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Background

As part of Oregon OSHA’s review of the effectiveness of its penalty rules in encouraging employers to comply with Oregon OSHA rules and generally to promote health and safety in the workplace, one of the changes under consideration is to increase the difference between the penalties assessed to small and large employers.  Under the current rule, Oregon OSHA reduces the base penalty by 10 percent for employers who had 50 or fewer employees throughout the previous 12 months.  Like other Oregon OSHA adjustments, no adjustment is applied to repeat, willful or failure-to-correct violations or to any violation that contributed to the injury, illness or death or an employee.  Most other jurisdictions use a sliding scale that results in reductions in the base penalty of 60 percent or more for the smallest employers.  In addition, even in those jurisdictions that restrict other adjustments based on the type of violation being granted, size reductions have typically been granted without restriction.
One result of this practice is that the relative impact of penalties on small employers is much higher in Oregon than in other states.  Federal OSHA’s average penalties for first-time serious violations have historically been nearly three times that of Oregon.  For employers with more than 500 employees, however, federal OSHA’s average approaches four times that of Oregon, while employers with 10 or fewer employees pay just two-and-one-half times as much in federal states as in Oregon.  
Even in states with average penalties closer to Oregon’s, larger employers pay much more than they do in Oregon.  Overall, Oregon’s average penalty is almost three-quarters that of Washington, and almost two-thirds that of North Carolina.  Oregon’s average penalty for truly small employers is more than 85 percent of the Washington average and ranges between 80 and 90 percent of the North Carolina average.  An employer with more than 500 employees, on the other hand, would pay much less in Oregon – about 40 percent of the Washington penalty and about 35 percent of the North Carolina penalty.

Discussion

The primary argument in favor of varying penalties by size is that penalties are intended to motivate employers, and the same penalty is unlikely to motivate a multinational corporation to the same degree as a small local business.  In keeping with that logic, a sliding scale with multiple thresholds should be considered instead of Oregon’s current single threshold.  One possible option would be to reduce the base penalties according to the following table:
Employees

Percentage Reduction
  1-10



80
  11-25



60
  56-90



50
  91-130


30
  131-175


20
  176-250


10
251 or more


none

Although this approach would introduce more variability between employers, it would not be likely to significantly increase variability between enforcement officers.  Unlike some other possible changes, the size reduction would not be significantly more complicated than the current approach.  It would not require on an assessment of one or more factors, nor would it depend upon the judgment of the individual enforcement officer. 
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