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Rulemaking Summary: 
 
This rulemaking proposes to amend 15 rules and adopt two new rules in Division 1 to align with the 
changes made to Oregon Safe Employment Act by Senate Bill 592 and changes to ORS 654.062 by 
Senate Bill 907 in the 2023 Oregon legislative session.  

The Oregon legislature passed Senate Bill 592 with an emergency clause with an effective date of May 
24, 2023. Oregon OSHA must adopt rules addressing the legislative requirements and implement the 
changes as soon as possible. Senate Bill 907 has an effective date of January 1, 2024. 

Overall, Oregon OSHA proposes to amend OAR 437-001-0015 Definitions to incorporate new 
legislative requirements of “Programmed Inspection for Cause” and “Caused or Contributed to a Work-
Related Fatality” violations. 

Senate Bill 592 requires Oregon OSHA to conduct a comprehensive inspection of an employer when: 

• a place of employment is deemed necessary by the department based upon the prior violation 
history regarding any state occupational safety or health law, regulation, standard, rule or order; 

• an inspection of an accident reveals that a violation caused or contributed to a work-related 
fatality; 

• whenever three or more willful violations have occurred at a place of employment within a one-
year period; or, 

• whenever three or more repeat violations have occurred at a place of employment within a one-
year period.  

To align with these new legislative requirements, Oregon OSHA proposes to amend the following rules 
to incorporate a new “Programmed Inspection for Cause” inspection type:  

• OAR 437-001-0055 Priority of Inspections,  
• OAR 437-001-0057 Scheduling Inspections, and  
• OAR 437-001-0099 Closing Conference.  

Senate Bill 592 also requires Oregon OSHA to increase civil penalties for violations, establishes 
standards for future civil penalties, and creates a new “Caused or Contributed to a Work-Related 
Fatality” violation type, in brief, changes include: 

• Serious violations increase to a range between $1,116 and $15,625 for each violation;  
• A new serious violation type “Caused or Contributed to a Work-Related Fatality” with civil 

penalties that range from $20,000 to $50,000 for each violation; 
• Willful or repeat violations increase to a range between $50,000 and $250,000 for each 

violation; and 
• A new violation type of willful or repeat violation that “Caused or Contributed to a Work-Related 

Fatality” with penalties that range from $50,000 to $250,000 for each violation. 

To meet these new requirements, Oregon OSHA proposes to amend the following rules:  

• OAR 437-001-0145 Penalty for Other than Serious or Serious Violation,  
• OAR 437-001-0155 Determination of Penalty — Failure to Correct,  
• OAR 437-001-0160 Penalty Criteria — Repeat Violation,  
• OAR 437-001-0165 Determination of Penalty — Repeat Violation,  

https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2023R1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/SB592/Enrolled
https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2023R1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/SB907/Enrolled
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• OAR 437-001-0170 Determination of Penalty — Failure to Report an Occupational Fatality, 
Catastrophe, or Accident,  

• OAR 437-001-0171 Determination of Penalty — Failure to Register a Farm Labor Camp/Facility,  
• OAR 437-001-0175 Determination of Penalty — Willful or Egregious Violation,  
• OAR 437-001-0180 Determination of Penalty — Relating to Red Warning Notice,  
• OAR 437-001-0201 Determination of Penalty — Relating to Field Sanitation, and 
• OAR 437-001-0203 Determination of Penalty — Relating to Violations Which Have No 

Probability and Severity. 

In addition, the legislation requires Oregon OSHA to adjust its civil penalties annually based on 
changes in the Western Region Consumer Price Index (CPI-WR). In response, the agency proposes 
OAR 437-001-0142 that creates a bulletin process to make the mandatory annual adjustments rather 
than annual rulemaking. The 2024 civil penalties will reflect the values established in Senate Bill 592 
plus any increase from application of the 2023 CPI-WR published in Oregon OSHA’s Annual 
Adjustments to Penalties Bulletin.  

Senate Bill 592 also affects Oregon OSHA’s penalty adjustments for employers for certain civil 
penalties. Oregon OSHA proposes to move the penalty adjustment content currently in OAR 437-001-
0145 to a new rule 437-001-0150 Civil Penalty Adjustments and to update that rule language to align 
with the revised terms of the statute. 
 
Lastly, Senate Bill 907 requires Oregon OSHA to conduct rulemaking regarding an employee’s right to 
refuse certain work tasks; federal OSHA already outlines these expectations. Oregon OSHA proposes 
to amend OAR 437-001-0295 Discrimination Complaint to align with federal OSHA and maintain state 
plan authority.  
 

Please visit our website osha.oregon.gov/rules to view our proposed rules, or select other rule activity 
from this page.  
 
When does this happen: Adoption of proposed changes will tentatively be in November 2023. 
To get a copy: Our web site – osha.oregon.gov   Rules and laws, then, Proposed rules. 
    Or call 503-947-7449 
 
To comment: Department of Consumer and Business Services/ 

Oregon OSHA 
    PO BOX 14480 
    Salem OR 97309-0405 
    Email – OSHA.rulemaking@dcbs.oregon.gov  
    Fax – 503-947-7461 
 
Comment period closes: November 3, 2023 at 5:00 PM 
 
Oregon OSHA contact:  Jennifer Stewart, Salem Central Office @ 503-378-3272, or email at 

Jennifer.Stewart2@dcbs.oregon.gov.  

Note:  In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), this publication is available in 
alternative formats by calling 503-378-3272. 

https://osha.oregon.gov/rules/
http://osha.oregon.gov/
mailto:OSHA.rulemaking@dcbs.oregon.gov
mailto:Jennifer.Stewart2@dcbs.oregon.gov
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Oregon OSHA 

Text of Changes for Proposed Division 1 Civil Penalty & 

Work Refusal Changes from Senate Bills 592 and 907 

 

Proposed Rule Changes 

August 31, 2023 
 

 

Text removed is in [brackets with line through].  

Text added is in bold and underline. 
 

 

437-001-0015 Definitions 
 

The following definitions shall apply to OAR 437, unless the context requires otherwise: 

 

(1) Abatement — Action by an employer to comply with a cited violation of the Oregon Safe 

Employment Act. 

 

(2) Accepted disabling claims — Claims accepted for disabling occupational injuries or illnesses 

only. A disabling injury or illness entitles the worker to compensation for disability or fatality. This 

type of claim excludes temporary total disability suffered during the first three calendar days 

after the employee leaves work as a result of the injury unless the worker is an inpatient in a 

hospital. 

 

(3) Accepted disabling claims rate — The ratio of accepted disabling claims to annual average 

employment, times 100. Claims and employment figures are based upon the best knowledge of 

the Department at the time the rate is calculated (ADCR = Number of claims times 100 divided 

by the number of employees). 

 

(4) Act — The Oregon Safe Employment Act (ORS 654.001 to 654.295, 654.750 to 654.780, 

and 654.991). 

 

(5) Administrator — The Administrator of the Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Division 

(Oregon OSHA). 

 

(6) Affected employee — An employee who, in the course and scope of employment, may be or 

may have been exposed to a condition or practice described in a citation, order, application for 

an extension date, or variance. 

 

(7) Agent of the employer — Any supervisor or person in charge or control of the work or place 

of employment including, but not limited to, any manager, superintendent, foreperson, or lead 

worker. 
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(8) Appeal — A written request for a hearing to contest a citation, notice or order, a proposed 

assessment of civil penalty, and the period of time fixed for correction of a violation, or any of 

these, by filing with Oregon OSHA, within 30 days after receipt of the citation, notice or order, a 

written request for a hearing before the Workers’ Compensation Board. Such a request need 

not be in any particular form, but must specify the alleged violation that is contested and the 

grounds upon which the employer considers the citation or proposed penalty or correction 

period unjust or unlawful. 

 

(9) Audiometric zero — The lowest sound pressure level that the average young adult with 

normal hearing can hear. 

 

(10) Board — The Workers’ Compensation Board created by ORS 656.712. 

 

(11) Catastrophe — An accident in which two or more employees are fatally injured, or three or 

more employees are admitted to a hospital or to an equivalent medical facility. 

 

(12) Citation — A document issued by Oregon OSHA according to ORS 654.071 to cite a 

violation. A citation may include a notice of penalty and a correction order. 

 

(13) Complaint — A written or oral report from an employee, employee representative, or other 

person that an occupational safety or health violation may exist at a place of employment. A 

complaint may be classified as one of the following: 

 

(a) Imminent danger. 

 

(b) Serious. 

 

(c) Other than serious. 

 

(14) Compliance officer — A designated Oregon OSHA employee responsible for conducting 

inspections or investigations; identifying possible violations and hazards; proposing citations, 

penalties, and correction dates; and assisting employers and employees with information to 

correct violations and hazards. 

 

(15) Comprehensive consultation — A consultation to cover the entire establishment and entails 

a physical hazard assessment evaluation and a review of records, written programs, and the 

employer’s illness and injury prevention plan. Comprehensive consultations include a written 

report by the provider including findings, recommendations, and the guidance necessary to 

resolve the problems noted in the report. 

 

(16) Comprehensive inspection — A substantially complete inspection of the establishment. An 

inspection may be comprehensive even though, as a result of the exercise of professional 

judgment of the compliance officer, not all potentially hazardous conditions, operations, and 

practices within those areas are inspected. With the exception of an emphasis inspection, a 

programmed inspection defined in OAR 437-001-0057 is a comprehensive inspection. 
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(17) Consultant — A designated Oregon OSHA employee whose responsibility is to provide a 

full range of occupational safety and health assistance including, but not limited to, providing 

employers, employees, and other agency staff with information, advice, and recommendations 

on maintaining safe employment or a place of employment; on correcting violations or hazards; 

and on applicable occupational safety and health rules, techniques, devices, methods, 

practices, and development of safety and health programs. 

 

(18) DART (Days Away, Restricted, or Transferred) — The number of lost workday injury and 

illness cases experienced by 100 full-time workers (DART rate = Number of lost workday cases 

times 200,000 divided by the number of employee hours worked). 

 

NOTE: Lost workday cases include both days away from work and days of restricted time. 

 

(19) Decibel (dB) — Unit of measurement of sound level. For purposes of this rule, decibels 

refer to the combined average of the readings at 2000, 3000, and 4000 Hz on the audiogram. 

 

(20) Department — The Department of Consumer and Business Services. 

 

(21) Director — The Director of the Department of Consumer and Business Services, or the 

director’s designee. 

 

(22) Division — The Oregon Occupational Safety and Health (Oregon OSHA) Division of the 

Department of Consumer and Business Services. 

 

(23) Emphasis Program — A special program that targets Oregon OSHA activity to industries 

that have a high potential for serious injuries or illnesses, according to national or state data. 

 

(24) Employee — Any individual, including a minor, whether lawfully or unlawfully employed, 

who engages to furnish services for a remuneration, financial or otherwise, and who is subject 

to the direction and control of an employer, and includes: 

 

(a) Salaried, elected and appointed officials of the state, state agencies, counties, cities, 

school districts, and other public corporations. 

 

(b) Any person provided with workers’ compensation coverage as a subject worker 

under ORS Chapter 656, whether by operation of law or by election. 

