Oregon Administrative Rules Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Division

SIGNALING SYSTEMS



TABLE OF CONTENTS

437-007-1400	Jerk Wire Whistle System	. O-1
437-007-1405	Radio Signal Systems	. O-1

Oregon Administrative Rules
Oregon Occupational Safety
and Health Division

0

Oregon Administrative Rules Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Division

JERK WIRE WHISTLE SYSTEM / RADIO SIGNAL SYSTEMS



437-007-1400 Jerk Wire Whistle System. The use of a jerk wire whistle system for any type of yarding operation is prohibited.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) and 656.726(4). **Stats. Implemented:** ORS 654.001 through 654.295. **Hist:** OR-OSHA Admin. Order 5-2003, f. 6/02/03, ef. 12/01/03.

437-007-1405 Radio Signal Systems.

- (1) When space transmission of radio signals is used to initiate any whistle, horn, bell, or other audible signaling device, or when such transmission of radio signals is used to activate or control any machine, material-handling device or other equipment hazardous to employees, the following must apply:
 - (a) An operational whistle signal must be maintained.
 - **(b)** A permit assigning tone frequencies and area of use for each radio unit to be used for the control and activation of any signal, machine or equipment, must be obtained from Department of Consumer and Business Services, Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Division (Oregon OSHA), by an owner prior to placing the unit in operation. Permits must be issued on the basis of compliance with the criteria contained in Appendix 7-F.
 - **(c)** Radio equipment must not be used without displaying a permit as required by this rule. The permit must be prominently displayed on the receiver of the unit or on the transmitter in the yarder for radio-controlled carriages.
 - (d) Applicants for permits must submit the following information concerning the equipment to the Department of Consumer and Business Services, Oregon OSHA:
 - (A) Name and address of applicant;
 - **(B)** The assigned radio frequency:
 - (C) The manufacturer of the unit;
 - **(D)** The serial number of the receiver;
 - (E) The tone frequencies upon which the unit operates;
 - **(F)** The intended use or function of the unit; and



RADIO SIGNAL SYSTEMS

Oregon Administrative Rules
Oregon Occupational Safety
and Health Division

- **(G)** The designated area in which the equipment will be used. (See the Radio Signal Permit Area Map in Appendix 7-F.)
- **(e)** Before moving any unit from one assigned area to another, a new permit must be secured from the Department of Consumer and Business Services, Oregon OSHA. (See the Radio Signal Permit Area Map in Appendix 7-F.)
- **(f)** Users shall notify the Department of Consumer and Business Services, Oregon OSHA, within 15 days after the radio signaling device is:
 - (A) Permanently retired (in what manner);
 - (B) Sold (to whom); or
 - (C) Stolen.
- **(g)** Upon receipt and approval of a properly completed application, OR-OSHA must issue a permit within 30 days; or if OR-OSHA is unable to issue a permit within 30 days of receipt and approval of a properly completed application, the applicant must be notified of the proposed date of issuance.
- **(2)** Additional systems must be certified in advance as spares, providing they are used only as replacements for malfunctioning systems during the time required to repair the original equipment.
- (3) Each radio receiver must have its tone frequencies in hertz (cycles per second), the manufacturer's name and serial number, and the assigned radio frequency clearly and permanently indicated on the outside of the case. When the duration or width of the tone frequencies performs a function, the duration or width must also be permanently indicated on the outside of the case.
- **(4)** Single tone frequency must not be used on radio equipment designed to initiate whistle or other audible signal, or to activate or control any machine, material-handling device, or other equipment hazardous to employees.
- **(5)** All adjustment, repair or alteration of radio signaling devices must be done only by or under the immediate supervision and responsibility of a person holding a first or second class commercial radio operator's license (for either radio telephone or radio telegraph) issued by the Federal Communications Commission. All replacement parts must be of such quality as to cause the unit to meet the minimum performance specifications outlined in Appendix 7-F.

Oregon Administrative Rules Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Division

RADIO SIGNAL SYSTEMS



- **(6)** At least one model of each radio system must be tested and certified that it meets or exceeds the minimum requirements for performance as specified in Appendix 7-F of this standard. This model must be a random selection from stock. A copy of such performance report must be signed by the person or persons who tested the unit and submitted to Department of Consumer and Business Services, Oregon OSHA.
- (7) Radio-controlled devices must be tested each day before work begins. If, at any time, any part of the equipment fails to function properly, or if interference, overlap, fadeout or blackout of radio signals is encountered, the system shall not be used until the source of trouble is detected and corrected.
- (8) Two or more whistle signal receivers on the same tone frequency is prohibited.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) and 656.726(4). **Stats. Implemented:** ORS 654.001 through 654.295. **Hist:** OR-OSHA Admin. Order 5-2003, f. 6/02/03, ef. 12/01/03.