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COVID-19 Public Health Emergency in All Oregon Workplaces 

437-001-0744 Rule Addressing COVID-19 Workplace Risks 

Note: Oregon OSHA's temporary rule addressing COVID-19 in the workplace expired May 4, 2021, 

180 days after its adoption. Under the Oregon Administrative Procedures Act, a temporary rule 

cannot be renewed or extended beyond 180 days. Therefore, in order to extend protections for 

workers against COVID-19, which remains a significant concern, Oregon OSHA initially adopted this 

rule following the normal process for permanent rulemaking. However, the purpose of this rule is to 

address the COVID-19 pandemic in Oregon workplaces. Oregon OSHA will repeal the rule when it is 

no longer necessary to address the pandemic. Because it is not possible to assign a specific time for 

that decision, Oregon OSHA will continue to consult with the Oregon OSHA Partnership Committee, 

the Oregon Health Authority, the two Infectious Disease Rulemaking Advisory Committees, and other 

stakeholders as circumstances change to determine when all or part of the rule can be appropriately 

repealed.[  Oregon OSHA and its stakeholders will consider indicators and other information such as 

(but not limited to) Executive Orders issued by the Governor, guidance issued by the Oregon Health 

Authority and the Centers for Disease Control, infection rates (including the rate of spread of COVID-

19 variants), test positivity rates, and vaccination rates, as well as indicators of severity such as 

hospitalizations and fatalities. 

In accordance with its commitment to repeal the rule when it is no longer necessary, on March 18, 

2022, Oregon OSHA amended this rule to remove the indoor masking requirements and most of the 

other provisions no longer appropriate for that stage of the pandemic. The changes were in response 

to Governor Brown's announcement of updated health guidance on February 28, 2022, and direction 

from the Oregon Health Authority. In order for these changes to take immediate effect, they were 

effectuated via a temporary rule. As stated above, a temporary rule cannot be renewed or extended 

beyond 180 days. Therefore, in order to preserve the changes made on March 18, 2022, and to 

remove some additional requirements as advised by the Oregon Health Authority, Oregon OSHA is 

adopting this rule following the normal process for permanent rulemaking. Failure to adopt this rule 

would result in the rule reverting to its form as of December 21, 2021 (Administrative Order 14-

2021).  

(1) Scope and Application. 

(a) This rule applies to all employees working in places of employment subject 

to Oregon OSHA's jurisdiction and exposed to one or more other 

individuals outside their household. For clarity and ease of reference, this 

rule refers to "COVID-19" when describing exposures or potential 

exposures to SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes Coronavirus Disease 2019.  

(b) The requirements of sections (3) and (4) of this rule are applicable to 

exceptional risk workplaces. For purposes of this rule, workplaces at 

exceptional risk include any setting (whether a healthcare setting or not) 

where an employee (including temporary and part-time employees) 

performs one or any combination of the following job duties: 

(A) Direct patient care;  
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(B) Environmental decontamination services in a healthcare setting;  

(C) Aerosol-generating healthcare or postmortem procedures; 

(D) Direct client service in residential care or assisted living facilities; 

(E) Emergency first responder activities;  

(F) Personal care activities that involve very close contact with an 

individual, such as toileting or bathing; or 

(G) Handling, packaging, cleaning, processing, or transporting human 

remains or human tissue specimens or laboratory cultures collected 

from an individual known or suspected to be infected with COVID-19. 

Note: "Contact tracing" requirements as described in subsections (3)(l) and (4)(i) of this 

rule are not applicable for law enforcement covered in the emergency first 

responder definition of subsection (2)(e), personal care activities in (1)(b)(F), and 

handling, packaging, cleaning, processing, or transporting human remains or 

human tissue specimens or laboratory cultures in (1)(b)(G).  

Note: "Exceptional risk" does not include workers of other departments or job duties 

outside the scope and underlying definitions of subsection (1)(b) of this rule. For 

example, employees in the accounting department at a hospital would be covered 

by the requirements applicable to all workplaces, while other workers at the same 

hospital who actually perform any of those job operations listed under subsection 

(1)(b), such as direct patient care, would be subject to the supplementary 

requirements for workplaces at exceptional risk in addition to the requirements for 

all workplaces. 

Note: It is important to recognize other regulatory bodies may have additional 

requirements relating to exceptional risk beyond Oregon OSHA requirements.  

(c) The requirements of section (5) of this rule are applicable to all workplaces 

not otherwise covered under the exceptional risk workplace requirements 

of sections (3) and (4). 

(2) Definitions. 

(a) Aerosol-generating healthcare or postmortem procedure - means a 

medical, dental, or postmortem procedure on human patients or remains 

that is likely to result in exposure to small droplet nuclei in high 

concentration, presenting a risk for airborne transmission of COVID-19. 

(b) Common areas - means building lobbies, reception areas, waiting rooms, 

restrooms, break rooms, eating areas, smoking areas, locker rooms, 

bathing areas, transit lounges, conference rooms, or other locations 

indoors or outdoors that multiple individuals may use or congregate that 

employers operate or control. 
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(c) Decontamination of filtering facepiece respirators (FFR) - means a 

process approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) that 

reduces the number of pathogens, does not negatively affect the fit or 

filtration performance of the FFR, and presents no residual chemical 

hazard. 

(d) Direct patient care - means any employee job duties that include direct 

physical contact with a patient during the delivery of healthcare services. A 

worker performs direct patient care under the authority granted by a 

license or certification issued by federal, state, or local entities to provide 

healthcare services within the scope of practice. Workers may be providing 

direct patient care under their own licensure or certification, or may be 

providing care under the supervision of a licensed or certified worker. 

Workers involved in direct patient care include, but are not limited to, 

physicians, physician assistants, nurses, nurse practitioners, certified 

nursing aides, medical technologists, phlebotomists, respiratory 

therapists, dentists, dental hygienists, physical or occupational therapists, 

chiropractors, and other workers who otherwise provide in-person 

healthcare services. Direct patient care does not include customer service 

activities provided in retail settings that have embedded healthcare offices, 

such as retail pharmacies. 

(e) Emergency first responder activities - means those job duties that 

require an employee to be able to arrive first and provide assistance at the 

scene of an emergency, such as an accident, fire, or natural disaster. First 

responders include but are not limited to law enforcement officers, 

firefighters, emergency medical technicians, and paramedics. Emergency 

first responder activities under this rule do not include tasks where only 

first aid is provided in accordance with OAR 437-002-0161. 

(f) Employee - means any individual, including a minor whether lawfully or 

unlawfully employed, who engages to furnish services for a remuneration, 

financial or otherwise, subject to the direction and control of an employer; 

any salaried, elected and appointed official of the state, state agencies, 

counties, cities, school districts and other public corporations; and any 

individual who is provided with workers' compensation coverage as a 

subject worker pursuant to ORS chapter 656, whether by operation of law 

or election.  
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(g) Employer - means any person who has one or more employees, any sole 

proprietor or member of a partnership who elects workers' compensation 

coverage, or any corporation in relation to the exposure of its corporate 

officers except for corporations without workers' compensation coverage 

under ORS 656.128 and whose only employee is the sole owner of the 

corporation, or any successor or assignee of an employer as described in 

OAR 437-001-0015. 

