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Don’t miss..............

To receive conference registration materials,  
exhibitor information, or sponsorship information, contact the Conference Section:  
oregon.conferences@dcbs.oregon.gov | 503-947-7411 | osha.oregon.gov/conferences

Education:
Workshop classes will be held virtually until 
further notice.

A minimum of five registrants is needed to 
hold a virtual workshop.

Registered participants will receive an email 
if a cancellation is necessary.

Register and attend
Using the secure online registration 
portal, you can find classes. The workshop 
schedule changes every three months.

For more information, visit the classroom 
workshops page.

Find more information about education 
resources by visiting Oregon OSHA’s 
education and training page. 

Mark your calendar for these workplace 
safety and health conferences:

Mid-Oregon Construction 
Safety Summit
Jan. 30-31, 2023 • Bend

Oregon GOSH Conference
March 6-9, 2023 • Portland

Northwest Safety & Health Summit
May 16-18, 2023 • Kennewick, WA

Blue Mountain Occupational 
Safety & Health Conference
June 5-6, 2023 • Pendleton

Central Oregon Occupational  
Safety & Health Conference

Sept. 25-26, 2023 • Bend

Southern Oregon Occupational 
Safety & Health Conference
Oct. 17-19, 2023 • Ashland

Western Pulp, Paper, & Forest 
Products Safety & Health Conference
Nov. 28-Dec. 1, 2023 • Portland

Cascade Occupational 
Safety & Health Conference 
March 2024 • Eugene
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https://osha.oregon.gov/conferences/Pages/index.aspx
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https://osha.oregon.gov/edu/Pages/index.aspx


Did you know?

One of the greatest lessons many companies and 
individuals have learned over the past three years is that 
we need to change before we have to, not because we 
have to.
–	 Joe Estey,  

senior performance improvement specialist for Lucas 
Engineering and Management Services, who delivered 
the keynote presentation during the Nov. 29-Dec. 2, 2022, 
Western Pulp, Paper, & Forest Products Safety & Health 
Conference in Portland. 

Oregon OSHA offers a free online course on accident investigations 
in English and Spanish. The course is designed to provide training in 
the principles of investigating workplace accidents. It fulfills a training 
requirement for safety committee members.

The Accident Investigation online course is part of the Safety Committee 
Suite, which also includes Safety Committees and Hazard Identification 
online courses.

The Accident Investigation course covers several topics, including gathering 
information, analyzing event facts, and implementing solutions.

Check out the course now. For more information about other online courses, 
visit Oregon OSHA’s online learning webpage.  

Quotable
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Datapoints
Top 10

Rank Rule violated Rule Name Total violations Total initial penalties

1 OAR 437-003-1501(1) Fall protection: General requirements 237 $770,745

2 OAR 437-001-0765(1) Rules about safety committees or safety meetings 110 $9,765

3 29 CFR 1926.1053(b) Requirements for use of ladders 96 $72,355

4 OAR 437-003-0503(2) Certification of fall-protection training 95 $5,470

5 OAR 437-001-0765(13) Documentation of safety committee meetings 88 $3,850

6 29 CFR 1910.178(l) Training for operators of powered industrial trucks 51 $8,910

7 OAR 437-002-0221(4) Rules for handling materials: Storage of material, location 48 $15,180

8 29 CFR 1910.305(g) Wiring requirements for flexible cords and cables 44 $5,600

9 OAR 437-003-0503(1) Fall protection training program 36 $21,615

10 OAR 437-003-0134(8) PPE - Requirements for eye and face protection 33 $7,885

Serious violations

# Violations
Initial 
penalties

1 174 $182,525

2 38 $9,565

3 86 $55,580

4 6 $2,670

5 5 $835

6 23 $8,910

7 10 $3,180

8 18 $5,600

9 34 $20,640

10 30 $7,070

Repeat violations

# Violations
Initial 
penalties

1 62 $547,595

2 1 $200

3 10 $16,775

4 10 $2,800

5 10 $3,015

6 0 $0

7 2 $12,000

8 0 $0

9 2 $975

10 3 $815

Willful violations

# Violations
Initial 
penalties

1 1 $40,625

2 0 $0

3 0 $0

4 0 $0

5 0 $0

6 0 $0

7 0 $0

8 0 $0

9 0 $0

10 0 $0

Other violations

# Violations
Initial 
penalties

1 0 $0

2 71 $0

3 0 $0

4 79 $0

5 73 $0

6 28 $0

7 36 $0

8 26 $0

9 0 $0

10 0 $0

Violations have been summarized to the rule or first paragraph level. 
The violation data for the 2022 calendar will not be complete until July 1, 2023.

