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Oregon OSHA's Proposed Increase of Certain Minimum and Maximum
Penalties for Alleged Violations

The following public hearings replace those previously scheduled for in-person testimony on
8/20/20 and 9/22/20, which have been canceled.

Virtual Public Hearings Scheduled for:

Date Time
September 24, 2020 11:00 am

Please register for Penalties on Sep 24, 2020 11:00 AM PDT at:
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/3468884827386690831

September 24, 2020 5:00 pm

Please register for Penalties on Sep 24, 2020 5:00 PM PDT at;
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/1729203445059069967

October 7, 2020 5:00 pm

Please register for Penalties (Spanish) on Oct 7, 2020 5:00 PM PDT at:
https://attendee.qgotowebinar.com/register/1660610412160312079

After registering for a webinar, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about
joining the webinar. In order to ensure as many people as possible are able to testify, Oregon
OSHA reserves the right to restrict testimony to no more than 5 minutes.

The webinars listed above will be streamed from the Oregon OSHA Portland Field Office
located at 16760 SW Upper Boones Ferry Rd, Tigard, OR 97224. Due to the COVID-19
Pandemic and in-line with Oregon Health Authority guidelines, there is a limited opportunity to
testify in person and will be offered by appointment only. The number of appointments are
limited, and they will be assigned on a first come first served basis. The appointments must be
requested 5 business days prior to the hearing. Only those with appointments will be admitted
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into the hearing. Each appointment will give the attendee the opportunity to provide in-person
oral testimony of up to 5 minutes on the record.

The opportunity to testify in person will be conditional on the following provisions:
* Attendees with appointments will stay in vehicle until they have been invited in via
phone by an Oregon OSHA staff member.
e Facial coverings must be worn at all times while in the building.
e Attendees will remain at least 6 feet from all people at all times including outside the
building and inside the building.

Unfortunately, because we need to ensure that all attendees are protected, we reserve the right
to suspend the in-person portion of the hearing if there is any substantial non-compliance with
the provisions described above. In any event, written comments will be received through
October 30, 2020.

To register for an
appointment to testify: Department of Consumer and Business Services/Oregon OSHA
Attention: Kate Ryan
350 Winter Street NE
Salem OR 97301-3882
E-mail — kate.ryan(@oregon.gov
Phone — 971-673-2918

These summary statements are the same as previously filed.

In November of 2015 Congress passed legislation requiring federal OSHA to increase maximum
and minimum penalties for alleged violations by up to 78%. Federal OSHA had not raised these
penalties since 1990, reducing the effectiveness of penalties as a deterrent for non compliance.
Under federal law OSHA state plans must include effective sanctions for violations. Oregon
must adopt similar standards as federal OSHA to maintain state plan authority.

After seeking a change in the statute to provide the necessary authority to mirror federal penalty
adjustments, Oregon OSHA first adjusted these maximum and minimum penalties by rule in
2017, with an effective date of January 1, 2018. Under that rule change (or, during that
rulemaking), the maximum penalty for a violation that is not classified as willful or repeat was
raised from $7,000 to $12,471, and the maximum penalty for willful or repeated violations was
raised from $70,000 to $124,709. The minimum penalty for a willful violation was increased from
$5,000 to $8,900, while the other minimum penalties were left unchanged. When making
adjustments to the base penalties consistent with the new maximum penalties, Oregon OSHA
also created a new size adjustment for Oregon’s smallest employers (10 or fewer), changing the
size reduction in the base penalty for such employers from 60% to 75%.

Effective in January of 2019, the federal maximum penalty for a violation that is not classified as
willful or repeat was increased to $13,260 and the maximum penalty for willful or repeated
violations was increased to $132,598. Modest increases to both figures will be made again in
January of 2020, and it is the intention of the present rulemaking to mirror the most current
federal figures (based on preliminary information CPI information, Oregon OSHA expects the
federal maximums to increase to $13,538 and $135,382, respectively). In addition, the current



rulemaking includes several other clarifications and technical adjustments to the Oregon OSHA

penalty rules.

Please visit our web site osha.oregon.qgov Click ‘Rules and laws’ in the Common resources

column and view our proposed rules, or select other rule activity from this page.

When does this happen:

To get a copy:

To comment:

Comment period closes:

Oregon OSHA contact:

Adoption tentatively will be in December 2020.

Our web site — osha.oregon.gov Rules and laws, then, Proposed
rules
Or call 503-947-7454

Department of Consumer and Business Services/Oregon OSHA
350 Winter Street NE

Salem OR 97301-3882

E-mail — tech.web@oregon.gov

Fax —503-947-7461

October 30, 2020

Gary Robertson, Central Office @ 503-947-7454
or email at gary.L.robertson@oregon.gov

Note: In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), this publication is available
in alternative formats by calling 503-378-3272.



Secretary of State

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING HEARING*

A Statement of Need and Fiscal Impact accompanies this form.

Department of Consumer and Business Services/Oregon OSHA OAR 437
Agency and Division Administrative Rules Chapter Number
Fred Bruyns 350 Winter Street NE Salem OR 97301-3882 503-947-7717
Rules Coordinator Address Telephone

RULE CAPTION

Oregen OSHA's proposed increase of certain minimum and maximum penalties for alleged violations.

The following public hearings replace those previously scheduled for in-person testimony on 8/20/20 and
9/22/20, which have been canceled.

Virtual Public Hearings Scheduled for:

September 24, 2020 11:00 am Michael Wood

Please register for Penalties on Sep 24, 2020 11:00 AM PDT at:
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/3468884827386690831

September 24, 2020 5:00 pm Michael Wood

Please register for Penalties on Sep 24, 2020 5:00 PM PDT at:
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/1729203445059069967

October 7, 2020 5:00 pm Michael Wood
*** This hearing will be conducted entirely in Spanish

Please register for Penalties (Spanish) on Oct 7, 2020 5:00 PM PDT at:
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/1660610412160312079

After registering for a webinar, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the
webinar. In order to ensure as many people as possible are able to testify, Oregon OSHA reserves the right to
restrict testimony tc no more than 5 minutes.

The webinars listed above will be streamed from the Oregon OSHA Portland Field Office located at 16760 SW
Upper Boones Ferry Rd, Tigard, OR 97224, Due to the COVID-19 Pandemic and in-line with Oregon Health
Authority guidelines, there is a limited opportunity to testify in person and will be offered by appointment only.
The number of appointments are limited, and they will be assigned on a first come first served basis. The
appointments must be requested 5 business days prior to the hearing. Only those with appointments will be
admitted into the hearing. Each appointment will give the attendee the opportunity to provide in-person oral
testimony of up to 5 minutes on the record.