(h) Employment, Place of - has the meaning provided in OAR 437-001-0015 

and excludes any place where the only employment involves workers not 

covered by workers' compensation and employed in or around a private 

home, as well as any corporate farm where the only employment involves 

the farm's family members  

Note: The employment of home care and home healthcare workers by a resident of the 

home in which they work is not subject to workers' compensation (even though the 

employees receive such coverage through the Home Care Commission) and 

therefore their employment is not covered by Oregon OSHA. Such workers who are 

employed by private home health or in-home care agencies are subject to workers' 

compensation and therefore their employment is covered by Oregon OSHA. Private 

homes, such as adult foster care homes, where the only employment is for the care 

and comfort of the residents are also not required to obtain workers' compensation 

and are therefore not subject to Oregon OSHA unless the employer has opted to 

provide workers' compensation coverage under ORS 656.039. 

(i) Environmental decontamination services - means the work performed by 

janitorial, custodial, maintenance, or similar employees who are 

responsible for cleaning equipment, surfaces, or other items in direct 

patient care healthcare settings. This includes routine and non-routine 

cleaning or disinfecting of high-touch surfaces as defined by this rule, 

equipment, or procedural tools that are used in patient care areas in 

healthcare settings, including those settings in which aerosol-generating 

procedures are performed. 

(j) Face covering - means a cloth, polypropylene, paper or other covering 

that covers the nose and the mouth and that rests snugly above the nose, 

below the mouth, and on the sides of the face. Coverings that incorporate 

a valve that is designed to facilitate easy exhalation or mesh masks or 

other covers with openings, holes, visible gaps in the design or material, 

or vents are not appropriate face coverings because they allow droplets to 

be released from the covering. 



 

 

General Administration 1 

Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Division  Oregon Administrative Rules  AO 5-2022  Division 1 

437-001-0744 (2)(k) Div. 1 - Page 139 437-001-0744 (2)(p) 

(k) Face shield - means a transparent plastic shield that covers the wearer's 

forehead, extends below the chin, and wraps around the sides of the face. 

Devices that place a shield in front of only the user's nose and mouth do 

not meet the definition of a mask, face covering, or face shield. Face 

shields are normally used as protection for the face and eyes and their use 

as a means of "source control" should be discouraged when more suitable 

alternatives are available, but they remain a compliant (although not 

preferred) means of "source control" in relation to COVID-19. 

(l) Feasibility - refers to the ability of an employer to implement any 

requirement in a rule. Oregon OSHA rules never prohibit work. Whether 

feasibility is mentioned in a provision of the rule or not, if the employer 

can demonstrate that it is functionally impossible to comply or if doing so 

would prevent completion of the work, the employer need not comply, but 

must take any available reasonable alternative steps to protect the 

employees involved. 

(m) Filtering facepiece respirator - means a tight-fitting, negative pressure, 

particulate respirator, where the particulate filter is the facepiece itself. 

Such respirators are often referred to as "dust masks," but dust masks that 

are not certified by the National Institute for Occupational Safety and 

Health are not respirators. The most common filtering facepiece 

respirators for general use are known as N95 respirators. 

(n) Hand hygiene - means the cleaning, sanitizing, or disinfecting of one's 

hands by using standard handwashing methods with soap and running 

water, antiseptic hand wash, antiseptic hand rub (alcohol-based hand 

sanitizer including foam or gel), or surgical hand antisepsis. 

(o) Healthcare setting - means any space at the workplace where a worker 

routinely provides direct patient care as defined by this rule or performs 

aerosol-generating healthcare or postmortem procedures. A healthcare 

setting does not include any establishment where only personal support 

services are provided or places where direct patient care is provided to a 

patient outside the healthcare setting itself. 

(p) High-touch surface - means equipment or surfaces that are handled 

frequently throughout the day by multiple individuals. High-touch surfaces 

can include, but are not limited to, countertops, tabletops, credit card 

terminals, doorknobs, door handles, digital kiosks, touch-screen enabled 

devices, light switches, handrails, elevator control panels, and steering 

wheels in work vehicles. 
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(q) Individual - means any person who is present in the place of employment, 

whether an employee or not. 

(r) Mask - means a U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) cleared surgical, 

medical procedure, dental, or isolation mask (commonly referred to as a 

"surgical mask"). Masks are medical grade masks that function as a 

physical barrier to protect workers from hazards such as splashes of large 

droplets of blood or bodily fluids; they do not provide reliable protection 

to the wearer against aerosols or airborne pathogens. 

(s) Personal protective equipment (PPE) - means specialized clothing or 

equipment worn by a worker for protection against a hazard. General work 

clothing (for example, uniforms, pants, shirts or blouses) not intended to 

function as protection against a hazard for the user is not considered to be 

PPE. 

(t) Personal support services - means the work performed by a caretaker or 

similar employee who is responsible for assisting individuals with day-to-

day living issues that are not direct patient care activities. Personal support 

services include, but are not limited to housekeeping, assisting with 

medication, personal transportation (such as taking a client to an 

appointment), and other day-to-day living activities that may occur in an 

individual's private residence are not otherwise considered to be direct 

patient care under this rule. 

(u) Respirator - means a type of personal protective equipment that protects 

against respiratory hazards by removing specific air contaminants from the 

ambient (surrounding) air or by supplying breathable air from a safe 

source. Respirators that remove contaminants from the ambient air are 

called air-purifying respirators. Respirators that supply air from a safe 

source other than the ambient air are called atmosphere-supplying 

respirators. Masks, face coverings, and face shields are not respirators. 

(v) SARS-CoV-2 - refers to a specific betacoronavirus (MERS-CoV and SARS-CoV 

are other betacoronaviruses) that causes what has been designated as 

Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19). 

(w) Shared equipment - means devices or tools that are used by multiple 

employees or other individuals including, but not limited to, elevators, 

computers, phones, gym or personal fitness devices, escalators, and work 

vehicles. 
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(x) Source control - means the use of protective equipment or other measures 

such as face coverings to prevent the spread of illness from a potentially 

infectious person to others. A typical example of source control for 

COVID19 is to use a mask or face covering to limit the spread of 

respiratory droplets and aerosols from the wearer to others. Respirators 

can be used as source control in addition to providing protection for the 

wearer. 

(y) Suspected to be infected with COVID-19 - means a person who has signs 

or symptoms of COVID-19 but has not tested positive for SARS-CoV-2 

infection and no alternative diagnosis has been made consistent with 

Oregon Health Authority definitions. 

(3) COVID-19 Requirements for Exceptional Risk Workplaces. Except as otherwise 

provided by this rule, the following requirements in section (3) apply to 

exceptional risk workplaces. 

(a) Physical distancing. Oregon OSHA no longer requires employers to 

implement physical distancing. 

(b) Masks, face coverings, or face shields. The specific requirements for 

masks, face coverings, and face shields are covered under subsection (4)(l) 

of this rule. 

(c) Cleaning and sanitation. Except for healthcare settings, which are covered 

under subsection (4)(d) of this rule, Oregon OSHA no longer requires 

employers to regularly clean or sanitize all common areas, shared 

equipment, and high-touch surfaces as defined by this rule that are under 

its control and that are used by employees or the public. 

(A) Employers must provide employees with the supplies (such as soap 

and water) and the reasonable time necessary to clean or sanitize 

more frequently than would otherwise be required if the worker 

chooses to do so. 

(B) Employers must provide employees with the supplies (such as soap 

and water) and reasonable time necessary to perform hand hygiene 

before using shared equipment.  

