Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Division

Oregon Administrative Rules

AO 3-2023

Division 1

## Self-Insured and Group Self-Insured Employers' Program

## 437-001-1050 Self-Insured and Group Self-Insured Employer Loss Prevention Assistance

- (1) A self-insured employer and each self-insured group shall make available to each of its workplace or group locations occupational safety and health loss prevention assistance.
- (2) A self-insured employer or group shall acknowledge all requests for services which do not involve alleged hazards from any of its locations within 30 days by scheduling a date to begin providing services.
- (3) Any request from locations of the self-insured employer or group regarding imminent danger of an alleged hazard shall be responded to as soon as possible with loss prevention services.
- (4) All other requests regarding alleged hazards other than imminent danger shall be responded to with loss prevention services as soon as practicable, but not longer than 30 days following the date of the request.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2) and 656.726(4).
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.001 through 654.295.
History: APD Admin. Order 21-1988, filed 12/27/88, effective 12/27/88.
OSHA 8-1991, filed 4/25/91, effective 5/1/91.
OSHA 5-2018, filed 11/29/18, effective 12/17/18.

## 437-001-1055 Self-Insured and Group Self-Insured Employer Loss Prevention Programs

Each self-insured employer and each member of a group self-insured program shall establish and implement a written occupational health and safety loss prevention program for each establishment. As a minimum requirement, the program shall:

- (1) Provide for a loss prevention effort within the normal functions of the business for prevention or reduction of health and safety injuries and illnesses; and
- (2) Inform its managers and workplace locations of the availability and the process for requesting loss prevention assistance.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2) and 656.726(3).
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.001 through 654.295.
History: APD Admin. Order 21-1988, filed 12/27/88, effective 12/27/88.
OSHA 8-1991, filed 4/25/91, effective 5/1/91.

Division 1

AO 3-2023

Oregon Administrative Rules

Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Division

## 437-001-1060 Self-Insured and Group Self-Insured Employer Loss Prevention Effort

Each self-insured employer and each member of a group self-insured program shall implement a loss prevention effort for each of its locations, which identifies and controls all reasonably discoverable occupational safety and health hazards and items not in compliance with the federal or the division's occupational safety and health laws, rules and standards. The self-insured group shall assist each member of the group in developing and implementing the loss prevention effort. This loss prevention effort shall include at least the following:

- (1) Management commitment to health and safety;
- (2) An accountability system for employer and employees;
- (3) Training practices and follow-up;
- (4) A system for hazard assessment and control;
- (5) A system for investigating all recordable occupational injuries and illnesses that includes corrective action and written findings;
- (6) A system for evaluating, obtaining, and maintaining personal protective equipment;
- (7) On-site routine industrial hygiene and safety evaluations to detect physical and chemical hazards of the workplace, and the implementation of engineering or administrative controls;
- (8) Evaluation of workplace design, layout and operation, and assistance with job site modifications utilizing an ergonomic approach;
- (9) Employee involvement in the health and safety effort;
- (10) An annual evaluation of the employer's loss prevention activities based on the location's current needs; and
- (11) The group shall maintain records which document the assistance provided to each member of the group.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2) and 656.726(3).
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.001 through 654.295.
History: APD Admin. Order 21-1988, filed 12/27/88, effective 12/27/88.
OSHA 8-1991. filed 4/25/91. effective 5/1/91.