The opportunity to testify in person will be conditional on the following provisions:
e Attendees with appointments will stay in vehicle until they have been invited in via phone by an Oregon
OSHA staff member.
¢ Facial coverings must be worn at all times while in the building.
e Attendees will remain at least 6 feet from all people at all times including outside the building and
inside the building.

Unfortunately, because we need to ensure that all attendees are protected, we reserve the right to suspend the
in-person portion of the hearing if there is any substantial non-compliance with the provisions described above.
In any event, written comments will be received through October 30, 2020.



To register for an
appointment to testify: Department of Consumer and Business Services/Oregon OSHA
Attention: Kate Ryan
350 Winter Street NE
Salem OR 97301-3882
E-mail — kate.ryan@oregon.gov
Phone — 971-673-2918

Hearing Date Time Location Hearings Officer

Anxiliary aids for persons with disabilities are available upon advance request.

RULEMAKING ACTION

Amend: OAR 437-001-0060, 437-001-0096, 437-001-0135, 437-001-0145, 437-001-0155, 437-001-0160,
437-001-0165, 437-001-0170, 437-001-0171, 437-001-0175, 437-001-0180, 437-001-0225, 437-001-0740

ORS 654.025(2) and 656.726(4)

Stal. Auth, Other Authority

ORS 654.001 through 654.295

Stats. Implemented




RULEMAKING SUMMARY

In November of 2015 Congress passed legislation requiring federal OSHA to increase maximum and minimum
penalties for alleged violations by up to 78%. Federal OSHA had not raised these penalties since 1990,
reducing the effectiveness of penalties as a deterrent for non compliance. Under federal law OSHA state plans
must include effective sanctions for violations. Oregon must adopt similar standards as federal OSHA to
maintain state plan authority.

After seeking a change in the statute to provide the necessary authority to mirror federal penalty adjustments,
Oregon OSHA first adjusted these maximum and minimum penalties by rule in 2017, with an effective date of
January 1, 2018. Under that rule change (or, during that rulemaking), the maximum penalty for a violation that
is not classified as willful or repeat was raised from $7,000 to $12,471, and the maximum penalty for willful or
repeated violations was raised from $70,000 to $124,709. The minimum penalty for a willful violation was
increased from $5,000 to $8,900, while the other minimum penalties were left unchanged. When making
adjustments to the base penalties consistent with the new maximum penalties, Oregon OSHA also created a
new size adjustment for Oregon’s smallest employers (10 or fewer), changing the size reduction in the base
penalty for such employers from 60% to 75%.

Effective in January of 2019, the federal maximum penalty for a violation that is not classified as willful or
repeat was increased to $13,260 and the maximum penalty for willful or repeated violations was increased to
$132,598. Modest increases to both figures will be made again in January of 2020, and it is the intention of the
present rulemaking to mirror the most current federal figures (based on preliminary information CPI
information, Oregon OSHA expects the federal maximums to increase to $13,538 and $135,382, respectively).
In addition, the current rulemaking includes several other clarifications and technical adjustments to the
Oregon CSHA penalty rules.

INDIVIDUAL RULE SUMMARY (By rule number)

Provide a brief summary of the rule (if new adoption), or a brief summary of changes made to the rule (if amending)

These summary statements are the same as those previously filed.

437-001-0060- Makes language regarding issuance of a penalty permissive rather than mandatory.
437-001-0096- Removed penalty language from rule.

437-001-0135- Substantively changes language regarding determination of high, medium, and low probability.
437-001-0145- Changes in base penalties and table amounts.

437-001-0155- Changes language regarding calculation of failure-to-abate penalties and proposed decrease in
minimum daily penalty.

437-001-0160- Changes language to allow employer’s activities across fixed sites to be managed in a fashion
more consistent with non-fixed sites.

437-001-0165- Changes maximum and minimum penalty amounts.

437-001-0170- Clarifies language that willful violations remain an option for these failures to report.
437-001-0171- Clarifies language that willful violations remain an option for these penalties.
437-001-0175- Change in maximum and minimum penalty amounts.

437-001-0180- Clarifies language that willful violations remain an option for these penalties.

437-001-0225- Clarifies language that willful violations remain an option for these penalties.
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437-001-0740- Clarifies language that willful violations remain an option for these penalties.

Please visit the rules and laws section of our website at osha oregon.gov/rules and select proposed rules in the
rule making column to view our proposed rules.

The Agency requests public comment on whether other options should be considered for achieving the rule’s substantive goals while
reducing the negative economic impact of the ruie on business.

{ ?HJI { (’ : \\\-/’CSL‘Q

SIE,I}l{qu.
October 30, 2020
Last Day for Public Comment " l Ll [ E [,.D VR 7 /XU/ZOZ,(_/
Last day to submit written comments to the Ruies Coordinator Printed name Dﬂ’{

*The Oregon Budletin is published on the 1st of each month and updates the rule text found in the Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation. Notice forms must be submitted to the
Administrative Rules Unit, Oregon State Archives, 800 Summer Street NE, Salem, Oregon 97310 by 5:00 pm on the 15th day of the preceding month unless this deadline lalls on a Saturday,
Sunday or legal haliday when Notice forms are accepted until 5:00pim on the preceding workday. ARC 920-2003



Secretary of State

STATEMENT OF NEED AND FISCAL IMPACT

A Notice of Proposed Rulemaking Hearing or a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking accompanies this form.

Department of Consumer and Business Services/Oregon OSHA OAR 437

Agency and Division Administrative Rules Chapter Number

In the Matter of:

Amending: OAR 437-001-0060, 437-001-0096, 437-001-0135, 437-001-0145, 437-001-0155, 437-001-0160,
437-001-0165, 437-001-0170, 437-001-0171, 437-001-0175, 437-001-0180, 437-001-0225, 437-001-0740

Rule Caption: Oregon OSHA's proposed increase of certain minimum and maximum penalties for alleged
violations.

Statutory Authority: ORS 654.025(2) and 656.726(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.001 through 654.295; 654.412 through 654.423; 654.760 through 654.780

Need for the Rule(s):

In November of 2015 Congress passed legislation requiring federal OSHA to increase maximum and minimum
penalties for alleged violations by up to 78%. Federal OSHA had not raised these penalties since 1990,
reducing the effectiveness of penalties as a deterrent for non compliance. Under federal law OSHA state plans
must include effective sanctions for violations. Oregon must adopt similar standards as federal OSHA to
maintain state plan authority.

After seeking a change in the statute to provide the necessary authority to mirror federal penalty adjustments,
Oregon OSHA first adjusted these maximum and minimum penalties by rule in 2017, with an effective date of
January 1, 2018. Under that rule change (or, during that rulemaking), the maximum penalty for a violation that
is not classified as willful or repeat was raised from $7,000 to $12,471, and the maximum penalty for willful or
repeated violations was raised from $70,000 to $124,709. The minimum penalty for a willful violation was
increased from $5,000 to $8,900, while the other minimum penalties were left unchanged. When making
adjustments to the base penalties consistent with the new maximum penalties, Oregon OSHA also created a
new size adjustment for Oregon’s smallest employers (10 or fewer), changing the size reduction in the base
penalty for such employers from 60% to 75%.