Note: Additional sanitation requirements for exceptional risk workplaces are included in 

subsection (4)(d) of this rule. 

(d) Posting requirements. Oregon OSHA no longer requires the COVID-19 

poster to be posted in the workplace. 
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(e) Building operators. Oregon OSHA no longer requires building operators to 

take the additional steps related to sanitation and posting of signs. 

(f) Routine ventilation maintenance and evaluation. Employers covered by 

section (3) of this rule must optimize the amount of outside air circulated 

through its existing heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) 

system(s), to the extent the system(s) can do so when operating as 

designed and maintaining healthy indoor temperatures, whenever there 

are employees in the workplace and the outdoor air quality index remains 

at either "good" or "moderate" levels. 

Note: This does not require installation of new ventilation equipment. 

Note: While not required, ventilation systems that are installed and maintained in 

accordance with the provisions of the American National Standards (ANSI)/American 

Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) 

Standards 62.1 and 62.2 (ASHRAE 2019a, 2019b) meet this requirement. 

(A) All employers covered by section (3) of this rule with more than ten 

employees statewide and an existing HVAC system must certify in 

writing that they are operating that system in accordance with the 

rule, to the best of their knowledge. Although not required, such 

certifications can be made using the sample format provided by 

Oregon OSHA. 

(i) The certification must be dated and must include the name of 

the individual making the certification; and  

(ii) Such certification records must be maintained as long as this 

rule is in effect. 

(B) On a quarterly basis, all employers must ensure the following: 

(i) All air filters are maintained and replaced as necessary to ensure 

the proper function of the ventilation system; and  

(ii) All intake ports that provide outside air to the HVAC system are 

cleaned, maintained, and cleared of any debris that may affect 

the function and performance of the ventilation system. 
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(g) Exposure risk assessment. All employers covered by section (3) of this rule 

must conduct a COVID-19 exposure risk assessment, without regard to the 

use of personal protective equipment, masks, face coverings, or face 

shields. A risk assessment conducted in compliance with the Oregon OSHA 

temporary COVID-19 rule adopted November 6, 2020, satisfies this 

requirement and need not be repeated. If an employer has multiple 

facilities that are substantially similar, the assessment may be developed 

by facility type rather than site-by-site so long as any site-specific 

information that affects employee exposure risk to COVID-19 is included in 

the assessment. 

(A) The exposure risk assessment must involve participation and 

feedback from employees. This feedback may be achieved via a safety 

meeting, safety committee, supervisor, process negotiated with the 

exclusive bargaining agent (if any), or any other similarly interactive 

process. 

(B) Each employer with more than ten employees statewide (including 

temporary and part-time workers) that is covered by subsection (1)(b) 

of this rule (workplaces at exceptional risk) must record their COVID-

19 exposure risk assessment in writing by documenting the following 

information  

(i) The name(s), job title(s), and contact information of the person(s) 

who performed the exposure risk assessment; 

(ii) The date the exposure risk assessment was completed; 

(iii) The employee job classifications that were evaluated; and  

(iv) A summary of the employer's answers to each of the applicable 

exposure risk assessment questions in this subsection. 

(C) The risk assessment must address the following questions related to 

potential employee exposure to COVID19 in the workplace: 

(i) Can employees telework or otherwise work remotely? How are 

employees encouraged or empowered to use those distance 

work options to reduce COVID-19 transmission at the workplace? 

(ii) What are the anticipated working distances between employees? 

How might those physical working distances change during non-

routine work activities? 
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(iii) What is the anticipated working distance between employees and 

other individuals? How might those working distances change 

during non-routine work activities? 

(iv) How have the workplace or employee job duties, or both, been 

modified to provide at least six feet of physical distancing 

between all individuals? 

(v) How are employees and other individuals at the workplace 

notified where and when masks, face coverings, or face shields 

are required? How is this policy enforced and clearly 

communicated to employees and other individuals? 

(vi) How have employees been informed about the workplace policy 

and procedures related to reporting COVID19 symptoms? How 

might employees who are identified for quarantine or isolation 

as a result of medical removal under this rule be provided with 

an opportunity to work at home, if such work is available and 

they are well enough to do so? 

(vii) How have engineering controls such as ventilation (whether 

portable air filtration units equipped with HEPA filters, airborne 

infection isolation rooms, local exhaust ventilation, or general 

building HVAC systems) and physical barriers been used to 

minimize employee exposure to COVID-19? 

(viii) How have administrative controls (such as foot-traffic control) 

been used to minimize employee exposure to COVID-19? 

(ix) What is the procedure or policy for employees to report 

workplace hazards related to COVID-19? How are these hazard 

reporting procedures or policies communicated to employees? 

(x) How are sanitation measures related to COVID-19 implemented 

in the workplace? How have these sanitation practices been 

explained to employees and other individuals at the workplace? 

(xi) How have the industry-specific or activity-specific COVID-19 

requirements in Appendix A of this rule and applicable guidance 

from the Oregon Health Authority been implemented for 

workers? How will periodic updates to such Oregon Health 

Authority guidance documents incorporated into the workplace 

on an ongoing basis? 
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(xii) In settings where the workers of multiple employers work in the 

same space or share equipment or common areas, how are the 

physical distancing, mask, face covering, or face shield 

requirements; and sanitation measures required under this rule 

communicated to and coordinated between all employers and 

their affected employees? 

(xiii) How can the employer implement appropriate controls that 

provide layered protection from COVID-19 hazards and that 

minimize, to the degree possible, reliance on individual 

employee training and behavior for their efficacy? 

Note: Oregon OSHA has made a Risk Assessment template and sample Risk Assessments 

available to assist employers in completing this task. 

(h) Infection control plan. All employers covered by section (3) of this rule 

must establish and implement an infection control plan based on the risks 

identified in subsection (3)(g) of this rule that implements the controls 

identified in subparagraph (3)(g)(C)(xiii) including, but not limited to, 

ventilation, staggered shifts, redesigning the workplace to accommodate 

physical distancing, reducing use of shared surfaces and tools, limiting the 

number of employees and other individuals in work areas, personal 

protective equipment, etc. An infection control plan developed in 

compliance with the Oregon OSHA temporary COVID-19 rule adopted 

November 6, 2020, satisfies this requirement and need not be repeated. If 

an employer has multiple facilities that are substantially similar, its 

infection control plan may be developed by facility type rather than site-by-

site so long as any site-specific information that affects employee 

exposure risk to COVID-19 is included in the plan. Employers may also rely 

upon materials developed by associations, licensing agencies, and 

franchisors to assist with compliance and provided that mechanisms for 

appropriate employee feedback and involvement are provided. 

(A) Each employer with more than ten employees statewide (including 

temporary and part-time workers) and every employer, regardless of 

size, that is covered by subsection (1)(b) of this rule (workplaces at 

exceptional risk) must document their infection control plan in writing 

and must ensure that a copy is accessible to employees at their 

workplace. 

