Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Division

**Oregon Administrative Rules** 

#### 437-001-0704 Reporting Fatalities, Catastrophes, Injuries, and Illnesses to Oregon OSHA

Purpose. This rule requires employers to report certain work-related fatalities, injuries, and (1) illnesses.

**Note:** Reporting a work-related injury, illness, or fatality does not assign fault to anybody, does not prove the violation of an OSHA rule, and does not establish the employee's eligibility for workers' compensation or other benefits.

- (2) Scope. This standard covers all employers covered by the Oregon Safe Employment Act.
- (3) You must report fatalities and catastrophes to Oregon OSHA only in person or by telephone within 8 hours of occurrence or employer knowledge (reported to you or any of your agents) of a fatality or catastrophe:
  - Fatalities. You must report all work-related fatalities. You must report all fatalities caused (a) by a heart attack at work. Report a fatality only if death occurs within 30 days of the incident.

Note: Work-related fatalities include those caused by a motor vehicle accident that happens during the employee's work shift.

- (b) Catastrophe. A catastrophe is an incident in which two or more employees are fatally injured, or three or more employees are admitted to a hospital or an equivalent medical facility (for example, a clinic) as a result of the same incident.
- You must report in-patient hospitalizations, loss of an eye, and either amputations or avulsions (4) that result in bone loss, to Oregon OSHA within 24 hours after occurrence of the work related incident or employer knowledge (reported to you or any of your agents) of the event. When an amputation, avulsion, or loss of an eye involves in-patient hospitalization, you need only to make a single report.
  - In-Patient Hospitalization. In-patient hospitalization is the formal admission to the in-(a) patient service of a hospital or clinic for care or medical treatment (includes first-aid). Hospitalization for observation only is not reportable, nor is emergency room treatment. In-patient hospitalization for any reason after emergency room treatment is reportable. You must report all incidents that result in in-patient hospitalization, including heart attacks and motor vehicle accidents. Report in-patient hospitalizations only if they occur within 24 hours of the incident that caused the hospitalization.
  - Loss of an eye. Report the loss of an eye only if it occurs within 24 hours of the incident (b) that caused the loss.
  - (c) Amputations and avulsions.

1		
Division 1	AO 4-2023	Oregon Administrative Rule

Oregon Administrative Rules Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Division

- (A) An amputation is the traumatic loss of a limb or other external body part, including a fingertip. Amputations include loss of a body part due to a traumatic incident, a gunshot wound, and medical amputations due to irreparable traumatic injuries.
- (B) An avulsion is the tearing away or forcible separation of any body part by trauma.
- (C) Report an amputation or avulsion only if it includes bone and/or cartilage loss.
- (D) Report an amputation or avulsion only if it occurs within 24 hours of the incident that caused the amputation or avulsion.
- **Note:** There are additional reporting requirements for injuries relating to Mechanical Power Presses, 1910.217(g).

Bend

Oregon OSHA Office locations and telephone numbers are:

Salem Central Office 350 Winter Street NE, 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor Salem OR 97301-3882 (503) 378-3272 Toll Free in Oregon: (800) 922-2689

Eugene 1500 Valley River Dr., Suite 150 Eugene OR 97401-2101 (541) 686-7562

Pendleton 200 Hailey Ave., Box 9, Suite 306 Pendleton OR 97801-3056 (541) 276-9175 Red Oaks Square 1230 NE Third Street, Suite A-115 Bend OR 97701-4374 (541) 388-6066

Medford 1840 Barnett Road, Suite D Medford OR 97504-8250 (541) 776-6030

Portland Area Durham Plaza 16760 SW Upper Boones Ferry Road, Suite 200 Tigard OR 97224 (503) 229-5910

Salem 1340 Tandem Avenue NE, Suite 160 Salem OR 97309-0417 (503) 378-3274

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2) and 656.726(4). Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.001 through 654.295. History: OSHA 2-2015, filed 3/18/15, effective 1/1/16. OSHA 5-2018, filed 11/29/18, effective 12/17/18.

