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Background

During the coming weeks and months, Oregon OSHA is seeking stakeholder input regarding the most effective use of the organization’s existing penalty authority. This will include discussions with various stakeholder groups and advisory bodies. One part of this effort is a series of forums to seek input on the agency’s penalty structure and ways in which it might be changed.

On both the national and state levels, there have been suggestions in recent years that workplace health and safety penalties are not being used as effectively as they might to promote health and safety in the workplace. The purpose of these forums will be to discuss potential changes that could be made to Oregon OSHA penalties in order to respond to these suggestions.
The discussion that follows describes changes under consideration by the agency. However, these items do not represent a formal proposal, and discussion at the forums will not be limited to these items. Although some of these suggestions would result in increased penalties (and the national debate has largely focused on the need for larger penalties), the over-arching purpose of the discussion is to identify ways that penalties can be used more effectively to encourage employers to comply with Oregon OSHA rules both before and after an enforcement visit.

Like federal OSHA, Oregon OSHA has the authority to issue penalties of up to $7,000 per violation for both serious and other-than-serious violations. In practice, however, penalties are largely limited to serious violations. In Oregon, the average first-time serious violation does not approach the $7,000 maximum; instead it typically ranges between $300 and $350 (although violations with a clear risk of death generally result in a somewhat higher penalty).

Also like federal OSHA, Oregon OSHA has the authority to issue penalties for repeated or willful behavior of up to $70,000 per violation. In practice, willful violations are relatively infrequent, and generally carry substantial penalties. Repeat violations are more common, but such violations only rarely approach the statutory maximum.

Penalties are calculated after taking into account a number of factors. The following pages describe some of the changes being considered by Oregon OSHA, although no formal rulemaking proposal has yet been developed. As already noted, the suggested approaches described in this document are under active consideration, but they are intended to prompt further discussion rather than to represent a final proposal.
Items for Further Discussion

Item 1: 
Oregon OSHA will consider increasing the difference between small employer and large employer penalties.
The current Oregon OSHA rules reduce base penalties by 10 percent for employers with 50 or fewer employees.  
Most states (and federal OSHA) start with somewhat larger base penalties, but reduce them by 10 percent or 20 percent for employers with 250 or fewer employees and then give further reductions for even smaller employers. Employers with 25 or fewer employees typically get a reduction of 60 percent in the base penalty. When other potential reductions are considered, the smallest employers in other jurisdictions frequently pay 5 percent of the penalty paid by the largest employers for the same violation. In Oregon, the smallest employers pay between 70 percent and 90 percent of the penalty paid by the largest employers.
Oregon OSHA is considering an approach similar to that used by other states, with a graduated series of reductions in the base penalty for smaller employers. As part of such an approach, Oregon OSHA also would consider increasing the base penalty. The net effect of such a proposal would be to leave small employers’ average penalties unchanged, while larger employers would see their penalties increase.

Item 2:
Oregon OSHA will consider decreasing base penalties as a result of the employer’s demonstrated “good faith” efforts to promote workplace health and safety.
Oregon OSHA does not currently assess the employer’s “good faith” efforts to comply as part of calculating a penalty.

Most other states (and federal OSHA) offer a penalty reduction for an employer’s demonstrated “good faith” efforts to comply – generally focusing on efforts before the inspection. These reductions range from 25 to 40 percent. At least one state also increases base penalties by 20 percent based on an assessment of “poor faith.” In most jurisdictions, such good faith adjustments are not available for high-probability/high-severity violations, nor are they allowed as part of fatality investigations. In some jurisdictions, good faith adjustments are available to all employers in all situations (except for willful violations, where the employer’s lack of “good faith” is already taken into account by the decision to class the violation as willful).
Oregon OSHA is considering an approach similar to that used by other states, in which an employer’s base penalty could be reduced based on demonstrated good faith (with the primary focus on activities before the inspection began). Oregon OSHA also is considering increasing penalties based on the employer’s “poor faith.” If “good faith” penalty reductions are provided, Oregon OSHA will need to determine whether to disallow them in certain circumstances.

Item 3:
Oregon OSHA will consider reducing – and perhaps eliminating – the current decrease in base penalties as a result of the employer’s immediate correction of violations.
Oregon OSHA currently reduces base penalties by 30 percent if the violation is corrected during the inspection (without restriction). 

Some other states (and federal OSHA) allow a 10 percent reduction in the base penalty when an employer immediately corrects a violation. Still other states consider immediate correction as part of their assessment of the employer’s good faith, while at least one state allows a 10 percent reduction for “cooperation,” which includes immediate efforts to correct violations. Another state explicitly disallows any credit for immediate correction of violations. Again, such reductions are sometimes disallowed when dealing with fatality investigations or with high severity/high probability violations. In some cases, such reductions are not available if the violation could have been easily corrected (for example, by reinstalling guards or by turning on the ventilation system that was not in operation).