Effective in January of 2019, the federal maximum penalty for a violation that is not classified as willful or
repeat was increased to $13,260 and the maximum penalty for willful or repeated violations was increased to
$132,598. Modest increases to both figures will be made again in January of 2020, and it is the intention of the
present rulemaking to mirror the most current federal figures (based on preliminary information CPI
information, Oregon OSHA expects the federal maximums to increase to $13,538 and $135,382, respectively).
In addition, the current rulemaking includes several other clarifications and technical adjustments to the
Oregon OSHA penalty rules.

Documents Relied Upon, and where they are available:
OAR 437, Division 1, General Administrative Rules
Fiscal and Economic Impact:

Statement of Cost of Compliance:
1. Impact on state agencies, units of local government and the public (ORS 183.335(2)(b)(E)):



In relation to all employers affected by the proposed rule, it must first be noted that the proposed changes in
the rule do not affect the cost of complying with existing Oregon OSHA rules nor do these proposed changes
create any new requirements for employers. The only financial impact is on those employers who receive a
violation that carries a penalty. For that reason (as has been the case with past changes to the penalty rules),
Oregon OSHA believes that there will be no“cost of compliance” for businesses of any size or any other
employer covered by the rule. Any change in the penalty structure, by its very nature, affects the cost of non-
compliance with Oregon OSHA rules, not the cost of complying with them. This rule does not change the
compliance obligations of the employer; it just changes the penalties of non-compliance.

All state agencies are affected by the rule only in the sense that they are employers under the Oregon Safe
Employment Act (OSEAct) and may be subject to penalties in the event violations are identified and cited.
State agencies other than DCBS/Oregon OSHA will have no costs under this rule other than those that they
would incur as an employer — and, as noted above, the rule will make no change to the cost of compliance for
employers. Similarly, local governments are affected by this rule only in the sense that they are employers
under the OSEAct and may be subject to penalties in the event violations are identified and cited. Finally the
public as a whole will be affected only to the degree that members of the public are employers (who may be
cited and assessed penalties) or employees (who may benefit from increased compliance with workplace
health and safety rules as a result of increased employer compliance with existing rules). None of these
entities will experience any fiscal impact due to changes in the cost of complying with this proposed rule.

2. Cost of compliance effect on small business (ORS 183.336):
As noted, there would be no change in the cost of compliance, for either small businesses or large businesses.

Small employers already experience somewhat lower penalties on average than do large employers, and
those differences were magnified in the previous rulemaking for employers with 10 or fewer employees. Those
existing differences would not be significantly affected by the proposed changes.

a. Estimate the number of small businesses and types of business and industries with small businesses
subject to the rule:

As previously noted, this rule has no anticipated fiscal impact on compliant employers. Those businesses
affected in the form of penalties for non-compliance would include employers of all sizes. In Oregon more than
90% of all employers are small businesses, employing more than half of the state's workforce.

b. Projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative activities required for compliance, including
costs of professional services:

There are no new recordkeeping or other administrative activities required for employers to comply with the
proposed rules,

c. Equipment, supplies, labor and increased administration required for compliance:

There are no equipment, supplies, labor or increased administration required for employers to comply with the
proposed rules.

The preceding paragraphs represent the legally required fiscal impact statements regarding the proposed rule.
The remainder of this discussion relates not to the cost of compliance, but to the likely effect on assessed
penalties. Although Oregon OSHA recognizes that such an analysis is not legally required, the analysis has
been provided because of the level of stakeholder interest in such information.

Even without repeat violations or the evidence of willful conduct, Oregon OSHA currently has the authority to
issue penalties of up to $12,471 per violation, but in practice the majority of penalties are much lower. Most
penalties result from the identification of a "serious” viclation, where a serious injury or death could result.
However, nearly two-thirds of violations cited by Oregon OSHA continue to be considered “other-than-serious
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“with no penalty attached. Overall, more than half of Oregon OSHA inspections result in no penalties at all,
either because there were no violations issued or because the violations issued carried no penalties. There is
no reason to believe this will change as a result of the revised penalty rules.

As part of its 2017 rulemaking, Oregon OSHA estimated that the average penalty for a first-time serious
violation would increase from an average of $435 during Federal Fiscal Years 2015 and 2016 to an average of
$553 following adoption of the revisions to the rule. That expected increase of more than 27 percent was
primarily the result of the 78 percent increase in the maximum penalties, offset somewhat by the increased
reduction in the base penalty for the smallest employers. The actual increase in penalties — almost certainly
affected by factors other than the rulemaking — was just over 50 percent, with the average for the most recent
two years being $656 (having peaked at $682 in FFY 2018 before dropping back to $629 — illustrating the
instability of the year-to-year average figure). Because the 2017 analysis involved comparing the penalties
issued to the penalties that would have been issued under the revised rule for the same set of violations,
Oregon OSHA remains reasonably confident that the actual impact of the 2017 rulemaking was much closer to
the 27 percent estimate (in an interesting statistical coincidence, the later numbers involved fewer violations,
so that the total penalty amount assessed for first-time serious violations for the most recent two-year period in
fact represented just slightly more than the 27 percent estimate would have predicted).

In relation to the current rulemaking, which would increase the maximums by just over 8.5 percent and make
other adjustments, Oregon OSHA estimates that the primary effect of the rulemaking would be to increase the
average penalty for a first-time serious violation by 7.5 percent to $673 (compared to the FFY 2019 figure).
This analysis is appropriately less complex than the 2017 analysis, because it does not need to account for the
offsetting effect of a new size reduction, but instead is driven almost entirely by the modifications to the base
penalty table.

Summary of Changes by rule number and Potential Fiscal Impact on Non-Compliant Employers

437-001-0060 Advance Notice

The only substantive change in the proposed draft of OAR 437-006-0060 is to make the language regarding
issuance of a penalty permissive rather than mandatory. For this reason, to the extent it has any effect, it would
be to potentially reduce the cost. However, no such penalty has been assessed during at least the past 15
years.

437-001-0096 Red Warning Notice

The only substantive change in the proposed draft of OAR 437-001-0096 is to remove the penalty language.
However, those provisions are repeated elsewhere in the proposed rule, so there is no actual substantive
change.

437-001-0135 Evaluation of Probability to Establish Penalties

The change in the criteria for the evaluation of probability is a substantive one, although for the most part it
better aligns the rule language with current training and practice. To the degree it has an effect, it would be
likely to generate a modest increase in the probability determinations, and therefore in the resulting penalty
assessments.

