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I. Significant Legislative/Programmatic Changes 
 
Legislatively Mandated Rulemaking:   Nothing to report. 
 
Legislative Activity:  The biannual Oregon Legislative short session began February 1, 2022 and will be in session 
until March 8, 2022 
 

Other Rulemaking Activity:  
Administrative Order 13-2021: Adopted Increase of Certain Minimum and Maximum Penalties for Alleged 
Violations 

Issue: In November of 2015, Congress passed legislation requiring federal OSHA to increase maximum and 
minimum penalties for alleged violations by up to 78%. Federal OSHA had not raised these penalties since 
1990, reducing their effectiveness as a deterrent for noncompliance. Under federal law, states that operate 
their own Occupational Health and Safety plans are required to adopt maximum penalty levels that are at 
least as effective as federal OSHA's. Oregon must adopt similar standards as federal OSHA to maintain state 
plan authority. Effective in January of 2021, the federal maximum penalty for a violation that is not classified 
as willful or repeat was increased to $13,653 and the maximum penalty for willful or repeated violations was 
increased to $136,532. 

Oregon OSHA originally proposed the rule change February 26, 2020. Due to COVID-19 pandemic restrictions, 
the agency canceled in-person hearings and extended the comment period. The rule change was re-proposed 
April 24, 2020, and again, due to the extension of COVID-19 pandemic restrictions, Oregon OSHA canceled in-
person public hearings and extended the comment period. The rule was re-proposed July 31, 2020, and four 
virtual hearings occurred in September and October 2020. Overall, Oregon OSHA received comment from 
February 26, 2020 through October 30, 2020 on the proposed rule amendments. 

In general, stakeholder comments focused on the language describing the Administrator’s ability to use his or 
her discretion to assess penalties on a willful violation, as well as the language used to describe the 
determination of probability assessments. Oregon OSHA considered all comments received. Oregon OSHA, 
based on the comments received, adjusted the proposed rules and left others as proposed.  
The rules are adopted as follows: 
OAR 437-001-0060 Advance Notice.  
OAR 437-001-0096 Red Warning Notice  
OAR 437-001-0135 Evaluation of Probability to Establish Penalties.  
OAR 437-001-0145 Penalty for Other than Serious or Serious Violation.  
OAR 437-001-0155 Determination of Penalty – Failure to Correct.  
OAR 437-001-0160 Penalty Criteria – Repeat Violation.  
OAR 437-001-0165 Determination of Penalty – Repeat Violation 



OAR 437-001-0170 Determination of Penalty – Failure to Report an Occupational Fatality, Catastrophe, or 
Accident.  
OAR 437-001-0171 Determination of Penalty – Failure to Register a Farm Labor Camp/Facility.  
OAR 437-001-0175 Determination of Penalty – Willful or Egregious Violation.. 
OAR 437-001-0180 Determination of Penalty – Relating to Red Warning Notice.  
OAR 437-001-0225 Penalty for Falsification.  
437-001-0740 Falsification or Failure to Keep and Post Records or Make Reports.  

Status of Issue: Adopted November 1, 2021. Effective December 1, 2021 
Decision points and milestones: 
Rule Proposals filed: 2/26/2020, 4/24/20, 7/31/20 (multiple filings due to cancellation of in-person 
hearings) 
Comment Period ended: October 30, 2020 
Rule Adopted: November 1, 2021  
Rule Effective: December 1, 2021 

Administrative Order 14-2021: Amended Rules Addressing the COVID-19 Public Health Emergency in All Oregon 
Workplaces 

Issue: This rulemaking adopted permanent amendments to OAR 437-001-0744: Rule Addressing COVID-19 
Workplace Risks to protect workers throughout the state given the current COVID-19 public health 
emergency, which has not abated in 2021.  

Since it was first adopted as a permanent rule on May 4, 2021 (AO 2-2021), Oregon OSHA has filed three 
temporary amendments to the COVID-19 rule. The first of these changes (AO 5-2021), which occurred June 
30, 2021, greatly reduced requirements as well as simplified the appendix given the low case load and high 
vaccination numbers at the time. Additionally, On July 19, 2021, Oregon OSHA published a Workplace 
Advisory Memo reducing requirements related to sanitation and physical distancing, with an additional 
update on August 13, 2021. After the surge of summer infections, the Governor and Oregon Health Authority 
(OHA) re-instated masking requirements with the adoption of OHA’s OAR 333-019-1025: Masking 
Requirements for Indoor Spaces and OAR 333-019-1015: Masking Requirements in Schools; Oregon OSHA 
updated its COVID-19 rule accordingly (AO 10-2021). The third and most recent change (AO 12-2021) adopted 
Medical Removal Protection Benefits for healthcare workers to ensure Oregon OSHA’s COVID-19 rule is as 
effective as federal OSHA’s COVID-19 Healthcare Emergency Temporary Standard (ETS). In the absence of 
adopting these temporary amendments as permanent provisions of OAR 437-001-0744, the rule would have 
reverted back to its original May 2021 requirements which are no longer in alignment with OHA public health 
guidance and federal OSHA requirements.  

