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With penalty changes comes a 
steadfast focus on putting all of our 
resources to work

The penalties we issue to employers when inspections identify violations 
of workplace safety and health rules have never been the only tool we 
use to help move employers into compliance to achieve a longstanding 
goal: the protection of workers in Oregon under the state’s 50-year-old 
Safe Employment Act. 

Our philosophy and practice around workplace safety and health have 
always made ample room for nonenforcement tools, too, including 
consultation, technical guidance, education and training, and safety and 
health events that bring people together to share their knowledge and 
learn.

All of that remains true even as Oregon OSHA has spent plenty of time 
and energy in recent months taking a significant legislative decision and 
rearranging our enforcement program to incorporate it. 

I am, of course, talking about our new penalty structure, prompted by 
Senate Bill 592, which was adopted by the Oregon Legislature to amend 
the Safe Employment Act and signed into law by Gov. Tina Kotek in the 
summer of 2023. 

To make this change part of what we do, Oregon OSHA followed a 
transparent rulemaking process that included robust engagement with our 
employer and worker stakeholders and an abundant opportunity for public 
comment. We adopted the rule on Nov. 22, 2023. It became effective on 
Jan. 1, 2024.

The rule’s changes and subsequent 2024 annual penalty bulletin include:

 z Serious violations increase to a range between $1,153 and $16,138 
for each violation

 z A new serious violation type, “caused or contributed to a work-
related fatality,” with penalties ranging from $20,656 to $51,641 for 
each violation

 z Willful or repeat violations increase to a range between $11,528 
and $161,386 for each violation

 z A new violation type of willful or repeat violation that caused or 
contributed to a work-related fatality with penalties ranging from 
$51,641 to $258,203 for each violation

Under the changes, Oregon OSHA is also required to conduct a 
comprehensive inspection of an employer when certain criteria are met. 
Those criteria include:

 z An inspection of an accident reveals that a violation caused or 
contributed to a work-related fatality

 z When three or more willful violations have occurred at a 
workplace within a one-year period, or

 z When three or more repeat violations have occurred at a 
workplace within a one-year period 

 z When an employer has a history of noncompliance and the 
administrator deems a comprehensive inspection is necessary for 
the protection of employees

In addition to our engagement with stakeholders about these changes, 
we have published many free resources to help them understand the 
new penalty structure. And as our compliance officers and consultants 
conduct their work in the field, they are explaining the changes to 
employers in an upfront manner. To the extent possible, we don’t want 
anyone to be surprised by the changes. 

By Renée Stapleton

Renée Stapleton 
Oregon OSHA
Administrator
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I encourage you to learn more about the new penalty structure by taking 
advantage of the following online resources, which address everything from 
penalty determinations and reductions to annual penalty adjustments under 
the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers/West Region:

 z Determining penalties fact sheet
 z Understanding Oregon OSHA’s new rules affecting civil penalties fact 

sheet
 z Violations and penalties adjustments summary
 z Annual adjustments to penalties bulletin
 z Video overview of the changes prompted by Senate Bill 592

All of our free resources about violations and penalties – available in 
English and Spanish – are located on the relevant A-to-Z topic page. 

There is no doubt that penalties will remain an important tool of 
compliance in our enforcement program. But we believe the best 
citation is the one that never gets issued because an employer is already 
complying with workplace safety and health rules. And we are always 
ready to provide employers our free, nonenforcement resources – no 
fault, no citations, no penalties – to help them boost their safety and 
health programs and to understand our requirements.

Those resources include: 

Consultation services – provides free help with safety and health 
programs, including how to control and eliminate hazards, and hands-on 
training. These services include our SHARP and VPP programs for 
employers who want to go well beyond compliance with our rules.

 z Phone (toll-free in Oregon): 800-922-2689
 z Field offices
 z Online
 z Email: consult.web@dcbs.oregon.gov

Technical staff – helps employers understand requirements and how 
to apply them to their worksites

 z Phone (toll-free in Oregon): 800-922-2689
 z Online
 z Email: tech.web@dcbs.oregon.gov

Education and training – includes classroom workshops, online 
courses, and PESO/bilingual training

Conferences – provides statewide educational conferences – 
co-sponsored by Oregon OSHA – for workers and employers to share 
ideas about safety and health, and to learn from local experts and 
nationally recognized professionals

Resource Center – offers resources such as a lending library, 
publications, and streaming videos

Workers have a right to a safe and healthy workplace. Employers must 
make that right a reality. And all of us – not just Oregon OSHA – play 
important roles in advancing and improving workplace safety and health 
for all workers in Oregon.

Thank you for continuing to make safety and health a top priority at your 
workplace. 
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https://osha.oregon.gov/edu/peso/Pages/default.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/conferences/Pages/index.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/media/Pages/default.aspx


Don’t miss..............

To receive conference registration materials,  
exhibitor information, or sponsorship information, contact the Conference Section:  
oregon.conferences@dcbs.oregon.gov | 503-947-7411 | osha.oregon.gov/conferences

Education:
Workshop classes are held either in person 
or virtually, but not both on the same day. 
All registered participants will receive a 
confirmation email. For virtual workshops, 
instructions on how to join will be provided 
two weeks before the workshop. A minimum of 
five registrants is needed for each workshop. 

Register and attend
Using the secure online registration portal, 
you can find and register for a variety of 
workshop topics.

For more information, visit the classroom 
workshops page.

Find more information about education 
resources by visiting Oregon OSHA’s 
education and training page. 

Mark your calendar for these workplace 
safety and health conferences:

Northwest Safety & Health 
Summit by Region X VPPPA
May 14-16, 2024 • Anchorage, Alaska

Blue Mountain Occupational 
Safety & Health Conference
June 3-4, 2024 • Pendleton

Central Oregon Occupational  
Safety & Health Conference
Sept. 16-17, 2024 • Bend

Southern Oregon Occupational 
Safety & Health Conference
Oct. 15-17, 2024 • Ashland

Western Pulp, Paper, & Forest Products 
Safety & Health Conference
Dec. 3-6, 2024 • Portland 

Mid-Oregon Construction Safety Summit
Jan. 27-28, 2025 • Bend

Oregon GOSH Conference
March 3-6, 2025 • Portland
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https://osha.oregon.gov/conferences/Pages/index.aspx
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https://osha.oregon.gov/edu/workshops/Pages/default.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/edu/Pages/index.aspx


Did you know?

Safety is not the absence of events.  
Safety is the presence of defenses.
– Todd Conklin, 

expert in organizational culture  
and behavior and human 
performance.