 

(25) Employee exposure record — A record of monitoring or measuring that contains qualitative 

or quantitative information indicative of employee exposures to toxic materials or harmful 

physical agents. This includes both individual exposure records and general research or 

statistical studies based on information collected from exposure records. 

 

(26) Employee medical record — A record that contains information concerning the health 

status of an employee or employees exposed or potentially exposed to toxic materials or 

harmful physical agents. These records may include, but are not limited to: 

 

(a) The results of medical examinations and tests; 
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(b) Any opinions or recommendations of a physician or other health professional 

concerning the health of an employee or employees; and 

 

(c) Any employee medical complaints relating to workplace exposure. Employee medical 

records include both individual medical records and general research or statistical 

studies based on information collected from medical records. 

 

(27) Employee representative — A bargaining unit representative, or an individual selected by 

employees, who serves as their spokesperson. 

 

(28) Employer: 

 

(a) Any person who has one or more employees, or 

 

(b) Any sole proprietor or member of a partnership who elects workers’ compensation 

coverage as a subject worker according to ORS 656.128, or 

 

(c) Any corporation in relation to the exposure of its corporate officers except for 

corporations without workers’ compensation coverage under ORS 656.128 and whose 

only employee is the sole owner of the corporation, or 

 

(d) Any successor or assignee of an employer. For purposes of this definition and ORS 

654.005(5)(c), a business or enterprise is substantially the same entity as the 

predecessor employer if: 

 

(A) A majority of the current business or enterprise is owned by the former 

owners or their immediate family members, and 

 

(B) One or more of the following criteria exist for both the current and 

predecessor business or other enterprise: 

 

(i) Substantially the same type of business or enterprise. 

 

(ii) Similar jobs and working conditions. 

 

(iii) A majority of the machinery, equipment, facility, or methods of 

operation. 

 

(iv) Similar product or service. 

 

(v) A majority of the same supervisory personnel. 

 

(vi) A majority of the same officers and directors. 

 

NOTE: Not every element needs to be present for an employer to be a successor. The 

cumulative facts will determine the employer’s status. 
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(29) Employer representative — An individual selected by the employer, to serve as 

spokesperson or, in the absence of a selected spokesperson, the person in charge of the place 

of employment at the time of the inspection. 

 

(30) Environmental exposure sampling – Sampling of the workplace environment, performed for 

a variety of reasons including identifying of contaminants and their sources, determining worker 

exposures, and checking the effectiveness of controls. 

 

(31) Establishment — An establishment is a single physical location doing business, offering 

services, or having industrial operations. For activities where employees do not work at a single 

physical location, such as construction; transportation; communications, electric, gas, and 

sanitary services; and similar operations, the establishment is the main or branch office, 

terminal, station, etc. that either supervise such activities or are the base for personnel to carry 

out these activities. 

 

(a) One location/multiple establishments. Normally, one business location has only one 

establishment. Under limited conditions, two or more separate businesses that share a 

single location are separate establishments. An employer may divide one location into 

two or more establishments only when: 

 

(A) Each of the establishments represents a distinctly separate business; 

 

(B) Each business is engaged in a different economic activity; 

 

(C) Separate reports are routinely prepared for each establishment on the 

number of employees, their wages and salaries, sales or receipts, and other 

business information. For example, if an employer operates a construction 

company at the same location as a lumber yard, each business can be a 

separate establishment. 

 

(b) Multiple locations/one establishment. Only under certain conditions. An employer 

may combine two or more physical locations into a single establishment only when: 

 

(A) The employer operates the locations as a single business operation under 

common management; 

 

(B) The locations are all near each other; and 

 

(C) The employer keeps one set of business records for all the locations, such as 

records on the number of employees, their wages and salaries, sales or receipts, 

and other kinds of business information. For example, one manufacturing 

establishment might include the main plant, a warehouse a few blocks away, and 

an administrative services building across the street. 

 

(c) Telecommuting from home. For employees who telecommute from home, the 

employee’s home is not a business establishment, and a separate 300 Log is not 
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required. Employees who telecommute must be linked to one of the business’ 

establishments under 437-001-0700(15)(c). 

 

(32) Farm operation — Any operation involved in the growing or harvesting of crops or the 

raising of livestock or poultry. 

 

(33) Filed — A document is considered to have been filed on the date of postmark if mailed, or 

on the date of receipt, if transmitted by other means to Oregon OSHA, DCBS, or the WCB. 

 

(34) First aid — Any one-time treatment and subsequent observation of minor scratches, cuts, 

burns, splinters, or similar injuries that do not ordinarily require medical care. Such one-time 

treatment and subsequent observation is considered first aid even though it is provided by a 

physician or registered professional personnel. 

 

(35) Fixed place of employment — The entire facility maintained by an employer at one general 

location, and operations provided from that facility, regardless of the size or number of 

departments or buildings in the facility. For the purpose of determining repeat violations, fixed 

place of employment includes employers or owners engaged in construction activity who will be 

at a single worksite continuously for more than 24 months. Forest activities are excluded as are 

construction sites established for a period of 24 months or less. 

 

(36) Hazard — A condition, practice, or act that could result in an injury or illness to an 

employee. 

 

(37) Health hazard — Health hazards mean carcinogens, lead, silica, toxic metals and fumes, 

vapors or gases, toxic or highly corrosive liquids or chemicals, chemical sensitizers, pesticides, 

fungicides, solvents, biological agents, and harmful physical stress agents. 

 

(38) Imminent danger — A condition, practice, or act that exists in any place of employment and 

could reasonably be expected to cause death or serious physical harm immediately. 

 

(39) Injury or illness — An injury or illness is an abnormal condition or disorder. Injuries include 

cases such as, but not limited to, a cut, fracture, sprain, or amputation. Illnesses include both 

acute and chronic illnesses, such as, but not limited to, skin disease, respiratory disorder, or 

poisoning. 

 

NOTE: Record injuries and illnesses only if they are new, work-related cases that meet one or 

more of the recording criteria. 

 

(40) Inspection — An official examination of a place of employment by a compliance officer to 

determine if an employer is in compliance with the Act. 

 

(a) Programmed — Inspections conducted under the provisions of OAR 437-001-0057. 

 

(b) Unprogrammed. 
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(A) Follow-up inspection — An inspection to determine if a previously identified 

violation has been corrected. 

 

(B) Complaint inspection — An inspection made in response to a complaint. 

 

(C) Accident investigation — A systematic appraisal of an accident sequence to 

determine causal factors, corrective actions and preventative measures. 

 

(D) Referral inspection — An inspection made in response to a referral. 

 

(41) Letter of corrective action — A letter stating the corrective action(s) taken by the employer 

to comply with the violation(s) that were not corrected at the time of the inspection. 

 

(42) Lost workdays — The actual number of days after, but not including, the day of injury or 

illness when the employee would have worked, but could not perform all or any part of their 

normal assignment during all or any part of the employee’s next regular workday or shift 

because of the occupational injury or illness. 

 

(43) Medical treatment — Treatment administered by a physician or by registered professional 

personnel under the standing orders of a physician. Medical treatment does not include first aid 

treatment even though provided by a physician or registered professional personnel, nor does it 

include treatment ordinarily considered diagnostic or preventative in nature. 

 

(44) MOD (Experience Rating Modification Factor) — Experience rating recognizes the 

differences among individual insureds with respect to safety and loss prevention. It compares 

the experience of individual insureds with the average insured in the same classification. The 

differences are reflected by an experience rating modification, based on individual payroll and 

loss records, that may result in an increase, decrease, or no change in premium. 

 

(45) North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) — A classification system 

developed by the Executive Office of the President/Office of Management and Budget, for use 

in classifying establishments by the type of activity in which they are engaged. Each 

establishment is assigned an industry code for its major activity. 

 

(46) Order to correct — A written Oregon OSHA order that directs an employer to abate a 

violation within a given period of time. 

 

(47) Owner — Every person having ownership, control, or custody of any place of employment 

or of the construction, repair, or maintenance of any place of employment. 

 

(48) Partial inspection — An inspection with focus limited to certain potentially hazardous areas, 

operations, conditions, or practices at the establishment. The inspection may include review of 

injury and illness records and any required programs relative to the inspection. 

 

(49) Person — One or more individuals, legal representatives, partnerships, joint ventures, 

associations, corporations (whether or not organized for profit), business trusts, or any 
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organized group of persons, and includes the state, state agencies, counties, municipal 

corporations, school districts, and other public corporations or subdivisions. 

 

(50) Personal exposure samples — Measurement of contaminants or physical agents to 

characterize the environment in the breathing or hearing zone of individual workers in order to 

evaluate their specific work exposures. Personal samplers are placed on the worker to obtain 

either one continuous sample covering a portion of the workday or consecutive samples 

covering a stated time period. 

 

(51) Physician or other licensed health care professional — A physician or other licensed health 

care professional is an individual whose legally permitted scope of practice (i.e., license, 

registration, or certification) allows them to independently perform, or be delegated the 

responsibility to perform, the activities described by this regulation. 

 

(52) Place of employment: 

 

(a) Includes every place that is fixed or movable; indoors, outdoors, or underground; and 

the premises and structures appurtenant thereto. 

 

(b) Includes every place where an employee works or intends to work either temporarily 

or permanently. 

 

(c) Includes every place where there is any process, operation, or activity related, either 

directly or indirectly, to an employer’s industry, trade, business, or occupation, including 

a labor camp provided by an employer for their employees or by another person 

engaged in providing living quarters or shelters for employees. 

 

(d) Does not include any place where the only employment involves nonsubject workers 

employed in or around a private home. 

 

(e) Does not include any corporate farm where the only employment involves the farm’s 

family members, including parents, spouses, sisters, brothers, daughters, sons, 

daughters-in-law, sons-in-law, nieces, nephews, or grandchildren. 

 

(53) Record — Any recorded information regardless of its physical form or character. 

 

(54) Recordable occupational injuries or illnesses — Any occupational injuries or illnesses that 

result in: 

 

(a) Fatalities, regardless of the time between the injury and death, or the length of the 

illness; 

 

(b) Lost workday cases, other than fatalities, that prevent the employee from performing 

their normal assignment during any part of the employee’s next regular, or any 

subsequent workday or shift; or 

 



9 
 

(c) Nonfatal cases without lost workdays that result in transferring to another job or 

terminating employment, require medical treatment (other than first aid), or involve loss 

of consciousness or restriction of work or motion. This category also includes any 

diagnosed occupational illnesses that are reported to the employer but are not classified 

as fatalities or lost workday cases. 

 

(55) Referral — A notification made to the responsible agency of safety or health violations 

observed by an Oregon OSHA employee, other federal, state or local government 

representatives, or the media. 

 

(56) Rule — Any agency directive, standard, regulation or statement of general applicability that 

implements, interprets, or prescribes law or policy, or describes the procedures or practice 

requirements of the agency and that is adopted according to the Administrative Procedures Act. 

The term includes the amendment or repeal of a prior rule, but does not include, unless a 

hearing is required by statute, internal management directives, regulations, or statements that 

do not substantially affect the interests of the public. 

 

(57) Scheduling list — An electronic or paper list of places of employment or employers 

scheduled for inspection. 