Note: Additional requirements related to the infection control plan, which are 

applicable only to those employers covered by subsection (1)(b) of this rule 

(workplaces at exceptional risk), are contained in subsection (4)(c) of this rule. 

https://osha.oregon.gov/Pages/topics/infectious-disease.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHAPubs/pubform/exposure-risk-assessment-form-example.pdf
https://osha.oregon.gov/Documents/Sample-Items-to-Consider-Assessment.pdf
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(B) The infection control plan must contain, at a minimum, the following 

elements: 

(i) A list of all job assignments or worker tasks requiring the use of 

personal protective equipment (including respirators) necessary 

to minimize employee exposure to COVID-19; 

(ii) The procedures the employer will use to ensure that there is an 

adequate supply of masks, face coverings, or face shields and 

personal protective equipment (including respirators) necessary 

to minimize employee exposure to COVID-19; 

(iii) A list and description of the specific hazard control measures 

that the employer installed, implemented, or developed to 

minimize employee exposure to COVID-19; 

(iv) A description of the employer's COVID-19 mask, face covering, 

and face shield requirements at the workplace, and the method 

of informing individuals entering the workplace where such 

source control is required; 

(v)  The procedures the employer will use to communicate with its 

employees and other employers in multiemployer worksites 

regarding an employee's exposure to an individual known or 

suspected to be infected with COVID-19 to whom other workers 

may have been exposed. This includes the communication to 

individuals identified through COVID-19 contact tracing and 

general communication to the workplace at large; and  

(vi) The procedures the employer will use to provide its workers with 

the initial employee information and training required by this 

rule. 

Note: Oregon OSHA has made sample Infection Control Plans available to assist 

employers in completing this task. 

https://osha.oregon.gov/Pages/topics/infectious-disease.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHAPubs/pubform/infection-control-plan-example.pdf
https://osha.oregon.gov/Documents/Sample-Items-to-Consider-Infection-Control-Plan.pdf
https://osha.oregon.gov/Documents/Sample-Items-to-Consider-Infection-Control-Plan.pdf
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(i) Employee information and training. All employers covered by section (3) of 

this rule must provide workers with information and training regarding 

COVID-19. Infection control training conducted in compliance with the 

Oregon OSHA temporary COVID-19 rule adopted November 6, 2020, 

satisfies this requirement. This information and training can be provided 

remotely or using computer-based models but must be provided in a 

manner and language understood by the affected workers. Employers must 

ensure that the training provides an opportunity for feedback from 

employees about the topics covered in the training, which must include at 

least the following elements: 

(A) Physical distancing requirements as they apply to the employee's 

workplace and job function(s); 

(B) Mask, face covering, or face shield requirements as they apply to the 

employee's workplace and job function(s); 

(C) COVID-19 sanitation requirements as they apply to the employee’s 

workplace and job function(s); 

(D) COVID-19 signs and symptom reporting procedures that apply to the 

employee's workplace;  

(E) COVID-19 infection notification process as suggested by this rule; 

(F) Medical removal as required by this rule; 

(G) The characteristics and methods of transmission of the SARS-CoV-2 

virus; 

Note: Oregon OSHA has provided training materials that can be used to complete 

this portion of the training. 

(H) The symptoms of the COVID-19 disease; 

Note: Oregon OSHA has provided training materials that can be used to complete 

this portion of the training. 

(I) The ability of pre-symptomatic and asymptomatic COVID-19 persons 

to transmit the SARS-CoV-2 virus; and 

Note: Oregon OSHA has provided training materials that can be used to complete 

this portion of the training. 

(J) Safe and healthy work practices and control measures, including but 

not limited to, physical distancing, sanitation and disinfection 

practices. 

Note: Oregon OSHA has provided training materials that can be used to complete 

this portion of the training. 

https://osha.oregon.gov/edu/courses/Pages/COVID-19-training-requirements.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/edu/courses/Pages/COVID-19-training-requirements.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/edu/courses/Pages/COVID-19-training-requirements.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/edu/courses/Pages/COVID-19-training-requirements.aspx
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(j) COVID-19 infection notification process. All employers covered by section 

(3) of this rule should establish and implement a process to notify exposed 

employees (those who were within six feet of a confirmed COVID-19 

individual for a cumulative total of 15 minutes or more, regardless of 

whether one or both of them were wearing source control) that they had a 

work-related contact with an individual who has tested positive for COVID-

19, as well as to notify affected employees (those who worked in the same 

facility or in the same well-defined portion of the facility such as a 

particular floor) that an individual who was present in the facility has 

confirmed COVID-19. This notification process should include the 

following elements:  

(A) A mechanism for notifying both exposed and affected employees 

within 24 hours of the employer being made aware that an individual 

with COVID-19 was present in the workplace while infectious or 

otherwise may have had work-related contact with its employee(s) 

while infectious; and  

(B) This notification process should be established and implemented in 

accordance with all applicable federal and Oregon laws and 

regulations. 

Note: Employers can satisfy this requirement by adopting the model procedure 

published by Oregon OSHA. 

Note: The reporting of COVID-19 cases may be required under existing Oregon 

Health Authority rules regarding reporting of disease cases. OAR 333-018-

0016 requires such cases to be reported by healthcare providers and 

laboratories within 24 hours of identification. 

Note: Whenever an exposure notification as described by this rule is provided in 

writing, the notification may be subject to the existing requirements of 

Oregon OSHA's Access to Employee Exposure and Medical Records standard 

(29 CFR 1910.1020). 

(k) COVID-19 testing for workers. The employer must cooperate by making its 

employees and appropriate space available at no cost to the workers 

whenever a local public health agency or Oregon Health Authority indicate 

that COVID-19 diagnostic testing within the workplace is necessary. If such 

testing is conducted at the employer's own direction, the employer is 

responsible for covering the costs of testing, including but not limited to 

the COVID-19 test itself, employee time, and employee travel. However, if 

the employer is not requesting the test, the employer is not expected to 

cover the direct cost of such testing or of any involved employee travel. 
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(l) Medical removal. Whenever the Oregon Health Authority, local public 

health agency, or medical provider recommends an employee be restricted 

from work due to quarantine or isolation for COVID-19, such as through 

identification during contact tracing activities, the affected worker(s) must 

be directed to isolate at home and away from other non-quarantined 

individuals. 

Note: There are additional medical removal provisions for healthcare settings in 

subsection (4)(j) of this rule. 

Note: Other than the obligation to provide such direction and to remove such employees 

from the workplace, the employer has no obligation to enforce the employee's 

quarantine or isolation. 

Note: "Contact tracing" requirements as described in subsections (3)(l) and (4)(i) of this 

rule are not applicable for law enforcement covered in the emergency first 

responder definition of subsection (2)(e), personal care activities in (1)(c)(F), and 

handling, packaging, cleaning, processing, or transporting human remains or 

human tissue specimens or laboratory cultures in (1)(c)(G). 

(A) Whenever an employee participates in quarantine or isolation for 

COVID-19, the employer must allow the affected employee(s) to work 

at home if suitable work is available and the employee's condition 

does not prevent it. 

(B) Whenever an employee participates in quarantine or isolation, 

whether as a result of the requirements of this rule or because the 

employer chooses to take additional precautions, the affected 

worker(s) must be notified that they are entitled to return to their 

previous job duties if still available without any adverse action as a 

result of participation in COVID-19 quarantine or isolation activities. 

The employee must be advised in writing of the right to return as 

described and should be provided any relevant information about the 

employer's paid time off, sick leave, or any other available benefits in 

accordance with local, state, or federal law. 

Note: The prohibition on "adverse action" does not require the employer to keep a 

job available that would not otherwise have been available had the employee 

not been quarantined or isolated, but it does mean that the employer cannot 

fill the job with another employee and thereby make it unavailable. 