# 437-001-0706 Recordkeeping for Health Care Assaults

**Note:** For further information, instructions, and resources, visit Oregon OSHA's healthcare workplace violence assault log web page at: <u>osha.oregon.gov/Pages/re/healthcare-assault-log.aspx</u>.

(1) Purpose. This rule implements the amendments to the Oregon Safe Employment Act, ORS 654.412 through 654.423, providing specific provisions for the recordkeeping and reporting requirements of health care assaults, and additional recordkeeping requirements as authorized under ORS 654.025(2) and ORS 656.726(4)(a).

**Note:** For the ease of the reader, ORS 654.412 through 654.423 is reprinted as Appendix B to OAR 437-001-0706.

(2) Scope and Definitions. This rule applies to health care employers and home health care services provided by health care employers. Health care employers only include hospitals and ambulatory surgical centers, which are defined in ORS 442.015:

"Hospital" means a facility with an organized medical staff, with permanent facilities that include inpatient beds and with medical services, including physician services and continuous nursing services under the supervision of registered nurses, to provide diagnosis and medical or surgical treatment primarily for but not limited to acutely ill patients and accident victims, to provide treatment for the mentally ill or to provide treatment in special inpatient care facilities.

"Ambulatory surgical center" means a facility that performs outpatient surgery not routinely or customarily performed in a physician's or dentist's office, and is able to meet health facility licensure requirements.

(3) Health care assault recordkeeping. In addition to existing general recordkeeping requirements in OAR 437-001-0700, Recordkeeping and Reporting, health care employers must use the Health Care Assault Log, or equivalent, to record assaults. See ORS 654.412 through 654.423 for details required to be recorded. Appendix A of 437-001-0706 provides instructions for completing the form.

**Note:** If the incident results in an overnight hospitalization, a catastrophe, or fatality, it must be reported timely to Oregon OSHA. See OAR 437-001-0704 Reporting Fatalities and Injuries to Oregon OSHA. Record recordable injuries, illnesses, and fatalities on the OSHA 300 Log. See OAR 437-001-0700 Recording Workplace Injuries and Illnesses.

- (4) Other recordkeeping information. The following sections of OAR 437-001-0700 apply to health care assault recordkeeping and reporting:
  - Section (6) Work-relatedness
  - Section (14)(b) Forms
  - Section (15) Multiple Business Establishments
  - Section (16) Covered Employees
  - Section (19) Change of Business Ownership

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2) and 656.726(4). Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.412 through 654.423. History: OSHA 11-2007, filed 12/21/07, effective 1/1/08.

#### Division 1

AO 4-2023

Oregon Administrative Rules Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Division

OSHA 8-2008, filed 7/14/08, effective 7/14/08. OSHA 2-2011, filed 9/29/11, effective 10/1/11. OSHA 5-2018, filed 11/29/18, effective 12/17/18.

**Oregon Administrative Rules** 

AO 4-2023 Division 1

## Appendix A to 437-001-0706 Instructions for Recording Health Care Assaults

- (A) Case number This is a unique sequential number that identifies this case.
- (B) Location (include address)

If all incidents occur at the same physical site, then this information can be entered once. If, as the case with distributed reporting, there are multiple sites (such as home care sites) reporting on a common Log, then enter identifying information for the side where this incident occurred, including street address.

- (C) H/S/M (H hospital, S surgical center, M home setting) Enter the code indicating the type of facility.
- (D) Date of incident
- (E) Time of incident
- (F) Specific location where incident occurred Enter a code that most closely matches the type of location where the incident occurred, from the following list:
  - AD admitting/triage
  - CO corridor/hallway/stairwell/elevator
  - BA bathroom
  - EN entrance/exit/restricted entry
  - LO lobby/waiting room
  - NU nurse's station/pod area
  - PA patient room
  - TR treatment room
  - CS common space (cafeteria, recreation room, etc.)
  - O other (enter text to describe this location)
- (G) Floor number where incident occurred
- (H) Name of employee assaulted Enter the name of the employee assaulted.
- (I) Job title of this employee