Status of Issue: Adopted December 21, 2021. Effective December 21, 2021 
Decision points and milestones: 
Rule Proposal filed: September 30, 2021 
Comment Period ended: November 12, 2021 
Rule Adopted: December 21, 2021  
Rule Effective: December 21, 2021 

Administrative Order 15-2021: Amended Rules Addressing the COVID-19 Workplace Requirements for Employer-
Provided Labor Housing 

Issue: This rule protects vulnerable workers in employer-provided labor housing from the current COVID-19 
public health emergency, which has not abated in 2021. The unique exposures created in the labor housing 
environment, particularly in working situations requiring large numbers of workers, make this rule necessary 
to reduce risk. Many workers face unique challenges in situations where housing is provided as part of the 
employment relationship. It is within this public health context that Oregon OSHA adopted these permanent 
amendments to the OAR 437-004-1115: COVID-19 Workplace Requirements for Employer-Provided Labor 
Housing. 

https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/adopted/2021/ao2-2021-letter-cov19-allworkplaces.pdf
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/adopted/2021/ao5-2021-letter-cov19-allworkplaces.pdf
https://osha.oregon.gov/Documents/COVID-19-memo-re-June-30-rule-changes.pdf
https://osha.oregon.gov/Documents/COVID-19-memo-re-June-30-rule-changes.pdf
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/adopted/2021/ao10-2021-letter-cov19-allworkplaces.pdf
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/adopted/2021/ao12-2021-letter-temp-cov19-medical-relief.pdf
https://www.osha.gov/coronavirus/ets


This rule was first promulgated as a temporary rule, OAR 437-001-0749: COVID-19 Public Health Emergency in 
Labor Housing and Agricultural Employment (AO 2-2020), which subsequently expired on October 24, 2020. 
On October 23, 2020, Governor Brown issued Executive Order (20-58), which extended the employer-
provided housing requirements (Section 2) of OAR 437-001-0749. Oregon OSHA then engaged in rulemaking 
activities and adopted a permanent rule on April 30, 2021 (AO 1-2021). On June 30, 2021, Oregon OSHA filed 
a temporary amendment to the rule (AO 4-2021), which updated its requirements to better align with current 
information concerning COVID-19 transmission.  

Status of Issue: Adopted December 21, 2021. Effective December 21, 2021 
Decision points and milestones: 
Rule Proposal filed: October 11, 2021 
Comment Period ended: November 29, 2021 
Rule Adopted: December 21, 2021  
Rule Effective: December 21, 2021 

Amendments in General Administrative Rules to Clarify Employer’s Responsibilities  
Issue: Oregon OSHA is adding two definitions and a paragraph to the Division 1 rules. The Oregon Supreme 
Court determined that Oregon OSHA needs to more clearly define how “reasonable diligence” and 
“unpreventable employee misconduct” are interpreted and applied in enforcement activities and Oregon 
OSHA believes that such guidance is most appropriately provided through an administrative rule. The 
proposed additions to the rules are to clarify in general how Oregon OSHA assesses an employer’s reasonable 
diligence, what constitutes unpreventable employee misconduct, how Oregon OSHA assesses an employer’s 
knowledge of a violation, and when an employer is and is not responsible for a violation that has occurred on 
its worksite. This rulemaking will amend: OAR 437-001-0015 and 437-001-0760. 

Status of Issue: Proposed 
Decision points and milestones: 
Rule Proposal filed: 7/30/2020 
Public Hearings: 9/28/2020, 9/30/2020, 10/7/2020 (Spanish), 10/28/2020 
Comment Period ended: 10/30/2020 
Next Steps: Resolve Comments, Finalize Language, and Adopt and Publish Certificate and Order of Filing 

Consultation for Public Entities  
Issue: Currently, the Consultation Program does not require abatement of serious violations (except for 21d 
funded consultations), including those consultations provided to public entities. This is not inline with the 23g 
grant provisions required by Federal OSHA. The rulemaking would provide specific details around the 
expectations of public employers to correct serious hazards identified by Oregon OSHA consultants. In 
addition, it would adopt into rule other consultation procedures related to protecting employer 
confidentiality.  