 

(58) Serious physical harm: 

 

(a) Injuries that could shorten life or significantly reduce physical or mental efficiency by 

inhibiting, either temporarily or permanently, the normal function of a part of the body. 

Examples of such injuries are amputations, fractures (both simple and compound) of 

bones, cuts involving significant bleeding or extensive suturing, disabling burns, 

concussions, internal injuries, and other cases of comparable severity. 

 

(b) Illnesses that could shorten life or significantly reduce physical or mental efficiency by 

inhibiting, either temporarily or permanently, the normal function of a part of the body, 

even though the effects may be cured by halting exposure to the cause or by medical 

treatment. Examples of such illnesses are cancer, pneumoconiosis, narcosis, or 

occupational infections (caused by biological agents), and other cases of comparable 

severity. 

 

(59) Standard threshold shift (STS) — A change in hearing threshold relative to the baseline 

audiogram of an average of 10 dB or more in either ear. 

 

(60) Substantially similar— As it relates to a repeat violation, a second violation that is closely 

related in substance or form to a previous violation. 

 

(61) Suspended penalty — A penalty that is determined but not assessed. 

 

(62) Variance — The written authority given by Oregon OSHA to an employer permitting the use 

of a specific alternative means or method to comply with the intent of a rule. Specific types of 

variances are: 
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(a) Permanent — A variance that remains in effect until modified or revoked according to 

OAR 437-001-0430; 

 

(b) Temporary — A variance granted for a stated period of time to permit the employer to 

achieve compliance with a new rule; 

 

(c) Research — A variance granted for a stated period of time to allow industrial or 

governmental research designed to demonstrate or validate new and improved safety or 

health techniques or products; and 

 

(d) Interim order — The temporary authority for an employer to use an alternative means 

or method by which the employer effectively safeguards the safety and health of 

employees until final action can be taken on the variance request. 

 

(63) Violation — The breach of a person’s duty to comply with an Oregon occupational safety or 

health statute, regulation, rule, standard, or order. 

 

(a) Specific classifications of violations are: 

 

(A) Serious violation — A violation where there is substantial probability that 

death or serious physical harm could result from an existing condition or from 

one or more practices, means, methods, operations, or processes that have 

been adopted or are in use in a place of employment unless the employer did 

not, and could not with the exercise of reasonable diligence, know about the 

violation; 

 

(B) Other than serious violation — A violation that is other than a serious or 

minimal violation; and 

 

(C) Minimal violation — A violation that does not have a direct or immediate 

relationship to the safety or health of employees. 

 

(b) Specific types of the above classifications are: 

 

(A) Willful violation — A violation that is committed knowingly by an employer or 

supervisory employee who, having a free will or choice, intentionally or knowingly 

disobeys or recklessly disregards the requirements of a statute, regulation, rule, 

standard, or order. 

 

(B) Unabated violation — A violation that has not been fully corrected by the date 

ordered. 

 

(C) Repeat violation: 

 

(i) An employer’s second or subsequent violation involving a substantially 

similar violation as the earlier violation or violations., cited within the 
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previous three years, will be cited as a repeat violation under the 

criteria in OAR 437-001-0160(3)(a). 

 

(ii) In these rules, repeat, repeated, and repeatedly are used 

synonymously. 

 

(D) First-instance violation — An employer’s first violation of a particular statute, 

regulation, rule, standard, or order. 

 

(E) Egregious — Those conditions that normally constitute a flagrant violation of 

the Oregon Safe Employment Act, or Oregon OSHA standards, or regulations 

such that each instance of the violation is cited separately. 

 

(c) Combined violation — Multiple violations of the same statute, regulation, rule, 

standard, or order within an establishment that have been combined as one violation to 

indicate an overall lack of compliance with a safety or health statute, regulation, rule, 

standard, or order. 

 

(d) Grouped violation — Multiple violations of different statutes, regulations, rules, 

standards, or orders within an establishment that have been combined as one violation: 

 

(A) To indicate an increase in the severity or probability of the violation, or 

 

(B) Recordkeeping and posting requirements involving the same document, or 

 

(C) The violations are so closely related as to constitute a single hazardous 

condition. 
 

(e) Caused or contributed to a work-related fatality violation – The workplace 
death of an employee that was attributed to a violation or in which the violation 
was a related factor, as determined by the compliance officer. 

 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4) 

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.001 - 654.326, 654.412 - 654.423 & 654.991 

History: 

OSHA X-2023, f. XX-XX-XXXX, effective XX/XX/XXX 

OSHA 5-2018, amend filed 11/29/2018, effective 12/17/2018 

OSHA 2-2015, f. 3-18-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16 

OSHA 2-2012, f. 5-11-12, cert. ef. 7-1-12 

OSHA 10-2009, f. & cert. ef. 10-5-09 

OSHA 2-2009, f. 1-27-09, cert. ef. 2-3-09 

OSHA 1-2008, f. 2-22-08, cert. ef. 3-1-08 

OSHA 5-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-5-07 thru 2-29-08 

OSHA 7-2006, f. & cert. ef. 9-6-06 

OSHA 6-2003, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-03 

OSHA 7-2002, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-02 

OSHA 11-2001, f. 9-14-01, cert. ef. 1-1-02 

OSHA 4-2000, f. 4-14-00, cert. ef. 4-15-00 

OSHA 11-1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-20-99 thru 4-14-00 

OSHA 7-1999, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-99 
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OSHA 5-1998, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-98 

OSHA 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 6-13-96 

OSHA 6-1994, f. & cert. ef. 9-30-94 

OSHA 7-1992, f. 7-31-92, cert. ef. 10-1-92 

OSHA 24-1990, f. & cert. ef. 10-10-90 

OSHA 10-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 5-31-90 

APD 7-1988, f. 6-17-88, cert. ef. 7-1-74 

APD 6-1987, f. 12-23-87, cert. ef. 1-1-88 

WCD 9-1986, f. 10-7-86, cert. ef. 12-1-86 

WCD 12-1984, f. 9-20-84, cert. ef. 11-1-84 

WCD 2-1984, f. 3-2-84, cert. ef. 3-15-84 

WCD 9-1983, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-83 

WCD 6-1982, f. 6-28-82, cert. ef. 8-1-82 

WCD 4-1981, f. 5-22-81, cert. ef. 7-1-81 

WCD 7-1979, f. 8-20-79, cert. ef. 9-1-79 

WCD 5-1978, f. 6-22-78, cert. ef. 8-15-78 

WCB 8-1975, f. 8-5-75, cert. ef. 9-1-75 

WCB 19-1974, f. 6-5-74, cert. ef. 7-1-74 

 

 

437-001-0055 Priority of Inspections 
 

Inspections will be prioritized to predominantly focus enforcement activities on places of 

employment reasonably believed to be the most unsafe. Inspections should generally be made 

according to the following priorities: 

 

(1) Imminent danger — An inspection should be made as soon as possible after the Division 

becomes aware of the condition, practice, or act that could reasonably be expected to 

immediately cause death or serious physical harm. 

 

(2) Fatality, catastrophe, or accident — An inspection, if appropriate, should be made as soon 

as possible after the Division becomes aware of a fatality, catastrophe, or accident. 

 

(3) Complaint — An inspection may be initiated when the Division receives a complaint, based 

on the nature and credibility of the allegations. 

 

(4) Referral — An inspection may be made if safety or health violations were observed and 

referred by a Division employee; federal, state, or local government representative; or the 

media, based on the nature and credibility of the allegations. 

 

(5) Programmed Inspections for Cause – An inspection may be made by following the 

provisions in OAR 437-001-0057(8). 

 

([5](6) Programmed Inspections — An inspection may be made by following the provisions in 

OAR 437-001-0057. 

 

([6] 7) Follow-up — An inspection may be initiated when one or more of the following exists: 

 

(a) The employer requests removal of a red warning notice. 

 



13 
 

(b) A variance request has been denied. 

 

(c) An extension of time has been denied. 

 

(d) The Division believes the employer may not be in compliance with a previously cited 

violation, or needs monitoring as they progress towards correction of a violation. 

 

(e) The employer is issued an order to correct for one or more violations that if cited 

could be considered serious. 
 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4) 

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.001 - 654.326, 654.412 - 654.423 & 654.991 

History: 

OSHA X-2023, f. XX-XX-XXXX, effective XX/XX/XXX 

OSHA 5-2018, amend filed 11/29/2018, effective 12/17/2018 

OSHA 10-2009, f. & cert. ef. 10-5-09 

OSHA 4-2000, f. 4-14-00, cert. ef. 4-15-00 

OSHA 11-1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-20-99 thru 4-14-00 

OSHA 7-1992, f. 7-31-92, cert. ef. 10-1-92 

APD 7-1988, f. 6-17-88, ef. 7-1-74 

APD 6-1987, f. 12-23-87, ef. 1-1-88 

WCD 6-1982, f. 6-28-82, ef. 8-1-82 

WCD 4-1981, f. 5-22-81, ef. 7-1-81 

WCD 5-1978, f. 6-22-78, ef. 8-15-78 

 

 

437-001-0057 Scheduling Inspections 
 

The following rules are intended to predominantly focus enforcement activities on the places of 

employment that the director reasonably believes to be the most unsafe. 

 

(1) [The]Except for Programmed Inspections for Cause, the Division will schedule 

programmed inspections according to a priority system based on written neutral administrative 

standards. 

 

(2) The Division will identify the most hazardous industries and places of employment through 

information obtained from the Department of Consumer and Business Services claim and 

employer files, the Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Injury and Illness Survey, the 

Bureau of Labor Statistics Census of Fatal Occupational Injuries, the Oregon Employment 

Department, and knowledge of recognized safety and health hazards associated with certain 

processes. Health hazards include carcinogens, lead, silica, toxic metals and fumes, vapors or 

gases, toxic or highly corrosive liquids or chemicals, chemical sensitizers, pesticides, fungicides, 

solvents, harmful physical stress agents, and biological agents. 

 

(3) Scheduling lists will be provided by the Division to its field offices, at least annually. 

 

[Note: An](a) Except for Programmed Inspections for Cause, an employer will be 

exempt from any scheduled inspection generated by a list for a fixed site from seven 
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days prior to the scheduled date of an Oregon OSHA consultation to 60 days after 

receipt of the written consultation report. 

 

[Note: An](b) Except for Programmed Inspections for Cause, an employer will be 

exempt from any scheduled inspection generated by a list for a construction, forest 

activities, or Agriculture Labor Housing site from seven days prior to the scheduled date 

of an Oregon OSHA consultation to 30 days after receipt of the written consultation 

report. 

 

(4) Scheduling Safety Inspections for Fixed Places of Employment. 

 

(a) The scheduling lists are compiled, using an electronic scheduling system, for safety 

enforcement managers to schedule inspections at fixed places of employment for each 

compliance officer. Written neutral administrative standards (the seven criteria listed 

below) are standardized using a statistical weighting method involving t-scores. These 

weighted scores are averaged across the seven criteria to create a composite score. 