Enter the job title of the employee assaulted; please select a code from the following list:

- N RN (registered nurse), LPN (licensed practical nurse)
- HA CNA (certified nursing assistant), nurse's aide, health aide, orderly
- PH physician, physician's assistant, nurse practitioner
- PT pharmacist
- TE technician, technologist
- R receptionist
- ES housekeeping, maintenance

Oregon Administrative Rules

- S security
- SW social worker
- HH home health aide
- TT physical therapist, occupational therapist, speech therapist
- O other (enter job description)
- (J) Department or unit assignment

Enter the home department or ward assignment for the employee:

- IN intake
- ER emergency
- LA laboratory
- OB obstetrics/gynecology
- ON oncology
- PD pediatrics
- PH pharmacy
- PC primary care/medical clinic
- BH behavioral health/psych units in acute care
- RA radiology/diagnostic imaging
- RE rehabilitation medicine
- SU surgery/operating room
- RC recovery
- IC intensive care/critical care
- MS medical/surgical unit
- NE neurology
- CA cardiac care
- FL float staff (additional designation, employee is working in an alternate location)
- O other

**Note:** If an employee is float staff (sometimes called "float pool" or "float/per diem") record the additional code FL, as well as the department/unit assignment.

 (K) Status of assailant (P - patient/general, BH - behavioral health patient, V - visitor, E - employee, O - other)

Enter the code corresponding to the status of the assailant (person assaulting the employee). BH would apply to patients diagnosed as behavioral health, whether currently in a behavioral health unit or acute care unit.

### (L) Assailment action

Enter the code corresponding to the action taken by the assailant (multiple selections ok).

B – biting

- GR grabbing, pinching, scratching
- HK hitting, kicking, beating
- PS pushing, shoving
- TR throwing objects
- ST stabbing

Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Division

Oregon Administrative Rules

AO 4-2023 Division 1

- SH shooting SR – sexual assault, rape O – other (enter text to describe)
- (M) Possible cause
  - Enter the code that most closely corresponds to the reason for the attack.
  - BH behavioral health
  - AN anesthesia recovery
  - M medication issue
  - Include drugs and alcohol
  - WD withdrawal symptoms
  - SN systemic/neurological disorders
  - Underlying physical conditions that can result in erratic behavior, including diabetes, head trauma, epilepsy, dementia, and other.
  - EM emotional issue
  - Angry, distraught, other strong emotions
  - H history of violent behavior
  - O other (enter text to describe)
  - **Note:** even if more than one may apply, please determine the cause that most directly contributed to this incident. Other causes can be noted in the Comments field.
- (N) Result of Assaultive Behavior

Place a checkmark in the column that reflects the injury resulting from the assault - enter one check reflecting the most serious injury for this incident.

- (1) Mild soreness, surface abrasions, scratches, or small bruises
- (2) Major soreness, cuts, or large bruises
- (3) Severe laceration, bone fracture, or head injury
- (4) Loss of limb or death
- (O) Weapon

Enter a code reflecting the type of weapon used, if any.

- G gun
- K knife
- B bar, rod, club, stick
- DW door, window, floor, wall
- F furniture
- MI medical instrument or equipment
- FO food, utensils, meal tray
- AB assailant's body (assaulted by assailant's hands, feet, other body parts)
- BF bodily fluids
- O other (enter type of weapon used)

1			Division 1, General Administration
Division 1	AO 4-2023	Oregon Administrative Rules	Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Division

- (P) Number of employees present (in addition to victim) Enter the number of other employees that witnessed the incident (enter 0 if no one else was present).
- (Q) Response

Enter the code that most closely reflects the response taken by the employee and others when the incident occurred (multiple selections ok).

SR - seclusion or physical restraint

PRN – medication administered as necessary

- SM self-defense moves
- D de-escalate by talking down
- B call for backup

Calls may be verbal or electronic (phone, pager, or other).

- LE reported to law enforcement
- E exit the scene

O – other (describe the response if none of the codes reflect the action taken)

**Note:** immediate response, even if subsequent action (e.g., procedural or policy changes by the facility) led to additional interventions.

