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OAR 437-004-1115 COVID-19 Workplace Requirements for
Employer-Provided Labor Housing

Note: Oregon OSHA’s temporary rule addressing COVID-19 in employer-provided labor housing
expired on October 24, 2020, 180 days after its adoption. Under the Oregon Administrative
Procedures Act, a temporary rule cannot be renewed or extended beyond 180 days. Therefore,
Governor Brown issued an Executive Order 20-58 extending the requirements of employer-
provided labor housing of the temporary rule. The Executive Order expired on April 30,

2021. In order to extend protections for workers against COVID-19, which remains a significant
concern, Oregon OSHA adopted this rule following the normal process for permanent
rulemaking. However, the purpose of this rule is to address the COVID-19 pandemic in
employer-provided housing in Oregon. Oregon OSHA will repeal the rule when it is no longer
necessary to address that pandemic. Because it is not possible to assign a specific time for that
decision, Oregon OSHA will consult with the Oregon OSHA Partnership Committee, the Oregon
Health Authority, and other stakeholders as circumstances change to determine when all or
parts of the rule can be appropriately repealed. The first of these discussions took place in June
2021, and they will continue every month until the rule has been repealed. In making
determinations about when to repeal all or parts of the rule, Oregon OSHA and its stakeholders
will consider indicators and other information such as (but not limited to) Executive Orders
issued by the Governor, guidance issued by the Oregon Health Authority (OHA) and the Centers
for Disease Control, infection rates (including the rate of spread of COVID-19 variants),
positivity rates, and vaccination rates, as well as indicators of severity such as hospitalizations
and fatalities.

(1) Scope and application.

(a) This rule applies to all employer-provided labor housing and other
employer-provided housing, whether such housing is otherwise currently
covered by OAR 437-004-1120 “Agricultural Labor Housing and Related
Facilities” or by 29 CFR 1910.142 and OAR 437-002-0142 “Labor Camps.”



To the degree an actual conflict exists between the two rules, this rule
takes precedence. To the degree that this rule does not address an issue,
or no actual conflict exists, the requirements of the preexisting rule also
apply. The requirements of this rule apply to all labor housing sites
owned, operated, or allowed to operate on property under the jurisdiction
of any state or municipal authority unless such housing is provided by
someone other than the employer specifically to respond to a public
health emergency. The requirements of this rule supersede those
contained in section 3 of OAR 437-001-0744 (COVID-19 Requirements for
All Workplaces), specifically as they relate to ventilation, facial coverings,
physical distancing measures, and sanitation. All other applicable
requirements of OAR 437-001-0744 remain in effect.

(b) These rules apply to any place, or area of land, where there are living
areas, manufactured or prefabricated homes or dwellings, or other
housing provided by a farmer, farm labor contractor, agricultural
employer, or other person in connection with the recruitment of workers
of an agricultural employer as defined in OAR 437-004-0001. These rules
also apply to any such housing provided by an employer or other person
in connection with the employment of workers in any non-agricultural
business activity.

(c) These rules apply to any type of labor housing and related facilities
together with the tract of land established or to be established, operated
or maintained for housing workers with or without families, whether or
not rent is paid or collected.

(d) Manufactured dwellings and homes must comply with specifications
for construction of sleeping places, unless they comply with ORS 446.155
to 446.185 and OAR 918-500-0020(2), which have the requirements and
specifications for sanitation and safety design for manufactured
dwellings.

(e) These rules apply to housing given to, rented, leased to, or otherwise
provided to employees for use while employed and provided or allowed
either by the employer, a representative of the employer, or a housing
operator.

(f) These rules, unless otherwise stated, apply to all occupants of the
labor housing and facilities.

(g) These rules apply to all labor housing sites owned, operated, or
allowed to operate on property under the jurisdiction of any state or
municipal authority unless such housing is provided by someone other
than the employer specifically to respond to a public health emergency.



(h) Violations relating to the occupants’ personal housekeeping practices
in facilities that are not common use will not result in citations to the
employer.

(i) For the purposes of OAR 437-004-1120, labor contractors as defined in
ORS 658.405 are employers.

(j) Charging occupants for required services. Operators must not charge
for services required by these rules: OAR 437-004-1120, OAR 437-001-
0744, and OAR 437-004-1115. This prohibits pay-per-use toilets, pay-per-
use bathing facilities, payment for use of air purifiers, or any other
method of paying for individual service requirements.

(k) This rule does not apply to:

(A) Hotels or motels that provide similar housing commercially to
the public on the same terms as they do to workers. This includes
hotels or motels that have been temporarily closed due to the
current COVID-19 public health emergency, but that restore their
operations on a limited basis to allow employers to house workers
in the facility, provided that the following conditions are met.