This composite score is used to determine the position of each industry (using the 4-digit 

NAICS code) on the list from most to least hazardous., see Table 1[(attached)]. Lists are 

divided into 10 tiers. Places of employment are randomly selected for inspection within 

each tier using the following percentages whenever a list is generated. The percentages 

will not be affected by the places of employment excluded in (4)(b) unless the number of 

exclusions makes it impossible to meet the target percentage. When that occurs, all 

remaining eligible places of employment will be selected. The scheduling lists will be 

sorted by field office. 

 

Table 1 - Written neutral administrative standards 

Source type Data source Weight factor 

Oregon total case incidence rate 
Bureau of Labor Statistics’ Survey of 

Occupational Injuries and Illnesses 
1.5 

Oregon DART rate 
Bureau of Labor Statistics’ Survey of 

Occupational Injuries and Illnesses 
1.5 

Federal total case incidence rate 
Bureau of Labor Statistics’ Survey of 

Occupational Injuries and Illnesses 
0.5 

Federal DART rate 
Bureau of Labor Statistics’ Survey of 

Occupational Injuries and Illnesses 
0.5 

Federal fatal case rate 
Bureau of Labor Statistics’ Census of 

Fatal Occupational Injuries 
1 

Oregon compensable fatality claims rate Oregon Workers’ Compensation Data 1 

Oregon accepted disabling claims rate Oregon Workers’ Compensation Data 1 

 

(A) 30 percent of places of employment under the NAICS identified as Tier A. 

 

(B) 25 percent of places of employment under the NAICS identified as Tier B. 

 

(C) 20 percent of places of employment under the NAICS identified as Tier C. 

 

(D) 15 percent of places of employment under the NAICS identified as Tier D. 
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(E) 12.5 percent of places of employment under the NAICS identified as Tier E. 

 

(F) 10 percent of places of employment under the NAICS identified as Tier F. 

 

(G) 7.5 percent of places of employment under the NAICS identified as Tier G. 

 

(H) 5 percent of places of employment under the NAICS identified as Tier H. 

 

(I) 2.5 percent of places of employment under the NAICS identified as Tier I. 

 

(J) No more than 0.05 percent of places of employment under the NAICS not 

otherwise identified in Tiers A through I. 

 

[(b) Places](b) Except for Programmed Inspections for Cause, places of employment 

will be exempt from programmed inspections if any of the following conditions apply: 

 

(A) A location has received a comprehensive safety inspection within the 

previous 36 months. 

 

(B) A location has received Voluntary Protection Program (VPP) status. 

 

(C) A location is in its second year, or later, of the Safety and Health 

Achievement Recognition Program (SHARP). 

 

(D) A location has graduated from the Safety and Health Achievement 

Recognition Program (SHARP). Locations are exempt from inspection for 36 

months after graduation. 

 

(E) A location has received two consecutive comprehensive safety inspections 

with no serious, willful, or egregious violations, and with no inspections of any 

type resulting in serious, willful, or egregious violations since the date of the first 

of the two consecutive comprehensive inspections. 

 

(F) A location has received certification as meeting the British Standards 

Institute’s OHSAS 18001 standards (Occupational Health and Safety 

Management Systems), or the ISO 45001 (International Organization for 

Standardization) standards. Evidence of certification must be provided before the 

start of an inspection. 

 

(G) A location has a MOD rate of 0.50 and they provide evidence to that effect 

before the start of an inspection. 

 

(c) The field office managers will provide each compliance officer a list of inspections 

that are assigned in descending order from tiers A through J. The compliance officer will 

make a reasonable effort to inspect each place of employment on that list prior to 

receiving another list; however, failure to inspect all places of employment on a list will 
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not invalidate subsequent inspections. The compliance officer’s list will generally be 

followed in descending order but may be inspected in any order to use the compliance 

officer’s time efficiently. 

 

(5) Scheduling Safety Inspections for Construction and Forest Activities. 

 

(a) Construction and forest activities scheduling lists will be used by safety enforcement 

managers and compliance staff to focus enforcement efforts on employers with the most 

hazardous places of employment. Employers will be selected and placed on one of two 

lists based on the following criteria: 

 

(A) Construction List — The following written neutral administrative standards will 

be used to select and rank employers on this list. Construction employers that 

have one or more accepted disabling claims in the first 12 of the previous 18 

months and are ranked in the top 500 construction employers. The employers on 

this list will be ranked statewide using violation history, weighted claims rate, and 

weighted claims count as described in subsection (b) of this section. The 500 

employers with the most points will be placed on a list. 

 

(B) Forest Activities List — The following written neutral administrative standards 

will be used to select and rank employers on this list. Forest activities employers 

that have one or more accepted disabling claims in the first 12 of the previous 18 

months and are ranked in the top 50 forest activities employers. The employers 

on this list will be ranked statewide using violation history, weighted claims rate, 

and weighted claims count as described in subsection (b) of this section. The 50 

employers with the most points will be placed on a list. 

 

(b) Ranking Factors: Construction and forest activities employers are ranked using 

violation history, weighted claims rate, and weighted claims count. The rankings from 

each factor are combined to produce a score for each employer, and the employers are 

ranked based on their score. The top 500 construction employers will be on one list and 

the top 50 forest activities employers will be on another list: 

 

(A) Violation History - Employers with a violation history will be assigned points 

for each violation on citations that have become a final order within the previous 

36 months. Willful violations are assigned five points, failure to abate violations 

four points, repeat violations three points, serious violations two points, and 

other-than-serious violations one point.  Average points per citation will be 

determined with the employer having the most points receiving a ranking of one 

followed by the employer with the next highest points receiving a ranking of two, 

etc. Employers not inspected within 36 months are given a ranking of zero, that 

will put them at the top of this category. 

 

(B) Weighted Claims Count - Selected claims from the first 12 of the previous 18 

months are assigned points based on the seriousness of the claim. These points 

are totaled for each employer. Employers are ranked on the total points with the 
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employer having the most points receiving a rank of one, followed by the second 

highest weighted claims count receiving a ranking of two, etc. 

 

(C) Weighted Claims Rate- Employers are ranked in this category with the 

highest weighted claims rate receiving a ranking of one, followed by the second 

highest weighted claims rate receiving a ranking of two, etc. The weighted claims 

count described in (B) above is used to determine the claims rate. 

 

NOTE: The selected claims and the points assigned to the selected claims will be 

identified by the agency in a program directive. 

 

(c) The field office manager will provide selected compliance officers the construction 

and/or forest activities lists. The compliance officers will make a reasonable effort to 

locate and inspect those employers on the construction and forest activities lists, 

however failure to inspect all employers on a list will not invalidate subsequent 

inspections. 

 

(6) Scheduling Health Inspections for Fixed Places of Employment. 

 

(a) The scheduling lists are designed as an electronic scheduling system used by health 

enforcement managers to schedule inspections at fixed places of employment for each 

compliance officer. Places of employment will be listed by NAICS and randomly selected 

within each tier using the following percentages whenever a list is generated. The 

scheduling lists will be sorted by field office. 

 

(A) 7.5 percent of places of employment under the NAICS identified as Tier A. 

 

(B) 2.5 percent of places of employment under the NAICS identified as Tier B. 

 

(C) Not more than 0.05 percent of places of employment under NAICS not 

identified in Tiers A and B. 

 

[(b) ]Places(b) Except for Programmed Inspections for Cause, places of employment 

will be exempt from programmed inspections if any of the following conditions apply: 

 

(A) A location has received a comprehensive health inspection within the 

previous 36 months. 

 

(B) A location has received Voluntary Protection Program (VPP) status. 

 

(C) A location is in its second year, or later, of the Safety and Health 

Achievement Recognition Program (SHARP). 

 

(D) A location has graduated from the Safety and Health Achievement 

Recognition Program (SHARP). Locations are exempt from inspection for 36 

months after graduation. 
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(E) A location has received two consecutive comprehensive health inspections 

with no serious, willful, or egregious violations, and with no inspections of any 

type resulting in serious, willful, or egregious violations since the date of the first 

of the two consecutive comprehensive inspections. 

 

(F) A location has received certification as meeting the British Standards 

Institute’s OHSAS 18001 standards (Occupation Health and Safety Management 

Systems). Evidence of certification must be provided before the start of an 

inspection. 

 

(G) A location has a MOD rate of 0.50 and they provide evidence to that effect 

before the start of an inspection. 

 

(c) The field office managers will provide each compliance officer a list of inspections 

that are assigned in descending order from the health scheduling lists. The compliance 

officer will make a reasonable effort to inspect each place of employment on that list 

prior to receiving another list; however, failure to inspect all places of employment on a 

list will not invalidate subsequent inspections. The compliance officer’s list will generally 

be followed in descending order, but may be inspected in any order to use the 

compliance officer’s time efficiently. 

 

(7) Scheduling Health Inspections for Nonfixed Places of Employment — An inspection may be 

scheduled when information such as recognized health hazards known to be associated with 

certain processes are reasonably thought to exist at a place of employment. 

 

(8) Programmed Inspection for Cause — A comprehensive inspection at a place of 
employment will be conducted when any of the following occur.  
 

(a) Within one year of the applicable closing conference where:   
(A) An accident investigation revealed that a violation has caused or 
contributed to a work-related fatality 
(B) Three or more willful violations occur at a place of employment within a 
12-month period; or 
(C) Three or more repeat violations occur at a place of employment within a 
12-month period. 

 
(b) An employer has a history of non-compliance and the Administrator deems a 
comprehensive inspection is necessary for the protection of employees.  

[(8](9) Random Inspections — The Division will conduct random inspections of places of 
employment that are scheduled and conducted under written neutral administrative standards. 
Program directives will be issued and changed when the director believes it necessary to 
preserve the random nature of the inspections. 

[(9](10) Emphasis Inspections — An inspection may be made if the place of employment is 

included in a national or local safety or health emphasis program. Emphasis programs are 

established by identifying the most hazardous industries and processes through information 

obtained from the Department of Consumer and Business Services claim files, the Bureau of 

Labor Statistics Occupational Injury and Illness Survey, the Oregon Employment Department, 
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and knowledge of recognized hazards associated with certain processes. Program directives 

will be issued to establish and describe emphasis programs and the written neutral 

administrative standards that will be used to schedule the inspections. 

 

[(10]11) Farm Labor Housing Inspections — Farm labor housing is a national and local 

emphasis program. A list of all known farm labor housing locations will be sent to field offices 

annually. Locations may be selected and inspected in any order to make efficient use of 

available resources. Housing locations not on the list may also be inspected. Farm labor 

housing is not an agricultural operation; therefore, the agriculture exemption for employers of 10 

or fewer permanent, year-round employees does not apply to farm labor housing inspections. 

 

[(11) The](12) Except for Programmed Inspections for Cause, the Division will annually 

make reasonable efforts to notify, in writing, each employer whose place of employment is rated 

as one of the most unsafe places of employment, that there is increased likelihood of inspection 

of the employer’s place of employment and consultative services are available. 