Oregon OSHA’s “Everyday Ergonomics” online course is available in 
Spanish. The course is designed to provide an understanding of the 
basic principles of proper ergonomics in the workplace and while 
working at home. A primary goal of ergonomics is to eliminate injuries 
associated with the overuse of muscles and tendons, generally known 
as musculoskeletal disorders (MSDs). The online course encompasses 
MSDs, risk factors, workstation ergonomics, help with developing 
an ergonomics program, a quiz, certificate of completion, and more 
resources. Oregon OSHA encourages employers and workers to use the 
Spanish or English “Everyday Ergonomics” online course. 

Quotable
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https://osha.oregon.gov/edu/courses/espanol/Pages/ergonomics-for-everyone-online-course.aspx
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Datapoints

# Rule violated Rule name 
Total 
violations 

Total initial 
penalties 

1 29 CFR 1910.1200(e) Written hazard communication program 510 $66,540

2 OAR 437-001-0765(1) Rules about safety committees or safety meetings 402 $43,205

3 OAR 437-003-1501(1) Fall protection 347 $966,590

4 OAR 437-001-0765(13) Documentation of safety committee meetings 185 $2,175

5 OAR 437-003-0503(2) Certification of fall-protection training 149 $93,690

6 29 CFR 1926.1053(b) Requirements for use of ladders 147 $127,700

7 29 CFR 1910.1200(g) Safety data sheets 111 $6,390

8 OAR 437-002-0134(1) Requirements for hazard assessment/equipment selection 107 $31,995

9 OAR 437-002-0187(2) Rules regarding inspection and maintenance of fire extinguishers 97 $2,795

10 29 CFR 1910.178(l) Training for operators of powered industrial trucks 88 $8,915

The following data show the top 10 workplace safety and health rule violations in 2023. Oregon OSHA encourages employers to use free 
resources – including consultation services and technical guidance – to improve their safety and health programs, and compliance with 
rules. Check out our classrooms and online training, too. Workers have a right to a safe and healthy workplace. They have a right to raise 
safety and health concerns free of retaliation. They have a right to file a complaint with Oregon OSHA. 
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https://osha.oregon.gov/consult/Pages/index.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/Pages/Contact-Technical.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/edu/Pages/index.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/workers/Pages/Worker-rights-and-responsibilities.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/workers/Pages/Protect-against-retaliation.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/workers/Pages/index.aspx


Oregon OSHA issues two new 
emphasis programs to protect 
workers
By Ellis Brasch

The emphasis programs are intended to reduce fall-related injuries across 
all industries and combat a rising trend in injuries at warehousing and 
distribution centers.

The Falls in All Industries emphasis program expands the scope of an 
earlier emphasis program that focused on preventing fall-related injuries in 
the construction industry. Falls to a lower level are now among the leading 
causes of injuries and fatalities in the construction industry and in many other 
industries where employees work at heights. 

Oregon OSHA compliance officers will use this emphasis program to inspect 
general industry, construction, agriculture, and forest activities workplaces 
when they observe a fall hazard and when they investigate a complaint or 
referral alleging a fall hazard.  

Oregon OSHA has many rules that require a minimum height at which 
workers must be protected from falling when they are on unguarded surfaces 
above a lower level. These heights are known as “trigger heights” and they 
vary widely, depending on the type of activity workers are doing at heights. 

 z Fall protection trigger heights for general industry: Four feet above a 
lower level is widely understood among general industry employers as 
the “trigger height” that requires them to protect their employees from fall 
hazards – but that is not the only trigger height; read Oregon OSHA’s Fall 
protection trigger heights for general industry fact sheet to learn about 
these trigger heights.

 z Fall protection trigger heights for construction activities: Six feet above a 
lower level is the trigger height for Oregon OSHA’s general fall protection 
requirement, but other trigger heights apply to some construction 
activities. Read Oregon OSHA’s Fall protection trigger heights for 
construction activities fact sheet to learn about these trigger heights.
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https://osha.oregon.gov/rules/enf/Pages/emphasis-programs.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/pd/pd-239.pdf
https://osha.oregon.gov/workers/Pages/index.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/div2/div2D.pdf#1910-28
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https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHAPubs/factsheets/fs58.pdf
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/div3/div3M.pdf#1501
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHAPubs/factsheets/fs64.pdf
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHAPubs/factsheets/fs64.pdf


 z Fall protection trigger heights for agricultural 
activities: The trigger height for most 
agricultural activities on unguarded surfaces 
is 10 feet. However, fall protection is required 
at any height above open pits, tanks, and 
dangerous equipment. And the fall-protection 
requirement does not apply when the work is 
of limited duration and limited exposure, and it 
is equally or more hazardous to set up or use a 
fall protection system; examples include work 
on haystacks, stacked silage, and on stacked 
Christmas trees in open, outdoor areas. 

 z Common fall protection trigger heights for 
forest activities: Employees must be protected 
from falling when they are working on motor 
vehicle surfaces more than 10 feet above a 
lower level or at any height above dangerous 
equipment and 4-inch tie-in protection is 
required at least every 3 feet along a bole or 
branch to limit falls to no more than 6 feet.

The Warehousing and Distribution Center 
Operations emphasis program focuses on 
preventing hazards common to warehousing 
and distribution centers, parcel delivery and 
courier services, and certain high-risk retail 
establishments. The emphasis program targets 
hazards associated with:

 z Powered industrial vehicles
 z Material handling and storage activities
 z Walking-working surfaces
 z Exits and exit routes
 z Heat illness
 z Musculoskeletal disorders

 z Fire risks

All inspections at establishments covered by 
the emphasis program – including fatality and 
catastrophe inspections, complaints, and referrals 
– will be comprehensive safety inspections. 
Establishments are selected for inspection 
following the requirements in OAR 437-001-0057 
(Scheduling Inspections).

Inspections targeting warehousing and 
distribution centers and parcel delivery and 
courier services include:

 z Couriers and express delivery services 
 z Local messengers and local delivery 
 z General Warehousing and Storage 
 z Refrigerated Warehousing and Storage 
 z Farm Product Warehousing and Storage 
 z Other Warehousing and Storage 

Inspections targeting high-risk retail 
establishments include:

 z Home centers 
 z Hardware stores
 z Other building material dealers
 z Supermarkets and other grocery stores 

(except convenience stores)
 z Warehouse clubs and supercenters

As with all inspections, compliance officers will 
review OSHA 300 logs, 300A summaries, and 
OSHA 801 incident reports for the current year 
and previous three calendar years to identify 
injuries and illnesses associated with the 
hazards covered by the emphasis program.  
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https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/div4/div4I.pdf#d1020
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/div2/div2I.pdf#page=9
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https://www.census.gov/naics/?input=444110&year=2022&details=444110
https://www.census.gov/naics/?input=444130&year=2017&details=444130
https://www.census.gov/naics/?input=444190&year=2017&details=444190
https://www.census.gov/naics/?input=445110&year=2017&details=445110
https://www.census.gov/naics/?input=452311&year=2017&details=452311
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHAPubs/3353.pdf