Status of Issue: The technical specialist has been assigned and work is beginning to bring together 
stakeholders. The COVID19 pandemic has delayed this process, but it is anticipated to get going once the 
pandemic has stabilized.  

Excessive Outdoor Heat & Wildfire Smoke 
Issue: On March 10, 2020, Governor Brown issued Executive Order 20-04 (EO 20-04) that provides  directives 
to certain state agencies in an effort to reduce greenhouse gas emissions (GHGs) and mitigate the impacts of 
climate change. EO 20-04 includes a directive to the Oregon Health Authority (OHA) and Oregon OSHA to 
jointly develop a proposal for standards to protect employees from workplace exposures to excessive heat 
and wildfire smoke. In response to EO 20-04, Oregon OSHA, in collaboration with the OHA, advisory 
committees, and stakeholders, will work towards developing two separate proposed standards:  

 
  

https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/adopted/2020/ao2-2020-filing-emergency-rules-ag-covid.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/gov/Documents/executive_orders/eo_20-58.pdf
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/adopted/2021/ao1-2021-letter-cov19-laborhousing.pdf
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/adopted/2021/ao4-2021-letter-cov19-laborhousing.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/gov/Documents/executive_orders/eo_20-04.pdf


Preventing Outdoor Heat-related Illness 
Outdoor workers who are exposed to sudden or excessive heat are at risk of developing heat-related illness. Heat-
related illnesses include, heat rash and cramps, heat exhaustion, and heat stroke. As temperature and humidity 
increase, so does the level of risk to workers of developing potentially a life-threatening condition, especially 
when the body is generating its own heat when performing physical work. This situation is particularly serious 
when hot weather arrives suddenly or early in the season, before workers have had time to adjust to warm 
weather.  
 
Protection from Unhealthy Levels of Wildfire Smoke 
Smoke from wildfires is composed of harmful gases and fine particles that can present a significant health hazard 
to workers exposed to it. These health hazards can continue after fires have been extinguished and cleanup 
activities begin. The potentially detrimental health effects from exposure to unhealthy levels of wildfire smoke 
can affect anyone, but workers with asthma, Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD), or heart disease are 
at higher risk of serious or fatal health effects when their condition is exacerbated from exposure to wildfire 
smoke.  

Status of Issue:  Oregon OSHA held virtual meetings for both rulemaking efforts with advisory committees 
and stakeholders to gather information and drafted new occupational health standards on both 
preventing outdoor heat-related illness and protection from unhealthy levels of wildfire smoke. The 
stakeholder meetings helped inform the basis for the temporary rules on smoke and heat which were 
effective through the high heat and smoke season of 2021. Oregon OSHA continued to meet and 
proposed permanent rules on January 28, 2022. The Outdoor Workplace Exposures to Excessive Heat and 
Wildfire Smoke Exposure webpages have meeting minutes and rule proposals. 

Status of Issue: Proposed 
Decision points and milestones: 
Rule Proposal filed: 1/28/2022 
Public Hearings for Heat: 2/23/22, 2/24/22 (Spanish), 2/25/22 
Public Hearings for Smoke: 3/2/22, 3/3/22 (Spanish), 2/4/22 
Comment Period ends: 3/18/22 

Employer Provided Housing (ALH) 
Issue: Oregon OSHA has been engaged in the process of engaging and consulting stakeholders regarding updating 
and improving rules around agricultural labor housing (ALH). Oregon OSHA put together a stakeholder group with 
the core consisting of the small agricultural employer advisory committee, as well as members of other interested 
parties, including worker advocates.   

Status of Issue: The first stakeholder meeting was 2018. The stakeholder group met multiple times in 
2019. This rulemaking had been temporarily on hold due to the COVID-19 public health emergency, but 
resumed meetings in May, August, and November of 2021. The RAC will continue to meet 2022 to engage 
on amendments to the rule. The Agricultural Labor Housing Advisory Committee webpage has meeting 
minutes and information about the stakeholder group. 