 

[(12]13) Agricultural employers with 10 or fewer permanent, year-round employees, both full-

time and part-time, will be subject to scheduled inspections only if any of the following has 

occurred: 

 

(a) A valid complaint has been filed according to ORS 654.062, or 

 

(b) Within the preceding two-year period, an accident at the employer’s agricultural place 

of employment resulted in death or a serious disabling injury from a violation of the 

Oregon Safe Employment Act or rules adopted under the [a]Act, or 

 

(c) The employer and principal supervisors of the agricultural establishment have not 

annually completed at least four hours of instruction on agricultural safety or health rules 

and procedures. This instruction must be documented. 

 

(A) Instruction includes any instruction conducted or accepted by Oregon OSHA 

or instruction related to agricultural safety and health that is offered or approved 

by any public or private college, university, or governmental agency. The 

employer must maintain documentation of the instruction. The documentation 

must include the date, provider, subject, and duration of the instruction, and the 

signature of the person completing the instruction. 

 

NOTE: Certified Applicator Training Core A and B offered by the Oregon 

Department of Agriculture will satisfy a portion of the required training. One-hour 

credit will be allowed annually for this training. 

 

(B) For purposes of these sections, the time period begins to run when[ the 

instruction is received, or]: 

[(d](i) the instruction is received;  

(ii) Within the preceding four-year period, the agricultural establishment 

has not had a comprehensive consultation by an individual acting in a 
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public or private consultant capacity. For purposes of this section, the 

time period begins to run when the consultation is received[,]; or 

[(e](iii) If the consultation was done and the agricultural employer has 

failed to correct violations noted in the consultation report within 90 days 

after receiving the report. 

 

NOTE: For purposes of determining the number of employees, members of the 

agricultural employer’s immediate family are excluded. This includes 

grandparents, parents, children, step-children, foster children, and any blood 

relative living as a dependent of the core family. 

 

[(13](14) Evaluation of Enforcement Scheduling: 

 

(a) Each year Oregon OSHA will complete a summary evaluation of enforcement 

scheduling, including (but not limited to) the number of scheduled inspections and the 

basis for those inspections, the number of attempted scheduled inspections that could 

not be completed, and the results of those inspections. 

 

(b) At least every three years beginning by July 1, 2012, Oregon OSHA will assess the 

enforcement scheduling system and other available data to ensure that the scheduling 

system continues to accomplish its statutory purpose of predominantly focusing Oregon 

OSHA enforcement resources on those places of employment reasonably believed to be 

the most unsafe. 

 

NOTE: See Safety by NAICS, Safety by Tier/Rank, Health by NAICS, to review safety 

and health scheduling lists of employers identified by NAICS codes and their placement 

in appropriate tiers. 

 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4) 

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.001 - 654.326, 654.412 - 654.423 & 654.991 

History: 

OSHA X-2023, f. XX-XX-XXXX, effective XX/XX/XXX 

OSHA 5-2018, amend filed 11/29/2018, effective 12/17/2018 

OSHA 2-2011, f. 9-29-11, cert. ef. 10-1-11 

OSHA 10-2009, f. & cert. ef. 10-5-09 

OSHA 7-2006, f. & cert. ef. 9-6-06 

OSHA 4-2000, f. 4-14-00, cert. ef. 4-15-00 

OSHA 11-1999(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-20-99 thru 4-14-00 

OSHA 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 6-13-96 

OSHA 10-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-29-95 

OSHA 7-1992, f. 7-31-92, cert. ef. 10-1-92 

APD 7-1988, f. 6-17-88, ef. 7-1-74 

APD 6-1987, f. 12-23-87, ef. 1-1-88 

WCD 6-1982, f. 6-28-82, ef. 8-1-82 

WCD 4-1981, f. 5-22-81, ef. 7-1-81 

 

 

437-001-0099 Closing Conference 
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(1) The [C]compliance [O]officer shall, if practicable, conduct a joint closing conference with the 

employer or a representative, and a representative of the employees, if any, and shall advise 

these representatives: 

 

(a) Of any violation(s) as a result of the inspection and of any hazards which at this time 

may not be a violation; 

 

(b) Of the right to present any pertinent information regarding the violation(s); 

 

(c) That a citation shall be issued for all other than serious or serious violations even if 

the violations were corrected at the time of the inspection; 

 

(d) That penalties may be imposed for other than serious violations and shall be 

imposed for serious violations; 

 

(e) That a reasonable time for correction of each alleged violation shall be proposed; 

 

(f) That further correspondence separate from the citation regarding the inspection will 

be received detailing the nonviolation hazards observed during the inspection; 

 

(g) Of all posting requirements contained in OAR 437-001-0275 and 437-001-0280; 

 

(h) That if the employer fails to correct any violation by the date indicated on the citation, 

additional penalties may be imposed for each day the violation(s) remains uncorrected 

(see OAR 437-001-0235); 

 

(i) Of employee protection against discrimination ([see]See OAR 437-001-0295); 

 

(j) Of appeal rights contained in ORS 654.078 and OAR 438-085-0006 to 438-085-0870; 

 

(k) Of rights to an informal conference (see OAR 437-001-0255); 

 

(l) Of extension procedures (see OAR 437-001-0240); 

 

(m) Of consultative services available through the Department and workers’ 

compensation insurance carriers (see OAR 437-001-0450 through 437-001-0465); 

 

(n) Of variance procedures (see OAR 437-001-0400 through 437-001-0435); 

 

(o) Of the possibility of [follow-up inspections;]subsequent inspections, including 

those inspections triggered under Programmed Inspections for Cause OAR 437-

001-0057(8)(a) through (b); 

 

(p) That if any safety or health condition was encountered which was beyond the 

expertise of the [C]compliance [O]officer, that condition will be considered a referral and 

may be addressed by another representative of Oregon OSHA.; and 
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(q) Of the availability of return visits by the [C]compliance [O]officer to assist the 

employer in obtaining compliance. 

 

(2) Where the [C]compliance [O]officer decides it is not practical to hold a joint conference, 

separate conferences shall be held for the employer or a representative and for a representative 

of the employees, if any. Notes shall be taken by the [C]compliance [O]officer during the 

separate conferences; these will be available upon request. 

 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4) 

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.001 - 654.295 

History: 

OSHA X-2023, f. XX-XX-XXXX, effective XX/XX/XXX 

OSHA 5-2018, amend filed 11/29/2018, effective 12/17/2018 

OSHA 7-1992, f. 7-31-92, cert. ef. 10-1-92 

APD 7-1988, f. 6-17-88, ef. 7-1-74 

APD 6-1987, f. 12-23-87, ef. 1-1-88 

WCD 6-1982, f. 6-28-82, ef. 8-1-82 

WCD 4-1981, f. 5-22-81, ef. 7-1-81 

WCD 5-1978, f. 6-22-78, ef. 8-15-78 

WCB 19-1974, f. 6-5-74, ef. 7-1-74 

 

 

437-001-0142 Annual Adjustment of Civil Penalties 
 

(1) Each year, the director will be responsible for publishing notice of Oregon OSHA’s 

Annual Adjustments to Penalties Bulletin in the Oregon Bulletin or its successor. This 

bulletin will also be made available on the Division’s website at 

https://osha.oregon.gov/pages/topics/violations-and-penalties, or its successor. This 

bulletin will notify the regulated community of annual adjustment in civil penalty 

amounts required by ORS 654.086(4) to account for the percentage change, if any, in the 

Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers, West Region (All Items), from October to 

October of each year as published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) of the United 

States Department of Labor or its successor. The annual adjustments will be effective 

January 1st of each calendar year.   

 

(2) Annual adjustments must be applied to the following civil penalties: 

 

(a) Other than serious-rated violation - maximum civil penalty amounts in OAR 

437-001-0145(2)(a) and civil penalty amounts in Table 2 in OAR 437-001-0145(2)(g). 

 

(b) Serious Physical Harm or Death-rated violation – minimum and maximum civil 

penalty amounts in OAR 437-001-0145(2)(b) and civil penalty amounts in Table 2 in 

OAR 437-001-0145(2)(g). 

 

(c) Repeat Violation - minimum and maximum civil penalty amounts in OAR 437-

001-0145(2)(c) and civil penalty amounts in Table 2 in OAR 437-001-0145(2)(c). 

 

(d) Willful Violations - minimum and maximum civil penalty amounts in OAR 437-

001-0145(2)(d) and civil penalty amounts in Table 1 in OAR 437-001-0175(1). 

https://osha.oregon.gov/pages/topics/violations-and-penalties
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(e) Violations that caused or contributed to a work-related fatality - minimum and 

maximum civil penalty amounts in OAR 437-001-0145(2)(e) and civil penalty 

amounts in Table 3 in OAR 437-001-0145(3). 

 

(f) Willful and repeat violations that caused or contributed to a work-related fatality 

- minimum and maximum civil penalty amounts in OAR 437-001-0145(2)(f) and civil 

penalty amounts in Table 2 in OAR 437-001-0165(2)(a) and Table 2 in OAR 437-001-

0175(3). 

 

(3) An annual adjustment must be applied to the penalty reduction in OAR 437-001-

0150(2)(b). 

 

(4) The civil penalty amounts adjusted under this rule will not be lower than the minimum 

or greater than the maximum that may be assessed under OAR 654.086 as a result of any 

reductions or multipliers applied.   

 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4) 

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.001 - 654.295 

History: 

OSHA X-2023, f. XX-XX-XXXX, effective XX/XX/XXX 

 

 

437-001-0145 Penalty for Other than Serious[ or Serious Violation], 

Serious, or Caused or Contributed to a Work-Related Fatality Violation 
 

(1) A civil penalty must be assessed for any serious physical harm or death-rated violation 

and may be assessed for any other than serious-rated violation as [established]determined by 

the intersection of the probability rating and severity rating [on the Penalty Schedule (Table 1). 

In a case]in accordance with Table 2 in subsection (2)(g) or Table 3 in subsection (3) of 

this rule, as adjusted annually in accordance with OAR 437-001-0142. For a violation 

where probability and severity are not appropriate considerations, a civil penalty may be 

assessed by considering the facts of the violation.  

 

[Table 1 - Penalty table 

Probability Severity Probability Severity 

Other Than Serious Serious 

   
Serious Physical 

Harm 
Death 

Low 0 Low $300 $3,750 

High $300 Medium $750 $6,500 

  High $2,150 $13,500] 
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[(2) Penalty adjustments will be made based on an employer’s size for all violations. Additional 

adjustments for an employer’s compliance history, injury and illness history, demonstrated 

good faith efforts, and corrective action taken at the time of the inspection will be determined by 

the Compliance Officer and assessed as follows: 

(a) Size adjustments – based on state wide peak employment: 

Table 2 - Penalty size adjustments 

Number of employees Percent reduction 

1-10 75 

11-25 60 

26-90 40 

91-130 30 

131-175 20 

176-250 10 

251 or more No adjustment 

 

(b) History adjustments will be based on injuries and illnesses (and trends) during the 

previous three years, including available information from both Workers’ Compensation 

data and Bureau of Labor Statistics. This assessment will also include a review of the 

employer’s violation history within the past three years. Adjustments will be made as 

follows: 

(A) 10% reduction of the base penalty if the compliance officer determines that the 

information demonstrates a positive history overall; 

(B) No change in the base penalty if the compliance officer determines that history is 

what would be expected of a typical employer; or 

(C) 10% increase of the base penalty if the compliance officer determines that the 

information demonstrates a negative history overall. 