(C) Decisions regarding testing and return to work after an employee 

participates in COVID-19 quarantine or isolation activities must be 

made in accordance with applicable public health guidance and must 

be otherwise consistent with guidance from the employee's medical 

provider. 
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Note: This provision does not require a negative COVID-19 test or a separate 

contact with the medical provider. 

Note: Employees are protected from discrimination or retaliation under ORS 

654.062(5). This includes protections for actions against employees for 

opposing any practice forbidden under the Oregon Safe Employment Act and 

related statutes and rules (including this rule for COVID-19), making a 

complaint or causing any proceeding to be instituted under the Oregon Safe 

Employment Act, or exercising any rights under the law, including those 

conferred by this Rule Addressing COVID-19 Workplace Risks (OAR 437-001-

0744). 

Note: Notwithstanding the language of OAR 437-001-0700(10), employers do not 

need to record such "medical removal" cases on their OSHA 300 log(s) simply 

because the medical removal required by this rule occurred. Cases must be 

recorded only if the infection of a worker is determined to be "work-related" in 

accordance with OAR 437-001-0700. 

(m) Mandatory appendix Employers covered by the mandatory industry-specific 

requirements for Emergency Medical Services: First Responders, 

Firefighters, Emergency Medical Services and Non-Emergency Medical 

Transport must comply with this appendix. To the degree the appendix 

provides specific guidance regarding an issue addressed by this rule, it 

supersedes the general requirements of this rule. To the degree a situation 

is not addressed by the specific language of the appendix, the 

requirements of this rule apply as written. 

(4) Additional COVID-19 Requirements for Workplaces at Exceptional Risk. 

Workplaces identified by subsection (1)(b) of this rule must adhere to the 

following specific provisions and additional requirements. 

(a) Infection control training. In addition to the employee information and 

training requirements for all workplaces under subsection (3)(i) of this 

rule, employers of workplaces at exceptional risk must provide infection 

control training that includes the following provisions: 

(A) The training is overseen or conducted by a person knowledgeable in 

the covered subject matter as it relates to the employee's job duties; 

(B) The training material is appropriate in content and vocabulary to the 

education, literacy, and language of the affected workers; and  

(C) The training provides an opportunity for interactive questions and 

answers (must be "live" in order to allow immediate response and 

further clarification but need not be in person) with a person 

knowledgeable in the training program's subject matter and basic 

epidemiology as it relates to the workplace and employee job duties. 
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(b) Infection control training for employees required under this subsection 

must include the following elements: 

(A) An explanation of this rule and its applicable appendices and 

provisions; 

(B) An explanation of contact, droplet, and airborne modes of 

transmission of COVID-19, including how workers can recognize 

hazardous work activities that may involve exposure to COVID-19 and 

how employees can take precautionary measures to minimize their 

exposure; 

(C) An explanation of the basic risk factors associated with COVID-19 

transmission including, but not limited to, behavioral risk factors (this 

may include non-work activities that are higher-risk activities such as 

attending large social gatherings); physiological risk factors; 

demographic risk factors; and environmental risk factors; 

(D) An explanation of the employer's COVID-19 exposure risk assessment 

required by this rule and which employee job classifications, tasks, or 

job duties were considered as part of that risk assessment; 

(E) An explanation of the employer's physical distancing; mask, face 

covering, and face shield requirements; and COVID-19 sanitation 

requirements at the workplace. Where applicable, this information 

must include any multiemployer worksite agreements related to the 

use of common areas and shared equipment that affect employees at 

the workplace; 

(F) Information on the types, use, storage, removal, handling, and 

maintenance of masks, face coverings, face shields and personal 

protective equipment (including respirators) provided to employees 

by the employer; and  

(G) An explanation of the use and limitation of COVID-19 hazard control 

measures implemented or installed by the employer. Hazard control 

measures include engineering, administrative, or work practice 

controls that eliminate or otherwise minimize employee exposure to 

COVID-19. 

(c) Additional infection control plan requirements. In addition to the infection 

control plan requirements for all workplaces, each employer covered by 

section (4) of this rule must provide the following in its infection control 

plan: 
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(A) The name(s) of the person responsible for administering the plan. 

This person must be knowledgeable in infection control principles 

and practices as they apply to the workplace and employee job 

operations; and  

 (B) The plan must be reevaluated as frequently as necessary to reflect 

changes in the facility, employee job duties, new technologies, or 

workplace policies established by the employer that affect worker 

exposure to COVID-19 or in response to updated guidance published 

by the Oregon Health Authority (including increases in COVID-19 

community spread) that is applicable to the employer's workplace. 

This reevaluation and update of the infection plan must include 

feedback from non-managerial, front-line employees who perform 

activities that reflect the employer's exceptional risk under this rule. 

This feedback is not required from all employees and may be 

achieved via a safety meeting, safety committee, supervisor, process 

negotiated with the exclusive bargaining agent (if any), or any other 

similarly interactive process. 

(C) Healthcare employers must develop and implement a written personal 

protective equipment (PPE) supply and crisis management plan in 

accordance with Oregon Health Authority and Oregon OSHA Interim 

Guidance: Use of CDC's Optimizing Personal Protective Equipment by 

Healthcare Personnel in Resource Constrained Settings. 

(d) Additional sanitation requirements. Use appropriate sanitation measures in 

addition to the requirements of subsection (3)(c) of this rule to reduce the 

risk of COVID-19 transmission. Each employer must: 

(A) Develop and implement procedures for routine cleaning and 

disinfection that are appropriate for SARS-CoV-2 in healthcare 

settings, including those patient-care areas in which aerosol-

generating procedures are performed (for example, using cleaners 

and EPA-registered, hospital-grade disinfectants for frequently 

touched surfaces or objects in accordance with manufacturer 

instructions and contact time specifications). Refer to List N on the 

EPA website for EPA-registered disinfectants that have qualified under 

EPA's emerging viral pathogens program for use against SARS-CoV-2; 

and  
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(B) Follow standard practices for disinfection and sterilization of medical 

devices contaminated with COVID-19, as described in the CDC 

Guideline for Disinfection and Sterilization in Healthcare Facilities, 

2008. 

(e) Healthcare personal protective equipment. Depending on the requirements 

of the procedure (for example, aerosol generating procedures, a.k.a. AGPs) 

in question and the disease status of the involved patient(s), employers 

must use a combination of standard precautions, contact precautions, 

droplet precautions, airborne precautions, and eye protection (for 

example, goggles, face shields) to protect healthcare workers with 

exposure or potential exposure to COVID-19. 

(A) When an employee performs an aerosol-generating healthcare or 

post-mortem procedure for a patient without evidence of COVID-19 

infection, the employer must provide PPE in accordance with CDC's 

Interim Infection Prevention and Control Recommendations for 

Healthcare Personnel.   Oregon OSHA recognizes that risk of infection 

in asymptomatic patients can vary based on clinical presentation, 

level of COVID-19 transmission in the community, recent COVID-19 

testing results, and other factors. These factors must be considered 

in clinical judgment by healthcare personnel involved in direct patient 

care and medical examiners in making decisions about use of 

transmission-based precautions. 

