
WORKER HEALTH AND SAFETY

FOR THIS TYPE OF ADJUSTMENT OREGON OSHA WILL CONSIDER BASE PENALTY ADJUSTED AS FOLLOWS

Good Faith Effort
(Applies only to all first 
instance violations)

 Ī Existence of an overall safety and health program is evident.
 Ī Safety and health policies are effectively communicated to employees.
 Ī Efforts put forth prior to an inspection to promote safety and health in 

the workplace.
 Ī Demonstrations of employee involvement in the safety and health 

program are apparent.
 Ī Management’s commitment and level of involvement to safety and 

health is apparent.
 Ī Analysis of worksite hazards conducted.

 Ī Good: -20% reduction
 Ī Average:  no adjustment
 Ī Poor:  +20% increase

Size
(Applies only to all first 
instance violations)

 Ī 1-10 employees
 Ī 11-25 
 Ī 26-90 
 Ī 91-130
 Ī 131-175
 Ī 176-250
 Ī 251 or more

 Ī -75% reduction
 Ī -60% reduction
 Ī -40% reduction
 Ī -30% reduction
 Ī -20% reduction
 Ī -10% reduction
 Ī No size reduction

History
(Applies only to all first 
instance violations )

 Ī Trends in injuries and illnesses (types of WC claims) or enforcement 
history (previous 3 years).

 Ī Injury and illness DART rate for company. (Below state-wide average) 
 Ī Mod or EMR rate is around 1.  (A typical EMR is between 0.9 and 1.0) 

 Ī -10% reduction for positive history
 Ī 0% for average history
 Ī +10% increase for negative 

history

Immediate Correction
(Applies only to all first 
instance violations )

 Ī Immediate corrections (abatement) of violations or other unsafe 
conditions identified during the inspection provided that such corrective 
action is permanent and substantial and not temporary or superficial.

 Ī -10% reduction

Proposed Division 1 Rule Changes — Penalty Adjustment Calculations
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Oregon OSHA proposed changes to its penalty rules in response to SB 592 on 8/31/23, this sheet summarizes the proposed changes.
For more information on the rulemaking, please visit: osha.oregon.gov/rules/making/Pages/proposed.aspx
Public comment is open through 11/3/23 at 5 pm, submit comments to OSHA.rulemaking@dcbs.oregon.gov
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PROPOSED PENALTY ADJUSTMENT CALCULATIONS

Oregon OSHA proposed changes to its penalty rules in response to SB 592 on 8/31/23, this sheet summarizes the proposed changes.
For more information on the rulemaking, please visit: osha.oregon.gov/rules/making/Pages/proposed.aspx
Public comment is open through 11/3/23 at 5 pm, submit comments to OSHA.rulemaking@dcbs.oregon.gov

Violations and Penalties
PROPOSED DIVISION 1 - FIRST INSTANCE SERIOUS PENALTY TABLE 
To be used to calculate penalty adjustments 

Adjustment Penalty in dollars

30% $4,352 $8,705 $11,608 $14,511 $17,412 $15,625**

20% $4,018 $8,035 $10,715 $13,394 $16,073 $15,625**

10% $3,683 $7,366 $9,822 $12,278 $14,733 $15,625**

Penalty $3,348 $6,696 $8,929 $11,162 $13,394 $15,625

-10% $3,013 $6,026 $8,036 $10,046 $12,055 $14,063

-20% $2,678 $5,357 $7,143 $8,930 $10,715 $12,500

-30% $2,344 $4,687 $6,250 $7,813 $9,376 $10,938

-40% $2,009 $4,018 $5,357 $6,697 $8,036 $9,375

-50% $1,674 $3,348 $4,465 $5,581 $6,697 $7,813

-60% $1,339 $2,678 $3,572 $4,465 $5,358 $6,250

-70% $1,116* $2,009 $2,679 $3,349 $4,018 $4,688

-75% $1,116* $1,674 $2,232 $2,791 $3,349 $3,906

-80% $1,116* $1,339 $1,786 $2,232 $2,679 $3,125

-85% $1,116* $1,116* $1,339 $1,674 $2,009 $2,344

-90% $1,116* $1,116* $1,116* $1,116* $1,339 $1,563

-95% $1,116* $1,116* $1,116* $1,116* $1,116* $1,116*

 * The minimum adjusted penalty for a serious-rated violation is $1,116.
 ** The maximum adjusted penalty amount for a serious-rated violation is $15,625

