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Know your rights 

You have a  

right to a safe  

and healthful  
workplace

1-800-922-2689
osha.oregon.gov

FOR MORE INFORMATION, copies  

of the Oregon Safe Employment Act,  

specific safety and health standards,  

advice or assistance, call:

Salem Central Office ....... 503-378-3272

Field Offices:

Bend  .............................
.. 541-388-6066

Eugene ............................ 5
41-686-7562

Medford .......................... 541-776-6030

Pendleton ........................ 541-276-9175

Portland .......................... 503-229-5910

Salem  ..............................
503-378-3274

440-1507 (10/16/OR-OSHA)

Display this poster where all your workers can see it!          

Oregon Administrative Rule 437-001-0275(2)(a).

This free poster is available from Oregon OSHA

— It’s the law! —

The Oregon Safe Employment Act of 1973 provides job  

safety and health protection for workers through the 

promotion of safe and healthful working conditions 

throughout the state. The Oregon Occupational Safety 

and Health Division (Oregon OSHA) of the Department 

of Consumer and Business Services has the primary 

responsibility for administering the act.

Oregon OSHA issues occupational safety and health 

standards, and its trained safety and health compliance 

officers conduct job-site inspections to ensure compliance  

with the Oregon Safe Employment Act. 

Oregon OSHA has a staff of trained safety and health 

professionals available to work with businesses in all 

industries to improve workplace safety and health. 

Consultations and training opportunities are available at  

no charge to Oregon businesses by calling any of the  

phone numbers listed.

• You have the right to notify your employer or 

Oregon OSHA about workplace hazards. You may 

ask Oregon OSHA to keep your name confidential.

• You have the right to request an Oregon OSHA 

inspection if you believe that there are unsafe or 

unhealthy conditions in your workplace. You or your 

representative may participate in the inspection.

• You have the right to report a work-related injury  

or illness, without being retaliated against.

• You can file a complaint with the Oregon Bureau of 

Labor and Industries within 90 days, or with federal 

OSHA within 30 days, of discrimination by your 

employer for making safety and health complaints 

or for exercising your rights under the Oregon Safe 

Employment Act. 

• Anyone who wants to register a complaint about the 

administration of the Oregon Safe Employment Act 

can do so by contacting: 

 U.S. Department of Labor

 OSHA Region X

 1111 Third Ave., Suite 715

 Seattle, WA 98101-3212

 206-553-5930

• You have a right to see Oregon OSHA citations 

issued to your employer. Your employer must post 

the citations at the workplace.

• Your employer must correct workplace hazards  

by the date indicated on the citation and must 

certify that these hazards have been reduced  

or eliminated.

• You have the right to copies of your medical records 

or records of your exposure to toxic and harmful 

substances or conditions. Additionally, you may 

request the workplace injury and illness log.

• You have the right to know about hazardous 

substances used in your workplace.
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“The improbable not only can occur – it will 
occur, with appalling frequency.”
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Workplace 
protection begins 
with the recognition 
that the unlikely 
will happen
By Michael Wood

As 2016 comes to a close, I find myself reflect-
ing a bit about probabilities and how little 
the people who must use them really under-

stand them. And perhaps nowhere is that as true as 
in workplace health and safety.

Even professionals in the field get sloppy about this at times 
– making it sound like something isn’t high-risk behavior 
unless it’s more likely than not to result in an immediate 
injury. But that’s not the reality of the workplace – employers 
and workers do not, in fact, engage in activities that typically 
injure the workers before the end of the first shift in which 
they do it.

The simple truth is that hundreds of Oregon roofers will 
probably spend much of this week working without fall 
protection. Countless machine operators will go about their 
tasks with machines that are either inadequately guarded 
or completely unguarded. And scores of excavation 
contractors will allow their employees to routinely work in 
trenches with insufficient or nonexistent protection. The list 
is almost endless.

And the reality underlying those risks is one of the reasons 
that it is sometimes so difficult to get employers and even 
workers to take the risks in the workplace seriously. But the 
truth is that a 1 in 500 risk of becoming seriously injured 
when you work without fall protection is a high risk – it’s 
unacceptable, and, over the course of a year, it makes the 
risk that you will be injured reasonably likely. And if you 
multiply the risk by the large number of workers engaged 
in similar activity, even much smaller probabilities are likely 
to become realities. 

That’s why it is not enough to protect employees only from 
those events that are likely to occur. Because what is unlikely 
in a particular case is genuinely inevitable with enough 
events and with enough repetitions. The improbable not 
only can occur – it will occur, with appalling frequency.

Some of the rules we enforce involve improbable 
circumstances – even an improbable chain of events. But 
it also axiomatic that the rules we enforce “are written in 
blood.” Almost every circumstance, almost every procedure, 
is based not on some theoretical model, but on real-life 
experience, no matter how unlikely. 

If we are going to protect those we serve, we must achieve 
“unnecessary” levels of compliance. We must use safety 
devices and follow appropriate working procedures on days 
when nothing would have happened. 

When I give speeches, I occasionally ask the audience how 
many of them wore their seatbelts as they drove to the 
event – it’s usually everyone, or almost everyone. Then, I 
ask how many needed to do so. Almost no one does. But 
you don’t get the chance to go back and put the seatbelt 
on when it turns out that you needed it. The only way that 
you make sure that you have it the one time that you need 
it is by wearing it literally thousands of times “unnecessarily.” 
Because the improbable will indeed happen.



DON’T MISS OUT

Don’t  
miss out

Excavation Safety .  .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   	 Medford 	 12/13/2016	 1 p.m. 	
Hazard Communication Program – Aligned With GHS .  .   	 Salem 	 12/15/2016	 1 p.m. 
		  Klamath Falls 	 01/26/2017 	 1 p.m.
Hazard Identification and Control .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .             	 Medford 	 12/13/2016 	 8 a.m.	
Safety Meetings and Committees .  .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   	 Wilsonville 	 01/12/2017 	 8 a.m.
Safety and the Supervisor .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .                  	 Wilsonville 	 01/12/2017 	 1 p.m.
Worker Protection Standard .  .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   	 Salem 	 12/15/2016  	 8 a.m.
		  Klamath Falls 	 01/26/2017 	 8 a.m.

Education: Upcoming December and January workshops —PUBLIC EDUCATION

For more information: osha.oregon.gov/edu/Pages/index.aspx
To access the most recent updates to the public education schedule:  

osha.oregon.gov/edu/Pages/workshops.aspx

The LARGEST  
Safety & Health Event  

in the Northwest

OREGON  
GOVERNOR’S  
OCCUPATIONAL  
SAFETY & 
HEALTH  
CONFERENCE

MARCH 6-9, 2017  

The GOSH Conference is a joint 
effort of ASSE, Columbia-Willamette 

Chapter,  and Oregon OSHA. 

oregongosh.com

Occupational safety and health solutions for: 
•  Construction 
•  General industry 
•  Healthcare 

•  Manufacturing 
•  Public agencies
•  Utilities
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“Precaution is better than cure.” 
– Sir Edward Coke (1552 – 1634), English barrister

Quotable:

•	 Among Oregon OSHA’s top 10 
violations of 2015, general fall-
protection requirements ranked 
No. 3, with 266 violations and 
initial penalties totaling $624,980.

•	 Deaths caused by falls from 
elevation continue to be a leading 
cause of death for construction 
workers, accounting for 337 of the 
874 construction deaths recorded 
in 2014, according to federal data.