Lead (PEL) 
Issue: As part of Oregon OSHA’s initiative to address outdated exposure limits, a stakeholder group was convened 
to address outdated limits for lead. The committee is comprised of representatives from a wide variety of 
businesses and organizations. Oregon OSHA is working with the State of Washington Department of Occupational 
Safety and Health (WA-DOSH) for this rulemaking. In June 2019, WA-DOSH released an updated draft rule; visit 
the WA-DOSH rulemaking page for additional details. 

Status of Issue: The first stakeholder meeting was July 12, 2017. The stakeholder group met multiple 
times in 2017. The Lead Advisory Committee page has meeting minutes and information about the 
stakeholder group. Currently, this rulemaking is temporarily on hold due to the COVID-19 public health 
emergency. 

https://osha.oregon.gov/rules/advisory/heat/Pages/default.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/rules/advisory/smoke/Pages/default.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/rules/advisory/alh/Pages/default.aspx
https://lni.wa.gov/safety-health/safety-rules/rulemaking-stakeholder-information/sh-rules-stakeholder-lead#overview
https://osha.oregon.gov/rules/advisory/leadPEL/Pages/default.aspx


Non-Entry Firefighting - Division 2 
Issue: During the 2019 legislative session, state legislators began discussions with Oregon OSHA regarding rules 
for employers who have limited resources and may not have the level of equipment available as traditional 
firefighters because of the rural communities that they serve. The agency and stakeholders are looking to balance 
protections for these workers with the reality that these workers are often in rural areas, and work with fire 
suppression equipment that is donated and older than equipment contained in urban fire departments. Oregon 
OSHA began the rulemaking process by consulting a small stakeholder task force group in early 2019, and now the 
agency is consulting with stakeholders within the Fire Service Advisory Committee as well. Pre-proposal draft 
language will continue to be considered as rulemaking continues. 

Status of Issue: A draft rule is under development. The non-entry firefighting stakeholders have met 
multiple times in 2019, and continue to bring draft language and suggestions to the fire services advisory 
committee. Currently, this rulemaking is temporarily on hold due to the COVID-19 public health 
emergency. 
 

Adopted and proposed rules are available at our Rules webpage. 
 
 
II. New Developments/Activities/Notable Cases Activities:  
 
Oregon OSHA News Releases:  
• Oregon OSHA offers free Spanish online training for prevention of bloodborne pathogens in the workplace 
• Oregon OSHA ofrece capacitación gratuita en línea y en español para la prevención de patógenos 

transmitidos por la sangre en el lugar de trabajo 
• Contest promoting young worker safety in Oregon opens to high school students 
• Oregon OSHA fines Canby contractor for fall protection, ladder safety violations 
• Oregon OSHA fines Wilsonville company following investigation into death of worker in Klamath Falls 
• Oregon OSHA administrator to leave post for position with State of Washington 

 
Newsletters:  
For the October/November 2021 issue of Resource, Oregon OSHA published seven stories that addressed issues 
related to high-hazard industries and vulnerable or hard-to-reach workers. None involved workplace violence. The 
stories were: 

• Confined spaces and permit spaces – not just empty places 
• Rule updates to maintain protections for workers against COVID-19 
• New rules adopted to address overexposure to manganese 
• Free online program offers training to help employers protect workers from confined-space hazards 
• Oregon OSHA and Oregon Farm Bureau partner to provide virtual pesticide training workshops 
• Incident Alert!: A focus on lessons learned based on a fatality investigation involving a confined space at a 

winery 
• Going the Distance: A feature about Woodfold Manufacturing – a SHARP employer – focusing on what the 

company has learned about worker safety during the pandemic 
 
Notable Case:  
What happened? A 21-year-old groundsman (employed for six months by employer) was struck by a falling tree 
as he was removing vegetation only 26 feet from a coworker who was cutting down standing trees.  
 
When did it happen? June 14, 2021, at 2 p.m. 
Where did it happen? Near Detroit (a small community 50 miles east of Salem). 
What does the company do? The employer specializes in residential and commercial tree removal. 
 
 

https://osha.oregon.gov/rules/Pages/default.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/news/2021/Pages/nr2021-46.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/news/2021/Pages/nr2021-47.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/news/2021/Pages/nr2021-47.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/news/2021/Pages/nr2021-45.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/news/2021/Pages/nr2021-44.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/news/2021/Pages/nr2021-43.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/news/2021/Pages/nr2021-42.aspx


How did it happen? 
Four employees of the tree trimming company – two cutters and two groundsmen – met a gas station in Detroit 
before driving to the jobsite where they were going to do right-of-way cutting for the local electric company’s 
powerlines.  
 
