
Employers are required to have a reasonable 

procedure for employees to report work-related 

injuries and illnesses, without retaliation.

These retaliation prohibitions can affect how 

employers use incentive programs. 

Incentive Programs
Oregon OSHA allows for incentive programs. 

However, employers must take care in how such 

programs are developed and applied. 

Withholding a benefit—such as a cash prize drawing 

or other substantial award—simply because of a 

reported injury or illness would likely be considered 

retaliating against an employee and a violation of 

the law. Penalizing employees simply because an 

employee reported a work-related injury or illness 

without regard to the circumstances surrounding the 

injury or illness is not “objectively reasonable.”

For example, an employer raffles a $500 gift card at 

the end of each month after no accidents that require 

any employees to miss work. Then, the employer 

cancels the raffle one month because an employee 

reported a lost-time injury. This likely violates the 

law because the employer did not consider the 

circumstances of the injury. Canceling the raffle is an 

example of an adverse action against an employee 

with a work-related injury.

Providing an incentive for employees to comply with 

legitimate safety rules or to participate in safety-related 

activities would not violate the rule. For example, 

raffling a $500 gift card each month where employees 

universally complied with legitimate workplace safety 

rules—such as wearing hard hats and fall protection 

and following lockout-tagout procedures—would not 

violate the rule. Likewise, rewarding employees for 

participating in safety training or identifying unsafe 

working conditions is allowed.

If an employer withholds a benefit from an employee 

for reporting an injury or illness without taking into 

account the circumstances surrounding the injury or 

illness, this could violate the rule.
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This can help determine if an incentive program is in compliance with the rules.
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The Technical Section of Oregon OSHA produced this fact sheet to highlight health and safety programs and rules.  
The information is intended to explain the rules and provide best practices to employers.

Workers
Your employer cannot retaliate 
against you for reporting a 
workplace health or safety concern 
or violation. For more information 
about your rights, visit the Oregon 
OSHA website.Visit Oregon OSHA
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