437-001-0145 Penalty for Other than Serious or Serious Violation
The changes to the base penalties as described by the table would result in the following adjustments:

e No change for other-than-serious or low probability non-death serious viclations;
e An increase of 7.14 percent for medium probability non-death serious violations;
e An increase of 7.5 percent for high probability non-death serious violations;

e An increase of 7.14 percent for low probability death violations;

¢ An increase of 8.33 percent far medium probability death violations;

s An increase of 8 percent for high probability death violations.
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Because the various adjustments (including repeat and willful calculations) are themselves calculated using
these base penalties, the likely effect of these changes on penalty amounts (as noted above) is expected to be
an increase of approximately 7.5 percent in the average penalties assessed.

The only other substantive change in OAR 437-001-0145 corrects an oversight in recent rulemaking activity.
Oregon OSHA had inadvertently eliminated the administrator's discretion in relation to repeat violations,
creating some (although very infrequent) circumstances where the recognition of a repeat violation would
require a penalty lower than would otherwise have been assessed (using the administrator's discretion).
Because such violations are rare, this change is unlikely to have a meaningful effect on the penalty averages
overall.

437-001-0155 Determination of Penalty — Failure to Correct
There are two proposed changes in this section with potential substantive impacts:

The first would clarify that failure-to-abate penalties are to be calculated based on the number of workdays that
the violation goes uncorrected, rather than simply those such days with independently documented exposure.
In the relatively infrequent case of a failure-to-abate violation, this would at least sometimes result in an
increase in the penalty assessed.

The second is the proposed decrease in the minimum daily penalty, which aligns it with the minimum penalty
for a first-time serious violation. As a result of this change, those failure-to-abate violations that are cited with a
calculated penalty of between $100 and $250 before the daily penalty is assessed will not experience an
artificial increase resulting simply from the fact that the size-adjusted base penalty is relatively low (such a
relatively low penalty is either the result of the employer's small size, the relative lack of gravity of the violation,
or a combination of the two). While this change is also not likely to affect many employers, Oregon OSHA
believes that the two changes in this rule section would be likely to offset one another in their impact on
average penalties.

437-001-0160 Penalty Criteria — Repeat Violation

The only substantive change in this section relates to those situations where an employer's activities across its
fixed sites are managed in a fashion more consistent with non-fixed sites. The change would allow the
administrator the same discretion to address such issues that he or she currently has when confronted with
non-fixed sites that are managed in a fashion more consistent with fixed sites. The effect of this change, which
would be applied rarely if ever, would be a slight upward pressure on average penalties for repeat violations.

437-001-0165 Determination of Penalty — Repeat Violation

There are two substantive changes in this section other than the medified maximum penaities for such
violations. One involves restoring the administrator’'s discretion in repeat violations, which was discussed in an
earlier section. The other adds a 3™ and 4" repeat penalty amount to the discussion of Other-than-Serious
repeat penalties (it was not updated in a previous rulemaking, when the administrator’'s discretion for both 34
and 4t Serious and Other-than-Serious repeats was replaced as the "default” approach by the additional
language on the existing table). This change is not expected to affect average penalty amounts.

The overall effect of the change in the maximum penalties would be the same estimated 7.5 percent increase
as the change in the base penalties.
437-001-0170 Determination of Penalty — Failure to Report an Occupational Fatality, Catastrophe, or Accident

The change to this rule simply clarifies that willful violations remain an option for such failures, and would be
penalized accordingly in those infrequent situations where they might occur. Because of their infrequency,
Oregon OSHA does not anticipate a significant impact on either average or overall penalties.

437-001-0171 Determination of Penalty — Failure to Register a Farm Labor Camp/Facility

The change to this rule simply clarifies that willful violations remain an option for such failures, and would be
penalized accordingly in those infrequent situations where they might occur. Because of their infrequency (and



the infrequency of the underlying violation itself), Oregon OSHA does not anticipate a significant impact on
either average or overall penalties.

437-001-0175 Determination of Penalty — Willful or Egregious Violation

The only substantive change to this section is the change in the maximum and minimum penalties. The overall
effect of the change would be the same estimated 7.5 percent increase as the change in the base penalties.

437-001-0180 Determination of Penalty — Relating to Red Warning Notice

The change to this rule simply clarifies that willful violations remain an option for such failures, and would be
penalized accordingly in those situations where they might occur (red warning violations are themselves very
infrequent, although Oregon OSHA recognizes that in those rare situations where such a violation occurs it
would not be surprising to determine that it represents willful conduct). Because of their infrequency, Oregon
OSHA does not anticipate a significant impact on either average or overall penalties.

437-001-0225 Penalty for Falsification

The change to this rule simply clarifies that willful violations remain an option for such failures, and would be
penalized accordingly in those situations where they might occur (such violations are themselves very
infrequent, although Oregon OSHA recognizes that in those rare situations where such a violation occurs it
would not be surprising to determine that it represents willful conduct). Because of their infrequency, Oregon
OSHA does not anticipate a significant impact on either average or overall penalties.

437-001-0740 Falsification or Failure to Keep and Post Records or Make Reports

The change to this rule simply clarifies that willful violations remain an option for such failures, and would be
penalized accordingly in those infrequent situations where they might occur. Because of their infrequency,
Oregon OSHA does not anticipate a significant impact on either average or overall penalties.

How were small businesses involved in the development of this rule?

Small businesses and others were involved in the development of this rule insofar as their representatives
were represented on the Oregon OSHA Partnership Committee, the Oregon OSHA Construction Advisory
Committee, and other Oregon OSHA stakeholder groups. Those interested have also had the opportunity to
comment on several preproposal drafts, and they are also invited to make comments in response to the rule
proposal.

Administrative Rule Advisory Committee consulted?: Yes, in addition to discussions with other advisory groups
and with an ad hoc committee assembled for the purpose, Oregon OSHA presented this rulemaking to the
Oregon OSHA Partnership Committee for comment on several pre-proposal drafts as well as any potential
fiscal impact of these rules.

If not, why?:
" ¢ . f; i
( _,.7.[;,.&@ 9{50% N Jad Le L.D Ve, 1/30/2020
SignétL’L/lfe' L Printed name I Date

Administrative Rules Unit, Archives Division, Secretary of State, 800 Summer Street NE, Salem, Oregon 97310. ARC 925-2007



Oregon OSHA's Proposed Adjustment of Certain Minimum and
Maximum Penalties for Alleged Violations.

July 2020

Text removed is in [brackets-with-line-through].

Text added is in bold and underline.

437-001-0060 Advance Notice

(1) No person shall give advance notice of an inspection without authority of the Director, the
Administrator, or designee subject to penalties as prescribed in ORS 654.991(2).

