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History of Current Rulemaking 

Oregon OSHA’s rules related to the assessment of penalties for employer violations of the Oregon Safe 

Employment Act (OSEA) can be found in Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) 431-001-0135 through 

OAR 437-001-0175. Although the rule includes additional detail about the exact way in which Oregon 

OSHA’s penalty authority can be used, the pre-existing rule reflected a statutory maximum penalty for 

first-instance other-than-serious and serious violations of $7,000 and for repeat, failure to correct and 

willful violations of $70,000. It also reflected a minimum penalty for willful violations of $5,000. These 

maximum and minimum penalties were identical to federal OSHA’s penalty authority. The current 

maximums have been in place (in both state and federal law) since the late 1980s  

In late 2015, Congress revised federal OSHA’s penalty authority by removing federal OSHA’s exemption 

from a previously adopted inflation adjustment that applied to most federal penalties. As a result, federal 

OSHA’s maximum and minimum penalties increased almost immediately by more than 75 percent (to 

“catch up” with previous inflation adjustments) and were made subject to annual adjustments based on 

changes in the federal consumer price index. As a result, and reflecting long-standing understandings of 

the requirement for state programs to have penalty authority identical to federal OSHA (even if actual 

practice in assessing penalties varied considerably), federal OSHA advised the state programs of the need 

to adjust their maximum penalties. 

The Department of Consumer & Business Services, of which Oregon OSHA is a part, sought legislative 

changes allowing Oregon OSHA to make the necessary adjustments both now and in the future, and SB 

92 was adopted by the Legislative Assembly  in 2017 and subsequently approved by the Governor. 

Although it allows Oregon OSHA to  increase the maximum penalties in order to align them with federal 

OSHA’s maximum penalty authority, SB 92 was not expected to fundamentally change Oregon OSHA’s 

overall approach in assessing penalties for violations of workplace health and safety rules.  Although 

Oregon OSHA has long had penalty authority identical to federal OSHA, Oregon’s actual approach has 

generally relied upon more frequent inspections and more modest penalties for most violations. The rule 

as proposed  -- and adopted  -- continues Oregon OSHA’s historical approach.  

 
Description of the Rule as Adopted 

The rule as adopted is identical to the rule as proposed and submitted for public comment. 

 

The rule increases  the maximum penalty for a serious violation from $7,000 to $12,500. It increases the 

maximum penalty for a willful or repeated violation from $70,000 to $126,749. It also makes adjustments 

to the “base penalty” table to take account of these changes, by increasing the base penalty for the most 

serious violations (particularly those rated “death”) but not the least serious violations (those rated “other 

than serious”). In addition, the rule adds a new size adjustment to the existing adjustment to minimize the 

impact of the new penalties on the smallest employers. Employers with 10 or fewer employees will see an 

additional 15 percent reduction of the base penalty for size, changing the reduction from 60 percent to 75 

percent.  Other size reductions are not affected. 
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The Basis for the Rule’s Adoption 

Oregon OSHA takes note of the commenter who noted in both oral and written comments that the rule 

was unnecessary because Oregon OSHA’s approach has proven effective and provides a sufficient 

deterrent.
1
 However, Oregon OSHA disagrees with the suggestion that this rule proposal represents a 

change in its historic approach. Rather, it views this rulemaking as meeting the federal requirement to 

have at least equivalent penalty authority and as consistent with Oregon OSHA’s stated intention prior to 

the legislature’s passage of SB 92 – to make use of the additional penalty authority for the largest 

employers and the most serious violations. 

The commenter suggested it is not necessary for Oregon OSHA to raise penalties “just like the federal 

OSHA,”
2
 and Oregon OSHA agrees. This rulemaking will align Oregon OSHA’s penalty authority with 

federal OSHA (which is an expectation on the part of federal OSHA as part of Oregon OSHA’s status as 

an approved state plan). But it will not align Oregon OSHA’s penalty practices or average penalties with 

federal OSHA – Oregon OSHA will continue to rely upon relatively modest penalties, coupled with a 

much greater enforcement presence than federal OSHA is able to establish or maintain.  

It is also worth noting that the rule is not expected to increase penalties by the 78 percent  increase 

proposed for the maximum penalties. Oregon OSHA estimates that the impact of the rulemaking will be 

roughly 20 to 25 percent on average (which is not that much greater than the typical year-to-year variation 

in the average penalty for a first-time serious violation under the current rule). 

The commenter also questioned whether Oregon OSHA would need to revise its penalties annually, in the 

same manner as federal OSHA. Although Oregon OSHA expects to have to make regular adjustments, we 

believe that they will not need to be as frequent as annually. Federal OSHA has not provided final 

guidance on this issue. But even if annual adjustments to the maximums are required, Oregon OSHA 

anticipates that any such rulemaking will simply adjust the maximum penalties and leave the  base 

penalty tables unchanged – probably making adjustments to the tables every five years or so. 

 

Conclusion 

As noted previously, Oregon OSHA begins this rulemaking with a recognition that the maximum 

penalties must be adjusted to reflect federal OSHA’s expectation that state programs have penalty 

authority at least equivalent to that available to federal OSHA. To the degree that the testimony suggested 

the maximums should be left unchanged, that would be inconsistent both with the expectations of federal 

OSHA and with the expectations of the Oregon Legislative Assembly in approving SB 92. 

In addition, Oregon OSHA has for many years believed that certain violations – those representing the 

greatest risk of harm and involving the largest employers – should make full use of whatever penalty 

authority is available to the agency. In adjusting the base penalty tables to make use of the new maximum 

penalty authority, Oregon OSHA is not pursuing a new approach to using its penalty authority; rather, 

Oregon OSHA is confirming its commitment to the same proven approach that was acknowledged in the 

testimony received on the rule. 

 

 

                                                 
1See the testimony of Rod Huffman, Safety Programs Coordinator, Associated Oregon Loggers, November 30, 2017, Public 

Hearing Transcript, pp. 7-11. Also see letter from Mr. Huffman dated November 29, 2017. 
2
Ibid, p. 9.  