2021 – Safety violations
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Top 10

Rank Rule violated Rule Name Total violations Total initial penalties

1 29 CFR 1910.1200(e) Written hazard communication program 282 $29,880

2 OAR 437-001-0765(1) Rules about safety committees or safety meetings 89 $5,890

3 29 CFR 1910.134(c) Respiratory protection program 66 $4,545

4 29 CFR 1910.1200(h) Hazard communication: Employee information and training 60 $7,590

5 29 CFR 1910.1200(g) Hazard communication: Safety data sheets 48 $1,350

6 29 CFR 1910.1030(c) Bloodborne pathogens: Exposure control requirements 26 $7,310

7 OAR 437-002-0161(5) Emergency eyewash and shower facilities 20 $3,540

8 OAR 437-002-0134(1)
Personal protective equipment: Requirements for hazard 
assessment and equipment selection

19 $3,225

9 29 CFR 1910.134(e) Requirements on the selection of respiratory protection 18 $3,195

10 OAR 437-001-0765(4) Requirements for members of safety committees 12 $330

Serious violations

# Violations
Initial 
penalties

1 183 $29,385

2 30 $5,790

3 31 $4,545

4 30 $7,590

5 3 $1,350

6 20 $7,310

7 18 $3,540

8 16 $3,225

9 15 $3,195

10 2 $330

Repeat violations

# Violations
Initial 
penalties

1 0 0

2 0 0

3 0 0

4 0 0

5 0 0

6 0 0

7 0 0

8 0 0

9 0 0

10 0 0

Willful violations

# Violations
Initial 
penalties

1 0 0

2 0 0

3 0 0

4 0 0

5 0 0

6 0 0

7 0 0

8 0 0

9 0 0

10 0 0

Other violations

# Violations
Initial 
penalties

1 99 $495

2 59 $100

3 35 $0

4 30 $0

5 45 $0

6 6 $0

7 2 $0

8 3 $0

9 3 $0

10 10 $0

2021 – Health violations

Violations have been summarized to the rule or first paragraph level. 
The violation data for the 2022 calendar will not be complete until July 1, 2023.
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Everything you need to know about Oregon OSHA’s lighting rules 
By Ellis Brasch

How much light does a workplace need? 
It’s complicated. Without enough light, we can’t clearly see what we are 
doing. But too much light has the same effect. Ideally, workplace lighting 
should strike a balance between quantity and quality. The quantity 
factor is relatively easy to measure: a good light meter will do the job. 
Determing quality is more challenging because other factors such as 
flicker, glare, and contrast come into play. 

A lighting survey done by a trained industrial hygienist, ergonomist, or 
other lighting professional is the best way to ensure that your workplace 
strikes the proper balance between lighting quantity and quality.

What are Oregon OSHA’s lighting rules?
Oregon OSHA has adopted more than 30 lighting-related rules (the 
complete list starts on Page 9), but just a few rules apply to most 
workplaces. They include:

Rules for general industry workplaces

	z 437-002-0041(8)(d) and (8)(e) Exits and routes. Exit routes must 
have adequate lighting. Each exit must be clearly visible and have a 
distinctive sign reading “Exit.” 

	z 437-002-0144(1)(a) and (1)(b) Additional Oregon Rules for General 
Environmental Controls. Adequate lighting must be provided for rooms, 
buildings, and work areas when they are used. “Adequacy” is based 
on the quantity of light specified in American National Standard ANSI 
All.1-1965, American Standard Practice for Industrial Lighting. Lighting 
must also be free from glare and extreme contrasts. All skylights, side 
windows, and lamps must be clean and in working order.

Oregon OSHA offers free resources to employers 
to help them maintain safe and healthy workplaces, 
including addressing proper lighting in the workplace. 
Those resources include:

	z Technical specialists can answer questions about how to 
apply Oregon OSHA’s requirements to your workplace: 
https://osha.oregon.gov/Pages/Contact-Technical.aspx

	z Consultants can conduct a confidential evaluation of all 
or part of your worksite to help you improve your health 
and safety programs and processes: https://osha.oregon.
gov/consult/Pages/index.aspx

	z A-to-Z topic page about illumination:  
https://osha.oregon.gov/Pages/topics/illumination.aspx
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Rules for construction workplaces

1926.56(a) and (b) Illumination. Construction areas, ramps, runways, 
corridors, offices, shops, and storage areas must be lighted to at least the 
intensities listed in Table D-3 while work is in progress.