•	 The construction industry has the 
greatest number of both fatal and 
nonfatal traumatic brain injuries 
among U.S. workplaces, according 
to the National Institute for 
Occupational Safety and Health. 
From 2003 to 2010, 2,210 construction workers died because of a 
traumatic brain injury.

•	 In the U.S., more than 500,000 people per year are treated – and about 
300 people die – from ladder-related injuries, according to NIOSH.

•  How far can you fall with a shock-
absorbing lanyard? Oregon OSHA’s 

fall distance educator shows you how to 
calculate your fall distance and your free 

fall distance with three different scenarios. 
To activate the app, go here:  www.cbs.state.

or.us/external/comm/fall_safety/index.html

•  In 2013, 63 Oregon construction workers 
filed (accepted) disabling claims for injuries 
from falling objects. In the “tools and 
equipment” category, items included a box 
cutter, a nonpowered saw, a crowbar, a caliper, 
and an extension ladder.

•  Oriented strand board (OSB), plywood, 
fiberboard, rigid foam, diagonal boards, and 

fiberglass-faced gypsum panels 
are all examples of – sheathing 
or sheeting? Most builders use 
the word sheathing, which means 
a protective ornamental case or 
covering. But there is nothing 
wrong with using sheeting either 
– as long as you’re not referring 
to a fabric for making bed linen. 
Sheeting also means a protective 
lining or cladding of metal or 
timber.

Did you know? 5
DID YOU KNOW?

datapoints:

http://www.cbs.state.or.us/external/comm/fall_safety/index.html
http://www.cbs.state.or.us/external/comm/fall_safety/index.html
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There are two new safety requirements in store 
next year for employers who do construction work 
in Oregon and they are both about fall protection. 

•	 On Jan. 1, Oregon OSHA’s 10-foot trigger height 
– the minimum height at which workers must 
be protected from falls – will fall to six feet (no 
pun intended).

•	 On Oct. 1, slide guards will no longer be 
permitted as a method of protecting workers 
from falling off of sloped roofs. 

These new requirements mean that – if you do 
construction work – you will need to use some form 
of fall protection to prevent your employees from 
falling six feet or more to a lower level, beginning 
Jan. 1, 2017. And, if you are using slide guards as 
fall protection, you will have to use another fall 
protection method – specified in Oregon OSHA 
Subdivision 3/M rules – beginning Oct. 1, 2017.

The six-foot trigger-height requirement is not 
entirely new for Oregon construction contractors; 
it’s always been required for work on established 
floors, mezzanines, balconies, and walkways that 
have unprotected sides and edges. And many large 
commercial construction contractors are already 
using some using fall protection at six feet. More 
likely to be affected by the new requirements are 
contractors who do construction projects on single-
family homes that have a ground-to-eave height 
between six and 10 feet and those who do projects 
where slide guards are used for fall protection. 

Heads up: Fall protection requirements 
for construction are about to change

Why did the rules change?

The story goes back to June 2013, when federal 
OSHA began reviewing fall protection requirements 
in the 26 states and territories that have some form 
of OSHA-approved state plan. 

OSHA identified Oregon’s 10-foot trigger height 
for construction work and the use of slide guards 
as areas of concern. At issue was whether the 
10-foot trigger height and the use of slide guards 
as a means of fall protection were as effective as 
OSHA’s requirements. (OSHA required a six-foot 
trigger height for fall protection and prohibited the 
use of slide guards in 24 states that are under its 
jurisdiction). 

Lowering Oregon OSHA’s 10-foot general trigger 
height to six feet and prohibiting the use of slide 
guards as fall protection were necessary to ensure 
that Oregon OSHA’s requirements were at least as 
effective as federal OSHA’s.

What rules have changed?

The key change – in Oregon OSHA’s Subdivision 
3/M fall protection requirements – states [Except 
where permitted by another standard,] “when 
employees are exposed to a hazard of falling 6 feet 
or more to a lower level, the employer must ensure  
that fall protection systems are provided, installed 
and implemented…”  

The rules that permitted the use of slide guard 
systems, manufactured roof brackets, and job-
made slide guards were also repealed. 

The fall protection trigger height requirements in 
Subdivisions 3/L (Scaffolding), 3/R (Steel Erection), 
3/S (Underground Construction), and 3/CC (Cranes 
and Derricks in Construction) are not affected. 

What do the changes require me to do?
If your employees are exposed to a hazard that could cause them to fall 
six feet or more to a lower level, you must use a fall protection method 
described in Subdivision 3/M to protect them.

http://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/div3/div3.pdf
http://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/proposed/2015/txt-div3-fallproctection-slideguards.pdf
http://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/proposed/2015/txt-div3-fallproctection-slideguards.pdf
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HEADS UP: FALL PROTECTION REQUIREMENTS  
FOR CONSTRUCTION ARE ABOUT TO CHANGE

Seven ways to prevent falls at your site
For many in the construction industry, equipment is the first thing that comes to 
mind as a means for preventing falls. But fall protection is more than just equipment. 
Here are seven ways to prevent falls at your site.

1	 Make fall protection part of 		
	 your safety program and ensure 	
	 that everyone has a role to play in 	
	 preventing falls

	 Effective safety programs have committed 
managers and involved employees – they are 
committed to safety and involved in keeping 
your site hazard free. 

2	 Enforce safe practices with on the 	
	 job supervision

	 Effective supervisors know how to motivate 
employees and, when discipline is necessary, 
they know how to apply it fairly. Essential tasks 
for supervisors:

•	 Verify that employees have been trained and 
can safely perform their work.

•	 Review periodically the safety performance 
of each employee.

•	 Instruct, retrain, or discipline employees who 
work unsafely.

•	 Closely supervise new employees after they 
have been trained.

•	 Require employees to demonstrate they can 
work safely before permitting them to work 
independently.

3	 Prepare a  
	 safety policy

	 Does your company have 
a written safety policy? It 
should. A written policy 
reflects commitment to a 
safe and healthful workplace, 
summarizes management and 
employee responsibilities, and 
emphasizes the importance of 
your safety program. Keep the 
policy brief, commit to it, and 
enforce it.

4	 Designate competent and qualified persons
The competent person

•	 Is responsible for recognizing hazards that cause falls and warning workers about the hazards

•	 Trains employees to recognize fall hazards and follow safety procedures

•	 Serves as the monitor when a safety-monitoring system is used as a fall protection method 

•	 Determines, when safety nets are used, if the nets meet Subdivision 3/M requirements

•	 Inspects a personal fall-arrest system after it arrests a fall and determines if the system is damaged

•	 Evaluates any alteration in a personal fall-arrest system and determines if it is safe to use

The qualified person

•	 Supervises the design, installation, and use of horizontal lifeline systems and fall restraint and fall 
arrest anchors
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5	 Plan to prevent falls
	 Consider factors such as the following 

to help you plan your job at the site:

•	 Which areas of the project are most 
likely to have fall hazards? What 
can you do to prevent falls from 
happening?

•	 What tasks could expose employees 
to fall hazards?

•	 Are walking and working surfaces 
structurally sound and stable?

•	 How will employees access and 
move about the structure to 
do their jobs? Will they move 
horizontally, vertically, or in both 
directions?

•	 Will guardrails and covers for 
holes meet Subdivision 3/M 
requirements?

•	 Are there existing anchors for 
arrest and restraint systems? 
Do they meet Subdivision 3/M 
requirements?