After arriving at the site at 7 a.m. the employees held their daily routine meeting for 30 minutes, then cut down 
standing trees along the right-of-way until they took a lunch break at 1:30 p.m.  
 
After lunch, the four employees resumed cutting down standing trees along the right-of-way, working in two-
person teams: one cutter and one groundsman went to the south end of the cutting line while the other cutter 
and groundsman worked a short distance away, to the north. 
 
Both teams were cutting trees so that the trees would fall to the east. However, there was one 103-foot-tall tree 
that the cutter working at the south end of the cutting line was worried about; he thought it might strike the 
powerlines when it fell.  
 
He asked his groundsman to attach a “furball” (a temporary rope line used to guide the direction that a tree falls) 
to the tree to help prevent it from striking the power lines. Once the line was established in the tree, they secured 
the other end to a nearby tree at a 35-degree angle as an anchor.  
 
The cutter “face cut” (removed a section of the tree’s base) from the tree so that it would fall to the east then 
completed a “back cut” on the other opposite side of the tree. His groundsman assisted by placing a wedge in the 
back cut but the tree fell to the southeast, striking another tree, which uprooted and fell toward the team working 
nearby to the north.  
 
The cutter yelled “watch out!” as the uprooted tree fell toward the other team. The other cutter saw the tree 
falling and ran for cover, but his groundsman did not hear the warning; he was still removing vegetation about 20 
feet away when the tree struck him.  
 
The cutter called 911 and Marion County sheriffs, who arrived first, helped stabilize the groundsman until 
paramedics arrived. The employees and the paramedics took him to the Detroit Ranger Station where a Life Flight 
helicopter transported him to Salem Hospital; he was treated for a broken shoulder blade and a head laceration 
that required eight staples. 
 
Findings 

• The injured groundsman was 26 feet from the team at the south end of the cutting line when the 
uprooted tree struck him.  

• The team at the south end of the cutting line was cutting down a tree that was 103 feet high. The injured 
groundsman should have been at least two tree lengths – 206 feet – away while they were cutting down 
the tree.  

• The employees said they knew they were cutting down trees and not keeping a minimum two-tree-length 
distance from each other. 

• Employer’s company policy stated that employees not actively assisting in the cutting of a tree should stay 
at least two tree lengths away. 

• The employees’ supervisor said the employees had been trained to stay at least two tree lengths away 
from a tree being cut unless they were actively involved in the cutting.  

 
Alleged violations 

• Division 7, Forest Activities – 437-007-0800(3): The minimum distance between any worker(s) manually 
falling trees and any other personnel must be twice the height of the trees being felled. Penalty: $6,000. 

• Division 7, Forest Activities – 437-007-0810(1): Falling cuts must not be made in a standing tree while 
anybody is in the area where the tree could fall. Penalty: $6,000. 



Oregon OSHA online training resources: 
During federal fiscal year 2021, Oregon OSHA rolled out seven free online training resources aimed at helping 
employers protect their workers from a variety of potential on-the-job hazards. Four of the resources were 
specifically designed for Spanish-speaking audiences. The resources were announced in press releases, framed in 
newsletters, and highlighted on social media. The division continues to develop more training and education 
resources. Here is what it published during FFY2021: 
 
Residential Construction Building Safety  
Launched as a new tool of PESO – a long-running bilingual program that helps English-speaking employers train 
and talk about workplace safety and health with Spanish-speaking workers – this resource encompasses six 
training modules in a bilingual format that makes it simple for employers to train their employees. The training 
can be conducted in about an hour. 
 
COVID-19 Training Requirements 
This multimedia course helps employers meet certain employee training requirements found in Oregon OSHA’s 
temporary COVID-19 workplace rule, which was adopted to address the risks of exposure to the coronavirus in the 
workplace. 
 
Fall Protection for Roofing 
This Spanish-language course helps employers and workers address fall hazards and increase safety in the roofing 
industry.  
 
Wildfire Smoke Training Requirements 
This online training course is designed to help employers comply with certain training requirements found in 
Oregon OSHA’s temporary rule addressing the potential impacts of wildfire smoke in the workplace. It covers 
several topics, including symptoms of wildfire smoke exposure, the potential health effects of wildfire smoke, and 
the importance, limitations, and benefits of using a filtering facepiece respirator, and how to properly wear one. 
 