(B) Whenever an employee provides direct patient care for a patient 

known or suspected to be infected with COVID-19, the employer must 

provide the affected worker with gloves, a gown, eye protection 

(goggles or face shield), and either a NIOSH-approved respirator or a 

respirator with a current emergency use authorization by the United 

States Food and Drug Administration (FDA). If the employer can 

demonstrate that the availability of respirators is genuinely limited, 

the employer must ensure that a medical-grade mask is used in place 

of the respirator. 

Note: If PPE availability is genuinely limited, a procedure cannot be deferred, and 

appropriate, good-faith efforts are made by the employer to ensure the safety 

and protection of the healthcare workers, Oregon OSHA will evaluate the 

situation based on PPE availability and the employer's adherence to CDC's 

Optimizing Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) Supplies During the COVID-19 

Pandemic. 
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(C) In lieu of (A) and (B) above, and if PPE availability is limited, such 

employers may follow CDC's Optimizing Personal Protective 

Equipment (PPE) Supplies During the COVID-19 Pandemic. 

Note: The CDC does not have a comprehensive list of AGPs in a healthcare setting. 

Employers should refer to the AGP list maintained by Oregon Health 

Authority. 

(f) Heightened risk ventilation requirements. In addition to the ventilation 

provisions of subsection (3)(f) of this rule (including any applicable 

certification provisions), certain heightened risk facilities must meet the 

following requirements to the degree that they are under the employer's 

control:  

(A) Existing ventilation systems in hospitals, ambulatory surgical centers, 

and long-term care facilities that provide skilled or intermediate level 

nursing care must be operated, when possible, in accordance with 

local building codes and applicable provisions of the American 

National Standards Institute (ANSI)/American Society of Heating, 

Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) Standards 

62.1 and 62.2 (ASHRAE 2019a, 2019b), which include requirements 

for outdoor air ventilation in most residential and nonresidential 

spaces, and ANSI/ASHRAE/ASHE Standard 170 (ASHRAE 2017a) covers 

both outdoor and total air ventilation in healthcare facilities. 

Note: This does not require installation of new ventilation equipment. 

(B) Existing ventilation systems in other healthcare facilities must be 

upgraded to a minimum MERV 13 rating, provided that such an 

upgrade will result in no significant performance reduction of the 

system. 

Note: This does not require installation of new ventilation equipment. 

(g) Barriers, partitions, and airborne infection isolation rooms in healthcare 

settings. The employer must employ the following measures to protect 

healthcare employees, support workers, patients, and visitors from 

individuals known or suspected to be infected with COVID-19: 

(A) When available, use airborne infection isolation rooms (AIIRs) with 

proper ventilation to house patients known or suspected to be 

infected with COVID-19; 
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(B) Patients known or suspected of being infected with COVID-19 must 

don a face covering and be isolated in an examination room with the 

door closed. If an examination room is not immediately available, 

such patients must not be allowed to wait within six feet of other 

patients seeking care and should be encouraged to wait in a personal 

vehicle or outside the healthcare setting where they can be contacted 

by mobile device when it is their turn to be evaluated. During a 

medical emergency, all measures may not be feasible, but must be 

implemented in whole or in part as the patient's condition and 

necessary medical care allow. If a patient cannot tolerate any form of 

face covering due to a medical condition, strict physical distancing 

and appropriate PPE must be used to protect patients and workers, 

respectively; 

(C) Use physical barriers or partitions in triage areas to guide patients 

when appropriate; and  

(D) Use curtains to separate patients in semi-private areas. 

(h) Screening in healthcare settings. Oregon OSHA no longer requires 

employers to screen and triage all individuals entering its healthcare 

setting for symptoms of COVID-19. 

(i) Exposure notification process in certain healthcare settings. Oregon OSHA 

no longer requires exposure notification in healthcare settings. 

(j) Medical removal provisions in healthcare settings. The only exception to 

the quarantine and isolation provisions of subsection (3)(l) of this rule 

exists when a healthcare provider, emergency responder, or other worker 

who would otherwise be quarantined or isolated remains on the job under 

Oregon Health Authority guidelines. 

(k) Physical distancing. Oregon OSHA no longer requires healthcare employers 

to implement physical distancing. 

(l) Mask, face covering, or face shield requirements. 

(A) Healthcare employers must ensure that all individuals in the 

workplace wear a mask, face covering, or face shield unless otherwise 

exempt under paragraph (4)(l)(B) of this rule. 

(B) Masks, face coverings, or face shields are not required if the 

individual: 

(i) Is under 5 years of age (or is under 2 years of age and using 

public transportation or in transportation hubs), 
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(ii) Is eating or drinking, 

(iii) Is engaged in an activity that makes wearing a mask, face 

covering or face shield not feasible, such as when taking a 

shower, 

(iv) Is sleeping, 

(v) Is in a room or vehicle shared only with members of the same 

household, or  

(vi) Is required to briefly remove their mask, face covering, or face 

shield because their identity needs to be confirmed by visual 

comparison, such as at the bank or if interacting with law 

enforcement. During such instances, individuals should limit 

speaking while the mask, face covering, or face shield is 

removed or displaced. 

Note: While reasonable accommodation for those unable to wear a mask, face 

covering, or face shield due to a disability must be provided under applicable 

state law (ORS 659A.103 to 659A.145) and federal law (42 U.S.C. Chapter 

126), such an accommodation does not include simply exempting individuals 

from the requirement to wear masks, face coverings, or face shields in public 

spaces or places of employment. 

(C) The employer must provide masks, face coverings, or face shields for 

employees at no cost to the worker. If an employee chooses to wear 

their own mask, face shield, or face covering instead of those 

provided by the employer, the employer may allow it but is not 

required to do so. 

(D) When an employee chooses to wear a filtering facepiece respirator 

instead of a mask, face covering, or face shield, the employer must 

allow that use and follow the "voluntary use" provisions of the 

Respiratory Protection Standard (29 CFR 1910.134). 

Note: An employer is not obligated to provide filtering facepiece respirators to 

employees under this section, nor are employers required to provide or allow 

any other type of respirator, unless required by another part of this rule. 

(E) If an employee chooses to wear a mask, face shield, or face covering 

even when it is not required, the employer must allow them to do so. 

(m) Medical removal protection benefits. Medical removal protection benefits 

as described by this subsection must be provided whenever employees 

covered by this subsection are unable to work due to the medical removal 

provisions outlined under subsections (3)(l) and (4)(j) of this rule. 
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(A) Except as otherwise provided by paragraph (4)(m)(B), medical removal 

protection benefits as outlined under paragraph (4)(m)(C) apply to all 

employees engaged in direct patient care or in direct support of such 

care, including patient intake or admission, patient food services, 

equipment and facility maintenance, housekeeping services, 

healthcare laundry services, medical waste handling services, and 

medical equipment cleaning or reprocessing services. This provision 

does not apply to office or administrative functions that do not 

involve contact with patients or patient care spaces, such as 

bookkeeping, payroll, or accounting services. 