Table D-3. Minimum llumination intensities in foot-candles

Minimum intensity Area or operation

3 foot-candles General construction areas, concrete 
placement, excavation and waste areas, access 
ways, active storage areas, loading platforms, 
refueling, and field maintenance areas.

5 foot-candles General construction area lighting.

5 foot-candles Indoors: Warehouses, corridors, hallways, and 
exit ways.

5 foot-candles Tunnels, shafts, and general underground 
work areas. (A minimum of 10 foot-candles is 
required at tunnel and shaft headings during 
drilling, mucking, and scaling. Bureau of Mines 
approved cap lights must be acceptable for 
use in the tunnel heading.)

10 foot-candles General construction plants and shops (such 
as batch plants, screening plants, mechanical 
and electrical equipment rooms, carpenter 
shops, rigging lofts and active storerooms, 
barracks or living quarters, locker or dressing 
rooms, mess halls, and indoor toilets and 
workrooms).

30 foot-candles First aid stations, infirmaries, and offices.

Refer to the American National Standard A11.1-1965, R1970, Practice for Industrial Lighting, for areas or 
operations not covered in Table D-3.

Rules for agricultural workplaces

	z 437-004-0405(i) Exits and emergency action plan. Exit routes must 
have adequate lighting.

	z 437-004-1140 (1)(a) and (1)(b) Lighting. Rooms, buildings, and work 
areas must have adequate lighting based on the guidelines in the 
American National Standard A11.1-1965, Practice for Industrial Lighting. 
Lighting must also be free from glare and extreme contrasts.

What is American National Standard 
A11.1, Practice for Industrial Lighting?
American National Standard A11.1, Practice for Industrial Lighting is 
a voluntary standard developed by the American National Standards 
Institute (ANSI) and the Illuminating Engineering Society (IES) in 1965. The 
IES now has the role of developing such standards; the IES uses the word 
“standard” to mean any IES technical document that has gone through an 
approval process developed by ANSI. 

Oregon OSHA’s lighting rules refer to the original A11.1, Practice for 
Industrial Lighting published in 1965 and to revisions published in 1970 
and 1990. These rules include:

ANSI A11.1-1965, Practice for Industrial Lighting

	z 1910.262, Textiles
	z 1910.265, Sawmills
	z 437-002-0144, Additional Oregon rules for general environmental 

controls
	z 437-004-1140, Lighting

ANSI A11.1-1965, R1970, Practice for Industrial Lighting

	z 1910.219, Mechanical power-transmission apparatus
	z 1910.265, Sawmills
	z 1926.56, Illumination

ANSI/IES RP-1990, Practice for Industrial Lighting applies to 437-002-
0312, Oregon rules for pulp, paper, and paperboard mills.

Note that the IES revised and updated all its lighting standards in 2020 
and 2021; you can access them through its Lighting Library (subscription 
required). The IES publication that comes closest to the Practice for 
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Industrial Lighting is ANSI/IES RP-7-20, 
Recommended Practice: Lighting Industrial 
Facilities; check out this and other IES lighting 
standards in the IES Lighting Library’s 
Lighting Applications Standards Collection.

Foot-candles, lux, and lumens 
– what do they mean?
Most of Oregon OSHA’s lighting rules use 
“foot-candles” as a measure of how much light 
should illuminate a surface. One foot-candle 
equals the amount of light on a surface one 
foot away from a single candle. 

Another term called “lux” also measures 
illumination on a surface; the difference 
between the two terms is that foot-candles 

are based on Imperial measurements and lux 
are based on metric measurements. So, one 
lux is the amount of light that falls on a surface 
one meter away from a candle, and one foot-
candle equals 10.764 lux.

Only one Oregon OSHA rule uses the term 
“lumens” as a lighting requirement: 1910.178, 
Powered industrial trucks (“Where general 
lighting is less than 2 lumens per square foot, 
auxiliary directional lighting shall be provided 
on the truck.”). Unlike foot-candles and lux, 
lumens measure the total amount of light 
emitted in all directions from a single source.

