Permissible Exposure Limits Advisory Committee

Meeting Minutes

December 29, 2016

Location: Oregon OSHA PFO

Meeting started: 9:00 a.m.

Present:

Alta Schafer (Oregon OSHA)

Alden Strealy

Bryon Snapp (Oregon OSHA)

Carol Gunn

Daniel Cain (Oregon OSHA)

Dave McLaughlin (Oregon OSHA)

David Johnson

Dede Montgomery

DeEtta Burrows

Jeff Jackson (Oregon OSHA)

Jeffrey Green (Oregon OSHA)

Kathleen Kincade (Oregon OSHA)

Absent:

Cecil Tipton (Federal OSHA)

Fred Berman

Galen Blanton (Federal OSHA)

Peggy Munsell (Oregon OSHA)

Penny Wolf-McCormick (Oregon OSHA)

Russ Reasoner (Oregon OSHA)

Susan MacMillan

Welcome and introductions

The group introduced themselves.

Discussion

Bryon Snapp presented a recap of the December 16th meeting. The objective of that meeting was to receive and review each member's list of ranked candidates. Due to the adverse road conditions the week of the 16th, many members provided their list of candidates via email. The homework exercise which took place on December 16th resulted in twenty-five candidates for consideration; however, only seventeen were retained for further consideration due to the initial rules set forth for the December 16th exercise. The following is the list of candidates which were retained in alphabetical order:

Matthew Stopher
Michael Wood (Oregon OSHA)
Penny Wolf-McCormick (Oregon OSHA)
Renee Stapleton (Oregon OSHA)
Steve Eversmeyer
Trena VanDeHey (Oregon OSHA)
Wayne Boyle (Oregon OSHA)
Zandra Walton

- 1, 6 Hexamethylene diisocyanate
- 2-Butoxyethanol
- Benzene
- Carbon dioxide
- Carbon monoxide
- Cobalt
- Formaldehyde
- Hexane
- Hexavalent chromium
- Lead
- Manganese
- Noise
- Oil mist
- Styrene
- Sulphur dioxide
- Toluene
- Wood dust (non-allergenic)

The following is the list of suggestions in alphabetical order which was discarded from further consideration because they were outside the original scope of the project:

- 1-Bromopropane
- Flour dust
- Gluteraldhyde
- Isocynates
- Metal working fluid
- Welding fume
- Western red cedar
- Wood dust

At the conclusion of the December 16th summary, a group discussion about each of the seventeen remaining candidates was engaged in.

Bryon Snapp then led the voting members of the advisory group in a final exercise to assist Oregon OSHA in ranking the seventeen remaining candidates in order of importance. A basic dot-exercise was utilized. Each voting member in attendance was provided with four adhesive dots which were numbered #1, #2, #3 and #4. Members were instructed to only vote once per candidate. Manganese and noise were both automatically included on Oregon OSHA's final consideration list (short list) due to the overwhelming response for both from the December 16th meeting. Because of this, neither was included in the dot exercise for voting purposes. The following is the result of the dot exercise with the candidate that received the most votes descending down to the candidate which received the least:

- Manganese / not voted on, automatically included
- Noise / not voted on, automatically included

- 1. Wood dust (non-allergenic)
- 2. Formaldehyde
- 3. Lead
- 4. Sulfur dioxide
- 5. Styrene
- 6. Benzene
- 7. Oil mist (mineral)
- 8. Cobalt
- 9. 2-Butoxyethanol / received no votes
- 10. Carbon dioxide / received no votes
- 11. Carbon monoxide / received no votes
- 12. 1, 6 Hexamethylene diisocyanate / received no votes
- 13. Hexane / received no votes
- 14. Hexavalent chromium / received no votes
- 15. Toluene / received no votes

Michael Wood then concluded the meeting by thanking everyone for their efforts with this project and providing a summary of what is to come. Oregon OSHA anticipates taking a few months to evaluate the final short list and the evidence. At that point in time, Oregon OSHA may reconvene the entire advisory committee or individual members as PEL candidates are selected for individual rule making.

Meeting adjourned: 11:40 a.m.

Next meeting: None