2015

​​​​​​​​​​​​

For immediate release
March 4, 2015

Contact information
Aaron Corvin, Public information officer
503-947-7428, aaron.​corvin@oregon.gov

Oregon OSHA cites Portland bakery

for willful safety violations

Salem - The Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Division (Oregon OSHA) has fined Portland Specialty Baking LLC $28,125 for a grouped willful violation after a worker's hand was crushed in a dough chunker machine. Although treated as a single violation for penalty purposes, a grouped violation indicates that the employer conduct being cited violates more than one code. The citation was the result of an inspection on Oct. 7, 2014, at the Portland commercial bakery.

The worker was operating a machine that cuts dough into smaller pieces when the accident occurred. When dough became jammed in the machine, the worker placed a piece of dough over the sensor, lifted the machine guard, and reached into the running machine.



The Oregon OSHA investigation found the bakery had a history of similar injuries. On July 3, 2014, a worker received a serious laceration to his middle finger (and lost a fingernail) when he reached into the bagel dough divider to remove dough trimmings. On July 16, 2014, another employee suffered lacerations and a fractured hand after reaching into the same machine to remove trimmings. In 2008, an employee also suffered a crushed hand when reaching into the dough chunker machine. 


"Despite the pattern of injuries, this employer continued to ignore the rules that could prevent them, with what certainly was a careless disregard for worker safety," said Oregon OSHA Administrator Michael Wood. "It might even be described as reckless."

Oregon OSHA cited the bakery for not providing adequate training to workers, many of whom were not native English speakers. Employee interviews revealed workers did not understand how to safely operate the machinery and were bypassing machine guarding. A willful violation exists when an employer intentionally or knowingly allows a violation to occur. 

The company has 30 days to appeal the citation.

 

###

About Oregon OSHA:

Oregon OSHA, a division of the Department of Consumer and Business Services, enforces the state's workplace safety and health rules and works to improve workplace safety and health for all Oregon workers. For more information, go to www.orosha.org.

The Department of Consumer and Business Services is Oregon's largest business regulatory and consumer protection agency. For more information, go to www.dcbs.oregon.gov or follow www.twitter.com/OregonDCBS.

​​