(2) If the Director, the Administrator, or designee approves a request for advance notice of an
inspection:

(a) The notice shall not be given more than 24 hours in advance; and

(b) When advance notice is given to the employer, and if required by the Director, the
Administrator, or designee, either at the time advance notice is given or any time
thereafter, the employer [shalf] must [;witheut-delay:] notify the employee representative
without delay of the proposed inspection, or in the absence of an employee representative,
immediately post a notice, provided to the employer by Oregon OSHA, in a sufficient number
of locations in the place of employment to reasonably inform employees of the planned
|nspecn0n [Asry

such notlce when d:rected bv the Dlrector the Admlmstrator or designee may result in a
penalty as outlined in OAR 437-001-0176.

(3) It will not be considered advance notice to advise a federal or state agency that is not the
subject of the inspection of a proposed inspection in order to avoid duplicate inspections or to
facilitate enforcement.

(4) Any person who gives advance notice of any safety or health inspection without authority
from the Dl[d]irector, the A[aldministrator, or [his] designee shall be punished, upon conviction,
by being assessed a penalty not to exceed $1,000 or be imprisoned for not more than 6 months,
or both, as prescribed in ORS 654.991(2).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) and 656.726(4).
Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.001 to 654.295.
Hist: WCB Admin. Order 19-1974, f. 6-5-74, ef. 7-1-74.
WCD Admin. Order, Safety 5-1978, f. 6-22-78, ef. 8-15-78.



WCD Admin. Order, Safety 4-1981, f. 5-22-81, ef. 7-1-81.

WCD Admin. Order, Safety 6-1982, f. 6-28-82, ef. 8-1-82.

APD Admin. Order 6-1987, f. 12-23-87, ef. 1-1-88.

APD Admin. Order 7-1988, f. 6-17-88, ef. 7-1-74.

OR-OSHA Admin. Order 5-2018, f. 11/29/18, ef. 12/17/18.
OR-0OSHA Admin. Order X-XXO0OK, . XXUXXIXX, ef. XXXX/XX.

437-001-0096 Red Warning Notice

(1) The Red Warning Notice shall be authorized by either the Director, the Administrator, one of
the statewide Managers of Enforcement, or one of the Field Office Enforcement
Managers[Supervisers]. For purposes of this rule, a Camp Closure Notice is a Red Warning
Notice.

(2) When action is necessary to preclude or eliminate exposure of employees to a condition
which, if such exposure occurred or continued, would constitute a violation of any statute or of
any lawful regulation, rule, standard, or order[;] affecting employee safety or health at a place of
employment, a Compliance Officer [shall-obtain] will seek permission to post a Red Warning
Notice. The notice [skhalf] will be posted in plain view of any person likely to use the place of
employment, machine, device, apparatus, or equipment that constitutes the hazard.

(3) Any place of employment, machine, device, apparatus, or equipment on which a Red
Warning Notice has been posted [shal] must not be operated or used by any person until:

(a) The condition has been made safe and healthful; and

(b) The Red Warning Notice has been removed by [the-Division]Oreqon OSHA; however,
(c) Nothing in this section prohibits an employer from using any place of employment, or
operating any machine, device, apparatus, or equipment, exclusively for the purpose of

remedying the violation, pursuant to the instructions on the Red Warning Notice.

(4) No person shall deface or destroy a Red Warning Notice[;] or remove it without authorization
from [the DPivision]Oregon OSHA.

(5) The Red Warning Notice will be removed after:

(a) Notification from the employer that the condition has been corrected; and

(b) A follow-up inspection or other information confirms that the condition has been corrected.




Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) and 656.726(4).

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.001 through 654.295.

Hist:  WCB Admin. Order 19-1974, f. 6-5-74, ef. 7-1-74.
WCD Admin. Order, Safety 5-1978, f. 6-22-78, ef. 8-15-78.
WCD Admin. Order, Safety 4-1981, f. 5-22-81, ef. 7-1-81.
WCD Admin. Order, Safety 6-1982, f. 6-28-82, ef. 8-1-82.
APD Admin. Order 6-1987, f. 12-23-87, ef. 1-1-88.
APD Admin. Order 7-1988, f. 6-17-88, ef. 7-1-74.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 7-1992, f. 7/31/92, ef. 10/1/92.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 6-2003, f. 11/26/03, ef. 11/26/03.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 5-2018, f. 11/29/18, ef. 12/17/18.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order X-XXXX, f. XXXX/IXX, ef. XX/ XX/XX.

437-001-0135 Evaluation of Probability to Establish Penalties

(1) The probability of an accident that could result in an injury or illness from a violation will
[skhall] be determined by the Compliance Officer and will [shall] be expressed as a probability
rating.

(2) The factors to be considered in determining a probability rating may include, as applicable:
(a) The number of employees exposed;

(b) The frequency and duration of exposure;

(c) The proximity of employees to the point of danger;

(d) Factors[-whieh] that require work under stress;

(e) Lack of proper training and supervision or improper workplace design; or

(f) Other factors that may significantly affect the [degree-of] probability of an accident occurring.
(3) The probability rating is:

(a) Low — If the factors considered indicate [iwould-be-unlikelythat] that the likelihood an
accident could occur is lower than the compliance officer would consider to be normal;

(b) Medium — If the factors considered indicate [{-weould-belikely-that] that the likelihood an
accident could occur is what the compliance officer would consider to be normal; or

(c) High — If the factors considered indicate [Hweuld-be-verylikely-that] that the likelihood an
accident could occur is higher than the compliance officer would consider to be normal.

(4) The probability rating may be adjusted on the basis of any other relevant facts [whigh]that
would affect the likelihood of injury or illness.



Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) and 656.726(4).

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.001 to 654.295.

Hist:  WCB Admin. Order 19-1974, f. 6-5-74, ef. 7-1-74.
WCB Admin. Order, Safety 8-1975, f. 8-5-75, ef. 9-1-75.
WCD Admin. Order, Safety 5-1978, f. 6-22-78, ef. 8-15-78.
WCD Admin. Order, Safety 4-1981, f. 5-22-81, ef. 7-1-81.
WCD Admin. Order, Safety 6-1982, f. 6-28-82, ef. 8-1-82.
APD Admin. Order 6-1987, f. 12-23-87, ef. 1-1-88.
APD Admin. Order 7-1988, f. 6-17-88, ef. 7-1-74.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 8-2017, f. 12/22/17, ef. 1/1/18.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order X-XXXX, f. XXIXXIXX, ef. XXIXX/XX.

437-001-0145 Penalty for Other than Serious or Serious Violation

(1) A penalty must be assessed for any serious violation and may be assessed for any other
than serious violation as established by the intersection of the probability rating and severity
rating on the Penalty Schedule (Table 1). In a case where probability and severity are not
appropriate considerations, a penalty may be assessed by considering the facts of the violation.