Everything you should know about  
Oregon OSHA’s requirements for abrasive wheels and machines
By Ellis Brasch

Machines that use abrasive wheels are 
powerful and most wheels turn at high speeds 
– some as high as 16,000 surface feet per 
minute. If a wheel shatters while it is turning, 
the fragments from the wheel assembly can 
travel more than 300 miles per hour. To ensure 
that abrasive wheels are used safely in your 
workplace, know the hazards and how to 
control them.

 z Abrasive wheels consist of abrasive grains 
held together by organic or inorganic 
bonds. Organic bonds include materials 

such as resin, rubber, or shellac. Inorganic 
bonds include clay, glass, porcelain, sodium 
silicate, magnesium oxychloride, and metal. 
Wheels bonded with clay, glass, porcelain 
or related ceramic materials are called 
“vitrified bonded wheels.”

 z Abrasive wheel machines – also called 
grinding machines – use a bonded abrasive 
wheel primarily to grind and remove metal; 
they may also be used for grinding material 
such as glass, ceramics, plastics, and rubber. 
There are portable and stationary versions.

Oregon OSHA’s 
requirements for abrasive 
wheels and machines
General industry

 z Division 2, Subdivision O, Machinery and 
Machine Guarding

 ¹ 1910.211(b) Definitions

 ¹ 1910.215 Abrasive Wheel Machinery
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https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/div2/div2O.pdf#page=11
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/div2/div2O.pdf#page=11
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/div2/div2O.pdf#page=39


 z Division 2, Subdivision P, Hand and  
Portable Powered Tools and Other  
Hand-Held Equipment

 ¹ 1910.241(b) Abrasive wheel terms 

 ¹ 1910.242 Hand and Portable Powered 
Tools and Equipment, General 

 ¹ 437-002-0264 Additional General 
Requirements for Hand Tools

 ¹ 1910.243(c) Guarding of Portable Powered 
Tools, Portable abrasive wheels

Construction
 z Division 3, Subdivision I, Tools – Hand and 

Power
 ¹ 1926.300 General requirements

 ¹ 1926.303 Abrasive wheels and tools 

Agriculture
 z Division 4, Subdivision O, Equipment Guarding

 ¹ 437-004-2100 Grinders

 z Division 4, Subdivision P, Small Tools
 ¹ 437-004-2230(3) Guarding of Portable 

Power tools, Portable abrasive wheels

Types of abrasive wheels 
in Oregon OSHA’s rules
Many abrasive wheels covered under Oregon 
OSHA’s rules are identified by type. They include: 

 z Type 1 straight wheels; grinding is performed 
on the periphery of the wheel. Included are 
tuck-pointing wheels and cutting-off wheels.

 z Type 2 cylinder wheels; grinding is 
performed on the rim face.

 z Type 6 straight cup wheels; grinding 
is performed on rim face. Included are 
modified (terrazzo) Type 6 wheels.

 z Type 11 flaring cup wheels; grinding is 
performed on rim face. 

 z Type 27 and Type 28 depressed center 
wheels, which permit side and peripheral 
grinding interference with the mounting.

 ¹ Type 27 wheels are manufactured with 
flat grinding rims. 

 ¹ Type 27A wheels are designed specifically 
for cutting-off machines.

 ¹ Type 28 wheels have saucer shaped 
grinding rims. 

 z Type 29 curved disc wheels, which are best 
used at a 15-25 degree angle for grinding of 
corners and edges.

Oregon OSHA’s rules for abrasive wheels and 
machines do not cover natural sandstone 
wheels; metal, wooden, cloth, or paper discs 
that have an abrasive layer on the surface; flap 
wheels, and nonwoven surface conditioning 
wheels (Scotch-Brite). 

Abrasive wheel machines covered 
under Oregon OSHA’s rules

 z Bench grinders
 z Cylindrical grinders
 z Floor mounted (pedestal) grinders

 z Offhand grinding machines
 z Portable grinders
 z Snagging machines
 z Surface grinders
 z Swing frame grinders
 z Top grinding grinders

ANSI requirements for 
abrasive wheels and machines

 z ANSI B7.1 Safety requirements for the use, 
care and protection of abrasive wheels

 z ANSI B11.9 Safety requirements for grinding 
machines

Safe work practices
Know how to use and maintain 
abrasive wheels and machines
You must be instructed in the use and care of 
abrasive wheels and grinding machines before 
you use them.

Wear appropriate personal 
protective equipment

 z Wear safety goggles or glasses that meet 
ANSI Z87.1 Standard Practice for Occupational 
and Educational Eye and Face Protection 
requirements when you are exposed to dust 
or flying particles. Face shields may also be 
necessary if the work requires face protection. 
Plexiglass and other acrylic plastic shields on 
abrasive wheel machines are not substitutes 
for eye and face protection.
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https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/div2/div2P.pdf#d1910241
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 z Wear protective clothing such as aprons, 
gloves, and safety shoes if sparks 
and flying particles from the grinding 
operation are a hazard.

Use the correct wheel 
for the machine

Abrasive wheels must be used only on the 
machines for which they were designed. 
Always follow the machine manufacturer’s 
recommendations for the type of wheel 
used, proper guarding, mounting, and the 
maximum wheel speed.

Know how to mount and 
inspect new wheels

Immediately before mounting a new wheel, 
carefully inspect and ring test the wheel to 
make sure it is not cracked or damaged. 
Never use a cracked or damaged wheel.

Know the machine’s spindle 
speed before you mount a wheel

 z Check the spindle speed of the machine 
before mounting the wheel to be certain 
that it does not exceed the maximum 
operating speed marked on the wheel or 
wheel package.

 z Make sure the grinding wheel fits freely 
on the spindle and remains free under all 
grinding conditions. This is necessary to 
avoid excessive pressure on the wheel 
during grinding.
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Know when wheels are 
no longer useable

The usable part of an abrasive wheel must 
extend beyond the mounting flanges. When the 
mounting flange assembly contacts the workpiece 
or workpiece holding tool, the wheel must be 
removed and replaced with a usable wheel.

Dress abrasive wheels as often as necessary 
with a dressing tool to remove buildup, reduce 
vibration, and restore the wheel’s shape and 
sharpness.

Use caution starting a new 
or remounted wheel

Defective or improperly stored wheels may 
fracture soon after they have been turned 
on. After you have mounted a new wheel or 
remounted a used one, run the machine at its 
normal operating speed with the safety guard in 
place for at least one minute before using it. 