(B) The medical removal protection benefits of this subsection do not 

apply to the following: 

(i) Employers with 10 or fewer employees, 

(ii) Employees whose COVID-19 illness or quarantine cannot 

reasonably have resulted from a workplace exposure, 

(iii) Individuals who are not in compliance with Oregon Health 

Authority COVID-19 vaccination requirements, without regard to 

the effective date of those requirements, 

(iv) The provision of first aid by an employee who is not otherwise a 

healthcare provider, 

(v) The dispensing of prescriptions by pharmacists in retail settings, 

(vi) Non-hospital ambulatory care settings where all non-employees 

are screened prior to entry and individuals with suspected or 

confirmed COVID-19 are not permitted to enter those settings,  

(vii) Well-defined ambulatory care settings within hospitals where all 

employees are fully vaccinated and all nonemployees are 

screened prior to entry and people with suspected or confirmed 

COVID-19 are not permitted to enter those settings, 

(viii) Home healthcare settings where all employees are fully 

vaccinated and all non-employees are screened prior to entry and 

people with suspected or confirmed COVID-19 are not present, 

(ix) Healthcare support services not performed in a healthcare 

setting (for example, off-site laundry, off-site food preparation), 

or  
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(x) Telehealth services performed outside of a setting where direct 

patient care occurs. 

(C) When an employee subject to this subsection is subject to medical 

removal as required by the rule and the required isolation or 

quarantine prevents the employee from working, the following 

medical removal protection benefits must be provided: 

(i) The employer must continue to provide the benefits to which the 

employee would normally be entitled when working; 

(ii) For employers with 500 or more employees, the employer must 

pay the employee the same regular (non-overtime) pay the 

employee would have received had the employee not been 

absent from work, up to a maximum of $1,400 per week, until 

the employee is able to return to work as described in subsection 

(3)(l) of this rule; 

(iii) For employers with fewer than 500 employees, the employer 

must pay the employee benefit described in subparagraph 

(4)(m)(C)(ii) of this rule, but beginning in the third week of an 

employee's removal, the employer is permitted to reduce the 

amount to only two-thirds of the same regular pay the employee 

would have received had the employee not been absent from 

work, up to $200 per day ($1,000 per week in most cases). 

(D) The employer's obligation under paragraph (4)(m)(C) of this rule is 

reduced by the amount of compensation for lost earnings that the 

employee receives from any other source, such as a publicly or 

employer-funded compensation program (for example, workers 

compensation, paid sick leave, administrative leave, or other 

employer-provided leave that does not carry a cash value). The 

employer cannot take such benefits into account until they have 

actually been received by the employee. 

Note: It is important to recognize other regulatory bodies may have additional requirements 

relating to exceptional risk beyond Oregon OSHA requirements. 

(5) COVID-19 Requirements for all workplaces not covered under exceptional risk 

workplaces sections (3) and (4), as defined in section (1)(b). 

(a) Masks, face coverings, and face shields. 
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(A) The employer must provide masks, face coverings, or face shields for 

employees at no cost to the worker. If an employee chooses to wear 

their own mask, face covering, or face shield instead of those 

provided by the employer, the employer may allow it but is not 

required to do so. 

(B) When an employee chooses to wear a filtering facepiece respirator to 

protect against COVID-19, the employer must allow that use and 

follow the "voluntary use" provisions of the Respiratory Protection 

Standard (29 CFR 1910.134). 

Note: An employer is not obligated to provide filtering facepiece respirators to 

employees under this section, nor are employers required to provide or allow 

any other type of respirator, unless required by another part of this rule. 

(C) When an employee chooses to wear a mask, face covering, or face 

shield even when it is not required, the employer must allow them to 

do so. 

Note: Employees are protected from discrimination or retaliation under ORS 654.062(5). 

This includes protections for actions against employees for opposing any practice 

forbidden under the Oregon Safe Employment Act and related statutes and rules 

(including this rule for COVID-19), making a complaint or causing any proceeding to 

be instituted under the Oregon Safe Employment Act, or exercising any rights under 

the law, including those conferred by this Rule Addressing COVID-19 Workplace 

Risks (OAR 437-001-0744). 

(b) COVID-19 testing for workers. If COVID-19 testing is conducted at the 

employer's own direction, the employer is responsible for covering the 

costs of testing including but not limited to the COVID-19 test itself, 

employee time, and employee travel. However, if the employer is not 

requesting the test, the employer is not expected to cover the direct cost 

of such testing or of any involved employee travel. 

(c) Routine ventilation maintenance and evaluation. Employers covered by 

section (5) of this rule, should optimize the amount of outside air 

circulated through its existing heating, ventilation, and air conditioning 

(HVAC) system(s), in accordance of subsection (3)(f). 



 

 

1 General Administration 

Division 1  AO 5-2022  Oregon Administrative Rules  Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Division 

437-001-0744 (5)(d) Div. 1 - Page 160 437-001-0744 (5)(e) 

(d) COVID-19 infection notification process. The employers covered by this 

section (5) of this rule, should establish and implement a process to notify 

exposed employees (those who were within six feet of a confirmed COVID-

19 individual for a cumulative total of 15 minutes or more, regardless of 

whether one or both of them were wearing source control) that they had a 

work-related contact with an individual who has tested positive for COVID-

19, as well as to notify affected employees (those who worked in the same 

facility or in the same well-defined portion of the facility such as a 

particular floor) that an individual who was present in the facility has 

confirmed COVID-19. This notification process should include the 

following elements: 

(A) A mechanism for notifying both exposed and affected employees 

within 24 hours of the employer being made aware that an individual 

with COVID-19 was present in the workplace while infectious or 

otherwise may have had work-related contact with its employee(s) 

while infectious; and  

(B) This notification process should be established and implemented in 

accordance with all applicable federal and Oregon laws and 

regulations. 

Note: Employers may use the model procedure published by Oregon OSHA. 

Note: The reporting of COVID-19 cases may be required under existing Oregon 

Health Authority rules regarding reporting of disease cases. OAR 333-018-

0016 requires such cases to be reported by healthcare providers and 

laboratories within 24 hours of identification. 

Note: Whenever an exposure notification as described by this rule is provided in 

writing, the notification may be subject to the existing requirements of 

Oregon OSHA's Access to Employee Exposure and Medical Records standard 

(29 CFR 1910.1020). 

(e) Medical removal. Employers covered by section (5) of this rule should 

follow Oregon Health Authority, public heath, or medical provider 

recommendations for isolation or quarantine of employees for COVID-19. 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2), ORS 654.035, ORS 656.726(4), ORS 654.025(3)(a)  

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.001 through 654.295 

History:  OR OSHA Admin. Order 3-2020, filed 11/6/20, effective 11/16/20  

 OR OSHA Admin. Order 4-2020, filed 12/11/20, effective 12/11/20. 

 OR OSHA Admin. Order 2-2021, filed 5/4/21, effective 5/4/21. 

 OR OSHA Admin. Order 5-2021, filed 6/30/21, effective 6/30/21. 

 OR OSHA Admin. Order 10-2021, filed 8/13/21, effective 8/13/21. 

 OR OSHA Admin. Order 12-2021, filed 9/14/21, effective 9/16/21  

 OR-OSHA Admin. Order 14-2021, filed 12/21/21, effective 12/21/21 

 OR-OSHA Admin Order 1-2022, filed 3/18/22, effective 3/18/22 

 OR-OSHA Admin Order 5--2022, filed 09/09/2022, effective 09/12/2022 
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Appendix A to 437-001-0744: Emergency Medical Services: First 

Responders, Firefighters, Emergency Medical Services and Non-Emergency 

Medical Transport 

Application: This appendix applies to first responders, firefighters, emergency 

medical services, and non-emergency medical transport employers. It also 

provides direction specific to Emergency Communication Centers. To the 

degree this appendix provides specific guidance, it supersedes the 

requirements of the Rule Addressing COVID-19 Workplace Risks (OAR 437-001-

0744); to the degree a situation is not addressed by the specific language of 

this appendix, the requirements of the rule apply. 