Table 1 - Penalty table

Probability | Severity Probability | Severity
Other Than Serious Serious
--------- Serious
AAAAAAAAA Physical Harm Death
 Low 0 Low $300 $(3;5686813,750
~_High $300 Medium $[#66]750 $[6;06616,500
High | $[2;066]2,150 $[+2,566]13,500

(2) Penalty adjustments will be made based on an employer’s size for all violations[-except
fallureto-cerrect]. Additional adjustments for an employer's compliance history, injury and illness
history, demonstrated good faith efforts, and corrective action taken at the time of the inspection
will be determined by the Compliance Officer and assessed as follows:

(a) Size adjustments — based on state wide peak employment:

Table 2 - Penalty size adjustments



Number of employees Percent reduction

1-10 73

_________________ 11-25 60
26-90 ' 40

91-130 30

131-175 20

176-250 10

251 or more No adjustment

(b) History adjustments will be based on injuries and illnesses (and trends) during the previous
three years, including available information from both Workers' Compensation data and Bureau
of Labor Statistics. This assessment will also include a review of the employer’s violation history
within the past 3 years. Adjustments will be made as follows:

. 10% reduction of the base penalty if the compliance officer determines that the

information demonstrates a positive history overall.

L No [redustien] change in the base penalty if the compliance officer determines that

history is what would be expected of a typical employer.

. 10% increase of the base penalty if the compliance officer determines that the
information demonstrates a negative history overall.

(c) Good faith adjustments will be determined by, but not limited to, review of certain criteria as

follows:
. Evidence of an overall safety and health program.
. Effective communication of safety and health policies.
. Promotion of safety and health prior to the inspection.
. Employees are clearly involved in the safety and health program.
. Management's commitment at all levels is apparent.

Worksite hazard analysis is conducted.

Employees and managers alike are held accountable for safety and health.

Adjustments will be made as follows:

20% reduction [inpenalties-|of the base penalty if the compliance officer determines
that the information demonstrates a better than average effort to comply with the law
and rules.




. No adjustment in the base penalty if the compliance officer determines that the
information demonstrates an employer's good faith effort is [at-the-nerm]average.

. 20% increase [in-penalties-|of the base penalty if the compliance officer determines
that the information demonstrates a poorer than [rermal]average effort to comply
with the law and rules.

(d) A 10% reduction of the base penalty will be provided for immediate correction[s] of
violations or other unsafe conditions identified during the inspection provided that such
corrective action is substantial and not temporary or superficial.

(3) Penalty adjustments, except for size, will not be applied to repeat violations, violations for a
failure to correct, willful violations, or any violation that the compliance officer determines
contributed to an injury, iliness, or death of an employee. Adjustments will not reduce the
penalty to less than the mandatory minimum penalty that has been established by rule or statute
or increase the penalty beyond the maximum penalty established by statute.

(4) The adjusted final penalty for a serious violation will not be less than $100.

(5) Penalties for combined violations will be calculated by taking the number of violations into
account when assessing probability. Severity will be determined by identifying the most severe
reasonably predictable injury or illness that could occur.

(6) The penalty for grouped violations of different rules is calculated by determining the
probability and severity for the entire group.

(7) The Administrator may, at his or her discretion, assess a penalty of between $100 and [up
to-$12,675]$13,538 for any serious violation, between $200 and $135,382 for any repeated
violation, and between $9,472 and $135,382 for any willful violation after considering the
facts.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) and 656.726(4).

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.001 through 654.295.

Hist:  WCB Admin. Order 19-1974, f. 6-5-74, ef. 7-1-74.
WCB Admin. Order, Safety 8-1975, f. 8-5-75, ef. 9-1-75.
WCD Admin. Order, Safety 5-1978, f. 6-22-78, ef. 8-15-78.
WCD Admin. Order, Safety 4-1981, f. 5-22-81, ef. 7-1-81.
WCD Admin. Order, Safety 6-1982, f. 6-28-82, ef. 8-1-82.
WCD Admin. Order, Safety 12-1982, f. 9-20-84, ef, 11-1-84.
APD Admin. Order 6-1987, f. 12-23-87, ef. 1-1-88.
APD Admin. Order 5-1988, f. 5-16-88, ef. 5-16-88.
APD Admin. Order 7-1988, f. 6-17-88, ef. 7-1-74.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 7-1992, f. 7/31/92, ef. 10/1/92.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 7-1995, f. 7/5/95, ef. 7/5/95.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 2-2012, f. 5/11/12, ef. 7/1/12.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 8-2017, f. 12/22/17, ef. 1/1/18.
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OR-OSHA Admin. Order 5-2018, f. 11/29/18, ef. 12/17/18.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order X-XXXX, f. XX/XX/XX, ef. XX/XX/XX.

437-001-0155 Determination of Penalty — Failure to Correct

(1) A citation [shaljmust be issued for an employer's [ronabatement-of]failure to correct a
previously cited violation.

(2) Penalties [ef-net-moere-than]assessed for a failure to correct a previous cited violation
will not exceed $[42;675]13,538 per day[-ferfailure-to-cerrecta-violation]:

(a) Such penalties [M]may be assessed for each workday, or part of a day, that the violation
results-in-continued-exposure is not corrected after the ordered correction date;

(b) Such penalties must[Shall] be determined by considering the probability and severity of the
original violation, the efforts of the employer to correct the violation, and factors [which]that

delayed the [employerin-eerrestinglcorrection of the violation; and

(c) If failure to correct the violation results from the employer's lack of diligence, the daily
penalty [shal]will be not less than $50 for other than serious violations, and not less than

$[250]$100 for serious wolatlonsHeFe&Gh—day—eraFLei—a—éaHumqg-wmeh%he#@men
remains-uncorrected).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) and 656.726(4).

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.001 to 654.295.

Hist: WCB Admin. Order 19-1974, f. 6-5-74 ef. 7-1-74.
WCB Admin. Order 8-1975, f. 8-5-75, ef. 9-1-75.
WCD Admin. Order, Safety 5-1978, f. 6-22-78, ef. 8-15-78.
WCD Admin. Order, Safety 4-1981, f. 5-22-81, ef. 7-1-81.
WCD Admin. Order, Safety 6-1982, f. 6-28-82, ef. 8-1-82.
APD Admin. Order 6-1987, f. 12-23-87, ef. 1-1-88.
APD Admin. Order 7-1988, f. 6-17-88, ef. 7-1-74.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 7-1992, f. 7/31/92, ef. 10/1/92.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 8-2017, f. 12/22/17, ef. 1/1/18.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order X-XXXX, f. XX/XX/XX, ef. XXNXUXX.