•	 Have employees been trained to 
use ladders properly?

•	 Will other contractors’ employees 
be exposed to falls after your 
employees finish their work? Who 
is responsible for ensuring that fall-
protection, such as guardrails and 
covers, are replaced if they have 
been removed to finish a job?

HEADS UP: FALL PROTECTION REQUIREMENTS  
FOR CONSTRUCTION ARE ABOUT TO CHANGE

6	 Train workers about fall protection
	 Don‘t assume your employees know how to 

protect themselves from falls. They may not be 
familiar with fall hazards at a new job site or know 
how to protect themselves until you train them.

	 Employees must be trained before they begin 
tasks that could expose them to falls and before 
they use fall-protection equipment. They must 
know how to recognize fall hazards and follow 
safe practices.

	 Put it in writing: You must document in writing 
that employees have been trained and that they 

Falls to  
a lower  
level  
are the 
leading  
type  
of  
fall  
in the 
construction 
industry.

know what fall-protection systems or methods 
to use, how to use them, and when to use 
them, regardless of their experience. Include 
their names, training dates, and the trainer’s 
signature.

	 Employees must be retrained for any of the 
following reasons:

•	 They don’t recognize fall hazards.

•	 They don’t understand the procedures that 
control the hazards.

•	 Changes in the workplace or the fall-
protection systems or methods make 
previous training obsolete.
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HEADS UP: FALL PROTECTION REQUIREMENTS  
FOR CONSTRUCTION ARE ABOUT TO CHANGE

7	 Use equipment that prevents  
	 falls from happening

	 When possible, use equipment such as 
guardrails, covers, and restraint systems that 
will eliminate employees’ chances of falling.

	 If it’s not possible to eliminate fall hazards, 
protect workers if they do fall. Use equipment 
that will minimize the risk of injury if a worker 
does fall. Options include personal fall arrest 
systems and safety nets. Also, develop a rescue 
plan that tells employees how to respond if 
something does go wrong. n

Most falls happen between six feet and 20 feet.
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Fall hazards: Know how to spot them
Most people don’t enjoy falling when a soft landing isn’t an option. Those unintended experiences are 
usually caused by fall hazards. You can avoid them if you know where to look and how to prevent them. 
Here’s a summary:

Fall hazard What to do
Wall openings Use guardrails, safety nets, arrest, or 

restraint systems if  the inside bottom edge 
is less than 39 inches high and the outside 
bottom edge is six feet or more above a 
lower level.

Holes in roofs  
and floors

Cover them or use an equivalent method 
to prevent trips and falls. Be sure to 
secure covers so they won’t be displaced 
accidently and paint them sith a distinctive 
color or mark them with the word “Hole” or 
“Cover.”

Attics Use a fall protection system described in 
Subdivision 3/M to prevent falls of  six feet 
or more to a lower level.

Skylights and 
smoke domes

Ensure that skylights and smoke 
domes meet Subdivision 3/M strength 
requirements – or use guardrails or 
barricades to protect employees.

Roofs Use a fall protection system described in 
Subdivision 3/M to prevent falls of  six feet 
or more to a lower level.

Stairways, 
ramps, and 
walkways

Stairways that have four or more risers or 
that rise more than 30 inches, whichever 
is less, must have at least one handrail 
and one stair rail system along each 
unprotected side or edge.

Ramps and walkways must be at least 18 
inches wide and support at least four times 
the maximum intended load. The maximum 
slope cannot exceed one vertical foot for 
every three horizontal feet.

Excavations Use guardrails, fences, or barricades to 
protect employees when the excavation is 
six feet or more deep and not readily seen.

Floors with 
unprotected  
edges 

Use a fall protection system described in 
Subdivision 3/M to prevent falls of  six feet 
or more to a lower level.

ATTIC

ACCESS

HOLES AND 
SKYLIGHTS

ROOF

EXCAVATIONS
ESTABLISHED FLOORS 
that have unprotected sides and edges

BE AWARE OF FALL HAZARDS!

WALL  
OPENINGS

You can control most fall hazards by planning your job 
carefully, training employees how to work safely, and  
enforcing safe practices with on-the-job supervision.

LEADING EDGE 
WORK

FLOOR 
HOLE

Illustration credit: Adapted from original material produced by Werner Co.

You can avoid fall hazards if you know where to look and how to prevent them.

HEADS UP: FALL PROTECTION REQUIREMENTS  
FOR CONSTRUCTION ARE ABOUT TO CHANGE
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Solving fall protection problems
Most fall protection problems can be solved by planning, training employees 
how to protect themselves, enforcing safe practices, and using fall protection 
methods that are appropriate for the project. Consider the following possibilities:

Can you use scaffolding?
Setting trusses

Consider having employees work 
from scaffolding to roll out and 
set trusses, attach the lateral bracing, nail freeze blocks, cut rafter tails, 
attach the fascia board, and nail the first row of roof deck sheathing. This 
keeps them off the top plate and is safer and faster than using a ladder. 

Setting floor joists, sheathing, and decking

•	 Attach a carpenter’s bracket or top plate bracket scaffold to the 
inside or outside of the exterior walls. Two two-inch by six-inch 
planks or a 12-inch-wide fabricated scaffold plank can be used for 
the platform. The scaffolding can be used for setting floor joists and 
attaching the first row of decking and sheathing. When the scaffold 
brackets are set so that the platform is 39 to 45 inches below the 
top plate, the top plate becomes a guardrail. 

•	 Place a two-by-four across door and window openings when 
the distance between the bottom of the header and the scaffold 
platform is greater than 20 inches.

Working on the roof

Scaffolding can be erected at the edge of the roof or as a catch platform. 
Catch platforms must have a standard guardrail and toeboard and 
extend at least two feet past the eave overhang; the guardrail must 
extend substantially above the slope plane of the roof and prevent a 
person from passing over or through the rails.

Working in attics

It is challenging trying to move through a cramped attic to do a job 
while avoiding falling through the joists. Consider using stationary or 
mobile scaffold platforms under the work area.

HEADS UP: FALL PROTECTION REQUIREMENTS  
FOR CONSTRUCTION ARE ABOUT TO CHANGE

Can you change your construction methods? 
Can you modify your construction methods so that you can eliminate or 
minimize employee’s exposure to fall hazards?

Setting floor joists, sheathing, and decking

•	 Walk around the house and measure the fall distances on each side.

•	 Set joists, and then install enough sheathing to anchor a fall-
restraint or fall-arrest system.

•	 Backfill around the foundation when possible. When you do this 
before framing, it’s easier to erect scaffolding, use ladders, and 
handle material.

•	 Erect nonbearing and nonsupporting interior walls after the joists 
and decking and sheathing are set so there is room for scaffolding.

•	 Build wall sections on the ground and use a crane or wall jacks to 
place them.

•	 Attach guardrails to the outside walls before lifting them into place 
to provide perimeter fall protection on the next level for sheathing 
and decking and for framing the walls. 

Setting trusses

•	 Set the hip rafter in place to mark it, and then take it down to saw 
the plumb cut. 

•	 Erect and sheathe a series of trusses on the ground and then lift the 
unit into place with a crane.

•	 Sheathe the gabled end, then flip it up and then secure it to two 
outside supports on the building exterior; this can be done from 
scaffolding.

Photo: Acro Building Systems
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Can you use an aerial lift?
Setting floor joists, sheathing, and decking

With enough room and a solid level surface, you can 
use a scissor lift to set joists or help with decking 
and sheathing work – and it’s not necessary to use a 
harness or a lanyard in a scissor lift.