Know why safety guards 
are necessary

It is unsafe to operate any grinding machine 
with the wheel safety guard removed. If the 
wheel shatters or explodes, the safety guard 
can protect you from injury. Safety guards must 
cover the spindle, nut, and flange projections 
and must be mounted to maintain proper 
alignment with the wheel.

Safety guards are required on most grinding 
machines. The exceptions are:

 z Machines that are remotely operated and 
have an enclosure sufficient to retain the 

pieces of a wheel if it breaks
 z Metal centered diamond lapidary wheels 

either notched, segmented, or continuous 
rim used with a coolant deflector, when 
operated at speeds up to 3,500 surface feet 
per minute

 z Mounted wheels, 2 inches and smaller in 
diameter, used on portable grinders

 z Type 1 reinforced wheels not more than 
3 inches in diameter and ¼-inch thick, 
operating at peripheral speeds not exceeding 
9,500 surface feet per minute; safety glasses 
and face shield protection are required

 z Type 1 wheels not larger than 2 inches in 
diameter and not more than ½-inch thick, 
operating at peripheral speeds less than 
1,800 surface feet per minute when mounted 
on mandrels driven by portable drills

 z Types 16, 17, 18, 18R, and 19 cones; and plugs 
and threaded hole pot balls where the work 
offers protection or where the size does not 
exceed 3 inches in diameter by 5 inches long

 z Valve seat grinding wheels
 z Wheels used for internal grinding

Safety guards – safe practices

 z Never remove a safety guard to 
accommodate a larger wheel or when the 
guard interferes with the grinding operation.

 z After you mount a wheel, make sure all 
safety guard fasteners are in place and 
properly tightened. 

 z Inspect safety guards on portable machines 
periodically to ensure that they are in 

good condition. Replace guards that are 
damaged, bent, severely worn, or exposed to 
a broken wheel. 

Make sure that the guard’s 
angular exposure is correct

The angular exposure of the guard (the wheel’s 
exposed periphery and sides) must not exceed:

 z 60 degrees on top grinding grinders when 
work is applied to the wheel above the 
horizontal centerline

 z 90 degrees (or ¼ the periphery) on bench 
and floor stand grinders

 z 150 degrees on surface grinders and cutoff 
machines

 z 180 degrees on swing frame grinders with 
the top half of the wheel enclosed

 z 180 degrees on portable grinders
 z 180 degrees on cylindrical grinders
 z 180 degrees on automatic snagging 

machines

Know why flanges are necessary

Flanges transfer the energy of a grinding 
machine to the wheel. Most abrasive wheels 
must be mounted between flanges not less 
than one-third the diameter of the wheel. The 
exceptions are:

 z Abrasive disc wheels 
 z Cutting-off wheels, Types 1 and 27A
 z Cylinder, cup or segmental wheels that are 

mounted in chucks
 z Internal wheels less than 2″ in diameter
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 z Modified Types 6 and 11 wheels (terrazzo)
 z Mounted wheels
 z Plate mounted wheels
 z Portable cup, cone or plug wheels with 

threaded inserts or projecting studs
 z Type 27, 28, and 29 wheels

Flanges must be securely fastened to the spindle 
and the bearing surface. They should have the 
same diameters and radial bearing surfaces to 
avoid cross-bending pressures and stresses in the 
wheel structure. The wrong flange size or type for 
a particular machine adds stress to the wheel, and 
is a common cause of wheel breakage.

Keep flanges in good condition; when the bearing 
surfaces are damaged or are worn, warped, or 
sprung, they should be trued or refaced. 

Use blotters between most 
abrasive wheels and flanges

Blotters are compressible washers that must be 
placed between abrasive wheels and flanges on 
most grinding machines to prevent the flanges 
from slipping and to ensure flange pressure is 
uniformly distributed.

Blotters are not required on the following wheels: 

 z Abrasive discs 
 z Certain internal wheels
 z Certain Type 1 and Type 27A cutting-off 

wheels
 z Cylinders, cups, or segmental wheels that 

are mounted in chucks

 z Diamond wheels, except certain vitrified 
diamond wheels

 z Mounted wheels
 z Plate mounted wheels
 z Type 27 and type 28 wheels
 z Type 4 tapered wheels

Keep the tongue guard 
properly adjusted 

The tongue guard is a metal plate on the top 
of the grinder designed to minimize wheel 
fragments from striking the operator. The 
distance between the tongue guard and grinder 
wheel must never exceed ¼-inch and must be 
adjusted as the wheel wears down.

Use work rests on off-hand grinders

Off-hand grinders (machines designed for hand-
guided grinding tasks) must have work rests that 
prevent the work piece from jamming between the 
abrasive wheel and the wheel guard, which can 
cause the wheel to break. The work rest must not 
contact the abrasive wheel any time and:

 z Must be adjusted so that the gap between 
the work rest and the grinding surface of the 
wheel does not exceed 1/8-inch

 z Must be on the horizontal center line of the 
machine spindle

 z Must not be adjusted while the abrasive 
wheel is rotating unless the work rest is 
designed for that purpose

 z Must be securely clamped after each 
adjustment

Control airborne particulates

Grinding machines must be installed and 
operated so that airborne particles caused by 
the grinding operation do not exceed threshold 
limit values (the maximum average airborne 
concentration of a hazardous material to which 
healthy adult workers can be exposed during an 
8-hour workday).

Be alert for vibration on 
portable grinders

If you notice vibration after you mount a new 
grinding wheel on a portable grinder, be sure to 
determine the cause and correct it. Reasons for 
vibration include:

 z A wheel type or size that was not designed 
for the grinder

 z An out-of-balance wheel 
 z An undersized spindle 
 z Bent, burred, or distorted flanges – or 

flanges that are the wrong size
 z Worn bearings in the grinder

If there are no problems with the grinder and 
the vibration continues, mount another wheel 
to determine if the vibration persists. If it does, 
do not use the grinder and contact the wheel 
supplier to determine the cause.
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How to ring test an 
abrasive wheel
Abrasive wheels must be inspected and “ring-
tested” before they are mounted to ensure they 
are free from cracks or other defects. Wheels 
should be tapped gently with a light, nonmetallic 
instrument. A stable and undamaged wheel will 
give a clear metallic tone or “ring.”

That distinctive ring comes from the hardness 
of the material in the wheel and its ability 
to transmit sound vibrations. If the wheel is 
cracked, the vibrations stop at the crack and 
there is no ring. However, a ring test may not 

detect all defects in a wheel, so a careful visual 
inspection is also necessary.

Before mounting the wheel, check the machine’s 
spindle speed to ensure it does not exceed the 
maximum operating speed marked on the wheel.