437-001-0160 Penalty Criteria — Repeat Violation
Oregon OSHA will identify repeat violations as follows:

(1) An employer’'s second or subsequent violation involving a substantially similar violation, cited
within the previous three years, will be cited as a repeat violation as described below.

(2) When citing an identical standard for a violation of a previously cited statute, regulation, rule,
standard, or order it will be presumed to be a repeat violation. That presumption can be
disproven only if the circumstances clearly demonstrate that the violation is not substantially
similar to a previously cited violation.



Example: Previously a citation was issued for a violation of 1910.212(a)(1) for not guarding in-
going nip points. A recent inspection of the same establishment revealed a citation of
1910.212(a)(1) for not guarding against flying chips and sparks. Although the same standard
was cited, the hazardous conditions are clearly not substantially similar and a repeat violation
would not be appropriate.

(3) When citing a different standard, in some circumstances, substantially similar conditions can
be demonstrated. In such cases, if the violations found are substantially similar a repeat
violation would be appropriate even though the standards are different.

Example #1: Previously a citation was issued for a failure to install appropriate scaffold
guardrails under the Division 3 Construction standards. A recent inspection of the same
employer found a violation for a failure to install appropriate scaffold guardrails, but this time the
operation involved activities covered by the Division 2 General Industry standard. Although two
different standards are cited, the violations are substantially similar and would therefore be
treated as a repeat.

Example #2: Previously a citation was issued for failure to have a respirator program in a
Division 2 General Industry situation where exposure to asbestos would require one. A recent
inspection of the same employer found a violation for not requiring employees to wear
respirators while performing lead related tasks in the Lead, Division 3 Construction standard
that requires respiratory protection. Although two different standards are cited, the violations are
substantially similar and would therefore be treated as a repeat.

(4) Where a previously cited violation is under appeal and not yet final:
(a) The second violation will be cited as a repeat violation; and

(b) Such citation will state that the earlier violation is under appeal and the repeat classification
of the current violation will be rescinded if the earlier violation does not become final.

(5) At fixed places of employment, “high probability serious” and “death” rated violations will be
issued as repeat violations at all of an employer’s places of employment in the state. Repeat
violations for all other violation types will be limited to the cited place of employment. Where the
Administrator, or designee, determines in his or her discretion that the span of control
and nature of activity for a fixed place of employment is more readily comparable to
nonfixed location activity, repeat violations will be handled in a manner consistent with
nonfixed places of employment.

(6) At nonfixed places of employment, repeat violations will be based on earlier violations
occurring anywhere within the state. Where the Administrator, or designee, determines in his or
her discretion that the span of control and nature of activity for a portion of the state is more
readily comparable to fixed location activity, repeat violations will be handled in a manner
consistent with fixed places of employment.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) and 656.726(4).



Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.001 through 654.295.

Hist:  WCD Admin. Order, Safety 5-1978, f. 6-22-78, ef. 8-15-78.
WCD Admin. Order, Safety 4-1981, f. 5-22-81, ef. 7-1-81.
WCD Admin. Order, Safety 6-1982, f. 6-28-82, ef. 8-1-82.
APD Admin. Order 7-1988, f. 6-17-88, ef. 7-1-74.
APD Admin. Order 7-1989, f. 5-1-89, ef. 5-1-89 (temp).
APD Admin. Order 10-1989, f. 7-7-89, ef. 7-7-89 (perm).
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 7-1992, f. 7/31/92, ef. 10/1/92.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 6-1994, f. 9/30/94, ef. 9/30/94.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 2-2009, f. 1/27/09, ef . 2/3/09.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 7-1992, f. 7/31/92, ef. 10/1/92.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 2-2012, f. 5/11/12, ef. 7/1/12.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 5-2018, f. 11/29/18, ef. 12/17/18.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order X-XXXX, f. XX/XX/XX, ef. XXIXXIXX.

437-001-0165 Determination of Penalty — Repeat Violation

(1) The penalty for a repeat violation will be calculated by multiplying the penalty for the current
violation by the following factors:

Table 1 - Penalties for Repeat Violations

1%t repeat X2
2" repeat X5
______________ 31 repeat X 10
4" repeat | X5
_______ 5% repeat X200
Additional repeats | Discretion of Administrator

(2) The total final penalty for a repeat violation will not be less than $200, nor more than [a
maximum-of | $[126,749]135,382.

(3) For a repeated other than serious violation that otherwise would have no initial penalty, a
penalty of $200 will be assessed for the first repeated violation, $500 if the violation has been
cited twice before, [and-]$1,000 for a third repeat, $1,500 for a fourth repeat, and $2,000 for a

fifth repeat.

(4) The administrator may, at his or her discretion, assess a penalty of between $200 and
$135,382 for any repeated violation after considering the facts.

Stat. Auth.; ORS 654.025(2) and 656.726(4).

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.001 through 654.295.

Hist:  WCB Admin. Order 19-1974, f. 6-5-74, ef. 7-1-74.
WCB Admin. Order 33-1974, f. 9-5-74, ef. 9-26-74.
WCB Admin. Order, Safety 8-1975, f. 8-5-75, ef. 9-1-75.
WCD Admin. Order, Safety 5-1978, f. 6-22-78, ef. 8-15-78.
WCD Admin. Order, Safety 4-1981, f. 5-22-81, ef. 7-1-81.
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WCD Admin. Order, Safety 6-1982, f. 6-28-82, ef. 8-1-82.

APD Admin. Order 7-1988, f. 6-17-88, ef. 7-1-74.

APD Admin. Order 7-1989, f. 5-1-89, ef. 5-1-89 (temp).

APD Admin. Order 10-1989, f. 7-7-89, ef. 7-7-89 (perm).
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 7-1992, f. 7/31/92, ef. 10/1/92.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 2-2012, f. 5/11/12, ef. 7/1/12.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 8-2017, f. 12/22/17, ef. 1/1/18.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order X-XXXX, f. XX/XXIXX, ef. XXIXXIXX.

437-001-0170 Determination of Penalty — Failure to Report an Occupational Fatality,
Catastrophe, or Accident

If an employer fails to report an occupational fatality, catastrophe, or accident as provided in
OAR 437-001-0704, a penalty of not less than $250, nor more than $[42,675]13,538, shall be
assessed. In the event that such a violation is determined to be willful, a penalty between
$9,472 and $135,382 will be assessed at the Administrator’s discretion after a
consideration of the facts.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) and 656.726(4).

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.001 through 654.295.

Hist:  WCD Admin. Order, Safety 4-1981, f. 5-22-81 ef. 7-1-81.
APD Admin. Order 6-1987, f. 12-23-87, ef. 1-1-88.
APD Admin. Order 7-1988, f. 6-17-88, ef. 7-1-74.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 7-1992, f. 7/31/92, ef. 10/1/92.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 7-2002, f. 11/15/02, ef. 11/15/02.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 8-2017, f. 12/22/17, ef. 1/1/18.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order X-XXXX, f. XXIXX/XX, ef. XXIXXIXX.