Working on the roof

On stable, level terrain, you can use an aerial lift to 
access hard-to-reach areas near the eave of a roof. 

You can also use a work platform attached to the forks 
of a rough-terrain forklift if the worker on the platform 
uses a fall-arrest or restraint system, guardrails are at 
the proper height, and the fall protection anchors will 
hold 5,000 pounds. The platform floor can’t exceed 
the overall width of the truck measured across the 
load-bearing tires plus 10 inches on either side. 

HEADS UP: FALL PROTECTION REQUIREMENTS  
FOR CONSTRUCTION ARE ABOUT TO CHANGE

Arrest and restraint systems
Working on the roof

Personal fall arrest and fall-restraint systems are the best options when 
permanent anchors are available or when secure temporary anchors 
can be installed. Remember that the anchor for a personal fall arrest 
system must be able to support at least 5,000 pounds and 3,000 pounds 
for a personal fall arrest system.

Don’t forget guardrails
Working on the roof

Guardrails can be attached to the edge or surface of the roof, or held in 
place by a weighted counter-balance system.

Working on established floors

•	 Guardrails are the most effective method for protecting employees 
on established floors that have unprotected sides and edges. Use 
temporary guardrails until permanent guardrails can be installed. 

•	 When workers need to remove guardrails temporarily, they must 
use another fall-protection system or method until the guardrails 
are replaced.

Access areas

Reusable, temporary guardrail systems make it easy to construct 
freestanding railings for stairways, ramps, walkways, and balconies. 

What about ladders?
Falls from ladders are a leading source of injuries in the construction 
industry, but ladders are an option when there aren’t safer ways to work 
above a lower level. 

If you have employees who use ladders, make sure that a competent 
person has trained them. Their training must cover ladder hazards, how 
to use ladders, ladder capacities, and Oregon OSHA’s requirements for 
the ladders they use.

Other options
Other fall protection options include safety nets, positioning devices, 
and warning lines and safety monitoring systems for roofing work. You’ll 
find the requirements in Oregon OSHA’s Subdivision 3/M fall protection 
requirements (1926.502, Fall protection systems, criteria, and practices). n
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Can I use a warning line to protect employees working next to 
an unprotected floor edge?
No. Warning lines are not permitted for construction of the roof deck or for 
leading edge work. Warning lines can be used for roofing work (which includes 
hoisting, storing, applying, and removing roofing materials and equipment). 
The roof must have a slope of 2:12 or less and the warning line must be at least 
six feet back from the unprotected roof edge (or 10 feet on roofs where mobile 
equipment is used).

Can tradespeople other than roofers use warning lines when 
they are working on a roof?
Yes. You can use a warning line to alert workers that they are approaching an 
unprotected edge of a roof, floor, or other work surface. The warning line must 
be set back at least 10 feet – or farther if weather, visibility, or the condition 
of the work surface increase the risk of a fall. Never use a warning line as a 
substitute for a guardrail.  n

Fall protection: Q&A
How close to the edge of a deck or floor can employees work 
before fall protection is required?
They must be far enough back from the edge to eliminate any possibility of 
a fall under any conditions. Consider all relevant factors to determine a safe 
distance. Is the surface sloped, uneven, or slippery? Are there tripping hazards? 
Is there wind, ice, snow, or rain? Could pulling, pushing, or carrying material 
cause employees to lose their balance? Are employees working from ladders 
placed next to the edge? Will employees be walking parallel or perpendicular 
to an unprotected edge? Could they stumble and fall over the edge? 



How are you protected?
Protection from discrimination means that your employer cannot retaliate 
against you for reporting a workplace safety and health violation and for other 
protected activities, including:

n	 Providing information to a government agency (Oregon OSHA or BOLI), a 
supervisor (the employer), a union, health department, fire department, or 
an elected official

n	 Filing a formal complaint with Oregon OSHA or BOLI

n	 Testifying in proceedings such as trials hearings or appeals related to  
the complaint

n	 Participating in workplace inspections and investigations

n	 Refusal to perform an assigned task that endangers your safety or health

What state agencies are involved in whistleblowing cases?
Oregon OSHA contracts with BOLI to handle whistleblowing discrimination 
complaints.

Oregon OSHA provides BOLI with technical help, refers cases to the Ombudsman 
for Injured Workers, audits BOLI cases, and investigates cases in which safety 
and health violations may have occurred.

“It’s the law! You have a right to a safe and healthful workplace.” Those words 
should be common knowledge to every working Oregonian because they are 
prominent in Oregon OSHA’s safety and health poster, which is displayed in 
every Oregon workplace – or, at least it should be. 

Your rights include participating in safety and health inspections, talking to an 
Oregon OSHA inspector, seeing your employer’s exposure and injury records, 
and stating a safety or health concern to your employer. But what do you do 
when you are denied those rights? 

If you are worried about what your employer will do to you because you are 
concerned about unsafe work conditions where you work, that is discrimination 
and you can do something about it (see sidebar). 

You feel unsafe at work 
– now what do you do?

Filing a whistleblower discrimination complaint
If you think your employer is discriminating against you because you are 
concerned about unsafe work conditions, you can file a complaint with 
the Civil Rights Division of the Bureau of Labor and Industries (BOLI). 

Complaints alleging retaliation must be filed within 90 days of when the 
retaliation occurs. Filing a complaint begins by filling out a questionnaire 
and returning it to the Portland BOLI office. You may also call BOLI’s  
Civil Rights Division at 971-673-0764 (English) or 971-673-2818 (Spanish).

Whistleblower discrimination complaints aren’t rare. BOLI’s Civil Rights 
Division handles as many as 125 cases annually.
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Who can file a complaint with BOLI?
Anyone who feels discriminated against for 
exercising their rights under the Oregon Safe 
Employment Act can file a complaint with BOLI. The 
complaint must:

n	 State the name and address of the employer.

n	 Describe the unlawful practice.

n	 Be signed by the person who made the 
complaint.

n	 Be filed with BOLI within 90 of the unlawful 
practice.

What is involved in filing a 
discrimination complaint with BOLI?
A BOLI intake officer will talk to you to determine  
if there is a basis for your complaint.

The intake officer may refer the complainant to 
either BOLI or federal OSHA depending on whether 
the complaint falls under state or federal laws.

The intake officer will draw up a complaint for 
you to review and sign if there are grounds for a 
case. When BOLI receives your signed complaint, 
notification letters will be sent to you and your 
employer.

The notification letter will request a position 
statement from your employer within 14 days 
of the time the case is assigned to a civil rights 
investigator, and you will be required to contact 
the investigator within 14 days to schedule a 
complainant interview.

A senior civil rights investigator will contact you 
for an in-depth interview. Your complaint will also 
be emailed to Oregon OSHA for entry into federal 
OSHA’s whistleblower database.

You will be given an in-depth interview within 45 
days from the date your complaint is filed with 
BOLI. The interview will cover each issue you 
identify and the date it happened. You must be able 
to explain the connection between how you were 
discriminated against and your protected rights  
(for example, being fired for reporting a safety 
hazard). You must also identify witnesses if you 
know their names.

If there is any missing evidence, you will be given 
time to provide it, but you must do it in a timely 
manner.