Oregon OSHA rules that 
have lighting requirements
Division 2 – General occupational 
safety and health 

Subdivision E – Means of egress

437-002-0041 Exits and routes

Subdivision F – Powered platforms

1910.68 Man lifts

Subdivision H – Hazardous materials

1910.103 Hydrogen

1910.120 Hazardous waste operations and 
emergency response

Subdivision J – General environmental 
controls

437-002-0144 Additional Oregon Rules for 
General Environmental Controls

437-002-0146 Confined spaces

Subdivision N – Material handling and 
storage

1910.178 Powered industrial trucks

1910.179 Overhead and gantry cranes

437-002-0221 Additional Oregon rules for 
handling materials

437-002-2225 Vehicles for highway and 
road operations, characteristics, and 
maintenance

Subdivision O – Machinery and machine 
guarding

1910.219 Mechanical power-transmission 
apparatus

Subdivision R – Special industries

1910.262 Textiles
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1910.265 Sawmills

1910.268 Telecommunications

437-002-0312 Oregon rules for pulp, paper, and paperboard mills

Subdivision RR – Electrical power generation, transmission, and 
distribution

437-002-2311 Working on or near exposed energized parts

437-002-2322 Special conditions

Subdivision S – Electrical

1910.303 Electrical – General requirements

1910.308 Electrical – Special systems

1910.333 Selection and use of work practices
Division 3 – Construction

Subdivision A – General

1926.6 Incorporation by reference

Subdivision C – General safety and health provisions

1926.26 Illumination

Subdivision D – Occupational health and environmental controls

1926.56 Illumination

Subdivision O – Motor vehicles, mechanized equipment, and marine 
operations

437-003-3225 Vehicles for highway and road operation characteristics 
and maintenance

Subdivision S – Underground construction, caissons, cofferdams, and 
compressed air

1926.800 Underground construction

1926.803 Compressed air
Division 4 – Agriculture

Subdivision E – Exits/Plans

437-004-0405 Exits and emergency action plan

Subdivision F – Manlifts

437-004-0570 Manlifts

Subdivision J – Work environment

437-004-1120 Agricultural labor housing and related facilities

437-004-1140 Lighting

Subdivision N – Material handling

437-004-1680 Storage of hazardous chemicals

437-004-1700 Forklifts and other powered industrial trucks
Division 7 – Forest activities

Subdivision C – Planning, first aid, and work conditions

437-007-0240 Night logging 
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It’s dark out there
By Ellis Brasch

Darkness is not only a playground for scary things that haunt our 
imagination at night. It’s also a hazard that makes safely accomplishing 
many real-world activities difficult or impossible – especially this time of 
the year as our daylight hours continue to wither. Our depth perception, 
color recognition, and peripheral vision are all compromised in the dark. 
And we have even more difficulty seeing in darkness as we get older. 

We see best in daylight because our eyes are most sensitive to high 
contrast objects, their color, their size, and how they move in their 
surroundings. But, as the days get shorter through the winter solstice, we 
will be spending more time in darkness. What to do? Here are a few tips 
on dealing with darkness this winter.

Slow low down and watch the road when you’re driving

The low contrast between light and dark at night makes it especially 
challenging when you’re driving. On a dark road, you can see only as far 
as your headlights – with high-beam headlights on, that’s only about 400 
feet. If you’re driving too fast, you won’t have time to avoid anything that 
happens to wander across your path – especially if you’re encountering 
foul-weather hazards such as rain, snow, or fog.

Keep in mind that using high beam headlights during bad weather can 
also make it difficult for oncoming drivers to see. Generally, you should use 
high beams at night when other vehicles are not present, and the weather 
is fair.

Tips for driving at night:

	z Focus only on the task of driving.
	z Stay alert; drowsy driving and impaired driving are leading causes of 

vehicle crashes and fatalities.
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	z Make sure your headlights, taillights, and turn signals are working 
and the lenses are clean; it is illegal to drive at night or in bad weather 
with only the parking lights on.

	z Watch out for pedestrians, cyclists, and wildlife.
	z Look slightly to the right of headlights from an oncoming vehicle and 

watch the road edge or fog line to lessen the blinding effect of glare.
	z Turn on your parking lights or emergency flashers when you are 

stopped on a road or shoulder and visibility is limited.
	z Drive defensively and slow down.