437-001-0171 Determination of Penalty — Failure to Register a Farm Labor Camp/Facility

If an operator, employer, or contractor fails to register a Farm Labor Camp or facility with
Oregon OSHA as required in Division 4/J, 437-004-1120(5)(b), a penalty of not less than $250
nor more than $[42,676]13,638, shall be assessed. In the event that such a violation is
determined to be willful, a penalty between $9.472 and $135,382 will be assessed at the
Administrator’'s discretion after a consideration of the facts.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) and 656.726(4).
Stats. Implemented: ORS 315.164, 658.750, 658.755, 658.780, 658.785, 658.805, 658.810 and
658.825.
Hist: OR-OSHA Admin. Order 10-1995, f. 11/29/95, ef. 11/29/95.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 6-2003, f. 11/26/03, ef. 11/26/03.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 8-2017, f. 12/22/17, ef. 1/1/18.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 5-2018, f. 11/29/18, ef. 12/17/18.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order X-XXXX, f. XX/XX/XX/, ef. XX/XX/XX.

437-001-0175 Determination of Penalty — Willful or Egregious Violation
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For a willful violation, the base penalty, after appropriate adjustments based on the
employer’s size, will normally be multiplied by 25. [Fera-willfulviclatien;] [{]The
Administrator[—after-censidering-the-facts-of- the-vielation;] may, at his or her discretion,
assess a penalty [efFretless-than-$8,900,nrormere-than-$126,7408]between $9,472 and
$135,382 based on the facts. [Ihe—base—pena#y—ml#nemﬂiwbe#m#m%ay—zé— For

egregious violations, the Administrator may assess a separate willful penalty, after any
appropriate adjustments based on the employer's size, for each instance of a violation.

Stat. Auth.; ORS 654.025(2) and 656.726(4).

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.001 through 654.295.

Hist:  WCB Admin. Order, Safety 8-1975, f. 8-5-75, ef. 9-1-75.
WCD Admin. Order, Safety 5-1978, f. 6-22-78, ef. 8-15-78.
APD Admin. Order 7-1988, f. 6-17-88, ef. 7-1-74.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 7-1992, f. 7/31/92, ef. 10/1/92.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 2-2012, f. 5/11/12, ef. 7/1/12.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 8-2017, f. 12/22/17, ef. 1/1/18.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order X-XXXX, f. XXIXXIXX, ef. XXIXXIXX.

437-001-0180 Determination of Penalty — Relating to Red Warning Notice

]Anv person who v:olates or dlrects another to

violate OAR 437-001-0096(3) or (4) shall be assessed a civil penalty of not less than $100
and not more than $13,538 for each such violation. In the event that such a violation is
determined to be willful, a penalty between $9,472 and $135,382 will be assessed at the
Administrator’'s discretion after a consideration of the facts.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) and 656.726(3).
Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.001 to 654.295.
Hist:  WCD Admin. Order, Safety 5-1978, f. 6-22-78 ef. 8-15-78.
APD Admin. Order 6-1987, f. 12-23-87, ef. 1-1-88.
APD Admin. Order 7-1988, f. 6-17-88, ef. 7-1-74.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order X-XXO0X, f. XXIXXIXX, ef. XXIXXIXX.

437-001-0225 Penalty for Falsification

(1) An employer who knowingly makes any false statement, representation, or certification
regarding the correction of a violation shall be assessed a civil penalty of not less than $100 and
not more than $2,500. In the event that such a violation is determined to be willful, a
penalty between $9.472 and $135,382 will be assessed at the Administrator’s discretion
after a consideration of the facts.

(2) An employer who knowingly makes any false statement, representation, or certification
regarding the correction of a violation, and that violation is found to have caused or materially
contributed to the death of any employee, shall be penalized according to the provisions of ORS
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654.991(3). In such cases, the Administrator shall contact the appropriate local district attorney
for assistance and possible prosecution.

Stat. Auth.. ORS 654.025(2) and 656.726(4).

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.001 to 654.295.

Hist: WCB Admin. Order 19-1974, f. 6-5-74, ef. 7-1-74.
WCB Admin. Order, Safety 8-1975, f. 8-5-75, ef. 9-1-75.
WCD Admin. Order, Safety 5-1978, f. 6-22-78, ef. 8-15-78.
WCD Admin. Order, Safety 4-1981, f. 5-22-81, ef. 7-1-81.
WCD Admin. Order, Safety 6-1982, f. 6-28-82, ef. 8-1-82.
APD Admin. Order 6-1987, f. 12-23-87, ef. 1-1-88.
APD Admin. Order 7-1988, f. 6-17-88, ef. 7-1-74.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 5-2018, f. 11/29/18, ef. 12/17/18.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order X-XXXX, f. XX/IXX/XX, ef. XX/XX/XX.

437-001-0740 Falsification or Failure to Keep and Post Records or Make Reports

Oregon OSHA will cite employers who fail to keep the records, post the summaries, or make the
reports required by OAR 437-001-0700 (except 437-001-0704 which is addressed in 437-001-
0170) or 437-001-0706. Citations will be ‘other than serious’ and carry a penalty of at least $100
but not more than $1000 for each violation. In the event that such a violation is determined
to be willful, a penalty between $9,472 and $135,382 will be assessed at the
Administrator’s discretion after a consideration of the facts.

Note: ORS 654.991(3) provides that anybody who knowingly makes a false statement,
representation, or certification in any application, record, report, plan, or other document filed or
required by ORS 654.001 to 654.295, will, on conviction, be fined not more than $10,000 or be
imprisoned for not more than 6 months, or both. Also, ORS 654.086(1)(e) provides for civil
penalties for falsification of a document.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2) and 656.726(4).

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.001 through 654.295.

Hist:  WCB Admin. Order 19-1974, f. 6-5-74, ef. 7-1-74.
WCD Admin. Order, Safety 5-1978, f. 6-22-78, ef. 8-15-78.
WCD Admin. Order, Safety 6-1982, f. 6-28-82, ef. 8-1-82.
APD Admin. Order 6-1987, f. 12-23-87, ef. 1-1-88.
APD Admin. Order 7-1988, f. 6-17-88, ef. 7-1-74.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 6-1994, f. 9/30/94, ef. 9/30/94.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 11-2001, f. 9/14/01, ef. 1/1/02.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 7-2002, f. 11/15/02, ef. 11/15/02.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 11-2007, f. 12/21/07, ef. 1/1/08.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order 5-2018, f. 11/29/18, ef. 12/17/18.
OR-OSHA Admin. Order X-XXO0(, f. XXXXIXX, ef. XXXXIXX.
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