Fall Protection for Construction 
With this online training course, employers and workers who speak Spanish gained another tool to improve their 
understanding of fall protection. It is designed to help Spanish-speaking employers and workers meet the 
requirements of Oregon OSHA’s fall protection standards. 
 
Bloodborne Pathogens 
This Spanish-language online training course helps employers protect workers from bloodborne pathogens in 
emergency response, health care, hospitality, and other industries. It features videos, interactive scenarios, a quiz, 
and a certificate of completion. It is designed to boost the ability of employers to meet the requirements of 
Oregon OSHA’s bloodborne pathogens standard. Topics covered include assessing the potential for exposure in 
your workplace, understanding the elements of an exposure-control plan, preventing and reducing exposures, 
and managing your exposure control plan. 
 
Silica Safety 
This online course helps employers put protective measures in place for workers against the potential hazards of 
breathing in airborne crystalline silica dust. Featuring powerful visuals, personal stories, instructional videos, links 
to resources, and a certificate of completion, the course is designed to boost the ability of employers to meet the 
requirements of Oregon OSHA’s silica rules. It offers a tool to employers and workers to bolster their existing 
training programs.  
 
New updates included in “It’s the Law!” poster: 
Oregon OSHA’s long-running “It’s the Law!” safety and health poster – required to be displayed at workplaces – 
now includes updated information reflecting changes in state law that strengthened anti-retaliatory provisions. 
The poster – and related online content – are available in both English and Spanish. The poster now includes the 

https://osha.oregon.gov/edu/courses/Pages/default.aspx


fact that, under a new law that took effect on Jan. 1, 2022, the filing deadline has been extended to one year for 
reporting unlawful practices or exercising certain rights relating to safe and healthy workplaces. Previously, state 
law required those alleging retaliation or discrimination to file a complaint within 90 days of reporting unlawful 
practices. Meanwhile, the poster also now features a “quick response” code – or QR code – that takes you to 
online pages with more information. That information includes rights against retaliation and how to file a 
complaint with Oregon OSHA. The information concerning rights against retaliation includes the fact that yet 
another change in state law created a “rebuttable presumption” regarding retaliation. Under that change, which 
became effective June 15, 2021, there is a “rebuttable presumption” that an employer has engaged in unlawful 
retaliation against an employee or prospective employee if the employer takes adverse action against the person 
within 60 days after the person engaged in protected activities, such as making a claim of unsafe working 
conditions. The presumption may be rebutted through a preponderance of the evidence. Previously, the burden 
was on the employee to prove the employer’s action was retaliatory.   
 
To obtain a copy of the “It’s the Law!” poster or learn more about workplace safety rights and rights against 
retaliation, use the following links: 
Poster (English): https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHAPubs/1507.pdf  
Poster (Spanish): https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHAPubs/1507s.pdf#   
Ordering posters, publications, cards, and other printed resources: 
https://www4.cbs.state.or.us/exs/osha/film/hard/index.cfm   
Protect against retaliation: https://osha.oregon.gov/workers/Pages/Protect-against-retaliation.aspx  
Worker rights and responsibilities: https://osha.oregon.gov/workers/Pages/Worker-rights-and-
responsibilities.aspx  
 
III. Areas of Concern:   Nothing new to report. 
 

IV. Information Sought from Other State Programs:   Nothing new to report. 
 

V. Administrative Changes: Louis Savage is filling in as the Interim Administrator of Oregon OSHA, while The 
Department of Consumer and Business Services begins recruitment for a replacement for Michael Wood. Holt 
Andron was selected as the new Oregon OSHA Statewide Consultation Manager. Holt has been with the Oregon 
OSHA consultation program for 3.5 years as a consultation manager of the Portland office. 
 
VI. Contact Information: Phone: (503) 378-3272, Fax: (503) 947-7461,  
Internet: www.osha.oregon.gov Federal Liaison: Jenny Dowen, Jennifer.A.Dowen@dcbs. oregon.gov   
 
 
 

https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHAPubs/1507.pdf
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHAPubs/1507s.pdf
https://www4.cbs.state.or.us/exs/osha/film/hard/index.cfm
https://osha.oregon.gov/workers/Pages/Protect-against-retaliation.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/workers/Pages/Worker-rights-and-responsibilities.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/workers/Pages/Worker-rights-and-responsibilities.aspx
http://www.osha.oregon.gov/
mailto:Jennifer.A.Dowen@dcbs.%20oregon.gov
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