After mounting the wheel, stand to the side of 
the machine when powering it on in case a crack 
or defect was not detected.

Performing the ring test

Make sure the wheel is dry and free of sawdust 
or other material that could deaden the sound of 
the ring.

You will need a hard plastic or hard wood object, 
such as the handle of a screwdriver or other tool, 
to conduct the test. Use a wood mallet for heavier 
tools. Do not use metal objects.

1. Suspend the wheel on a pin or a shaft that 
fits through the hole so it will be easy to turn, 
but do not mount the wheel on the grinder. 
If the wheel is too large to suspend, stand it 
on a clean, hard surface. Imagine a vertical 
plumb line up the center of the wheel.

2. Tap the wheel about 45 degrees on each 
side of the vertical line, about one or two 
inches from the wheel’s edge. (Large wheels 
may tapped on the edge rather than the side 
of the wheel.)

3. Turn the wheel 180 degrees so the bottom of 
the wheel is now on top.

4. Tap the wheel about 45 degrees on each 
side of the vertical line again.

The wheel passes the test if it gives a clear 
metallic tone when tapped at all four points. If 
the wheel sounds dead at any of the four points, 
it is cracked. Do not use it. 
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Do employees who install residential 
HVAC systems need to be trained about 
confined space hazards before they 
enter crawl spaces? 

Most crawl spaces are considered confined 
spaces because they have all of the following 
characteristics: 

 z They are large enough to enter and  
perform work

 z They have limited means of entering and exiting
 z They are not designed for continuous 

occupancy

Because most crawl spaces are confined 
spaces, they must first be evaluated for hazards 
before employees enter them; it is important 

that employees know the potential hazards they 
could encounter before they enter the space. 
Oregon OSHA recommends that all employees 
who enter crawl spaces know how to identify 
potential crawlspace hazards. If a crawl space 
has no hazards then the employee can enter the 
space and does not need special confined space 
training. However, if the evaluation determines 
that the employee could be exposed to a potential 
hazard in the crawl space – such as heat or a 
hazardous atmosphere, or the work is hazardous, 
such as opening a sewer line – then the space 
becomes a permit-required confined space and 
only specially trained employees can enter. 

For more information, read Oregon OSHA’s fact 
sheet Confined spaces – crawl spaces and attics. 

Ask
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Short take

Workers’ Memorial Scholarship awards open for applications; 
submissions to higher education office due April 1, 2024
By Aaron Corvin

A scholarship fund that helps finance higher 
education for family members of Oregon workers 
who have been fatally injured or permanently 
disabled on the job is open for applications.

The Workers’ Memorial Scholarship awards 
are available to any high school graduate, 
graduating high school senior, GED recipient, 
or current college undergraduate or graduate 
student who is a dependent or spouse of an 
Oregon worker who has been fatally injured or 
permanently disabled while on the job.

The Oregon Office of Student Access and 
Completion (OSAC) – part of the state’s 
Higher Education Coordinating Commission – 
handles applications for the Workers’ Memorial 
Scholarship. The office is accepting applications 
for the 2024-25 academic year. Applications 
are due April 1, 2024.

Students may attend any Federal Title IV 
financial aid eligible institution in the United 
States. That includes four-year universities, two-
year community colleges, private and nonprofit 
institutions, and vocational and trade schools. If 
the institution does not have a six-digit federal 
identification number on the Free Application 
for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA), then it is not a 
qualifying institution.

The following OSAC resources are available 
to help students learn more about eligibility 
requirements, accessing an application, and 
how to get help with their application:

 z Find up-to-date information about the 
requirements for the Workers’ Memorial 
Scholarship in the OSAC Scholarship 
Catalog. Enter the fund number 113, or the 
full name Oregon Occupational Safety and 
Health Division Workers’ Memorial, in the 
search box near the top.

 z Go to the OSAC Scholarship Application. 
 z Send an email requesting help with your 

application.
 z Request application help by calling 541-687-

7400 and pressing 1.
 z Go online to learn more about OSAC and 

student aid.
 z Go online to learn what Oregon OSHA says 

about the Workers’ Memorial Scholarship.

Workers’ Memorial Scholarship award 
recommendations are made by Oregon OSHA’s 
Safe Employment Education and Training Advisory 
Committee, an advisory group with members from 
business, organized labor, and government.

Scholarship award amounts vary. Oregon 
OSHA presents the awards annually to help 
in the postsecondary education of spouses or 
children of permanently and totally disabled or 
fatally injured workers.

The 1991 Oregon Legislature established the 
Workers’ Memorial Scholarship at the request 
of the Oregon AFL-CIO, with support from 
Associated Oregon Industries. 
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Short take

Did you remember to electronically submit your 
OSHA 300A data by March 2?
By Ellis Brasch

Did you remember to 
post your OSHA 300A 
Summary by Feb. 1? 
Oregon OSHA requires you to post a copy of your 
OSHA 300A Summary for calendar year 2023 
between Feb. 1 and April 30 in a common area 
where notices to employees are usually posted. 

 z Post the 300A Summary at the business 
where the injuries or illnesses occurred. In 
cases where the employees are mobile, the 
OSHA 300A Summary may be posted where 
employees regularly report to work. Do not 
post the OSHA 300 Log. 

 z The OSHA 300A Summary must be signed 
and dated by a company executive (a 
designated company representative can 
sign and date the OSHA 300A Summary if a 
company executive reviews the OSHA 300 
Log first).

 z Businesses with 10 or fewer employees at 
any time during 2023 and businesses in 
some low-hazard industries are exempt from 
the posting requirement. 

You will find more information about the OSHA 
300A and the OSHA 300 Log on Oregon OSHA’s 
Recordkeeping and Reporting webpage.

Electronically submit your 
300A data to federal OSHA 
You must electronically submit your 300A data 
for calendar year 2023 with federal OSHA’s 
Injury Tracking Application if: 

 z Your business had 250 or more employees 
at any time during the previous calendar year 
and you are required to maintain an OSHA 
300 log

 z Your business had 20 or more employees, but 
fewer than 250 employees, at any time during 
the previous calendar year and is classified 
in an industry listed in Table 7, Designated 
Industries, (in OAR 437-001-0700)

 z Your business had 100 or more employees at 
any time during the previous calendar year, 
and is classified in an industry listed in Table 8, 
Designated Industries, in (OAR 437-001-0700)

You will need to provide the Employer 
Identification Number (EIN) for your business 
and the legal name of your business when you 
submit your 300A data. 

 

 

Insert self-insured employer and insurer name, address, phone number, and 

service company, if any.       

Report of Job Injury or Illness Workers’ compensation claim 
Worker 

To make a claim for a work-related injury or illness, fill out the worker portion of this form and give it to your employer. If you do not intend to 

file a workers’ compensation claim with the insurance company, do not sign the signature line. Your employer will give you a copy. 