#### (R) Comments

Enter any additional information that will help describe this incident or the actions taken.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2) and 656.726(4). Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.001 through 654.295. History: OSHA 11-2007, filed 12/21/07, effective 1/1/08. OSHA 2-2011, filed 9/29/11, effective 10/1/11.

## Appendix B to 437-001-0706 Safety of Health Care Employees

654.412 Definitions for ORS 654.412 to 654.423 As used in ORS 654.412 to 654.423:

- (1) "Assault" means intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causing physical injury.
- (2) "Health care employer" means:
  - (a) An ambulatory surgical center as defined in ORS 442.015.
  - (b) A hospital as defined in ORS 442.015.
- (3) "Home health care services" means items or services furnished to a patient by an employee of a health care employer in a place of temporary or permanent residence used as the patient's home. [2007 c.397 §2]
- 654.414 Duties of health care employer; security and safety assessment; assault prevention program; requirements
  - (1) A health care employer shall:
    - (a) Conduct periodic security and safety assessments to identify existing or potential hazards for assaults committed against employees;
    - (b) Develop and implement an assault prevention and protection program for employees based on assessments conducted under paragraph (a) of this subsection; and
    - (c) Provide assault prevention and protection training on a regular and ongoing basis for employees.
  - (2) An assessment conducted under subsection (1)(a) of this section shall include, but need not be limited to:
    - (a) A measure of the frequency of assaults committed against employees that occur on the premises of a health care employer or in the home of a patient receiving home health care services during the preceding five years or for the years that records are available if fewer than five years of records are available; and
    - (b) An identification of the causes and consequences of assaults against employees.
  - (3) An assault prevention and protection program developed and implemented by a health care employer under subsection (1)(b) of this section shall be based on an assessment conducted under subsection (1)(a) of this section and shall address security considerations related to the following:
    - (a) Physical attributes of the health care setting;
    - (b) Staffing plans, including security staffing;

1	
Division 1	

23 Oregon Administrative Rules Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Division

- (c) Personnel policies;
- (d) First aid and emergency procedures;
- (e) Procedures for reporting assaults; and
- (f) Education and training for employees.
- (4)
- (a) Assault prevention and protection training required under subsection (1)(c) of this section shall address the following topics:
  - (A) General safety and personal safety procedures;
  - (B) Escalation cycles for assaultive behaviors;
  - (C) Factors that predict assaultive behaviors;
  - (D) Techniques for obtaining medical history from a patient with assaultive behavior;
  - (E) Verbal and physical techniques to de-escalate and minimize assaultive behaviors;
  - (F) Strategies for avoiding physical harm and minimizing use of restraints;
  - (G) Restraint techniques consistent with regulatory requirements;
  - (H) Self-defense, including:
    - (i) The amount of physical force that is reasonably necessary to protect the employee or a third person from assault; and
    - (ii) The use of least restrictive procedures necessary under the circumstances, in accordance with an approved behavior management plan, and any other methods of response approved by the health care employer;
  - (I) Procedures for documenting and reporting incidents involving assaultive behaviors;
  - (J) Programs for post-incident counseling and follow-up;
  - (K) Resources available to employees for coping with assaults; and
  - (L) The health care employer's workplace assault prevention and protection program.
- (b) A health care employer shall provide assault prevention and protection training to a new employee within 90 days of the employee's initial hiring date.

(c) A health care employer may use classes, video recordings, brochures, verbal or written training or other training that the employer determines to be appropriate, based on an employee's job duties, under the assault prevention and protection program developed by the employer. [2007 c.397 §3]

654.415 [Repealed by 1973 c.833 §48]