(i) The hotel or motel facility must be licensed and meet the
other requirements in OAR 333, Division 29, Travelers'
Accommodation.

(ii) The rooms provided must maintain the configuration
typically offered to travelers (while this does not preclude
changing the arrangement of beds, it does preclude the
addition of bunk beds or other measures to increase the
occupancy of the room).

(iii) Room assignment must ensure privacy and separation for
families and to unrelated occupants of different genders.

(iv) The occupied rooms must continue to receive regular
services for cleaning and for the laundry of linens used by
guests.

(v) The rooms must not be modified to include kitchen
facilities not already part of the room as previously available
to guests.

Note: Because such facilities are exempt from this rule, the presence of a
preexisting kitchenette or other food preparation facility does not trigger
the square footage requirements of the rule.



(B) Accommodations subject to licensing such as manufactured
dwelling parks, organizational camps, travelers’ accommodations
or recreation vehicle parks and open to the general public on the
same terms.

(C) Manufactured homes or dwellings being moved regularly from
place to place, because of the work, when at parks or camps meant
for parking mobile vehicles and open to the general public on the
same terms.

(2) Definitions.

(@) Air purifier - means a HEPA-filter equipped device that is designed for
and capable of removing aerosols (including airborne droplets and solid
particles) from the air through physical or chemical means and that is
capable of improving the indoor air quality in areas where such purifiers
are properly operated.

(b) High-efficiency particulate air (HEPA) filter - means a filter that is at
least 99.97 percent efficient in removing monodisperse particles of 0.3
micrometers (um) in diameter.




([4]13) Masks, face Coverings, and face shields. Oregon OSHA no longer requires
employers to ensure that individuals in the labor housing wear a mask, face
covering, or face shield as source control.

(a) If an employee chooses to wear a mask, face shield, or face covering
even when not required, the employer must allow them to do so.

(b) When an employee chooses to wear a filtering facepiece respirator to
protect against COVID-19, the employer must allow that use and follow
the “voluntary use” provisions of the Respiratory Protection Standard
(OAR 437-004-1041 or 29 CFR 1910.134).
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(b) For air purifiers provided by the occupant, allow occupants to use
them at no cost.

(5) COVID-19 response plan.

(a) In order to identify individuals known or suspected to be infected with
COVID-19, all housing providers covered by this rule must take the
following steps:

(A) Suspect COVID-19 cases should be encouraged to seek advice
by telephone or similar mobile devices from a healthcare provider
to determine whether further in-person medical evaluation is
nheeded;

(B) Suspect COVID-19 cases must be isolated with sleeping, eating,
and bathroom accommodations that are separate from non-
isolating occupants. COVID-19 infected individuals must be isolated
from others, have adequate hygiene facilities, and be taken care of
by only one person in the household. If such isolation is not
possible, the employer must follow the Oregon Health Authority
recommendations for Isolation and Quarantine Guidance; and

(O) If able, occupants known or suspected to be infected with
COVID-19 must clean and disinfect their own sleeping, eating, or
bathroom accommodations after each use.

(b) Confirmed COVID-19 infected persons must be isolated and only
housed with other confirmed cases. Isolated persons must have separate
bathroom, cooking and eating facilities separate from people who have
not been diagnosed with COVID-19. Sick people should be isolated from
others, have adequate hygiene facilities, and be taken care of by only one
person in the household. If such isolation is not possible, follow guidance
provided by the Oregon Health Authority or the local public health
authority to make appropriate arrangements.

(A) If able, occupants confirmed to have COVID-19 must clean and
disinfect their own sleeping, eating, or bathroom accommodations
after each use.

(B) The operator must ensure that food and water is provided and
monitor the safety of occupants in isolation at the operator’s
facility or ensure that these services are provided if isolated at
another facility.

(c) Occupants who are not suspected or confirmed to have COVID-19
should not use any bed, bathroom, or common area previously used by



an individual suspected or confirmed to have COVID-19 until it is
thoroughly cleaned following the Oregon Health Authority or Local Health
Authority’s guidance provided to the operator for cleaning and sanitation
after a suspected or confirmed case.

(d) Instruct occupants that if they are sick or have COVID-19 symptomes,
they must alert their housing operator as soon as possible.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2), 654.035 & 656.726(4)
Statutes Implemented: 654.001 through 654.295

History: OSHA 1-2021, adopt filed 04/30/2021, effective 04/30/2021
OSHA 4-2021, temporary amend filed 06/30/2021, effective 06/30/2021
through 12/26/2021
OSHA 15-2021, adopt filed 12/21/2021, effective 12/21/2021
OSHA 2-2022, temporary amend filed 4/13/2022, effective 4/13/2022