After the interview, your case will be classified in 
one of three ways: 

n	 The investigator will determine there is enough 
evidence to support your case.

n	 The investigator needs more information about 
your case.

n	 The case will be dismissed because the 
evidence indicates that your rights were not 
violated.

BOLI will complete your case within 90 days, 
unless extenuating circumstances require 
more time. When the investigation ends, BOLI 
will notify you of the determination in writing 
and tell you about your appeal rights with  
Oregon OSHA.

If BOLI determines that your rights were not 
violated, BOLI will dismiss your complaint, notify 
you and your employer of the dismissal, and tell 
you of your right to file a civil suit in a state circuit 
court. You may also appeal BOLI’s finding to Oregon 
OSHA within 15 days of receiving a case dismissal 
letter from BOLI.

If BOLI finds  
that your rights 
were violated,  
your complaint 
may be assigned 
to a BOLI rep-
resentative for 
settlement.

Settling disputes through “Conference, 
conciliation, and persuasion”
“Conference, conciliation, and persuasion” is a 
legal term for settling disputes between two 
parties cooperatively. Sometimes, BOLI will use this 
method for settling whistleblower disputes. 

BOLI will start by holding a fact-finding conference 
with you and your employer. 

A BOLI investigator will schedule the conference, 
notifying you and your employer of the meeting 
date, time, and place. If you reach an agreement 
during the conference that is satisfactory to you and 
your employer, the BOLI investigator will prepare a 
conciliation agreement that states:

n	 You and your employer accept the terms of the 
agreement.

n	 You and your employer will abide by the terms 
within the time established by the agreement.

n	 BOLI will investigate any alleged breaches of 
the agreement.

n	 BOLI will close the case after your and your 
employer sign the agreement.  n

YOU FEEL UNSAFE AT WORK – NOW WHAT DO YOU DO?
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Short takes
Excavator cited for willful violations
By Aaron Corvin

Oregon OSHA has fined Estacada-based TC Excavating 
LLC $142,800 for five violations, including two willful 
violations. The citation was based on an investigation 
of a trench that collapsed and killed an employee.

The accident occurred on May 5, 2016, during the 
installation of a sewer line for a house in southwest 
Portland. The investigation found two employees were 
working in an improperly shored trench that was about 
10 feet deep. The excavation was incorrectly braced 
because two pieces of shoring were spaced too far 
apart to handle unstable soil. One of the employees 
was on his hands and knees working between the two 
pieces of shoring – spaced 15 feet apart – when the 
unprotected wall collapsed. The collapse buried and 
killed the employee.

During the investigation, the company’s owner, who 
was on site, said he was negligent in allowing his 
employees to work in such a situation. He said he saw 
that the shoring was set up about 15 feet apart and that 
he knew it was not set up correctly. “I know the rules,” 
he said, noting he has more than 16 years of excavation 
experience.

Oregon OSHA cited the company for two willful 
violations, each with the legal maximum penalty of 
$70,000. A willful violation occurs when an employer 
intentionally or knowingly allows a violation to occur.

One of the willful violations was based on the 
company’s failure to provide employees with an 
adequate system to protect them from cave-ins. The 
other willful violation stemmed from the company’s 
failure to provide employees with a ladder or other safe 
means to leave the trench. 

The following serious violations, totaling $2,800 in fines, 
were also found during the investigation:

•	 The company failed to inspect the excavation 
and protective system before employees went 
to work. 

•	 The company failed to keep a pile of unearthed 
material away from the edge of the excavation, 
exposing employees to possible falling debris.

•	 Oregon OSHA’s investigation also showed the 
company failed to document safety meetings.

For more information about Oregon OSHA’s rules 
regarding excavations visit the Excavations topic 
page. Learn about excavations and safe practices 
for small business owners and contractors in this 
Excavations publication.
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Video contest is now open for submissions
High school students across Oregon are invited to 
let their video skills shine in service of a good cause: 
increasing awareness about safety on the job for 
young workers.

The annual “Speak up. Work safe.” video contest 
is now open for submissions – quirky, serious, or 
otherwise. The top three entries will take home cash 
prizes ranging from $300 to $500, and students will 
earn a matching amount for their school.

The deadline for submissions is  
Wednesday, Feb. 1, 2017.

Contest winners will be unveiled at a screening 
event in spring 2017, and winning entries will be 
posted on YouTube.

Students must create a 90-second or less video that 
inspires young workers to do at least one thing 
differently to stay safe on the job. The video must 
include the theme: “Speak up. Work safe.” The video 
must educate young workers about the importance 
of speaking up in the workplace. Participants are 
encouraged to develop a key message or slogan, 
use humor, and get creative while emphasizing 
ways to protect themselves – and their co-workers 
– from getting hurt on the job.

Submissions will be judged on the following:

•	 An original health and safety message that 
appeals to teen workers and safety educators 

•	 Overall production value (video/audio quality, 
acting, and editing) 

•	 “Speak up. Work safe.” theme is used effectively

•	 Starting this year, students may submit their 
videos online.

For detailed contest information, including tips, 
rules, entry forms, workplace safety and young 
worker resources, and a playlist of past finalist 
videos, go to youngemployeesafety.org/contest/.

The Oregon Young Employee Safety Coalition 
(O[yes]) organizes the contest. The sponsors are 
Oregon OSHA, SAIF Corporation, local Oregon 
chapters of the American Society of Safety 
Engineers, the Oregon Institute of Occupational 
Health Sciences at OHSU, the SHARP Alliance, the 
Central Oregon Safety & Health Association, the 
SafeBuild Alliance, Hoffman Construction, and 
Construction Safety Summit.​

SPONSORED BY:

Speak up. Work safe.

First prize: $500   Second prize: $400  Third prize: $300
Winners’ schools will receive a matching prize.

youngemployeesafety.org/contest

    Deadline: February 1, 2017
Watch last year’s winning video

#Oyesvideo

Oregon young employee safety

video contest

You could be 90 seconds 
away from $500
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Oregon OSHA awards grants  
for safety and health  
training programs
Oregon OSHA has awarded three grants totaling more than $92,000 to  
help develop workplace safety and health education and training programs. 
The recipients are: 

Northwest Forest Worker Center: Preventing 
“Struck by Object” Accidents Among Forest Workers in 
Southern Oregon

The nonprofit group will develop training materials 
to reduce the risk to forest workers in Jackson and 
Josephine counties of getting struck by a falling 
tree or branch. 

The training materials will be videos – offered in 
Spanish and English – that engage trainees in 
discussions that connect to their own workplace 
experiences. Workers will learn best practices for 
preventing injuries, the legally required safety 
precautions, and their rights to a safe workplace.

Grant award: $40,000

City of Bend Fire Department: Injury Prevention 
Through Biomechanical Resilience Training

The City of Bend Fire Department will launch a 
training project designed to reduce injuries and 
claims costs among firefighters by improving the 
efficiency of their physical movements, and their 
flexibility and core strength.

Firefighters are prone to on-the-job sprains, strains, 
and tears, in part because the ergonomics of the 
basic task movements have not been addressed or 
corrected.

The training project will include development of 
therapeutic exercise prescriptions based on the 
results of a job-specific movement analysis.

Grant award: $30,710

SafeBuild Alliance: Identifying and Documenting 
Best Known Lean Safety Practices

The nonprofit group will create a training 
and information program that identifies and 
communicates the best methods of integrating lean 
principles – which call for eliminating waste and 
boosting efficiency – with safe work procedures.