654.416 Required records of assaults against employees; contents; rules

- (1) A health care employer shall maintain a record of assaults committed against employees that occur on the premises of the health care employer or in the home of a patient receiving home health care services. The record shall include, but need not be limited to, the following:
  - (a) The name and address of the premises on which each assault occurred;
  - (b) The date, time and specific location where the assault occurred;
  - (c) The name, job title and department or ward assignment of the employee who was assaulted;
  - (d) A description of the person who committed the assault as a patient, visitor, employee or other category;
  - (e) A description of the assaultive behavior as:
    - (A) An assault with mild soreness, surface abrasions, scratches or small bruises;
    - (B) An assault with major soreness, cuts or large bruises;
    - (C) An assault with severe lacerations, a bone fracture or a head injury; or
    - (D) An assault with loss of limb or death;
  - (f) An identification of the physical injury;
  - (g) A description of any weapon used;
  - (h) The number of employees in the immediate area of the assault when it occurred; and
  - (i) A description of actions taken by the employees and the health care employer in response to the assault.
- (2) A health care employer shall maintain the record of assaults described in subsection (1) of this section for no fewer than five years following a reported assault.
- (3) The Director of the Department of Consumer and Business Services shall adopt by rule a common recording form for the purposes of this section. [2007 c.397 §4]

1			Division 1, General Administration
Division 1	AO 4-2023	Oregon Administrative Rules	Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Division

654.418 Protection of employee of health care employer after assault by patient. If a health care employer directs an employee who has been assaulted by a patient on the premises of the health care employer to provide further treatment to the patient, the employee may request that a second employee accompany the employee when treating the patient. If the health care employer declines the employee's request, the health care employer may not require the employee to treat the patient. [2007 c.397 §5]

654.420 [Repealed by 1973 c.833 §48]

654.421 Refusal to treat certain patients by home health care employee

- (1) An employee who provides home health care services may refuse to treat a patient unless accompanied by a second employee if, based on the patient's past behavior or physical or mental condition, the employee believes that the patient may assault the employee.
- (2) An employee who provides home health care services may refuse to treat a patient unless the employee is equipped with a communication device that allows the employee to transmit one-way or two-way messages indicating that the employee is being assaulted. [2007 c.397 §6]

654.423 Use of physical force by home health care employee in self-defense against assault

- (1) A health care employer may not impose sanctions against an employee who used physical force in self-defense against an assault if the health care employer finds that the employee:
  - (a) Was acting in self-defense in response to the use or imminent use of physical force;
  - (b) Used an amount of physical force that was reasonably necessary to protect the employee or a third person from assault; and
  - (c) Used the least restrictive procedures necessary under the circumstances, in accordance with an approved behavior management plan, or other methods of response approved by the health care employer.
- (2) As used in this section, "self-defense" means the use of physical force upon another person in self-defense or to defend a third person. [2007 c.397 §7]

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2) and 656.726(4). Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.001 through 654.295. History: OR-OSHA Admin. Order 2-2011, filed 9/29/11, effective 10/1/11.

AO 4-2023 Division 1

# 437-001-0740 Falsification or Failure to Keep and Post Records or Make Reports

Oregon OSHA will cite employers who fail to keep the records, post the summaries, or make the reports required by OAR 437-001-0700 (except OAR 437-001-0704 which is addressed in OAR 437-001-0170) or OAR 437-001-0706. Citations will be 'other than serious' and carry a penalty of at least \$100 but not more than \$1,000 for each violation that is neither repeated nor willful.

**Note:** ORS 654.991(3) provides that anybody who knowingly makes a false statement, representation, or certification in any application, record, report, plan, or other document filed or required by ORS 654.001 to 654.295, will, on conviction, be fined not more than \$10,000 or be imprisoned for not more than six months, or both. Also, ORS 654.086(1)(e) provides for civil penalties for falsification of a document.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2) and 656.726(4). Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.001 through 654.295. History: WCB Admin. Order 19-1974, filed 6-5-74, effective 7-1-74. WCD Admin. Order, Safety 5-1978, filed 6-22-78, effective 8-15-78. WCD Admin. Order, Safety 6-1982, filed 6-28-82, effective 8-1-82. APD Admin. Order 6-1987, filed 12-23-87, effective 1-1-88. APD Admin. Order 7-1988, filed 6-17-88, effective 7-1-74. OSHA 6-1994, filed 9/30/94, effective 9/30/94. OSHA 11-2001, filed 9/14/01, effective 1/1/02. OSHA 7-2002, filed 11/15/02, effective 11/15/02. OSHA 11-2007, filed 12/21/07, effective 1/1/08. OSHA 5-2018, filed 11/29/18, effective 12/17/18. OSHA 13-2021, filed 11/1/21, effective 12/1/21.