PROPOSED DIVISION 1 - FIRST INSTANCE PENALTY TABLE

Other than serious-rated violation

Probability
Severity

Other than serious

Low $0

High $300

Serious-rated violation

Probability
Severity

Serious Physical Harm Death

Low $3,348 $11,162 

Medium $6,696 $13,394 

High $8,929 $15,625 

PROPOSED DIVISION 1 - EMPLOYER SIZE ADJUSTMENT TABLE

Number of employees Adjustment reduction

1-10 -75%
11-25 -60%
26-90 -40%
91-130 -30%
131-175 -20%
176-250 -10%
251 or more No Size Adjustment

Proposed Division 1 - Size adjustments are based on state-wide 
peak employment and only apply to first instance violations.
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PROPOSED PENALTY ADJUSTMENT CALCULATIONS

Oregon OSHA proposed changes to its penalty rules in response to SB 592 on 8/31/23, this sheet summarizes the proposed changes.
For more information on the rulemaking, please visit: osha.oregon.gov/rules/making/Pages/proposed.aspx
Public comment is open through 11/3/23 at 5 pm, submit comments to OSHA.rulemaking@dcbs.oregon.gov

PROPOSED DIVISION 1 - REPEAT TABLE

Repeat 
occurrence

Other than 
serious Serious

1st repeat $11,162 x 4
2nd repeat $11,162 x 6
3rd repeat $11,162 x 8
Additional 
repeats Discretion of Administrator

Minimum Repeat Penalty of $11,162
Maximum Penalty of $156,259

PROPOSED DIVISION 1 - REPEAT TABLE 50 OR FEWER EMPLOYEES

Other than serious-
rated violation Serious-rated violation

Probability

Severity

Probability

Severity

Other 
than 
serious

Serious Physical Harm Death

First Second Third First Second Third

All $11,162 
Low $11,162* $13,088 $19,784 $37,648 $59,972 $82,296 
Medium $19,784 $33,176 $46,568 $46,576 $73,364 $100,152 
High $28,716 $46,574 $64,432 $55,500 $86,750 $118,000 

PROPOSED DIVISION 1 - REPEAT TABLE 51 OR GREATER EMPLOYEES

Other than serious-
rated violation Serious-rated violation

Probability

Severity

Probability

Severity

Other 
than 
serious

Serious Physical Harm Death

First Second Third First Second Third

All $11,162 
Low $13,392 $20,088 $26,784 $44,648 $66,972 $89,296 
Medium $26,784 $40,176 $53,568 $53,576 $80,364 $107,152 
High $35,716 $53,574 $71,432 $62,500 $93,750 $125,000 

*The minimum adjusted penalty for a repeat violation is $11,162.

PROPOSED DIVISION 1 - REPEAT THAT CAUSED OR 
CONTRIBUTED TO A WORK RELATED FATALITY

Other than serious-rated violation

All $50,000 

Serious-rated violation

Probability
Severity

Serious  
Physical Harm Death

Low $55,000 $160,000 

Medium $85,000 $185,000 

High $115,000 $235,000 
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PROPOSED PENALTY ADJUSTMENT CALCULATIONS

Oregon OSHA proposed changes to its penalty rules in response to SB 592 on 8/31/23, this sheet summarizes the proposed changes.
For more information on the rulemaking, please visit: osha.oregon.gov/rules/making/Pages/proposed.aspx
Public comment is open through 11/3/23 at 5 pm, submit comments to OSHA.rulemaking@dcbs.oregon.gov

PROPOSED DIVISION 1 - SERIOUS THAT CAUSED OR 
CONTRIBUTED TO  A WORK RELATED FATALITY

Probability
Severity

Serious Physical Harm Death

Low $20,000 $30,000 

Medium $23,000 $37,000 

High $26,000 $43,000 

440-5632 (09/23/COM)

PROPOSED DIVISION 1 - WILLFUL TABLE

Other than serious-rated violation

First $11,162

Additional 
repeats Discretion of Administrator

Serious-rated violation

Probability
Severity

Serious  
Physical Harm Death

Low $25,000 $75,000 

Medium $35,000 $100,000 

High $50,000 $130,000 

Minimum Willful Penalty of $11,162

PROPOSED DIVISION 1 - WILLFUL THAT CAUSED OR 
CONTRIBUTED TO  A WORK RELATED FATALITY

Other than serious-rated violation

All $50,000 

Serious-rated violation

Probability
Severity

Serious Physical Harm Death

Low $65,000 $170,000 

Medium $95,000 $195,000 

High $125,000 $245,000 For complete proposal rule 
requirements, see OAR 437-001-0135 
through 437-001-0203.
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