The program will pinpoint the best methods of 
blending lean principles and workplace safety 
procedures, develop and deliver training based on 
those methods, and make the information widely 
available to others.

Grant award: $21,882.50

The Oregon Legislature launched the Occupational Safety and Health 
Education and Training Grant Program in 1990. Award recommendations are 
made by Oregon OSHA’s Safe Employment Education and Training Advisory 
Committee, an advisory group with members from business, organized labor, 
and government.
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IT’S 
THE 
LAW!

Know your rights 

You have a  

right to a safe  

and healthful  
workplace

1-800-922-2689
osha.oregon.gov

FOR MORE INFORMATION, copies  

of the Oregon Safe Employment Act,  

specific safety and health standards,  

advice or assistance, call:

Salem Central Office ....... 503-378-3272

Field Offices:

Bend  .............................
.. 541-388-6066

Eugene ............................ 5
41-686-7562

Medford .......................... 541-776-6030

Pendleton ........................ 541-276-9175

Portland .......................... 503-229-5910

Salem  ..............................
503-378-3274

440-1507 (10/16/OR-OSHA)

Display this poster where all your workers can see it!          

Oregon Administrative Rule 437-001-0275(2)(a).

This free poster is available from Oregon OSHA

— It’s the law! —

The Oregon Safe Employment Act of 1973 provides job  

safety and health protection for workers through the 

promotion of safe and healthful working conditions 

throughout the state. The Oregon Occupational Safety 

and Health Division (Oregon OSHA) of the Department 

of Consumer and Business Services has the primary 

responsibility for administering the act.

Oregon OSHA issues occupational safety and health 

standards, and its trained safety and health compliance 

officers conduct job-site inspections to ensure compliance  

with the Oregon Safe Employment Act. 

Oregon OSHA has a staff of trained safety and health 

professionals available to work with businesses in all 

industries to improve workplace safety and health. 

Consultations and training opportunities are available at  

no charge to Oregon businesses by calling any of the  

phone numbers listed.

• You have the right to notify your employer or 

Oregon OSHA about workplace hazards. You may 

ask Oregon OSHA to keep your name confidential.

• You have the right to request an Oregon OSHA 

inspection if you believe that there are unsafe or 

unhealthy conditions in your workplace. You or your 

representative may participate in the inspection.

• You have the right to report a work-related injury  

or illness, without being retaliated against.

• You can file a complaint with the Oregon Bureau of 

Labor and Industries within 90 days, or with federal 

OSHA within 30 days, of discrimination by your 

employer for making safety and health complaints 

or for exercising your rights under the Oregon Safe 

Employment Act. 

• Anyone who wants to register a complaint about the 

administration of the Oregon Safe Employment Act 

can do so by contacting: 

 U.S. Department of Labor

 OSHA Region X

 1111 Third Ave., Suite 715

 Seattle, WA 98101-3212

 206-553-5930

• You have a right to see Oregon OSHA citations 

issued to your employer. Your employer must post 

the citations at the workplace.

• Your employer must correct workplace hazards  

by the date indicated on the citation and must 

certify that these hazards have been reduced  

or eliminated.

• You have the right to copies of your medical records 

or records of your exposure to toxic and harmful 

substances or conditions. Additionally, you may 

request the workplace injury and illness log.

• You have the right to know about hazardous 

substances used in your workplace.

Oregon OSHA adopts changes to 437-001-0700, 
Recording Workplace Injuries and Illnesses
On Nov. 10, Oregon OSHA adopted changes to its 
Division 1 requirements for reporting workplace 
injuries and illnesses to align them with the 
requirements in federal OSHA’s unusually titled final 
rule, Improve Tracking of Workplace Injuries and Illnesses. 
(As part of its state plan agreement with federal OSHA, 
Oregon OSHA’s rules must be at least as affective as 
OSHA’s.) 

The key changes in Oregon OSHA’s Division 1 rule – 
437-001-0700, Recording Workplace Injuries and Illnesses 
– become effective May 1, 2017, and require employers to:

•	 Establish a procedure for employees to report 
work-related injuries and illnesses promptly and 
accurately. 

•	 Inform employees about the procedure and tell 
them how they can report injuries and illnesses. 

•	 Inform employees that they have the right to 
report work-related injuries and illnesses free from 
retaliation.

•	 Electronically submit injury and illness records 
to federal OSHA annually if they are in one of the 
following categories:

~	 They had 250 or more 
employees at any time 
during the previous calendar 
year and are required to 
maintain an OSHA 300 log.

~	 They are in an industry listed 
in the rule and had 20 or 
more employees but fewer 
than 250 employees at any 
time during the previous 
calendar year.

Setting up reporting procedures

Employers can set up their own procedures for reporting 
work-related injuries and illnesses – the only restriction 
is that the procedure must not deter or discourage an 
employee from accurately reporting a workplace injury 
or illness. 

The procedure must give employees a reasonable time 
to determine if the injury is serious enough to report. A 
procedure that requires immediate reporting without 
accounting for the nature of the injury would not be 
reasonable, for example.

The procedure must not make reporting so difficult or 
complicated that an employee would be discouraged 
from reporting. For example, if an employee must travel 
a significant distance to report or must report the same 
injury or illness multiple times to multiple levels of 
management, the procedure would not be reasonable.

Informing employees about their rights

Informing employees about their rights to report 
workplace injuries and illnesses free from retaliation 
is easy. Meet the requirement by posting the current 

version of Oregon 
OSHA’s It’s the law!  
poster or by telling 
the employees they 
have a right to report 
work-related injuries 
and illnesses free 
from retaliation – a 
written notice to each 
employee or an email 
will do.

Are discipline, drug, and incentive 
programs affected by the changes?

Not specifically; discipline, drug, and incentive 
programs aren’t mentioned in the changes. However, 
if you have these programs, it’s a good idea to review 
them to ensure that they don’t discourage employees 
from exercising their right to report workplace injuries 
and illnesses.

Discipline: Don’t use discipline, or the threat of 
disciplinary action, to retaliate against an employee 
for reporting an injury or illness. Your safety program 
should treat all workers consistently if they break rules 
– regardless of whether they were, or were not, injured.

Incentives: Don’t use incentive programs to penalize 
workers for reporting an injury or illness. For example, 
if an employee reports an injury, and is subsequently 
denied a benefit as part of an incentive program, this 
may constitute retaliation against the employee for 
exercising the right to report. Incentive programs 
should encourage safe work practices and promote 
worker participation in safety-related activities.

Drug testing: Don’t use drug testing, or the threat of drug 
testing, to retaliate against an employee for reporting 
an injury or illness. What’s important is whether you 
have a reasonable basis for believing that an employee’s 
drug use could have contributed to the injury. There is 
no prohibition against post-incident drug testing under 
state or federal law, including workers’ compensation 
law. There is also no prohibition against random drug 
testing and pre-employment drug testing. However, 
post-incident drug testing will not necessarily indicate 
whether drug use played a direct role in the incident.

¡ES 
LA 

LEY!
Usted tiene 

derecho a un lugar 
de trabajo seguro  

y saludable

Español: 
1-800-843-8086
osha.oregon.gov

PARA MAS INFORMACION, copias de la 
Ley de Seguridad en el Trabajo de Oregon, 
normas específicas de seguridad y salud, 
asesoramiento o asistencia, llame a:

Oficina Central (Salem)  .. 503-378-3272

Bend ................................ 541-388-6066

Eugene ............................ 541-686-7562

Medford .......................... 541-776-6030

Pendleton ........................ 541-276-9175

Portland .......................... 503-229-5910

Salem ............................... 503-378-3274

440-1507-S (10/16/OR-OSHA)

¡Este cartel debe ser fijado en un lugar donde todos  
sus empleados lo puedan ver!    