## 437-001-0742 Recordkeeping Variances and Exceptions

In order to achieve a uniform national system for the recordkeeping and reporting of occupational injuries and illnesses, the State of Oregon and the U.S. Department of Labor have agreed that as applied to employers, defined in subsections 3(5) of the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 (Public Law 91-596, 81 STAT 1950), the state will not grant any variances or exceptions to the recordkeeping and reporting regulations of this part without prior approval of the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2) and 656.726(3). Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.001 through 654.295. History: WCB Admin. Order 19-1974, filed 6-5-74, effective 7-1-74. APD Admin. Order 7-1988, filed 6-17-88, effective 7-1-74. OSHA 11-2001, filed 9/14/01, effective 1/1/02.

# 437-001-0765 Safety Committees and Safety Meetings

This rule requires employers to establish and administer a safety committee, or to hold safety meetings, to communicate and evaluate safety and health issues.

Purpose: The purpose of safety committees and safety meetings is to bring workers and management together in a non-adversarial, cooperative effort to promote safety and health. Safety committees and safety meetings will assist you in making continuous improvement to your safety and health programs.

Scope: This rule applies to public or private employers in Oregon subject to Oregon OSHA jurisdiction, except as listed below.

You do not have to comply with this rule if you are:

- The sole owner and only employee of a corporation;
- A member of a board or commission and do not participate in the day-to-day activities of the company. You are not considered an employee for purposes of this rule.
- Engaged in agricultural activities covered by Division 4, Subdivision C.
- Engaged in forest activities covered by Division 7, Subdivisions B and C.

Division 2, Subdivision L OAR 437-002-0182 (7) requires employers engaged in fire service activities to establish a separate fire service safety committee or opt for safety meetings if they meet the criteria in the following table.

You can choose a committee or meetings.

(1) You must establish and administer an effective safety committee or hold effective safety meetings as defined by these rules:

Division 1

AO 4-2023

Oregon Administrative Rules

Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Division

Table 1 - Salety committee of salety meeting		
lf	You can have a Safety Committee	You can have Safety Meetings
You have 10 or fewer employees more than half of the year (including seasonal and temporary)	Yes	Yes
More than half of your employees report to construction sites	Yes	Yes
More than half of your employees are mobile or move frequently between sites	Yes	Yes
Most employees do not regularly work outside an office environment	Yes	Yes
You have more than 10 employees at a location, and none of the above applies	Yes	No
You have satellite or auxiliary offices with 10 or fewer employees at each location	Yes	Yes

#### Table 1 - Safety committee or safety meeting

#### Safety Committees

- (2) If you have 20 or fewer employees you must have at least 2 members. If you have more than 20 employees you must have at least 4 members.
- (3) You must have an equal number of employer-selected members and employee-elected or volunteer members. If both parties agree, the committee may have more employee-elected or volunteer members.

**Note:** Management can select a supervisor to represent them. Employees can elect a supervisor to represent them.

- (4) Your safety committee members must:
  - Have a majority agree on a chairperson.
  - Serve a minimum of one year, when possible.
  - Be compensated at their regular rate of pay.
  - Have training in the principles of accident and incident investigations for use in evaluating those events.
  - Have training in hazard identification.
  - Be provided with meeting minutes.
  - Represent major activities of your business.

Division 1

AO 4-2023

- (5) Your safety committee must meet on company time as follows:
  - Quarterly in situations where employees do mostly office work.
  - Monthly for all other situations (except the months when quarterly worksite inspections are performed).