Oregon OSHA is considering either eliminating the penalty reduction for immediate correction (and perhaps considering it as part of good faith) or reducing it to 10 percent, in line with the practice of other states and federal OSHA. If a reduction is maintained, Oregon OSHA is considering language that allows the reduction only when the corrective action taken is permanent or substantial, ensuring that the condition is unlikely to recur.
Item 4:
Oregon OSHA will consider replacing the existing reduction for a lower-than-average injury rate with a smaller reduction for the employer’s compliance and injury history.
Oregon OSHA currently reduces base penalties by 35 percent if the establishment’s injury rate is lower than the average for that industry (regardless of how much lower). Apart from repeat violations themselves, the employer’s record of violations is not considered as part of the penalty calculation.
Most states (and federal OSHA) allow a 10 percent reduction if there is little or no documented history of workplace health and safety violations. One state includes workers’ compensation experience as a part of its assessment of employer history (and allows either a 10 percent decrease or a 10 percent increase if the employer’s violation and injury history varies significantly from the norm).

Oregon OSHA is considering replacing the existing reduction with a reduction of 10 percent that takes into account both the employer’s violation history and the employer’s workers’ compensation history. If such an approach is adopted, Oregon OSHA also is considering a comparable increase in the base penalty if the employer’s experience is considerably higher than the norm.
Item 5:
Oregon OSHA will consider further adjustments to the calculation of the base penalty designed to modestly increase the average penalty for serious violations for employers of all sizes.

Oregon OSHA consistently has maintained either the lowest or second-lowest average penalty in the country for a first-time serious violation. The most recent figures indicate that Oregon OSHA continues to average slightly more than one-third of the national average (including both federal OSHA and other state plans) and slightly less than one-third of the average for federal OSHA (without including state plans). Federal OSHA has announced plans to administratively increase its average penalties by as much as three to four times, which would leave the current average penalty in Oregon at roughly one-tenth of the federal average.  

Federal OSHA, in its most recent evaluation of the Oregon program (which has been drafted but not yet finalized) has concluded that Oregon OSHA should consider raising the base penalty for serious violations in order to enhance the deterrent effect of those penalties (and therefore to encourage employer compliance before enforcement visits occur). Although federal OSHA has expressed concern at various times regarding penalty levels, federal OSHA has not historically expected state penalties to match the federal level to meet the requirement of state and federal law that enforcement activities be “at least as effective” as the federal enforcement. However, a decision to leave Oregon OSHA penalties completely unchanged in the face of the federal findings would be likely to prompt such a finding.
Oregon OSHA is considering a modest increase in the base penalties (beyond the increase that would be part of increasing the adjustment for employer size). However, at present, Oregon OSHA does not anticipate adopting an overall approach similar to that adopted by federal OSHA.

Item 6:
Oregon OSHA will consider modifying its approach to repeat violations to provide a greater incentive to larger employers and to minimize reliance on “administrator’s discretion.”
For a repeat violation of an Oregon OSHA rule, employers now pay a penalty two times what the penalty would have been without the repeat. For a second repeat (third violation), employers pay a penalty five times greater, and for a third repeat (fourth violation), employers pay a penalty 10 times greater. For additional repeats, the current rule indicates that the penalty is to be determined at the administrator’s discretion.

Most other jurisdictions use a similar multiplier for the first two violations, although at least one jurisdiction increases the multiplier by one with each successive violation (so that a second repeat is multiplied by three, and a fifth repeat (sixth violation) is multiplied by six. Some states (and federal OSHA) increase the multiplier for employers with more than 250 employees, with penalties multiplied by five for the first repeat and by 10 for the second repeat. 

Oregon OSHA is considering identifying multipliers for repeat violations beyond the third repeat, rather than relying on administrator’s discretion in all such cases. In addition, Oregon OSHA is considering adopting a larger multiplier for employers with more than 250 employees.
Item 7:
Oregon OSHA will consider adopting a multiplier for willful violations and eliminating the current reliance on administrator’s discretion.
Under Oregon OSHA’s current rule, any willful violation is assigned a penalty between the statutory minimum of $5,000 and the statutory maximum of $70,000, at the administrator’s discretion.

Practices in other jurisdictions vary, but some states use a multiplier to calculate willful penalties similar to that used for repeat violations. Practice also varies as to which, if any, penalty reduction is applied to the base penalty before the willful violation is calculated.

Oregon OSHA is considering adopting a multiplier for most willful violations that would multiply the base penalty, adjusted only for employer size, by 25 if the violation has been classified as willful.  