Ley Administrativa de Oregon 437-001-257(2)(a).
Este cartel es gratuito y disponible a través de Oregon OSHA

—  Es la Ley —

La Ley de Seguridad en el Trabajo de Oregon de 1973, otorga 
protección de seguridad y salud a los trabajadores mediante 
el fomento de condiciones seguras y saludables en todo el 
estado.  La División de Seguridad y Salud en el Trabajo de 
Oregon (Oregon OSHA) del Departamento de Servicios para 
Consumidores y Negocios, tiene la principal responsabilidad  
de administrar la ley.
Oregon OSHA expide normas de seguridad y salud, y sus 
oficiales de cumplimiento llevan a cabo inspecciones en los 
lugares de trabajo para verificar el cumplimiento de la Ley de 
Seguridad en el Trabajo de Oregon.
Oregon OSHA tiene profesionales capacitados en seguridad 
y salud en el trabajo listos para trabajar con negocios en todas 
las ramas industriales para mejorar la seguridad y salud en los 
centros de trabajo.  Servicios de asesoramiento y capacitación 
son otorgados gratuitamente a negocios de Oregon llamando a 
los números de teléfono abajo mencionados.

• Tiene el derecho de notificar a su empleador o a 
Oregon OSHA sobre peligros en el lugar de trabajo. 
Puede solicitar que Oregon OSHA mantenga su nombre 
confidencialmente.

• Tiene el derecho de solicitar que Oregon OSHA haga 
una inspección si usted cree que en su lugar de trabajo 
hay condiciones peligrosas o insalubres. Usted o su 
representante pueden participar en la inspección.

• Tiene el derecho a reportar una lesión o enfermedad 
relacionada con el trabajo, sin tener represalias en su 
contra.

• Si su empleador lo discrimina por presentar una denuncia 
sobre condiciones de trabajo inseguras o insalubres o 
por ejercer sus derechos bajo la Ley de Seguridad en el 
Trabajo de Oregon, puede presentar una queja con el 
Departamento de Trabajo e Industrias de Oregon en un 
plazo de 90 días, o con la OSHA Federal, en un plazo  
de 30 días.

• Cualquier persona que desea presentar una queja acerca 
de la administración de la Ley de Seguridad en el Trabajo 
de Oregon puede ponerse en contacto con:
 U.S. Department of Labor
 OSHA Region X
 1111 Third Ave., Suite 715
 Seattle, WA 98101-3212
 206-553-5930

• Usted tiene derecho a ver las citaciones que Oregon 
OSHA haya emitido a su empleador. Su empleador debe 
fijar las citaciones en el lugar de trabajo.

• Su empleador debe corregir los peligros en el lugar de 
trabajo dentro del plazo indicado en la citación y debe 
certificar que dichos peligros han sido reducidos o 
eliminados.

• Usted tiene derecho a obtener copias de su historial 
médico o de los registros de su exposición a sustancias 
o condiciones tóxicas y dañinas. Adicionalmente, usted 
puede pedir el registro de lesiones y enfermedades de su 
lugar de trabajo.

• Usted tiene derecho a saber acerca de substancias 
peligrosas que se usan en su lugar de trabajo.

Conozca sus derechos
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Train-the-Trainer classes to be offered for 
the revised Worker Protection Standard

The newly revised Worker Protection Standard 
(WPS) – which goes into effect Jan. 2, 2017 – requires 
that qualified WPS trainers provide annual training 
to agricultural workers and pesticide handlers. 

Completing an EPA-approved Train-the-Trainer 
course is one way to become qualified to provide 
the training. Also, it is the only way to become 
qualified to train pesticide handlers if you don’t 
have a pesticide applicator license. 

The eight-hour class is free and offered at the 
following locations:

Thursday, Dec. 8, 2016 – Salem

Thursday, Dec. 15, 2016 – Eugene

Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2017 – Wilsonville

Thursday, Jan. 19, 2017 – Hood River

Tuesday, Feb. 14, 2017 – Central Point

Thursday, Feb. 16, 2017 – Klamath Falls

Tuesday, Mar. 7, 2017 – Ontario

Thursday, Mar. 9, 2017 – Pendleton

The WPS applies to establishments that produce 
or maintain agricultural plants (as defined by 
the WPS) and use pesticide products that have 
“AGRICULTURAL USE REQUIREMENTS” printed on 
the label.

Learn more and register at bit.ly/TTToregonWPS.

Questions? Contact Cameron Hughes  
(Oregon State University) at 541-737-6123.

http://bit.ly/TTToregonWPS


Duro-Last Grants Pass plant 
achieves Star Site status
Duro-Last Roofing is Oregon OSHA’s newest Voluntary Protection Program STAR 
site. The company’s Grants Pass manufacturing facility received Star Site status 
on Nov. 17. Star Site status represents the highest achievement for companies 
participating in the Voluntary Protection Program.

Duro-Last has a long history of working together with Oregon OSHA. The Grants 
Pass plant graduated from Oregon OSHA’s Safety and Health Achievement 
Recognition Program (SHARP) in 2006.

Duro-Last, Inc., is the world’s largest manufacturer of custom-fabricated, 
thermo-plastic single-ply roofing systems.
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Accident Report
Incident: Fall from roof

Industry: Painting and wall covering contractors

Victim: Painter

Illustration: Patricia Young

A painter fell eight feet to concrete while he was 
doing trim work on the roof of a two-story house.
The company was a small business that did 
residential and small commercial painting jobs. 
The owner ran the business from his home with 
his wife, who did the clerical work. They had 
just hired their first employee and it was his first 
day on the job. 

The new employee had been hired to work on 
an as-needed basis whenever there were jobs 
that the owner could not handle alone. The 
job involved painting the gutters, trim, and 
siding of a two-story house over two days. The 
ground-to-eave height of the first story was 
eight feet and the roof had a 15-degree pitch. 

The plan was to have the owner use the paint 
spray gun while the new employee would help 
with setup and cleanup, and paint with a brush 
and roller. The two men met at the job site at 
8 a.m. and the owner had a 15-minute toolbox 
talk with the new employee about ladder safety 
and staying hydrated in the warm weather. 
The owner told the new employee – who was 
wearing job-appropriate trousers, a T-shirt, and 
new sneakers – that he did not have to perform 
any work he felt uncomfortable doing.  

They set up a 16-foot extension ladder in front 
of the garage and spent the morning taping 
the brick columns in the front of the house and 
setting up a tarp to protect the windows.  
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They worked together painting the house in the 
morning and then split up to do separate jobs on 
the house in the afternoon – the owner doing the 
spray painting at the back of the house and the new 
employee working in front, doing trim work on the 
rake edge of the second-story roof with a brush and 
roller. This was the first time that the two men were 
not working side-by-side during the job.

At 3 p.m., the owner heard a loud noise in front of 
the house and went around to investigate. 

He saw the new employee lying on the concrete 
driveway and the homeowner trying to revive him 

with CPR. They called an ambulance, which took 
the employee to the hospital.

