving hospital (according to local protocols) of potential 

infection as soon as possible; 

7.  Disinfect using EPA registered Disinfectants for Use Against SARS-CoV-2; and 

8.  Drivers, if they provide direct patient care (for example, moving patients onto 

stretchers), must wear the PPE listed above. 

a. After completing patient care and before entering an isolated driver’s 

compartment, the driver must remove and dispose of PPE and perform 

hand hygiene to avoid soiling the compartment. 

b. If the transport vehicle does not have an isolated driver’s compartment, 

the driver must remove the face shield or goggles, gown, and gloves and 

perform hand hygiene, but continue to wear a respirator, mask, or face 

covering during transport. 

Patients who do not meet the criteria listed above can be cared for using standard 

precautions, with use of transmission-based precautions determined by clinical 

presentation. 

[A-12: Law Enforcement Activities 

 Application: This appendix applies to the activities of law enforcement officers in 

the performance of their duties. To the degree this appendix provides specific 

guidance, it supersedes the requirements of the Rule Addressing COVID-19 

Workplace Risks (OAR 437-001-0744); to the degree a situation is not addressed 

by the specific language of this appendix, the requirements of the rule apply. 
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Definitions. For purposes of this appendix, the following definitions apply: 

Law enforcement agency means the Oregon State Police, a county sheriff’s 

office, a municipal police department, a police department established by a 

university under ORS 352.121 or 353.125, or an agency that employs one or 

more parole and probation officers as defined in ORS 181A.355. 

Law enforcement officer means a member of the Oregon State Police, a sheriff 

or deputy sheriff, a municipal police officer, an authorized police officer of a 

police department established by a university under ORS 352.121 or 

353.125, or a parole or probation officer as defined in ORS 181A.355. 

A. Masks, Face Coverings, and Face Shields. To reduce the risk of transmission 

from potentially infected individuals, law enforcement agencies must require 

masks, face coverings, or face shields in spaces under their control and when 

employees interact with other individuals, as required by OAR 437-001-

0744(3)(b). However, the following specific modifications apply to certain law 

enforcement activities: 

1. Law enforcement agencies must ensure that all employees, visitors, and 

persons in custody wear a mask, face covering, or face shield as required in 

this rule unless enforcing this requirement would require the use of physical 

force or place an employee or member of the public at greater risk of COVID-

19 exposure; 

2. Law enforcement agencies must provide masks and face shield to law 

enforcement officers to wear in combination in situations when a person in 

custody refuses to wear a face covering; 

3. Law enforcement officers are permitted adjust or remove the face mask, face 

covering, or face shield while interviewing a member of the public when 

necessary to establish sufficient rapport with the interviewee; 

4. Law enforcement officers driving during an emergency response or pursuit 

may adjust or remove a mask, face covering, or face shield that impedes their 

vision or distracts from the safe operation of the vehicle; 

5. Law enforcement officers are permitted to remove their mask, face covering, 

or face shield when the officer’s ability to clearly communicate is impaired by 

the mask, face covering, or face shield; and 

6. Law enforcement employees transporting a person in custody or a member of 

the public must ensure that that person wears a mask, face covering, or face 

shield unless compliance would require the use of force or place law 

enforcement employees or a member of the public at greater risk for COVID-

19 exposure or physical jeopardy. 
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A-13: Jails, Prisons, and Other Custodial Institutions 

 Application: This appendix applies to jails, prisons, and other custodial 

institutions. To the degree this appendix provides specific guidance, it 

supersedes the requirements of the Rule Addressing COVID-19 Workplace Risks 

(OAR 437-001-0744); to the degree a situation is not addressed by the specific 

language of this appendix, the requirements of the rule apply. 

A. Masks, Face Coverings, and Face Shields. To reduce the risk of transmission 

from potentially infected individuals, jails, prisons, and other custodial 

institutions must require masks, face coverings or face shields within the 

premises. However, the following specific modifications to the requirements to 

OAR 437-001-0744(3)(b) apply within the secure perimeter of the jail, prison, or 

other custodial institution: 

1. Jails, prisons, and other custodial institutions must require all person 

entering the secure perimeter of the jail to wear a mask, face shield, or face 

covering when within six feet of other individuals, if there are no physical 

barriers between them, with the following exceptions: 

✓ During scheduled mealtimes when eating or drinking; 

✓ If a physical or mental condition or disability limits the ability to wear a 

mask, face covering, or face shield; 

✓ When an order from the Oregon Judicial Department, presiding judge, or 

local health authority provides an exception to the wearing of masks, face 

coverings or face shields; 

✓ In a housing unit where all adults in custody have been in quarantine for a 

minimum period of time established by the local health authority after 

considering CDC and OHA guidelines, provided that all staff members 

wear a mask or face covering at all times while in the unit; 

✓ In youth correctional facility common areas when all youth in custody 

have been in quarantine for a minimum period of time established by the 

Oregon Health Authority, provided that all non-youth-in-custody 

individuals wear a face covering and the Oregon Health Authority has 

authorized such practice; or 

✓ During an emergency, such as when responding to a spontaneous use of 

force event, a medical emergency, or a suicide attempt in a housing unit. 

2. The jail, prison, or other custodial institution must not charge individuals in 

custody for masks, face coverings or face shields, except in the case of 

knowing damage or destruction to the mask, face covering, or face shield in 

violation of institution rules. 

3. The jail, prison, or other custodial institution must not charge employees for 

masks, face coverings or face shields. 
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4. Custodial institution employees transporting a person in custody or a 

member of the public must ensure that that person wears a mask, face 

covering, or face shield unless compliance would require the use of force or 

place law enforcement employees or a member of the public at greater risk 

for COVID-19 exposure or physical jeopardy.] 

 

 

  