Be visible when you’re working outdoors 

It’s a good idea to ensure that everyone who will be working outdoors at 
night or when visibility is poor wears appropriate high-visibility reflective 
clothing. It’s also a requirement – day or night – for employees who 
work in a street or highway right-of-way and are exposed to traffic or 
construction equipment.

When you must wear a high-visibility upper-body garment, Oregon 
OSHA rules require that the high-visibility colors (such as strong red, 
orange, yellow, and yellow-green or fluorescent versions of these colors) 
contrast sufficiently with other colors in the area to make you stand out. 
The garments must also reflect from all sides for 1,000 feet during hours 
of darkness.

Check out Oregon OSHA’s fact sheet, “High-visibility safety apparel – 
unraveled,” for more information.

Check for broken lights and replace them promptly

Many of the complaints that Oregon OSHA receives about unsafe 
workplaces during the winter come from employees who have difficulty 
seeing where they are going or what they are doing because existing 
lights are not working. Typical complaints: 

	z “Lights are out and there is dim lighting in the stairwell.”
	z “Broken lights in the parking lot make it unsafe at night.”
	z “Light bulbs burned out at the back of the warehouse make it hard to 

see when we’re working at night.”

	z “We come in for the night shift at 10 p.m., but the lights automatically 
turn off at 11 p.m.” 

	z “The path has no lighting exposing us to slips, trips, and falls.”
	z “The work area is not adequately lit at night. Only six of the 12 lights 

under the awning are working.” 

Most of these complaints could be resolved simply by ensuring that 
existing lights in the workplace are not broken and sufficiently bright. 
Oregon OSHA’s lighting rules require that exits and exit routes have 
adequate lighting and exit signs be clearly visible. And adequate lighting 
must be provided for rooms, buildings, and other work areas. How much 
lighting is adequate? Check out “Everything you need to know about 
Oregon OSHA’s lighting rules” in this issue to learn more. 
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We are a small company that keeps our 
safety data sheets in a binder. Does 
Oregon OSHA have any requirements 
covering when we must update them? 
As you are probably aware, Oregon OSHA’s key 
requirements for safety data sheets are covered 
in its Hazard Communication Standard, but there 
is no requirement in the standard covering when 
employers such as yourself must update them.

However, there are such requirements for chemical 
manufacturers, importers, and distributors:

	z Chemical manufacturers or importers must 
ensure that distributors and employers are 
provided with an updated safety data sheet 
with the first shipment after a safety data 
sheet is updated. 

	z Distributors must also ensure that updated  
safety data sheets are provided to other 
distributors and employers with the first 
shipment after a safety data sheet is updated.

	z If a chemical manufacturer or importer 
preparing the safety data sheet becomes 
newly aware of any significant information 
regarding the hazards of a chemical, or ways 
to protect against the hazards, this new 
information must be added to the safety data 
sheet within three months. If the chemical is 
not currently being produced or imported, 
the chemical manufacturer or importer shall 
add the information to the safety data sheet 
before the chemical is introduced into the 
workplace again.

When you purchase hazardous chemicals from 
a manufacturer, distributor, or importer, each 
container must have a label and include a safety 
data sheet that classifies the chemical and 
provides specific information about its hazards.

As an employer, you are responsible for keeping 
a safety data sheet in the workplace for each 
hazardous chemical that your employees use – a 
binder is acceptable. Just make sure that that 
the binder is readily accessible during each work 
shift to employees when they are in their work 
areas. Electronic access and other alternatives to 
maintaining paper copies of the safety data sheets 
are also permitted, as long as there are no barriers 
to immediate employee access. 

Ask
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Short take

Oregon OSHA hosts second Spanish-language conference
By Aaron Corvin

Building on its ongoing efforts to expand 
outreach to the most vulnerable workers, Oregon 
OSHA held its second Spanish-language 
conference on Nov. 8 at the Oregon State 
Fairgrounds. The event drew more than 180 
participants and covered a variety of workplace 
health and safety topics entirely in Spanish.

The all-day event addressed workers’ rights 
while on the job and how workers can assert 
their rights to a safe workplace. The event also 
addressed protecting workers’ health and safety 
at work and at home, and protecting against 
wage theft.

The event featured presentations by safety and 
health professionals, other experts, and lunch 
and exhibits.