The employee’s injuries included a subdural 
hematoma, a closed head injury with brief loss 
of consciousness, and midline low back pain. He 
was discharged the next day; however, he was 
readmitted for further testing and remained in the 
hospital for two more days. He has been in recovery 
since the incident and has not returned to work. 
He remembers painting the trim work, but has no 
memory of the fall or how it happened. There were 
no witnesses and no evidence that could point to a 
particular cause of the fall.  

Findings: 

•	 The eave to ground height was eight feet, 
which did not trigger the requirement for the 
employer to provide a means of fall protection.  

•	 The work area was outdoors and there 
was enough ventilation so that respiratory 
protection was not necessary.  

•	 The roof was clean, dry, and free of trip hazards.  

•	 The weather was warm, sunny, and dry.

•	 Doctors were not able to determine whether 
the new employee fainted or had another other 
medical issue that would have caused the fall.

Eight-foot falls have consequences just serious as 
falls from 10 feet or more, especially when concrete 
stops the fall. Fall protection could have spared this 
employee a trip to the hospital and a long recovery 
from a debilitating injury. Choosing the right type 
of fall protection for a job is not always easy, but it’s 
usually possible – especially today when so many 
different types of equipment are available.

Hazard letter

Oregon OSHA sent the company a hazard letter 
advising that the trigger height for fall protection in 
the construction industry will change from 10 feet 
to six feet on Jan. 1, 2017.
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Going the Distance
with Craig Hamelund, Oregon OSHA’s safety training specialist

When they ... 
weren’t teenagers
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Craig has been with Oregon OSHA for 21 years. He started as a safety 
compliance officer in 1995 at the agency’s Medford field office and later 

taught public education workshops throughout the state until he joined 
Oregon OSHA’s staff education section in 2006. He currently works out 

of Oregon OSHA’s Portland field office where he coordinates Oregon 
OSHA’s training program, trains staff, and presents workshops at 

many of Oregon OSHA’s safety and health conferences. 

Craig grew up in Big Rapids, Mich., and attended Ferris State 
University, where he graduated with a bachelor’s degree 

in industrial safety. When he wasn’t studying, Craig did 
maintenance work at Ewigleben Ice Arena (home of Bulldog 

hockey!) on the Ferris campus. He did everything from 
sharpening skates and driving the Zamboni to cleaning 

bleachers and waxing the Plexiglas. 

Craig served a stint as an intern with Michigan OSHA, 
monitored asbestos abatement for a Michigan 

environmental and industrial hygiene consulting firm, 
and then headed south to become a safety compliance 

officer with South Carolina OSHA. 

Outside of work, 
Craig and his wife, 

Sherrie, spend 
much of their 

time with their 
two children, 

Mollie and 
Jackson. 



We’re lucky to have so many wonderful safety and 
health professionals here in the Pacific Northwest and 
my job allows me to interact with them often.” 

							       —  Craig Hamelund

Craig mans the grill at a mobile crane training hosted by 
Hoffman Construction Co.  “We grilled meat for lunches from 
Gartner’s German Meat Market up the street (NE Killingsworth).”
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What do you think is the best part of 
your job – and the biggest challenge?

I look at my job as having two best parts. First, I 
enjoy having the opportunity to really get to know 
all Oregon OSHA staff. Whether it’s spending some 
quality class time with them or directly working 
alongside them coordinating and delivering 
training.  For new hires, it’s learning their various 
backgrounds, specialties, and interests. And for our 
not-so-new hires, it’s getting to know them better 
or, in my case, remembering things about them I 
have forgotten.

Second, I truly appreciate the chance to partner 
with (and get to know) the terrific  folks outside 
of Oregon OSHA who help us immensely with 
training and other opportunities for our staff. We’re 
lucky to have so many wonderful safety and health 
professionals here in the Pacific Northwest and my 
job allows me to interact with them often.

A challenge in my job – but a challenge I enjoy – is 
researching and developing training topics I haven’t 
had much (if any) experience in. This is where I 
greatly rely on the support of my colleagues (both 
inside and outside of Oregon OSHA) to educate me 
and steer me in the right direction.

You’ve put a lot of work into getting “forklift 
rodeos” started throughout the state, most 
notably at the biennial GOSH conferences. 
How did you get started doing that? 

I give Sharell Lien, Oregon OSHA’s top-shelf 
conference manager, all of the credit here. We 
certainly knew of the forklift rodeo regionals 
and finals in the state of Washington and Sharell 
had the vision to host our own “Columbia Forklift 
Challenge” starting in 2011. We’ve had much help 
and support from many industry partners, Oregon 
OSHA staff, and several of the fine folks involved 
with the Washington rodeos to help make our 
competitions a success. 



Craig speaks at an all-staff symposium 
for Oregon OSHA employees.
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Next year, there will be two significant changes in Oregon OSHA’s 
fall protection requirements for the construction industry: the 
trigger height requirement for fall protection will change from 
10 feet to six feet in January, and slide guards will no longer 
be permitted for fall protection in October. What training 
tips would you offer to contractors to help them comply?

 First and foremost, my biggest suggestion for contractors is to always be learning 
and seeking the advice of many of the industry experts and safety professionals we 
have locally. Equipment manufacturer representatives are experts in fall protection 
gear and equipment, and follow the latest industry consensus standards. Networking 
with other contractors and  receiving consultations from Oregon OSHA,  workers’ 
compensation carriers, and consultants can provide enormous value and provide 

contractors with other options beyond 
personal fall protection. Also,  I strongly 
encourage contractors to attend training 
workshops and conferences throughout 
the state, and consider  becoming involved 
with our Construction Advisory Committee. 

My training tip to contractors is to keep the 
instruction lively and involve  employees. 
Employees provide tremendous insight and 
creative solutions, and their involvement can 

breed ownership. Incorporate as much hands-on activity and demonstrations (such 
as trailer demonstrations from equipment suppliers) to keep the training dynamic. 
And along with focusing on the ABCs (anchorages, body harnesses, and connectors) 
during fall protection training, be sure employees know how to calculate fall 
distances and understand the arresting forces created during a fall arrest.

“Employees provide tremendous 
insight and creative solutions, and their 
involvement can breed ownership.”

	 	       — Craig Hamelund



I’ve been fortunate to have 
supportive managers and lucky 
to have terrific, smart, and helpful 
colleagues and industry partners 

along the way.”
			           – Craig Hamelund

Craig sits at the 2007 GOSH Conference information booth with Cindy Weitz. 

Craig at a recent 
training trip 
in downtown 
Ellensburg, Wash.
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Employee training is an essential part of 
an effective safety program. Are there 
any safety and health training issues that 
employers could focus on to improve their 
programs?

Involving employees in training is key. Employees 
who are included in the planning and delivery 
are assets as they are the resident experts in the 
hazards they face, solutions that work, and effective 
ways to communicate with others (including 
helping with any language barriers). For younger 
workers, continue to offer a variety of training 
methods to keep it meaningful, including what can 
be shared via phones and other mobile devices. 
And recognizing employees for their ideas, efforts, 
and participation can go a long way. Oh, and don’t 
forget the mountain of information found in the 
many textbooks and DVDs available for loan in 

Oregon OSHA’s Resource Center

You’ve taught or organized safety 
and health classes on topics ranging 
from agriculture to welding – how 
do you do it?  Do you have a favorite 
training topic?

I do it with lots of help and support. 
I’ve been fortunate to have supportive 
managers and lucky to have terrific, smart, 
and helpful colleagues and industry 
partners along the way.

My favorite training topic is the one where 
it appeared everyone enjoyed it! n
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