Note: Although this appendix is based upon the workplace health portions of Quarantine 

Guidance for Fire and EMS Responders and Information Bulletin 2020-02 on Personal 

Protective Equipment Advisory, published by the Office of the Oregon State Fire Marshal, 

it does not address many other issues included in that document. Employers of first 

responders, firefighters, EMS, and non-emergency medical transport should therefore be 

familiar with that guidance as well. 

Definitions. For purposes of this appendix, the following definitions apply: 

Emergency Communication Centers means 911 Public Safety Answering 

Points/Emergence Communication Centers (PSAP/ECCs). 

Emergency Medical Services Provider (EMS Provider) means a person who 

has received formal training in prehospital and emergency care, and is 

licensed to attend to any person who is ill or injured or who has a 

disability. Police officers, fire fighters, funeral home employees and other 

persons serving in a dual capacity, one of which meets the definition of 

"emergency medical services provider" are "emergency medical services 

providers" within the meaning of ORS chapter 682. 

Fire Department means public and private employers who engage in structural 

fire service activities, including emergency first response, who are covered 

under OAR 437-002-0182. 

A. General Operations Screening, Isolation and Quarantine. In order to reduce 

the risks of outbreaks within the workplace and the broader community, EMS 

employers must take the following steps: 

1. Instruct employees to self-monitor for symptoms consistent with COVID-

19; 

https://www.oregon.gov/osp/Docs/QuarantineGuidanceforFireandEMSRespondersMarch2020.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/osp/Docs/QuarantineGuidanceforFireandEMSRespondersMarch2020.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/osp/Docs/2020-02InformationBulletinPPEAdvisory.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/osp/Docs/2020-02InformationBulletinPPEAdvisory.pdf
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2. Screen employees for fever and symptoms prior to each shift, excluding 

them from the workplace as appropriate based on guidance from the 

Oregon Health Authority; and 

3. Exclude any employees from the workplace if they test positive via a 

COVID-19 diagnostic test. 

Note: Quarantine Guidance for Fire and EMS Responders provides detailed information on 

monitoring, quarantine, isolation, and subsequent return to work. 

B. General Operations – Emergency Communication Centers. Emergency 

Communication Centers (ECC) must comply with the provisions of the rule, with 

the following specific provisions and exceptions: 

1. ECC should implement an EIDS or screen for fever, cough, difficulty 

breathing, and diarrhea for all calls, when feasible, if local triggers 

determined by the PSAP director have been met. Additionally, PSAPs should 

ask: 

• Is anyone in the call location a known or suspected COVID-positive 

individual undergoing either quarantine or isolation? 

• Is the call location a long-term care facility known to have COVID-19 

cases? 

2. The query process should never supersede the provision of pre-arrival 

instructions to the caller when immediate lifesaving interventions (for 

example, CPR) are indicated. 

3. If the patient meets the above criteria, then PSAPs should: 

a. Provide medical care per protocol. 

b. Alert responding agencies of the possibility of a respiratory pathogen 

as soon as possible. 

c. Follow LPHA policies for reporting and follow up of healthcare 

workers with contact to suspected cases. 

d. For ill travelers at US international airports or other ports of entry to 

the United States (maritime ports or border crossings) should be in 

contact with the CDC quarantine station of jurisdiction for the port of 

entry CDC Quarantine Station Contact List for planning guidance. 

4.  If the patient does not meet criteria, discontinue questioning and follow 

appropriate case entry. 

5. If call volumes increase to the point that screening is interfering with the 

timely processing of calls, consider suspending EIDS screening. 

https://www.oregon.gov/osp/Docs/QuarantineGuidanceforFireandEMSRespondersMarch2020.pdf


 

 

General Administration 1 

Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Division  Oregon Administrative Rules  AO 5-2022  Division 1 

Appendix A to 437-001-0744 Div. 1 - Page 163 Appendix A to 437-001-0744 

C. Personal Protective Equipment. Masks or respirators must be worn by EMS 

providers while they are engaged in emergency medical services or other 

patient care. Face coverings must not be used as a substitute for a mask or 

respirator when respiratory protection (droplet precautions for a mask, airborne 

precautions for a respirator) is required. EMS providers must apply the 

following guidance: 

1. During direct patient care in the EMS setting, use of respirators without 

exhalation valves is preferred but not required; and 

2. When dealing with an individual known or suspected of being infected with 

COVID-19, EMS providers must wear a NIOSH-approved N95 or equivalent 

or a higher-level respirator, a gown, gloves, and eye protection (face shield 

or goggles). 

Note: The use of respirators must comply with the Respiratory Protection standard (29 CFR 

1910.134). 

Note: The use of face coverings, masks, or respirators are not required when EMS employees 

are not involved in direct patient care, unless the conditions for the Special Provisions for 

the Transport of Patients of this appendix apply. 

D. Special Provisions for the Transport of Patients (Emergency and Non-

Emergency) with Suspected or Confirmed COVID-19.  

For any patient meeting any of following criteria: 

• Symptoms of lower respiratory infection, such as fever, cough, or shortness 

of breath; 

• Recent contact with someone with known COVID-19; or 

• Call location is a long-term care facility known to have COVID-19 cases. 

 EMS providers must apply the following procedures when engaging in 

transporting, whether emergency or non-emergency: 

1. Involve the fewest EMS personnel required to minimize possible 

exposures; others riding in the ambulance must be limited to those 

essential for the patient’s physical or emotional well-being or care (for 

example, care partner or parent); 

2. Ensure that the patient is masked. The patient mask must not have an 

exhalation valve, as it would allow unfiltered, exhaled breath to escape; 

3. Provide medical care per protocol; 

4. Ensure that personnel use contact, droplet, and airborne precautions, as 

follows: 
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a. Wear a single pair of disposable patient examination gloves. 

b. Wear disposable isolation gown. If there are shortages of gowns, they 

should be prioritized for aerosol-generating procedures, and care 

activities where splashes and sprays are anticipated. 

c. Use respiratory protection (an N95 or higher-level respirator). If 

respirator supplies have been depleted, facemasks are an acceptable 

alternative. Respirators should be prioritized for procedures that are 

likely to generate respiratory aerosols. 

d. Wear eye protection (goggles or a disposable face shield that fully 

covers the front and sides of the face). 

5. Use caution with aerosol-generating procedures and ventilate ambulance if 

possible; 

6. Notify the receiving hospital (according to local protocols) of potential 

infection as soon as possible; 

7. Disinfect using EPA registered Disinfectants for Use Against SARS-CoV-2; 

and 

8. Drivers, if they provide direct patient care (for example, moving patients 

onto stretchers), must wear the PPE listed above. 

a. After completing patient care and before entering an isolated driver’s 

compartment, the driver must remove and dispose of PPE and 

perform hand hygiene to avoid soiling the compartment. 

b. If the transport vehicle does not have an isolated driver’s 

compartment, the driver must remove the face shield or goggles, 

gown, and gloves and perform hand hygiene, but continue to wear a 

respirator, mask, or face covering during transport. 

Patients who do not meet the criteria listed above can be cared for using standard 

precautions, with use of transmission-based precautions determined by clinical 

presentation. 

 