(c) Good faith adjustments will be determined by, but not limited to, review of certain 

criteria as follows: 

(A) Evidence of an overall safety and health program. 

(B) Effective communication of safety and health policies. 

(C) Promotion of safety and health prior to the inspection. 

(D) Employees are clearly involved in the safety and health program. 

(E) Management’s commitment at all levels is apparent. 

(F) Worksite hazard analysis is conducted. 

(G) Employees and managers alike are held accountable for safety and health. 

(H) Adjustments will be made as follows: 

(i) 20% reduction of the base penalty if the compliance officer determines that the 

information demonstrates a better than average effort to comply with the law and 

rules; 

(ii) No adjustment in the base penalty if the compliance officer determines that 

the information demonstrates an employer’s good faith effort is average; or 
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(iii) 20% increase of the base penalty if the compliance officer determines 

that the information demonstrates a poorer than average effort to comply with the 

law and rules.  

(d) A 10% reduction of the base penalty will be provided for immediate correction of 

violations or other unsafe conditions identified during the inspection provided that such 

corrective action is substantial and not temporary or superficial.] 

 

(2) All civil penalties will not be reduced below the following minimum or exceed the 

following maximum amounts, as adjusted annually in accordance with OAR 437-001-

0142: 

 

(a) Other than serious-rated violation: $0 minimum and $15,625 maximum 

(b) Serious Physical Harm or Death-rated violation: $1,116 minimum and $15,625 

maximum 

(c) Repeat Violation: $11,162 minimum and $156,259 maximum 

(d) Willful Violation: $11,162 minimum and $156,259 maximum 

(e) Serious Violation that Caused or Contributed to a Work-Related Fatality: 

$20,000 minimum and $50,000 maximum 

(f) Willful or Repeat Violation that Caused or Contributed to a Work-Related 

Fatality: $50,000 minimum and $250,000 maximum 

(g) As follows in Table 1 Updated Annually in Oregon OSHA’s Annual Adjustments 
to Penalties Bulletin– Penalty Range by Violation Type. 

 

Table 1 – Civil Penalty Ranges by Type/Classification of Violation 

(Updated Annually in Oregon OSHA’s Annual Adjustments to Penalties Bulletin) 

Type/Classification of Violation Minimum Maximum 

Other Than Serious-rated $0 $15,625 

Serious Physical Harm or Death-rated $1,116 $15,625 

Repeat  $11,162 $156,259 

Willful $11,162 $156,259 

Serious - Caused or Contributed to a Work-Related Fatality $20,000 $50,000 

Repeat - Caused or Contributed to a Work-Related Fatality $50,000 $250,000 

Willful - Caused or Contributed to a Work-Related Fatality $50,000 $250,000 

 

Table 2 – Civil Penalties for Serious and Other Than Serious-rated Violations 
(Updated Annually in Oregon OSHA’s Annual Adjustments to Penalties Bulletin) 

Severity 
Other than 
Serious 

Serious Violation Types 

Serious Physical Harm Death 

Probability Low High Low Medium High Low Medium High 

First-
instance 
Penalty 

$0 $300 $3,348 $6,696 $8,929 $11,162 $13,394 $15,625 
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[(3) Penalty adjustments, except for size, will not be applied to repeat violations, violations for a 

failure to correct, willful violations, or any violation that the compliance officer determines 

contributed to an injury, illness, or death of an employee. Adjustments will not reduce the 

penalty to less than the mandatory minimum penalty that has been established by rule or statute 

or increase the penalty beyond the maximum penalty established by statute.] 

(3) When evidence demonstrates that a Serious Physical Harm or Death-rated violation 

caused or contributed to a work-related fatality that is required to be reported under OAR 

437-001-0704(3), the civil penalty assessed will be based on the civil penalty structure for 

caused or contributed to a work-related fatality as determined by the intersection of the 

probability rating and severity rating in accordance with Table 2 in subsection (2)(g) or 

Table 3 in subsection (3) of this rule, as adjusted annually in accordance with OAR 437-

001-0142.   

 

Table 3 – Civil Penalties for Serious Violation that Caused or Contributed to a Work-

Related Fatality 

(Updated Annually in Oregon OSHA’s Annual Adjustments to Penalties Bulletin) 

Severity Serious Physical Harm Death 

Probability Low Medium High Low Medium High 

First-
instance 
Penalty 

$20,000 $23,000 $26,000 $30,000 $37,000 $43,000 

 

[(4) The adjusted final penalty for a serious violation will not be less than $100.] 

 

(4) Civil penalties for combined violations will be determined by taking the number of 

violations into account when assessing probability. Severity will be determined by 

identifying the most severe reasonably predictable injury or illness that could occur. 

 

[(5) Penalties for combined violations will be calculated by taking the number of violations into 

account when assessing probability. Severity will be determined by identifying the most severe 

reasonably predictable injury or illness that could occur.] 

 

(5) The civil penalty for grouped violations of different rules is determined based on the 

probability and severity determined for the entire group. 

 

[(6) The penalty for grouped violations of different rules is calculated by determining the 

probability and severity for the entire group.] 

 

(6) At the discretion of the Administrator, a civil penalty may be issued for any first-

instance violation up to the maximum civil penalty amount in accordance with OAR 437-

001-0145(2) as adjusted annually in accordance with OAR 437-001-0142. 

 

[(7) For any serious violation, the Administrator may instead, at his or her discretion, assess a 

penalty of between $100 and $13,653.] 
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(7) Civil penalty amounts for all first-instance other than serious-rated violations that 

caused or contributed to a work-related fatality shall be assessed at the discretion of the 

Administrator in accordance with OAR 437-001-0145(2)(a), as adjusted annually in 

accordance with OAR 437-001-0142. 

 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4) 

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.001 through 654.295 

History: 

OSHA X-2023, f. XX-XX-XXXX, effective XX/XX/XXX 

OSHA 13-2021, amend filed 11/01/2021, effective 12/01/2021 

OSHA 5-2018, amend filed 11/29/2018, effective 12/17/2018 

OSHA 8-2017, amend filed 12/22/2017, effective 01/01/2018 

OSHA 2-2012, f. 5-11-12, cert. ef. 7-1-12 

OSHA 7-1995, f. & cert. ef. 7-5-95 

OSHA 7-1992, f. 7-31-92, cert. ef. 10-1-92 

APD 7-1988, f. 6-17-88, ef. 7-1-74 

APD 5-1988, f. 5-16-88, ef. 5-16-88 

APD 6-1987, f. 12-23-87, ef. 1-1-88 

WCD 12-1982, f. 9-20-84, ef. 11-1-84 

WCD 6-1982, f. 6-28-82, ef. 8-1-82 

WCD 4-1981, f. 5-22-81, ef. 7-1-81 

WCD 5-1978, f. 6-22-78, ef. 8-15-78 

WCB 8-1975, f. 8-5-75, ef. 9-1-75 

WCB 19-1974, f. 6-5-74, ef. 7-1-74 

 

 

437-001-0150 Civil Penalty Adjustments 
 

(1) Civil penalty amounts may be modified by applying penalty adjustments as outlined in 

Table 1 – Penalty Adjustments. Not all civil penalties are eligible to be adjusted. If eligible 

for adjustments, at their discretion, a compliance officer may make adjustments at the 

time of inspection based on history, good faith, and immediate correction.  

 

Table 1 – Penalty Adjustments 

Violation Type Size History 
Good 
Faith 

Immediate 
Correction 

Other than Serious  Yes Yes Yes Yes 

Serious Yes Yes Yes Yes 

Repeat 
1-50 Employees, 
Statewide Peak 
Employment  

No No No 

Willful No No No No 

Caused or 
contributed to 
Work-Related 
Fatality 

No No No No 

Failure to Abate 
 

Based on Original 
Violation Eligibility 

No No No 
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(2) Size adjustments: 

(a) Are made based on statewide peak employment for the employer as defined in 

Table 2 except as provided in subsection (b): 

 

Table 2 - Penalty Adjustment – Employer Size 

Number of employees Percent reduction 

1-10 75 

11-25 60 

26-90 40 

91-130 30 

131-175 20 

176-250 10 

251 or more No adjustment 

 

(b) For employers with 50 or fewer employees, a reduction of $7,000 is available 

for Serious Physical Harm or Death-rated repeat violations that did not cause or 

contribute to a work-related fatality. The reduction is adjusted annually in 

accordance with OAR 437-001-0142. 

 

(c) Size reductions are not available for a violation that caused or contributed to a 

work-related fatality. 

 

(3) History adjustments will be based on injuries and illnesses (and trends) during the 

previous three years, including available information from both Workers’ Compensation 

Board data and Bureau of Labor Statistics. This assessment will also include a review of 

the employer’s violation history within the past three years. The compliance officer may 

make the following adjustment:  

 

(a) 10% reduction of the first-instance penalty if the compliance officer determines 

that the information demonstrates a positive history overall; 

 

(b) No change in the first-instance penalty if the compliance officer determines 

that history is what would be expected of a typical employer; or 

 

(c) 10% increase of the first-instance penalty if the compliance officer determines 

that the information demonstrates a negative history overall. 

 

(4) Good faith adjustments will be determined by, but not limited to, review of certain 

criteria as follows: 

 

(a) Evidence of an overall safety and health program. 

 

(b) Effective communication of safety and health policies. 

 

(c) Promotion of safety and health prior to the inspection. 
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(d) Employees are clearly involved in the safety and health program. 

 

(e) Management’s commitment at all levels is apparent. 

 

(f) Worksite hazard analysis is conducted. 

 

(g) Employees and managers alike are held accountable for safety and health. 

 

(h) The compliance officer may make good faith adjustments as follows: 

 

(A) 20% reduction of the first-instance penalty if the compliance officer 

determines that the information demonstrates a better than average effort 

to comply with the law and rules; 

 

(B) No adjustment in the first-instance penalty if the compliance officer 

determines that the information demonstrates an employer’s good faith 

effort is average; or 

 

(C) 20% increase of the first-instance penalty if the compliance officer 

determines that the information demonstrates a poorer than average effort 

to comply with the law and rules.  

 

(5) Immediate correction of violations or other unsafe conditions that are identified 

during the inspection. Corrective action must be substantial and not temporary or 

superficial. A 10% reduction of the first-instance penalty may be provided for immediate 

correction as determined by the compliance officer.  

 

(6) Penalty adjustments will not result in a penalty amount less than the mandatory 

minimum civil penalty or greater than the maximum civil penalty as published in OAR 

437-001-0145(2) as adjusted annually in accordance with OAR 437-001-0145.  
 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4) 

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.001 - 654.295 

History: 

OSHA X-2023, f. XX-XX-XXXX, effective XX/XX/XXX 

 

 

437-001-0155 

Determination of Penalty — Failure to Correct 
 

(1) A citation must be issued for an employer’s failure to correct a previously cited violation. 