Date of  
injury or illness:       Date you 

left work:       Time you began work  on day of injury:       
 a.m. 
 p.m. 

Regularly scheduled days off:  
 M  T  W T  F  S  S 

DEPT USE:   
Emp 

Time of injury                or illness:               
 a.m. 
 p.m. 

Time you                  left work:            
 a.m. 
 p.m. 

Check here if you have more than one job:  

Ins 

What is your illness or injury? What part of the body? Which side? (Example: Sprained right foot)             Left    Right 

      

Occ 

Nat 

What caused it? What were you doing? Include vehicle, machinery, or tool used. (Example: Fell 10 feet when climbing an 

extension ladder carrying a 40-pound box of roofing materials)        
Part 
Ev 

Src 

2src 

Information ABOVE this line; date of death, if death occurred; and Oregon OSHA case log number must be released to an authorized worker representative upon request.   

Your legal name:       

Language preference:       Birthdate:       Gender: M  F  

Your mailing address:       Home phone:       
Work phone:       

Occupation:        

Names of witnesses:       Name and phone number of health insurance company: 
      

Name and address of health care provider who treated you for the 

injury or illness you are now reporting:       

Were you hospitalized overnight?   
 Yes   No  

Were you treated in the emergency room?             Yes   No 

By my signature, I am making a claim for workers’ compensation benefits. The above information is true to the best of my knowledge and belief. I 

authorize health care providers and other custodians of claim records to release relevant medical records to the workers’ compensation insurer, self-insured 

employer, claim administrator, and the Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services. Notice: Relevant medical records include records of prior 

treatment for the same conditions or of injuries to the same area of the body. A HIPAA authorization is not required (45 CFR 164.512(I)). Release of 

HIV/AIDS records, certain drug and alcohol treatment records, and other records protected by state and federal law requires separate authorization.  

I understand I have a right to see a health care provider of my choice subject to certain restrictions under ORS 656.260 and ORS 656.325. 

Worker 
signature:   

Completed by  (please print):        
 
Date:       

Employer 
Complete the rest of this form and give a copy of the form to the worker. Even if the worker does not want to file a claim, keep a copy of this form. 

Employer legal  business name:       

Phone:       
FEIN:       

If worker leasing company, list client business name:       

Client  
FEIN:       

Address of principal place  of business (not P.O. Box):       

Insurance  policy no.:       

Street address from which  worker is/was supervised:       

ZIP:        
Nature of business in which worker is/was supervised:       

Address where event occurred:       Was injury caused by failure of a machine or product, or by a person other than the injured worker?    Yes   No 

Were other workers injured?   Yes   No 

OSHA 300 log case no:       

Date employer  knew of claim:       Date worker  returned to work:       
Worker’s  weekly wage: $      Date worker  hired:       If fatal, date  of death:       

By my signature, I acknowledge I am responsible for notifying my workers’ compensation insurance company within five days of knowledge of the claim. I 

understand I may not restrict the worker’s choice of or access to a health care provider. If I do, it could result in civil penalties under ORS 656.260. 

Employer  
signature: 

Name and title  (please print):       

Date:       

440-801 (1/21/DCBS/WCD/WEB) 

OSHA requirements: Employers must report work-related fatalities and catastrophes to Oregon OSHA either in person or 

by telephone within eight hours. In addition, employers must report any in-patient hospitalization, loss of an eye, and any 

amputation or avulsion that results in bone or cartilage loss to Oregon OSHA within 24 hours. See OAR 437-001-0704. Call 

800-922-2689 (toll-free), 503-378-3272, or Oregon Emergency Response, 800-452-0311 (toll-free), on nights and weekends. 801 

 

 (A) 
(B) 

(C) 
(D) 

(E) 

(F)

 Case no. 
Employee’s name 

Job title 
Date of 

Where the event 
Describe injury or illness, parts of body 

  
 

(e.g., “welder”) injury or 
occurred (e.g., 

affected, and object/substance that

  
 

 
of illness  

“loading dock 
directly injured or made person ill  

 
 

  
 

  
 

-north end”) 
(e.g., “second-degree burns on  

  
 

 
 

 
right forearm from acetylene torch”)  
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month day
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month day
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month day

month day

month day

month day

OSHA’s Form 300

Log of Work-Related Injuries and Illnesses

You must record information about every work-related death and about every work-related injury or illness that involves loss of consciousness, 

restricted work activity, or job transfer, days away from work, or medical treatment beyond first aid. You must also record significant work-related 

injuries and illnesses that are diagnosed by a physician or licensed health-care professional. You must also record work-related injuries and illnesses 

that meet any of the specific recording criteria listed in OAR 437-001-0700. Use two lines for a single case if you need to. You must complete the 

Report of Injury or Illness (Form 801) or equivalent form for each injury or illness recorded on this form. If you’re not sure whether a case is recordable, 

call your local Oregon OSHA office for help.

Attention: This form contains information relating to employee health and must be used 

in a manner that protects the confidentiality of employees to the extent possible while the 

information is being used for occupational safety and health purposes.Year 20 ___________________

Establishment name: ____________________________________

City: ________________________________ State: ____________

 
Identify the person  

| 
Describe the case  

| 
Classify the case

Using these four  

categories, check  

only the most serious 

result for each case:

Enter the  

number of days 

the injured or  

ill worker was:

Check the “injury” 

column or choose one 

type of illness:

Job  
transfer  

or  
restriction

Other  
recordable  

cases
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Page totals      __ __ __ __ ___ ____ __ __ __ __  __  __

(M)

Be sure to transfer these totals to the Summary (Form 300A) before you post it.

Death   Days away         Remained

              from work           at work 

440-3353A (3/20/OSHA)
 

(G) (H) (I) (J) (K) (L) (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6)

OSHA Form 300ASummary of Work-Related Injuries and Illnesses

All establishments covered by OAR 437-001-0700 must complete this Summary of Work-Related Injuries and Illnesses, 

even if no work-related injuries or illnesses occurred during the year. Remember to review the log to verify that the 

entries are complete and accurate before completing this summary. 

Using the log, count the individual entries you made for each category. Then write the totals below, making sure you’ve 

added the entries from every page of the log. If you had no cases, write “0.”  

Employees, former employees, and their representatives have the right to review the OSHA Form 300 in its entirety. 

They also have limited access to the DCBS Form 801 or its equivalent. See OAR 437-001-0700(21).