**Oregon Administrative Rules** 

- (6) You must keep written records of each safety committee meeting for three years that include:
  - Names of attendees.
  - Meeting date.
  - All safety and health issues discussed, including tools, equipment, work environment, and work practice hazards.
  - Recommendations for corrective action and a reasonable date by which management agrees to respond.
  - Person responsible for follow up on any recommended corrective actions.
  - All reports, evaluations, and recommendations made by the committee.
- (7) Your safety committee must establish procedures for conducting workplace safety and health inspections. Persons trained in hazard identification must conduct inspections as follows:

Where	Who	When
Primary fixed locations	Employer and employee representatives	Quarterly
Office environments	Employer and employee representatives	Quarterly
Auxiliary and satellite locations	Employer and employee representatives	Quarterly
Mobile work locations, infrequently visited sites, and sites that do not lend themselves to quarterly inspections	Employer and employee representatives or a designated person	As often as the safety committee determines is necessary

Table 2 - Safety committee procedures for inspections

- (8) In addition to the above requirements, your safety committee must:
  - Work with management to establish, amend, or adopt accident investigation procedures that will identify and correct hazards.
  - Have a system that allows employees an opportunity to report hazards and safety and health related suggestions.
  - Establish procedures for reviewing inspection reports and for making recommendations to management.
  - Evaluate all accident and incident investigations and make recommendations for ways to prevent similar events from occurring.
  - Make safety committee meeting minutes available for all employees to review.

1			Division 1, General Administration
Division 1	AO 4-2023	Oregon Administrative Rules	Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Division

- Evaluate management's accountability system for safety and health, and recommend improvements. Examples include use of incentives, discipline, and evaluating success in controlling safety and health hazards.
- (9) If you have multiple locations, you may choose to have a centralized safety committee. A centralized safety committee must represent the safety and health concerns of all locations and meet the requirements for safety committees. If you rely on a centralized committee, you must also have a written safety and health policy that:
  - Represents management commitment to the committee.
  - Requires and describes effective employee involvement.
  - Describes how the company will hold employees and managers accountable for safety and health.
  - Explains specific methods for identifying and correcting safety and health hazards at each location.
  - Includes an annual written comprehensive review of the committees' activities to determine effectiveness.
- **Note:** Two or more employers at a single location may combine resources to meet the intent of these rules.

Oregon Administrative Rules

AO 4-2023 Division 1

(10) Safety meetings must:

- Include all available employees.
- Include at least one employer representative authorized to ensure correction of safety and health issues.
- Be held on company time and attendees paid at their regular rate of pay.
- (11) Hold safety meetings with the following frequency if:

Nature of the Business	Frequency of Meetings
You employ construction workers	At least monthly and before the start of each job that lasts more than one week.
Your employees do mostly office work	At least quarterly
All other employers	At least monthly

(12) Safety meetings must include discussions of:

Safety and health issues

Accident investigations, causes, and the suggested corrective measures.

- (13) Employers in construction, utility work, and manufacturing must document, make available to all employees, and keep for three years a written record of each meeting that includes the following:
  - Hazards related to tools, equipment, work environment, and unsafe work practices identified and discussed during the meeting.
  - The date of the meeting.
  - The names of those attending the meeting.

All other employers do not need to keep these records if all employees attend the safety meeting.

- (14) If you are a subcontractor on a multi-employer worksite, to meet the intent of (11) through (13), your employees may attend the prime contractor's safety meetings. You may keep the minutes from these meetings as a part of your records to meet the intent of (13). If you choose this option, you must still meet to discuss accidents involving your employees.
- (15) Innovation. After you apply, Oregon OSHA may grant approval for safety committees or safety meetings that differ from the rule requirements yet meet the intent of these rules.