 

(2) [Penalties]Civil penalties assessed for a failure to correct a previously cited violation will not 

exceed [$13,653]the maximum penalty per day[:] in OAR 437-001-0145(2), as adjusted 

annually in accordance with OAR 437-001-0142.  
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(a) Such penalties may be assessed for each workday, or part of a day, that the violation 

is not corrected and it results in continued exposure after the ordered correction date; 

and 

 

(b) Such penalties must be determined by considering the probability and severity of the 

original violation, the efforts of the employer to correct the violation, and factors that 

delayed the correction of the violation.[; and(c) If] 

 

(3) Failure to correct violations are not eligible for penalty reductions for history, good 

faith, or immediate correction. A size reduction may be applied in accordance with OAR 

437-001-0150(2) based on the original violation classification. 
 

(4) The civil penalty for failure to correct [the violation results from the employer’s lack of 

diligence, the daily penalty will be not less than $50 for]an other than serious [violations, and 

]violation may not be less than $[100 for serious]50 per day. For all other violations[.], the 

civil penalty will be within the minimum and maximum penalty per day as adjusted 

annually in accordance with OAR 437-001-0142.   
 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4) 

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.001 through 654.295 

History: 

OSHA X-2023, f. XX-XX-XXXX, effective XX/XX/XXX 

OSHA 13-2021, amend filed 11/01/2021, effective 12/01/2021 

OSHA 8-2017, amend filed 12/22/2017, effective 01/01/2018 

OSHA 7-1992, f. 7-31-92, cert. ef. 10-1-92 

APD 7-1988, f. 6-17-88, ef. 7-1-74 

APD 6-1987, f. 12-23-87, ef. 1-1-88 

WCD 6-1982, f. 6-28-82, ef. 8-1-82 

WCD 4-1981, f. 5-22-81, ef. 7-1-81 

WCD 5-1978, f. 6-22-78, ef. 8-15-78 

WCB 8-1975, f. 8-5-75, ef. 9-1-75 

WCB 19-1974, f. 6-5-74, ef. 7-1-74 

 

 

437-001-0160 Penalty Criteria — Repeat Violation 
 

[Oregon OSHA will identify repeat violations as follows: 

(1](1) Civil penalty amounts as defined in OAR 437-001-0145(2) are adjusted and 

published annually in Oregon OSHA’s Annual Adjustments to Penalties Bulletin. All 

penalties shall not be reduced below the minimum or exceed the maximum amounts. 

 

(2) Repeat violation criteria: 

 

(a) An employer’s second or subsequent violation involving a substantially similar 

violation, cited within the previous three years, will be cited as a repeat violation as 

described below. 

 

(b) When citing an identical standard for a violation of a previously cited statute, 

regulation, rule, standard, or order it will be presumed to be a repeat violation. That 
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presumption can be disproven only if the circumstances clearly demonstrate that the 

violation is not substantially similar to a previously cited violation. 

 

Example: Previously a citation was issued for a violation of 1910.212(a)(1) for not guarding 

ingoing nip points. A recent inspection of the same establishment revealed a citation of 

1910.212(a)(1) for not guarding against flying chips and sparks. Although the same standard 

was cited, the hazardous conditions are clearly not substantially similar and a repeat violation 

would not be appropriate. 

 

(3) When citing a different standard, in some circumstances, substantially similar conditions can 

be demonstrated. In such cases, if the violations found are substantially similar, a repeat 

violation would be appropriate even though the standards are different. 

 

Example #1: Previously a citation was issued for a failure to install appropriate scaffold 

guardrails under the Division 3 Construction standards. A recent inspection of the same 

employer found a violation for a failure to install appropriate scaffold guardrails, but this time the 

operation involved activities covered by the Division 2 General Industry standard. Although two 

different standards are cited, the violations are substantially similar and would therefore be 

treated as a repeat. 

 

Example #2: Previously a citation was issued for failure to have a respirator program in a 

Division 2 General Industry situation where exposure to asbestos would require one. A recent 

inspection of the same employer found a violation for not requiring employees to wear 

respirators while performing lead-related tasks in the Lead, Division 3 Construction standard 

that requires respiratory protection. Although two different standards are cited, the violations are 

substantially similar and would therefore be treated as a repeat. 

 

(4) Where a previously cited violation is under appeal and not yet final: 

 

(a) The second violation will be cited as a repeat violation; and 

 

(b) Such citation will state that the earlier violation is under appeal and the repeat 

classification of the current violation will be rescinded if the earlier violation does not 

become final. 

 

(5) At fixed places of employment, “high probability serious” and “death” rated violations will be 

issued as repeat violations at all of an employer’s places of employment in the state. Repeat 

violations for all other violation types will be limited to the cited place of employment.  

 

(6) At nonfixed places of employment, repeat violations will be based on earlier violations 

occurring anywhere within the state. Where the Administrator, or designee, determines in his or 

her discretion that the span of control and nature of activity for a portion of the state is more 

readily comparable to fixed location activity, repeat violations will be handled in a manner 

consistent with fixed places of employment. 
 

(7) At the discretion of the Administrator, a civil penalty may be issued for any repeat 

violation and for any repeat violation that caused or contributed to a work-related fatality 
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up to the maximum penalty amount in accordance with OAR 437-001-0145(2), as adjusted 

annually in accordance with OAR 437-001-0142. 
 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4) 

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.001 through 654.295 

History: 

OSHA X-2023, f. XX-XX-XXXX, effective XX/XX/XXX 

OSHA 13-2021, amend filed 11/01/2021, effective 12/01/2021 

OSHA 5-2018, amend filed 11/29/2018, effective 12/17/2018 

OSHA 2-2012, f. 5-11-12, cert. ef. 7-1-12 

OSHA 2-2009, f. 1-27-09, cert. ef. 2-3-09 

OSHA 6-1994, f. & cert. ef. 9-30-94 

OSHA 7-1992, f. 7-31-92, cert. ef. 10-1-92 

APD 10-1989, f. & cert. ef. 7-7-89 

APD 7-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 5-1-89 

APD 7-1988, f. 6-17-88, cert. ef. 7-1-74 

WCD 6-1982, f. 6-28-82, cert. ef. 8-1-82 

WCD 4-1981, f. 5-22-81, cert. ef. 7-1-81 

WCD 5-1978, f. 6-22-78, cert. ef. 8-15-78 

 

 

437-001-0165 Determination of Penalty — Repeat Violation 
 

(1) A civil penalty must be assessed for each serious repeat violation. The civil penalty for 

a serious repeat violation [will be calculated]is determined by multiplying the penalty for the 

current violation by the following factors: 

[Table 1 - Penalties for Repeat Violations 

1st repeat X 2 

2nd repeat X 5 

3rd repeat X 10 

4th repeat X 15 

5th repeat X 20 

Additional repeats Discretion of Administrator 

] 

Table 1 - Penalties for Repeat Violations 

1st repeat X 4 

2nd repeat X 6 

3rd repeat X 8 

Additional 

repeats 

Discretion of 

Administrator 

 

[(2) The total final penalty for a repeat violation will not be less than $200, nor more than 

$135,653.] 

 

(2) A civil penalty must be assessed for each other than serious repeat violation. The civil 

penalty for an other than serious repeat violation will be the minimum for repeat 
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violations under OAR 437-001-0145(2), as adjusted annually in accordance with OAR 437-

001-0142.   

 

[(3) For a repeated other than serious violation that otherwise would have no initial penalty, a 

penalty of $200 will be assessed for the first repeated violation, $500 if the violation has been 

cited twice before, $1,000 for a third repeat, $1,500 for a fourth repeat, and $2,000 for a fifth 

repeat.] 

 

(3) A civil penalty must be assessed for each repeat violation that caused or contributed 

to a work-related fatality. The civil penalty for a repeat violation that caused or 

contributed to a work-related fatality is determined by the intersection of the probability 

rating and severity rating in accordance with Table 2 below, as adjusted annually in 

accordance with OAR 437-001-0142: 

 
Table 2 – Civil Penalties for Repeat Violations that Caused or Contributed to a Work-

Related Fatality  
(Updated Annually in Oregon OSHA’s Annual Adjustments to Penalties Bulletin) 

Type Other 
than 
Serious 

Serious 

Severity Serious Physical Harm Death 

Probability Low Medium High Low Medium High 

First-
instance 
Penalty 

$50,000 $55,000 $85,000 $115,000 $160,000 $185,000 $235,000 

 

[(4) The administrator may instead, at his or her discretion, assess a penalty of between $200 

and $135,653 for any repeated violation.] 

(4) The civil penalty for a repeat serious rated violation will not be less than the minimum 

or greater than the maximum under OAR 437-001-0145(2), as adjusted annually in 

accordance with OAR 437-001-0142.   

 

(5) The civil penalty for a repeat serious rated violation that caused or contributed to a 

work-related fatality, will not be less than the minimum or greater than the maximum 

under OAR 437-001-0145(2), as adjusted annually in accordance with OAR 437-001-0142.  

 

(6) The civil penalty for a repeat other than serious rated violation will not be less than 

the minimum or greater than the maximum under OAR 437-001-0145(2), as adjusted 

annually in accordance with OAR 437-001-0142. 

 

(7) At the discretion of the Administrator, a civil penalty may be issued for any repeat 

violation and for any repeat violation that caused or contributed to a work-related fatality 

up to the maximum penalty amount in accordance with OAR 437-001-0145(2), as adjusted 

annually in accordance with OAR 437-001-0142.    
 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4) 

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.001 through 654.295 

History: 

OSHA X-2023, f. XX-XX-XXXX, effective XX/XX/XXX 

OSHA 13-2021, amend filed 11/01/2021, effective 12/01/2021 
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OSHA 8-2017, amend filed 12/22/2017, effective 01/01/2018 

OSHA 2-2012, f. 5-11-12, cert. ef. 7-1-12 

OSHA 7-1992, f. 7-31-92, cert. ef. 10-1-92 

APD 10-1989, f. & cert. ef. 7-7-89 

APD 7-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 5-1-89 

APD 7-1988, f. 6-17-88, ef. 7-1-74 

WCD 6-1982, f. 6-28-82, ef. 8-1-82 

WCD 4-1981, f. 5-22-81, ef. 7-1-81 

WCD 5-1978, f. 6-22-78, ef. 8-15-78 

WCB 8-1975, f. 8-5-75, ef. 9-1-75 

WCB 33-1974, f. 9-5-74, ef. 9-26-74 

WCB 19-1974, f. 6-5-74, ef. 9-1-76 

 

 

437-001-0170 Determination of Penalty — Failure to Report an 

Occupational Fatality, Catastrophe, or Accident 
 

If an employer fails to report an occupational fatality, catastrophe, or accident as provided in 

OAR 437-001-0704, a penalty of not less than $250 [shall be assessed.]and not greater than 

the maximum penalty for a serious-rated violation in accordance with OAR 437-001-

0145(2), as adjusted annually in accordance with OAR 437-001-0142, shall be assessed.  
 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4) 

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.001 through 654.295 

History: 

OSHA X-2023, f. XX-XX-XXXX, effective XX/XX/XXX 

OSHA 13-2021, amend filed 11/01/2021, effective 12/01/2021 

OSHA 8-2017, amend filed 12/22/2017, effective 01/01/2018 

OSHA 7-2002, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-02 

OSHA 7-1992, f. 7-31-92, cert. ef. 10-1-92 

APD 7-1988, f. 6-17-88, ef. 7-1-74 

APD 6-1987, f. 12-23-87, ef. 1-1-88 

WCD 4-1981, f. 5-22-81, ef. 7-1-81 

 