Year 20 ___________________Number of cases Total number of deaths Total number of 
Total number of 

Total number of 

 
 

cases with days  
cases with job 

other recordable 

 
 

away from work  
transfers or restriction 

cases

__________________ 
_________________ __________________ 

__________________

 
(G) 

 
(H) 

 
(I) 

 
(J)

Number of days Total number of days 
Total number of days 

 
 

away from work 
of job transfer or restriction  

 
 

__________________ 
_________________ 

 
(K) 

 
(L) 

Injury and illness types Total number of …   (M)
(1)  Injuries 

_____

(2)  Skin disorders 

_____

(3)  Respiratory conditions 
_____ 

(4)  Poisonings 

_____

(5)  Hearing loss 

_____

(6)  All other illnesses 
_____

Keep this summary posted from Feb. 1 to April 30 of the year  

following the year covered by this form.

Establishment information
Your establishment name: ____________________________________________________

Street: ______________________________________________

City: ________________________________________________  

State: ___________________Zip: ________________________

Industry description  (e.g., manufacturer of motor truck trailers)

_______________________________________________  

_______________________________________________

North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS)  

if known (e.g., NAICS 4441)  ______  ______  ______  ______
Employment information (If you don’t have these figures,  

see the worksheet on the back of this page to estimate.)

Annual average number of employees  
 ____________

Total hours worked by all employees last year  ____________

Sign here
Knowingly falsifying this document may result in a fine.

I certify that I have examined this document and that, to the best of my 

knowledge, the entries are true, accurate, and complete.

The highest ranking manager at the location where the Log is compiled 

must sign the OSHA Form 300A._______________________________________________  

_______________________________________________

Phone:   _________________________________________

Date: ____/____/____

Company executive (highest ranking manager) 

Title

18

https://osha.oregon.gov/Pages/topics/recordkeeping-and-reporting.aspx
https://www.osha.gov/injuryreporting/
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/adopted/2023/table-7-ao4-2023-recordkeeping.pdf
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/div1/437-001-0700.pdf
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/adopted/2023/table-8-ao4-2023-recordkeeping.pdf
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/div1/437-001-0700.pdf


Short take

Oregon employers, workers invited  
to take a ‘Safety Break’ May 8
By Aaron Corvin

It’s a day to recognize employer and worker 
successes in cultivating safe and healthy 
workplaces. It’s a day to engage in open and 
direct conversations – including employee 
participation and feedback – about what is going 
well and what can be improved. It’s a day to 
reflect on future challenges and to develop plans 
to minimize or eliminate workplace hazards.

Employers and workers across the state are 
invited to take part in Safety Break for Oregon, 
coordinated by Oregon Occupational Safety and 
Health (Oregon OSHA), a division of the Oregon 
Department of Consumer and Business Services.

The annual event – now in its 21st year – offers 
an opportunity to employers, supervisors, and 
workers across Oregon to celebrate their safety 
and health achievements, and to examine and 
renew their efforts to protect people from harm 
while on the job. 

Will you take the Wednesday, May 8, stand-down 
as a time to refresh your knowledge and training? 
Will you conduct an assessment of where safety 
and health could be improved at your workplace? 
Or will you celebrate your successes and recognize 
emerging safety leaders? 

The choice of activity is yours. Sign up now. You 
could even win a $100 prize.

Oregon OSHA encourages employers and 
workers to share their Safety Break activities on 

social media; tag Oregon OSHA on Facebook 
and LinkedIn with #SafetyBreak.

As you celebrate Safety Break for Oregon, 
Oregon OSHA encourages you to use the 
division’s free resources. If you have questions 
about how to apply Oregon OSHA rules to your 
workplace, contact our technical specialists 
for free. If you want free and confidential help 
reviewing and improving your safety and health 
program, contact our consultation services. 
Moreover, Oregon OSHA offers many free 
education and training resources that you may 
want to use as part of your Safety Break for 
Oregon activity.

Employers that sign up online by Friday, May 3, 
and participate in Safety Break for Oregon will 
be entered to win one of three $100 checks to 
be used for a luncheon of their choice.

The prizes will go to participating companies as 
part of a random drawing. The Oregon SHARP 
Alliance sponsors the contest. The nonprofit group 
promotes safety and health management by 
encouraging teamwork and cooperation among 
people, employers, and organizations to improve 
workplace health and safety for Oregon workers.

Get Safety Break ideas, logos, sample awards, 
and other free resources by visiting the Safety 
Break for Oregon website. 
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Short take

LatinoBuilt: a trade association supporting Latino contractors 
throughout Oregon
By Ellis Brasch

LatinoBuilt – an Oregon 501c(6) nonprofit 
organization – is working to overcome barriers 
and improve opportunities for Latino-owned 
businesses in Oregon’s construction industry. 
The trade association also focuses on workplace 
safety and health, an effort supported by Oregon 
OSHA’s consultation services program. 

Just two years after it launched, LatinoBuilt has 
made a significant effect in the industry. The 
trade association – with a current membership of 
318 contractors, providers and partners – is the 
only one of its kind in Oregon that offers training 
programs to Latino construction contractors, taught 
in Spanish and English, by industry professionals.

The bilingual training focuses on topics such as 
leadership development, employee safety, and 
energy management with the goal of developing a 
community that supports Latino-owned businesses 
as they develop and enrich their livelihoods. 

LatinoBuilt is supported in part by its sister 
organization, the LatinoBuilt Foundation, which 
assists Latino business owners through:

 z Mentoring and networking opportunities
 z Bilingual workshops 
 z One-on-one training

The foundation also works to strengthen the 
fabric of Latino families, offering “wraparound 

services” to improve their lives and strengthen 
their ties with the community. 

Oregon OSHA became a LatinoBuilt member in 
2022 when Oregon OSHA Consultation Services 
program began providing occupational safety and 
health training for contractors covering topics such 
as safety committees, heath illness prevention, 
and ladder safety, and through Oregon OSHA’s 
Challenge Program. 

LatinoBuilt’s membership has grown from 142 
members in 2022 to 318 in 2024. 

Learn more about LatinoBuilt and the LatinoBuilt 
Foundation at latinobuilt.org.
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Going the Distance

It’s no secret that bringing people and organizations 
together removes barriers to sharing information, 
training, and services.

This is no less true when it comes to improving 
workplace health and safety, a continuous process fed 
by networking and collaboration.

But removing such barriers is merely an idea – an 
important goal outlined on paper – until people and 
organizations commit to making it happen.

That commitment is exemplified by the Oregon SHARP 
Alliance. Now in its 24th year, the nonprofit group remains 
dedicated to its mission: promoting safety and health 
management, and cooperation among companies and 
government to advance on-the-job health and safety for 
all Oregon workers.

The alliance carries out its mission in a variety of 
ways, including helping sponsor safety and health 
conferences across Oregon; regularly offering training 
sessions to anyone who is interested; providing 
networking and mentoring opportunities; and publishing 
free training and video resources on its website.