The event’s topics included:

	z Asserting your right to a safe workplace
	z Protecting your health at work and at home
	z Identifying and addressing common 

workplace hazards 
	z Safety and health in:

	¹ Agriculture
	¹ Construction
	¹ Food processing
	¹ Manufacturing
	¹ Hospitality
	¹ Caregivers

	z Role of the supervisor in workplace safety
	z Protecting yourself from wage theft
	z Whistleblower Protection Program

The conference underscores Oregon OSHA’s 
commitment to bolstering its outreach 
efforts, breaking down language barriers, and 
connecting with more workers and employers 
about workplace health and safety resources. 

Visit Oregon OSHA’s Spanish-language online 
training courses and learn about the division’s 
PESO program, a bilingual program that helps 
English-speaking employers train and talk 
about workplace safety and health issues with 
Spanish-speaking workers.

Workers have a right to a safe and healthy 
workplace. That includes the right to raise 
concerns free from retaliation and to file 
a complaint with Oregon OSHA, which 
advances safety for all Oregon workers through 
enforcement, consultation, technical, and public 
education and training services. The Ombuds 
Office for Oregon Workers, an independent 
advocate, offers workers help in understanding 
their rights within workplace safety and health 
rules, and their rights within the workers’ 
compensation system. The office’s toll-free 
phone number is 800-927-1271.

Moreover, the Department of Consumer 
and Business Services (DCBS) Multicultural 
Communications Program provides outreach to 

communities with limited English proficiency. 
That outreach includes information about 
on-the-job safety and health. The program 
includes a toll-free phone number for Spanish-
speaking Oregonians: 800-843-8086.

For more information about Oregon OSHA 
conferences, visit the division’s conferences 
page, send an email to oregon.conferences@
dcbs.oregon.gov or call 503-947-7411. 
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Although carbon monoxide’s reputation as a silent killer is well known, it 
continues to find unsuspecting victims – especially during the winter. While 
home furnaces and heaters are responsible for many victims of carbon 
monoxide poisoning, it is also a threat in the workplace.

Too many workers still don’t know that small gas-powered engines 
produce large quantities of carbon monoxide that can have deadly 
consequences when they are operated in poorly ventilated areas.

What’s the problem with carbon monoxide?
Carbon monoxide robs oxygen from your blood when it enters your lungs. 
That means there’s less oxygen for your heart, brain, and other vital organs 
– and without oxygen, they will shut down. Aside from subtle warning 
signs – headache, fatigue, dizziness, and drowsiness – you won’t know you 
are ill because carbon monoxide is colorless and odorless.

Large amounts of carbon monoxide can overcome you without warning, 
causing you to lose consciousness and suffocate. The National Institute for 
Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) notes that carbon monoxide levels 
above 1,200 parts per million could cause death or irreversible health effects 
within 30 minutes, known as “immediately dangerous to life and health.”

Know the risks
Your risk of becoming a carbon monoxide victim depends on a number of 
factors, including the concentration of carbon monoxide in the air, how long 
you are exposed, and your exertion level. Oregon OSHA doesn’t allow a worker 
to be exposed to more than 50 parts per million averaged over an eight-hour 
time period (carbon monoxide is measured in parts per million or “ppm”).

However, other safety and health organizations have established guidelines 
at lower exposure levels. For example, the American Conference of 
Governmental Industrial Hygienists (ACGIH) has assigned carbon monoxide 
a threshold limit value or “TLV” of 25 ppm for an eight-hour workday.

Those numbers aren’t likely to help you, however, unless you have access to 
personal air monitoring equipment. If you are using gas-powered equipment, 
play it safe and stay away from poorly ventilated areas – even in places you 
might consider safe, such as parking garages and warehouses.

Tips for staying safe
	z Know the sources of carbon monoxide poisoning and its symptoms 

(gasoline, natural gas, oil, propane, coal, and wood all produce 
carbon monoxide).

Short take

Winter brings an increased risk of carbon monoxide poisoning at 
home and work
By Ellis Brasch
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	z Keep internal-combustion equipment in good operating condition.
	z Prohibit the use of gasoline-powered tools and engines in poorly 

ventilated areas.
	z Test the air regularly in poorly ventilated areas and use mechanical 

ventilation when possible to keep carbon monoxide levels below safe 
levels.

	z Provide personal CO detectors for workers in areas where carbon 
monoxide exposure is possible.

	z Consider converting from gasoline-powered equipment to equipment 
powered by electricity or batteries when possible.

	z Educate workers on the dangers of carbon monoxide poisoning and 
the symptoms and control of CO. 