 

437-001-0171 Determination of Penalty — Failure to Register a Farm 

Labor Camp/Facility 
 

If an operator, employer, or contractor fails to register a Farm Labor Camp or facility with 

Oregon OSHA as required in Division 4/J, OAR 437-004-1120(5)(b), a penalty of not less than 

$250 [shall be assessed.]and not greater than the maximum penalty for a serious-rated 

violation in accordance with OAR 437-001-0145(2), as adjusted annually in accordance 

with OAR 437-001-0142, shall be assessed. 
 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4) 

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 315.164, 658.750, 658.755, 658.780, 658.785, 658.805, 658.810 & 658.825 

History: 

OSHA X-2023, f. XX-XX-XXXX, effective XX/XX/XXX 

OSHA 13-2021, amend filed 11/01/2021, effective 12/01/2021 

OSHA 5-2018, amend filed 11/29/2018, effective 12/17/2018 

OSHA 8-2017, amend filed 12/22/2017, effective 01/01/2018 

OSHA 6-2003, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-03 
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OSHA 9-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-29-95 

 

 

437-001-0175 Determination of Penalty — Willful or Egregious Violation 
 

[For a willful violation, after applying appropriate adjustments based on the employer’s size, the 

base penalty will normally be multiplied by 25. The Administrator may instead, at his or her 

discretion, assess a penalty between $9,753 and $135,653 based on the facts. For egregious 

violations, the Administrator may assess a separate willful penalty, after appropriate 

adjustments based on the employer’s size, for each instance of a violation.] 

 

(1) A civil penalty must be assessed for each willful violation. The civil penalty for a 

willful violation is determined by the intersection of the probability rating and severity 

rating in accordance with Table 1 below, as adjusted annually in accordance with OAR 

437-001-0142: 

 

Table 1 – Civil Penalties for Willful Violation 

(Updated Annually in Oregon OSHA’s Annual Adjustments to Penalties Bulletin) 

Type Other 
than 
Serious 

Serious  

Severity Serious Physical Harm Death  

Probability Low Medium High Low Medium High 

First-
instance 
Penalty 

$11,162  $25,000  $35,000  $50,000  $75,000  $100,000  $130,000  

 

(2) A civil penalty must be assessed for each willful violation that caused or contributed 

to a work-related fatality. The civil penalty for a willful violation that caused or 

contributed to a work-related fatality is determined by the intersection of the probability 

rating and severity rating in accordance with Table 2 below, as adjusted annually in 

accordance with OAR 437-001-0142: 

 

Table 2 – Civil Penalties for Willful Violation that Caused or Contributed to a Work-
Related Fatality  

(Updated Annually in Oregon OSHA’s Annual Adjustments to Penalties Bulletin) 

Type Other 
than 
Serious 

Serious 

Severity Serious Physical Harm Death 

Probability Low Medium High Low Medium High 

First-
instance 
Penalty 

$50,000 $60,000 $95,000 $125,000 $175,000 $190,000 $240,000 

 

(3) Willful violations that caused or contributed to a work-related fatality are not eligible 

for employer size reductions. 

 

(4) At the discretion of the Administrator, a civil penalty may be issued for any willful 

violation and for any willful violation that caused or contributed to a work-related fatality 
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up to the maximum penalty amount in accordance with OAR 437-001-0145(2), as adjusted 

annually in accordance with OAR 437-001-0142.  

 

(5) For egregious violations, the Administrator may assess a separate civil penalty for 

each instance of a violation under section (1) or (2) of this rule. 
 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4) 

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.001 through 654.295 

History: 

OSHA X-2023, f. XX-XX-XXXX, effective XX/XX/XXX 

OSHA 13-2021, amend filed 11/01/2021, effective 12/01/2021 

OSHA 8-2017, amend filed 12/22/2017, effective 01/01/2018 

OSHA 2-2012, f. 5-11-12, cert. ef. 7-1-12 

OSHA 7-1992, f. 7-31-92, cert. ef. 10-1-92 

APD 7-1988, f. 6-17-88, ef. 7-1-74 

WCD 5-1978, f. 6-22-78, ef. 8-15-78 

WCB 8-1985, f. 8-5-75, ef. 9-1-75 

 

 

437-001-0180 Determination of Penalty — Relating to Red Warning 

Notice 
 

Any employer who violates or directs another to violate OAR 437-001-0096(3) or (4) shall be 

assessed a civil penalty of not less than $[100]250 and not more [$13,653]than maximum 

penalty for [each such]a serious-rated violation in accordance with OAR 437-001-0145(2), 

as adjusted annually in accordance with OAR 437-001-0142.  

 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4) 

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.001 through 654.295 

History: 

OSHA X-2023, f. XX-XX-XXXX, effective XX/XX/XXX 

OSHA 13-2021, amend filed 11/01/2021, effective 12/01/2021 

APD 7-1988, f. 6-17-88, ef. 7-1-74 

APD 6-1987, f. 12-23-87, ef. 1-1-88 

WCD 5-1978, f. 6-22-78, ef. 8-15-78 

 

 

437-001-0201 Determination of Penalty — Relating to Field Sanitation 
 

The Administrator shall assess a minimum civil penalty of not less than $250 and not 

[more]greater than [$ 500]the maximum penalty for a serious-rated violation in accordance 

with OAR 437-001-0145(2), as adjusted annually in accordance with OAR 437-001-0142, to 

employers of workers who are engaged in field activities for the growing and harvesting of food 

crops intended for human consumption, who substantially fail to comply with OAR 437-004-

[0110]1110 in [division]Division 4, Agriculture. 
 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726([3]4) 

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.001 - 654.295 

History: 

OSHA X-2023, f. XX-XX-XXXX, effective XX/XX/XXX 

OSHA 7-1999, f. & cert. ef. 7-15-99 
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APD 7-1988, f. 6-17-88, ef. 7-1-74 

APD 6-1987, f. 12-23-87, ef. 1-1-88 

WCD 9-1986, f. 10-7-86, ef. 12-1-86 

 

 

437-001-0203 Determination of Penalty — Relating to Violations Which 

Have No Probability and Severity. 
 

(1) Safety and Health Protection on the Job Poster — If the employer has not displayed the 

poster, a minimum penalty of $100 may be assessed. 

 

(2) Annual Summary — If an employer fails to post the summary portion of the OSHA 300 Form 

no later than February 1 of the year following the year covered by the records and keep it 

posted until April 30 in accordance with 437-001-0700(17)(e), a minimum penalty of $200 may 

be assessed. 

 

(3) Citation — If an employer fails to post the citation after receipt, a minimum penalty of $200 

may be assessed. 

 

(4) OSHA 300 and DCBS 801 Forms — If the employer does not maintain the Log and 

Summary of Occupational Injuries and Illnesses, OSHA 300 Form, and the Supplementary 

Record, DCBS Form 801 or equivalent, a minimum penalty of $100 may be assessed for each 

OSHA form not maintained. 

 

(5) Access to Records — If the employer fails upon request to provide records for inspection 

and copying by any authorized representative of Oregon OSHA or by any employee, former 

employee, or authorized representative of employees, a minimum penalty of $100 may be 

assessed for each form not made available. 

 

(6) Flush Toilets/Warm Water Hand Washing Facilities — If an employer fails to provide flush 

toilets or warm water hand washing facilities on a construction site according to OAR 437-003-

0020 in 437, division 3, Construction, a penalty of not less than $200, nor more than [$2,500, 

shall be assessed.] the maximum other than serious civil penalty in accordance with OAR 

437-001-0145(2), as adjusted annually in accordance with OAR 437-001-0142, shall be 

assessed.   

 

NOTE: Forms referenced are available from the agency. 
 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4) 

Statutes/Other Implemented: [ORS 654.086] ORS 654.001-654.295 

 

History: 

OSHA X-2023, f. XX-XX-XXXX, effective XX/XX/XXX 

OSHA 5-2018, amend filed 11/29/2018, effective 12/17/2018 

OSHA 9-2008, f. 9-19-08, cert. ef. 1-1-09 

OSHA 6-2003, f. & cert. ef. 11-26-03 

OSHA 11-2001, f. 9-14-01, cert. ef. 1-1-02 

OSHA 10-1995, f. & cert. ef. 11-29-95 

OSHA 7-1992, f. 7-31-92, cert. ef. 10-1-92 
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APD 7-1988, f. 6-17-88, ef. 7-1-74 

APD 6-1987, f. 12-23-87, ef. 1-1-88 

 

 

437-001-0295 Discrimination Complaint 
 

(1) An employee or prospective employee may file a complaint as provided in ORS 654.062(5) if 

the employee believes discrimination has occurred because:  

(a) The employee opposed a practice forbidden by, or engaged in a practice provided 

for, in the Oregon Safe Employment Act; or 

(b) [The]With no reasonable alternative and in good faith, the employee refused [in 

good faith]to [be]perform a work task that would expose the employee to a 

hazardous condition that presents a real risk of death or serious physical harm 

and all of the following conditions are met: 

(A) Where possible, the employee requested from the employer, and was 

unable to obtain, a correction of the hazardous condition; and 

(B) A reasonable person would agree that the task, work area, equipment, 

or other factors created a hazardous condition that if exposed, would have 

subjected the employee to imminent danger [provided the employer refused to 

correct the hazard or it was not possible to notify the employer of the danger and 

the employee has notified Oregon OSHA or other appropriate agency, of the 

hazard, unless excused on the basis of]or serious physical harm; and 

(C) Due to the urgency of the hazardous condition, there was insufficient 

time or opportunity [as stated in OAR 839-003-0025, Bureau of Labor and 

Industries rules.]to correct the hazard through regulatory authorities, such 

as Oregon OSHA. 

(2) The discrimination complaint [shall]must be filed with the Commissioner of the Bureau of 

Labor and Industries, 800 NE Oregon Street, Portland, Oregon 97232, within [90 days]one year 

after the employee or prospective employee had reasonable cause to believe discrimination 

occurred. The complaint may also be filed in any Circuit Court of the State of Oregon. 

 

(3) The complaint may also be dual filed with the U.S. Department of Labor, 3056 Federal 

Office Building, Seattle, Washington 98174 as stated in 29 CFR 1977.15. 

 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 654.025(2) & 656.726(4) 

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 654.001-654.295 

History: 

OSHA X-2023, f. XX-XX-XXXX, effective XX/XX/XXX 

OSHA 5-2018, amend filed 11/29/2018, effective 12/17/2018 

OSHA 8-2007, f. & cert. ef. 12-3-07 

OSHA 7-2002, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-02 

APD 7-1988, f. 6-17-88, ef. 7-1-74 

APD 6-1987, f. 12-23-87, ef. 1-1-88 

WCD 4-1981, f. 5-22-81, ef. 7-1-81 

WCD 5-1978, f. 6-22-78, ef. 8-15-78 

WCB 8-1975, f. 8-5-75, ef. 9-1-75 
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WCB 19-1974, f. 6-5-74, ef. 7-1-74 

 
 




