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Safety for bicycle couriers

The working life of a bicycle courier isn’t easy. Time pressures, traffic, bad weather,
poor air quality, long hours, road hazards, and rude people are just some of the
courier’s challenges.

Oregon OSHA expects bicycle courier employers to:
* Ensure that couriers understand and follow Oregon’s requirements for cyclists

* Do a hazard assessment to determine the personal protective equipment (PPE) couriers
need for their jobs

* Report fatalities and serious workplace injuries promptly to Oregon OSHA
Ensure that couriers understand Oregon’s requirements for cyclists

Bicycles are considered vehicles in the Oregon Vehicle Code, which means that couriers
must follow the same rules of the road that apply to motorists. The two best places to get
information on rules of the road and other requirements for cyclists is the Oregon Department
of Transportation’s Bicycle and pedestrian program and the Oregon bicyclist manual.

Do a hazard assessment to determine appropriate PPE

A hazard assessment is a required evaluation of your workplace that helps you determine the
hazards that employees such as couriers are exposed to and what PPE they need to protect
themselves. A hazard assessment
should include:

» The tasks that couriers do

» The hazards couriers are
exposed to

* How couriers could be injured

* The PPE necessary to protect
couriers

A typical hazard assessment for
bicycle couriers would include
evaluating the need for head
protection, eye protection, hand
protection, and high-visibility
clothing. Oregon OSHA's

Quick guide to the PPE hazard
assessment explains the
requirements.



http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/HWY/BIKEPED/Pages/index.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/form/vehiclecodebk.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/HWY/BIKEPED/pages/index.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/HWY/BIKEPED/docs/bike_manual.pdf
http://osha.oregon.gov/OSHAPubs/2738.pdf
http://osha.oregon.gov/OSHAPubs/2738.pdf

Safety for bicycle couriers

Protect yourself! Safety tips for couriers

1. Wear a helmet at all times when you are on the bike. It’s a no-brainer
- no pun intended.

2. Your bike must have a brake. Oregon law [ORS 815.280] says that a
bicycle “must be equipped with a brake that enables the operator ... to
stop the bicycle within 15 feet from a speed of 10 miles per hour on dry,
level, clean pavement.”

3. Obey the rules of the road. They are essentially the same for
motor vehicles and bikes.

Report injuries to Oregon OSHA

4. Assume that drivers don’t see you. They may be watching other drivers If a courier dies or is seriously injured
—and not you. on the job, you must promptly notify
Oregon OSHA.
5. Pay attention to what your body is telling you. Riding hundreds of miles
a week delivering heavy packages can take a toll on your body. Pay Report to Oregon OSHA
attention to back and shoulder pain before it becomes chronic. Daily within eight hours:
stretches and proper riding technique can help reduce the risks. + The death of an employee

* A catastrophe (two or more employees
are fatally injured, or three or more
employees are admitted to a hospital or
an equivalent medical facility)

6. If the bike fits, ride it. A poorly fitting bike also increases injury risks. The
wrong frame size and a saddle not adjusted for you will eventually make
your ride uncomfortable.

7. Keep the bike in good condition. A well-maintained bike is safer and * Work-related fatalities, including those

always rides better than one that isn’t. caused by a motor vehicle, that happen
during the employee’s work shift

8. Don’t get mad and don’t try to get even with irate motorists. Their Fatalities caused by a heart attack at
responses aren’t rational. React to an irate motorist by just letting it go. work must also be reported.
Note the vehicle’s license plate number, if necessary.

Report to Oregon OSHA
9. Know your hand signals and use them to communicate with other road users: within 24 hours:

* An in-patient hospitalization
+ Loss of an eye

)11 * An amputation or avulsion that results
in bone loss (an avulsion is the tearing
away or forcible separation of any body
part by trauma)

Oregon OSHA'’s Reporting work-related
incidents fact sheet explains the

| requirements.
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Bicyclist hand signals
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The Standards and Technical Resources Section of Oregon OSHA produced this fact sheet to highlight our programs, policies, or standards. The
information is from the field staff, research by the technical resources staff, and published materials. We urge readers to consult the actual E
rules as this fact sheet information s not as defailed. Reiiis et =


http://osha.oregon.gov/OSHAPubs/factsheets/fs24.pdf
http://osha.oregon.gov/OSHAPubs/factsheets/fs24.pdf
https://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/815.280
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