Do not

	z Run a car or truck inside a garage attached to your house, even if you 
leave the door open.

	z Burn anything in a stove or fireplace that isn’t vented.
	z Heat your house with a gas oven.

	z Use a generator, charcoal grill, camp stove, or other gasoline or 
charcoal-burning device inside your home, basement, or garage or 
outside within 20 feet from a window, door, or vent.

Install a carbon monoxide detector in your home
Carbon monoxide detectors are essential for any home with fuel-burning 
appliances such as a furnace, water heater, range, cooktop, or grill. All-
electric homes should have carbon monoxide detectors, too, because carbon 
monoxide can leak into a house from an attached garage or from a nearby 
backup generator used during a power outage.

Consider buying a detector with a digital readout, which can also tell you the 
highest level of carbon monoxide concentration in your home.

Replace your carbon monoxide detector every five years.

More information
Check out Oregon OSHA’s A-to-Z topic page on carbon monoxide for more 
information about carbon monoxide. 
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High school students across Oregon are 
encouraged to let their video or graphic design 
skills shine by engaging in a competition held 
for a good cause: increasing awareness about 
workplace safety for young workers. 

They will have the opportunity to do so using 
updated contest rules. Those rules empower 
them to choose a key message, theme, or 
tagline for their video or graphic design piece. 
This is different than previous contests that 
featured a predesignated tagline.

The 2023 media contest, organized by the 
Oregon Young Employee Safety Coalition 
(O[yes]), is now open for submissions.

The contest calls on participants to capture 
the attention of high school teens and 
persuade them to take the O[yes] online Safety 
Awareness Training to boost their knowledge of 
how to stay safe and healthy while on the job.

Contestants may do so by either creating a 
video that is between 30 to 90 seconds in 
length or by crafting a graphic design piece. 

They get to choose a key message, theme, or 
tagline to help make their media project stand 
out and effectively reach their audience.

The top three entries in each of the two media 
categories will take home cash prizes ranging 
from $300 to $500. In each category, the first-
place winner’s school, club, or organization will 
receive a matching award. 

Some contestants may dream up a bold, 
splashy graphic design to get their message 
across. Others may grab a smartphone or 
camera and develop a video that captivates 
their audience with documentary-style 
seriousness. Either way, contestants are 
expected to choose their key message, theme, 
or tagline in a wise manner as they work to 
persuade teens to take positive action by using 
the O[yes] online Safety Awareness Training.

While they carry out their projects, contestants 
must ensure the health and safety of their team. 
No one should be endangered while creating 
their video or graphic design project.  

The deadline for submissions is 5 p.m. 
Friday, Feb. 17, 2023. 

Contestants are encouraged to submit entries 
online. Submissions may also be mailed on a 
USB thumb drive. All participants will be invited 
to a live-streamed event in which all finalist 
submissions will be shown and the top three 
winners in each category will be revealed.

For more information about the entry form and 
rules, contest expectations, and resources – 
including graphic design and video examples, 
and the entries that won in 2022 – visit the 
O[yes] online contest page. 

The contest sponsors are local Oregon chapters 
of the American Society of Safety Professionals, 
Construction Safety Summit, Central Oregon 
Safety & Health Association, Hoffman 
Construction Company, Oregon Institute of 
Occupational Health Sciences at OHSU, Oregon 
OSHA, SafeBuild Alliance, SAIF Corporation, 
Oregon SHARP Alliance, and the Oregon Utility 
Notification Center. 

Short take

Contest promoting young worker safety in Oregon is open to high 
school students; submissions due Feb. 17, 2023 
By Aaron Corvin
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Oregon OSHA senior safety compliance officer 
Micah Ashby accepted Columbia Southern 
University’s 2022 Forever a Hero Scholarship 
award at Oregon OSHA’s Bend field office on 
Dec. 9. 

Columbia Southern University awards the 
scholarship annually to a military veteran for 
outstanding contributions to their community. 
The scholarship will cover up to $26,100 of 
Ashby’s master’s degree program in occupational 
safety and health at the university. He expects to 
graduate in 2025. 

Ashby enlisted in the U.S. Navy as an aircraft 
structures mechanic in 2005. In 2006, he 
volunteered to serve in Iraq and spent a year at 
Camp Bucca with Naval Provisional Detainee 
Battalion 2. When that tour ended, he returned to 
the United States, where he was based at Naval 
Air Station Whidbey Island, Wash., before his 
final deployment to Okinawa, Japan. He received 
two Navy Commendation Medals, one Army 
Commendation Medal, and the Iraq Campaign 
Medal for his military career. 

