Safety and health newsletter for the Oregon construction industry

April 15, 2013


Don't forget to report overnight hospitalizations and fatalities

Image for article

If you're an employer, remember to call Oregon OSHA and report any incidents at your workplace that cause overnight hospitalizations or fatalities — including heart attacks and motor vehicle accidents.

Here's what you need to do:

Overnight hospitalizations: Call within 24 hours. Report the overnight hospitalization of an employee for medical treatment within 24 hours of the incident.

Fatalities and catastrophes: Call within eight hours. Report the death of any employee or a catastrophe (three or more employees admitted to a hospital) within eight hours of the incident or within eight hours after it has been reported to you.

Call 503-378-3272 or 800-922-2689 to report overnight hospitalizations, catastrophes, or fatalities.

Failure to report an incident within the given time limits can result in a penalty of at least $250. Remember, you must call Oregon OSHA; reporting an incident to your workers' compensation carrier does not fulfill the requirement.

Reporting an incident does not assign fault, does not prove the violation of an OSHA rule, and does not establish an employee's eligibility for workers' compensation or other benefits.

Oregon OSHA's fact sheet, Reporting work-related incidents, also includes a summary of these requirements.


Reprinting, excerpting, or plagiarizing any part of this publication is fine with us!

But remember: the information in this newsletter is intended to highlight safe work practices, but it does not replace Oregon OSHA workplace safety and health rules.

For information about Oregon OSHA services and answers to technical questions, call (503) 378-3272 or toll-free within Oregon, (800) 922-2689.