1	
Division 1	

AO 4-2023

Rules Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Division

(16) Effective Dates. The effective date for compliance with this rule is January 1, 2009. For employers with 10 or fewer employees, other than those in construction, the effective date is September 19, 2009.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2) and 656.726(4). Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.176. History: WCD Admin. Order, Safety 10-1982, filed 7/30/82, effective 11/1/82. OSHA 12-1990, filed 6/18/90, effective 6/18/90 (temp). OSHA 28-1990, filed 12/18/90, effective 3/1/91 (perm). OSHA 6-1994, filed 9/30/94, effective 9/30/94. OSHA 9-1995, filed 11/29/95, effective 11/29/95. OSHA 8-2001, filed 7/13/01, effective 7/13/01. OSHA 6-2003, filed 11/26/03, effective 11/26/03. OSHA 7-2006, filed 9/6/06, effective 9/6/06 OSHA 9-2008, filed 11/29/18, effective 12/17/18.

#### **Occupational Safety and Health Grant Program**

### 437-001-0800 Application Procedures

- (1) The Division may solicit applications for Occupational Safety and Health Grants to develop innovative, proactive occupational safety and health training, educational programs, or materials.
- (2) Any labor consortium, employer consortium, educational institution that is affiliated with a labor organization, or employer group, or other nonprofit entity, may apply for an Occupational Safety and Health Grant as provided in ORS 654.189 and 654.191, and in accordance with OAR 437-001-0800 through 437-001-0810.
- (3) An applicant for a grant shall submit the grant application during the period of time specified in the application procedure. An application shall be in writing on the application forms and procedures provided by the Division and shall contain at a minimum:
  - (a) The name, address, and telephone number of each applicant;
  - (b) The name, address, and telephone number of the project director;
  - (c) The amount of the request;
  - (d) An impact statement including the type and number of employees or employers targeted; the problem to be addressed, and the impact the project will have on occupational safety and health in Oregon;
  - (e) A description of the manner in which the grant will be used, including:
    - (A) Anticipated financial expenditures;
    - (B) A developmental plan that states goals and how they will be accomplished;
    - (C) Proposed completion date;
    - (D) Proposed in-kind services;
    - (E) Targeted audience; and
    - (F) Intended measurement of results; and,
  - (f) Any other information included in the application forms and procedures.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2) and 656.726(4). Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.001 through 654.295. History: OSHA 3-1989, filed 12/1/89, effective 12/1/89. OSHA 5-2018, filed 11/29/18, effective 12/17/18.

1			Division 1, General Administration
Division 1	AO 4-2023	Oregon Administrative Rules	Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Division

## 437-001-0805 Application Review

- (1) The Division shall review all applications and request any additional information needed to assure applications are relevant and complete.
- (2) After an application is determined to be complete and in compliance with the intended goals of the program by the Division, it shall be forwarded to the Safe Employment Education and Training Advisory Committee (SEETAC) for review and possible recommendation for grant approval.
- (3) In reviewing grant applications for possible recommendations for approval to the Director, the committee shall consider at least the following elements:
  - (a) The amount of available funds in the Occupational Safety and Health Grant account;
  - (b) The impact statement details;
  - (c) The innovativeness of the grant request;
  - (d) The feasibility of the developmental plan;
  - (e) The amount of in kind services;
  - (f) The stability of other funding sources; and
  - (g) The administrative costs and/or responsibilities imposed on the Division in connection with the grant project.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2) and 656.726(3). Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.001 through 654.295. History: OSHA 3-1989, filed 12/1/89, effective 12/1/89.

## 437-001-0810 Grant Awards

- (1) The Division shall notify applicants, in writing, of the approval or disapproval of the grant request.
- (2) The applicant shall execute documents required by the Division for evidence of the type and amount of grant given, performance criteria, and reporting requirements, and any other terms and conditions agreed to in connection with the awarding of a grant.
- (3) Grant recipients shall make available to the Division all records and materials necessary to monitor the grant award.
- (4) If the terms and conditions under which the grant was approved are not met, the Division may, upon written notice, take one or more of the following actions:
  - (a) Immediately revoke approval of the use of Occupational Safety and Health Grant funds; or

- (b) Require repayment of all or a portion of any funds advanced; or
- (c) Any other appropriate legal action necessary.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2) and 656.726(4). Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.001 through 654.295. History: OSHA 3-1989, filed 12/1/89, effective 12/1/89. OSHA 5-2018, filed 11/29/18, effective 12/17/18.