Health and Safety Resource

​August-September 2017

 

Oregon OSHA’s two main lead rules are 1910.1025, Lead (Division 2, Subdivision Z) and 1926.62, Lead (Division 3, Subdivision D). Rule 1910.1025 sets Oregon OSHA’s requirements for all occupational exposures to lead in all workplaces,​ except construction. Rule 1926.62 sets Oregon OSHA’s requirements for all construction work where an employee may be exposed to lead.

Where are violations of Oregon OSHA’s lead rules occurring?

Violations of 1910.1025 (October 2015 through September 2016)
Citations Inspections Penalty Industry*
6 3 $270 Semiconductor and Other Electronic Component Manufacturing
3 1 $200 Radio and Television Broadcasting and Wireless Communications Equipment Manufacturing
3 1 $120 Ventilation, Heating, Air-Conditioning, and Commercial Refrigeration Equipment Manufacturing
2 1 $360 Sawmill and Woodworking Machinery Manufacturing
2 1 $250 Recyclable Material Merchant Wholesalers
2 1 $240 Executive and Legislative Offices, Combined
2 1 $210 Industrial Machinery and Equipment Merchant Wholesalers
2 1 $200 Plate Work and Fabricated Structural Product Manufacturing
2 1 $180 Glass and Glass Product Manufacturing
2 1 $120 Sporting and Athletic Goods Manufacturing
1 1 $270 Computer and Peripheral Equipment Manufacturing
1 1 $100 Machine Shops
1 1 $100 Automotive Body, Paint, Interior, and Glass Repair
1 1 $0 Other Industrial Machinery Manufacturing
1 1 $0 All Other Fabricated Metal Product Manufacturing
1 1 $0 Offices of Dentists
1 1 $0 Painting and Wall Covering Contractors
​33 ​19 ​$2,620 ​Total for All Industries

 

Violations of 1925.62 (October 2015 through September 2016)
Citations Inspections Penalty Industry*
61 9 $2,080 Residential Building Construction
12 2 $120 Site Preparation Contractors
11 3 $1,880 Painting and Wall Covering Contractors
8 1 $200 Finish Carpentry Contractors
6 2 $200 Remediation Services
5 1 $600 Other Building Finishing Contractors
5 1 $240 Framing Contractors
1 1 $12,500 Administration of Conservation Programs
1 1 $300 Vocational Rehabilitation Services
1 1 $0 Drywall and Insulation Contractors
111​ 22​ $18,120​ Total for All Industries​

*Based on 5-digit NAICS classifications. Source: OSHA, “Frequently cited OSHA standards” for Oregon.

 
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​