WORKER HEALTH AND SAFETY

(i) FACT SHEET

Understanding Oregon OSHA's

new rules affecting civil penalties

Changes included:
Changes to Oregon OSHA rules affecting ® Increased civil penalties for violations of workplace
penalties for workplace safety and safety and health rules
health violations went into effect Jan. 1,
2024. These new rules are the result of
requirements in Senate Bill 592, which the
Oregon Legislature passed in 2023.

® Annual adjustment of those penalty amounts to
reflect changes in the Consumer Price Index

e Addition of a new type of violation: “Caused or
contributed to a work-related fatality”

e Specifying events that trigger an Oregon OSHA
comprehensive inspection

Violation type New minimum New maximum
First-instance other-than-serious $0 $16,138

Serious physical harm or death $1,153 $16,138

Repeat $11,528 $161,386

Willful $11,528 $161,386
Serious - Caused or contributed to a work-related fatality $20,656 $51,641

Repeat - Caused or contributed to a work-related fatality $51,641 $258,203

Willful - Caused or contributed to a work-related fatality $51,641 $258,203

Note: These minimum and maximum civil penalty ranges are effective through 2024; they will be adjusted every
calendar year to account for changes in the Western Consumer Price Index.
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https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2023R1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/SB592/Enrolled

How will Oregon OSHA adjust civil
penalties to account for changes in
the Western Consumer Price Index?
Oregon OSHA must calculate an annual penalty
adjustment based on the Consumer Price Index for All
Urban Consumers, West Region (West Region CPI-U).
Oregon OSHA will publish an Annual Adjustments to
Penalties Bulletin every year that shows adjustments
for all civil penalty types. These adjustments are
based on the percentage change in the West Region
CPI-U between October of the preceding year and
October of the current year; the adjustments take
effect on Jan. 1.
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You will find Oregon OSHA's most current

Annual Adjustments to Penalties Bulletin -

published Nov. 28, 2023 - on Oregon OSHA's violations
and penalties webpage. The civil penalties in this

bulletin apply to citations assessed for inspections
opened Jan. 1, 2024, through Dec. 31, 2024.

How are penalty amounts
determined for these violations?
In most cases, compliance officers start with a penalty
based on the severity of a potential injury and the
probability that it could happen.

The table below shows whether penalty adjustments are

available for each violation type.

. . . Employer Employer Employer’s
Violation type Employer size ) ) ] ; )
history good faith immediate correction
Other-than-serious Yes Yes Yes Yes
Serious Yes Yes Yes Yes
Repeat 1-50 employees No No No
(based on statewide
peak employment)
Willful No No No No
Caused or No No No No
contributed to a
work-related fatality

For more information, visit “How does Oregon OSHA determine penalties for violations?”
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The Technical Section of Oregon OSHA produced this fact sheet to highlight health and safety programs
and rules. The information is intended to explain the rules and provide best practices to employers.


https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHAPubs/bulletins/bulletin-1-2024.pdf
https://osha.oregon.gov/Pages/topics/violations-and-penalties.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/Pages/topics/violations-and-penalties.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHAPubs/factsheets/fs89.pdf
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More information

= Violations and penalties adjustments summary,

What violations are common and
how are they classified?

A civil penalty is a noncriminal, financial remedy for

o 2024 - current tables in use.
an employer's violations of workplace rules, laws, or

& Oregon OSHA rule obligations database -

regulations. The top 10 standards cited in Oregon

OSHA inspections in 2023 for all industries were: Search and filter the rules by categories:

Program-related, Recordkeeping, Training,

—_

Written hazard communication program

) , Written-document, Manufacturer, Competent
Rules about safety committees or safety meetings

Fall protection
Documentation of safety committee meetings =

person, and Qualified person.

Education and training classes - These provide

Requirements for use of ladders information on occupational safety and health

requirements in Oregon, and are free.

Certification of fall-protection training

Safety data sheets
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Requirements for hazard assessment and

Workers
Your employer cannot retaliate
against you for reporting a

equipment selection

9. Rules regarding inspection and maintenance of

fire extinquishers

workplace health or safety concern
10. Storage of material - location : s g or violation. For more information
about your rights, visit the Oregon
OSHA website.

Oregon OSHA works with employers and workers to Visit Oregon OSHA

provide information on best practices, compliance,
and education to address our requirements and

avoid penalties.
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https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/div2/div2Z-1200-haz-com.pdf#page=11
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/div1/437-001-0765.pdf
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/div3/div3M.pdf#1501
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/div1/437-001-0765.pdf#page=5
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/div3/div3X.pdf#page=18
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/div3/div3M.pdf#0503
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/div2/div2Z-1200-haz-com.pdf#page=14
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/div2/div2I.pdf#d0134
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/div2/div2I.pdf#d0134
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/div2/div2L.pdf#page=47
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/div2/div2L.pdf#page=47
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/div2/div2N.pdf#page=7
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHAPubs/5632-2024.pdf
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHAPubs/5632-2024.pdf
https://osha.oregon.gov/pubs/Pages/Rules-With-Requirements.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/edu/Pages/index.aspx
http://osha.oregon.gov
https://osha.oregon.gov/workers/Pages/Protect-against-retaliation.aspx