The nonprofit group has long enjoyed steady 
leadership from people with extensive experience and 

The SHARP Alliance Board was recognized at Region X’s 2019 Northwest Safety Summit. Pictured, from left, are Cliff Butler 
(second vice chairperson, 2019 Region X SGE of the Year and 2018 Mentor of the Year), Bobby Hammond (former Region 
8 delegate), Shawna Bergeron, (Region 1 delegate), Mark Hurliman (Oregon OSHA liaison), Erica Frey-Hoyer, (first vice 
chairperson), Ray Illingsworth (third VPP delegate), Julie Stout (second VPP delegate, 2018 Region X SGE of the Year), Eileen 
Tanner, (2019 Mentor of the Year), and Boe Carter (Region 2 delegate).

Oregon’s SHARP Alliance 
grows a network devoted  
to improving workplace 
health and safety
By Aaron Corvin
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education in workplace safety and health in the 
private and public sectors. 

In fact, Erica Frey-Hoyer, currently 
the group’s chairperson and 

quality systems manager 
for Packaging Corp. of 

America’s (PCA) Salem 
facility, recently took the 
reins from Cliff Butler, 
now the group’s current 
past chairperson, who is 

an environmental, health, 
and safety manager for 

Sherwin-Williams’ Purdy 
Brush site in Portland.

The Sherwin-Williams Portland 
facility and the PCA facility 
are long-standing Star sites 
as part of Oregon OSHA’s 
Voluntary Protection 
Program (VPP), which 
further illustrates the high 
caliber of participants in the 
Oregon SHARP Alliance. 

The alliance began as an 
idea in April 1999, when several 
representatives of Safety and Health 
Achievement Recognition Program (SHARP) 
companies met with leaders of Oregon OSHA. 
The seeds for such a meeting had already been 
planted: Oregon OSHA’s Consultation Services 
program had begun offering SHARP to Oregon 
employers in 1995.

The discussion in April 1999 explored the 
creation of a coalition of SHARP companies 
to help Consultation Services in its mission to 
advance and improve workplace safety and 
health for all working Oregonians. 

The idea for such a coalition was based on the 
success of the Voluntary Protection Programs 
Participants’ Association (VPPPA) was seeing 
as it helped companies work toward and obtain 
certification under VPP.

Oregon OSHA’s Consultation Services program 
convened several exploratory and educational 
meetings to help put the idea into action. On 
Sept. 21, 2000, the Oregon SHARP Alliance 

was incorporated, including bylaws and a 
board of directors formed by 14 founding 

members who would operate and 
manage the alliance.

Since then, the alliance has never 
lost sight of its purpose: to advocate 
for excellence in occupational safety 
and health, and sustain continuous 

growth in the SHARP and VPP 
programs as part of a long-term 

relationship with Oregon OSHA. The 
alliance’s goals are as follows: 

 z Promote achievement of SHARP and VPP 
recognition

 z Assist companies that are already in the 
process of becoming SHARP or VPP

 z Assist all companies in Oregon in safety and 
health management

 z Provide input to Oregon OSHA on activities, 
rules, best practices, and strategic planning

 z Serve as a resource for all Oregon 
workplaces

The alliance comprises Oregon employers that 
currently hold SHARP or VPP status, SHARP 
graduates, companies working to achieve 
SHARP or VPP certification, and others who 
promote safety and health in the workplace.

The alliance continues to seek opportunities to 
grow, and connect people and organizations 
to helpful resources. Its track record is replete 
with successes. In 2006, for example, the 
alliance became the primary sponsor of the 
Blue Mountain Occupational Safety and Health 
Conference (BMC) held annually in Pendleton, 
Oregon. Moreover, the Alliance provides an annual 
monetary donation to each of the workplace 
health and safety conferences held in Oregon. 
And it sponsors a formal safety and health 
networking break at each of the health and safety 
conferences. These conferences include:

 z The Oregon Governor’s Occupational Safety 
and Health Conference (GOSH) held in March 
of odd-numbered years in Portland, Oregon.

 z The Cascade Occupational Safety & 
Health Conference held in March of even-
numbered years in Eugene, Oregon. 

 z The Region X Northwest Safety & Health 
Summit held annually in May, rotating between 
Oregon, Washington, Idaho, and Alaska.
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 z The Blue Mountain Occupational Safety & 
Health Conference held annually in June in 
Pendleton.

 z The Central Oregon Occupational Safety 
& Health Conference held annually in 
September in Bend, Oregon.

 z The Southern Oregon Occupational Safety 
& Health Conference held annually in 
October in Ashland, Oregon.

 z The Western Pulp, Paper and Forest 
Products Safety & Health Conference held 
annually the last week of November/first 
week of December in Portland.

Additionally, the Alliance offers quarterly training 
sessions at various locations across Oregon. These 
sessions are three-hour training sessions open 
to anyone who wants to attend. The alliance’s 
general meetings are held on the second Thursday 

in March, September, and December. The June 
meeting is held the day before the annual Blue 
Mountain Conference in Pendleton.

Meanwhile, the alliance maintains a web site (www.
sharpalliance.org) where most of the group’s 
business and documentation are maintained. 
The website offers free training videos and other 
resources. And VPP employers and graduates of 
SHARP in Oregon may use the website to obtain 
replacement SHARP graduate flags and VPP Star 
flags, as the alliance is authorized to sell those flags.

The alliance has changed its operations as the 
need to do so has risen. In 2010, for example, the 
alliance, seeing that nearly half of its operating 
committee members had guided their companies 
through SHARP and into VPP, decided to open the 
group’s membership to Oregon VPP sites as well 
as SHARP sites. Currently, the operating committee 

consists of a chairperson, a first- and second-vice 
chairperson, secretary, treasurer, eight regional 
delegates, and three VPP delegates. As a nonprofit 
made up entirely of volunteers, the alliance’s mailing 
address stays with the treasurer and changes when 
a new treasurer is elected. 

In 2017, the alliance’s Region 1 sought to improve 
its service to the Portland metropolitan area. It 
did so by launching monthly luncheon meetings 
and quarterly training sessions in the tri-
county area surrounding Portland. The training 
sessions are held on the second Tuesday in 
January, April, July, and October.

To this day, the alliance continues its work to help 
strengthen workplace health and safety through 
networking and collaboration across Oregon. It has 
adapted its services to meet new demands, even 
as it has stayed true to its core mission: removing 
barriers by creating opportunities for Oregon 
SHARP and VPP companies to share information 
and best practices with each other. 

Josh Johnson and Joe Sypal work the SHARP Alliance booth, 
greeting and helping visitors during the 2023 VPP Conference.
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