Short take

Oregon OSHA’s Micah 
Ashby: Forever a Hero 
Scholarship winner 
By Ellis Brasch

Andrew M. Roman, director of the Department of Veteran 
Initiatives at Columbia Southern University, presents the award 
certificate to Micah Ashby at Oregon OSHA’s Bend Field Office.

Photo credit: Barto Watkins.
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What happened? 
Three toes on a maintenance technician’s right 
foot were amputated while he was performing 
routine maintenance on a tire shredding machine.

How did it happen? 
The 42-year-old maintenance technician started 
his shift at 6 a.m. His first job was to do “bed-knife 
flip” maintenance on a Grizzly M80 tire shredding 
machine. The machine, more than 19 feet long, 
was powered by a 300-horsepower motor that 
turned a large rotor with 50 replaceable knives 
and 10 stationary “bed knives” built into the 
housing. The machine could process up to five 
tons of material per hour into small granules after 
it passed between the stationary bed knives and 
the rotating knives.

The bed-knife flip – a task that involved turning 
the bed knives over and adjusting them – had 
to be done every 20 hours. Before starting that 
task, the technician locked out the motor, used 
the machine’s hydraulic unit to raise the guard 
that covered the knives, then secured the hood, 
and locked out the hydraulic unit. 

After locking out the machine and the hydraulic 
unit, the technician stepped onto the housing. He 
stood on the end of the rotor and prodded it with 
the steel-toed boot on his right foot, trying to 
loosen tire debris. He took two steps on the rotor 
then slipped and started to fall. As he fell, the tip 
of the boot on his right foot caught between a 

stationary knife and the knife bed, which sliced 
through the boot and three of his toes.

Key findings 
	z Employees were allowed stand on the 

rotor and to turn it with their feet to remove 
tire debris. The company had a written 
procedure that required employees to use a 
special tool to turn the rotor and prohibited 
them from standing on the rotor or turning 
the rotor with their feet. But employees 

thought that the tool was not effective, and 
they also been trained to stand on the rotor 
to remove debris and to turn it with their 
feet. The plant manager said he knew that 
employees were not following the written 
procedure, but he was trying to determine a 
safer, effective way for employees to do the 
bed-knife flip.

	z There were at least four other documented 
incidents associated with the bed-knife flip 
between 2018 and 2021, but the company 

Company	������������� Recycled rubber products 
manufacturer

Hazard	������������������ Pinch point 
Employee	������������ Maintenance technician
Incident date	������ December 2021

The Grizzly M80 tire shredding machine
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did not follow up on corrective actions for 
some of them. Reports provided by the 
company did not indicate that corrective 
actions were requested by management or 
the safety committee.  

	z The company’s disciplinary policy was 
not effective. Employees said that the 
company’s “Disciplinary Action Plan” was 
never explained to them or enforced. 
Employees who had a history of working 
unsafely received verbal and written 
warnings, but they were not disciplined as 
the plan required. 

	z Supervision was not adequate. The 
maintenance technicians worked the 

weekend shift (from 6 a.m. to 6:30 p.m., 
Friday through Sunday) without much 
supervision and did the bed-knife flip task 
without assistance. 

What did the company do to prevent 
the incident from happening again?

	z The company revised its written bed-knife flip 
procedure; the revision prohibited employees 
from standing on the machine bed and 
required them to use a tool to turn the rotor.  

	z The company formally reviewed the new 
procedure with all affected employees and 
trained them.

	z The company regularly observed employees 
following the procedure and coached them 
when necessary.

	z The company changed the maintenance 
technician’s weekend shift to Monday through 
Friday to increase management supervision.

Violations
OAR 437-001-0760(1)(a) – Rules for all Workplaces, 
Employers’ Responsibilities: The employer did not 
see that workers were properly instructed and 
supervised in the safe operation of any machinery, 
tools, equipment, process, or practice which they 
were authorized to use or apply. 

1	 The victim’s right foot caught between the rotary 
knives and the stationary “bed knives” after he slipped 

2	 Bed knives left on the machine.

1
2

The victim stepped onto the Grizzly M80 housing block here.
The victim turned the rotor here with his right foot  
to loosen tire debris.
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