August 5, 2016
I do maintenance work but don't use ladders often or climb very high on them. If I'm told to work 20 feet up on an extension ladder and that height makes me uncomfortable, do I have to do it?
Oregon OSHA doesn't have a rule that specifically limits how high your employer can make you work on an extension ladder. Our regulations limit the overall length of certain types of ladders. For example, two-section extension ladders can be up to 60 feet long, which means that an employee could work up to that height. However, your employer should understand that ladders are inherently dangerous and, if you do not feel safe climbing beyond your comfort level, you should not be encouraged to do it.
If you want to receive the Resource Newsletter, sign up for future issues here.
Reprinting, excerpting, or plagiarizing any part of this publication is fine with us. Please send us a copy of your publication or inform the Resource editor as a courtesy. If you have questions about the information in Resource, please call 503-378-3272.
For general information, technical answers, or information about Oregon OSHA services, please call 503-378-3272 or toll-free within Oregon, 800-922-2689.