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Temporary Oregon OSHA COVID-19 Rule  

Appendix A 
Mandatory Workplace Guidance for  

INDUSTRY-SPECIFIC AND ACTIVITY-SPECIFIC ACTIVITIES 

 
A-1: Restaurants, Bars, Brewpubs and Public Tasting Rooms at Breweries, Wineries and Distilleries  
A-2: Retail Stores 
A-3: Outdoor/Indoor Markets 
A-4: Personal Services Providers 
A-5: Construction Operations 
A-6: Indoor and Outdoor Entertainment Facilities 
A-7: Outdoor Recreation Organizations 
A-8: Transit Agencies 
A-9: Collegiate, Semi-Professional and Minor League Sports 
A-10: Professional and PAC-12 Sports  
A-11: Licensed Swimming Pools, Licensed Spa Pools and Sports Courts Mandatory Workplace 
Guidance 
A-12: Fitness-Related Organizations 
A-13: K-12 Educational Institutions (Public or Private) 
A-14: Early Education Providers 
A-15: Institutions of Higher Education (Public or Private)  
A-16: Veterinary Clinics 
A-17: Fire Service and EMS (perhaps include EMS Transport, perhaps address separately) 
A-18: Law Enforcement 
A-19: Jails and Custodial Institutions 
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Temporary Oregon OSHA COVID-19 Rule 
Appendix A-1 

Mandatory Workplace Guidance for  
RESTAURANTS, BARS, BREWPUBS, AND PUBLIC TASTING ROOMS AT BREWERIES, WINERIES, AND DISTILLERIES 

Application: This appendix applies to restaurants, bars, breweries, brewpubs, wineries, tasting rooms 
and distilleries. To the degree this appendix provides specific guidance, it supersedes the 
requirements for physical distancing and use of masks, face coverings, or face shields of the COVID-19 
Temporary Rule (OAR 437-001-0744); to the degree a situation is not addressed by the specific 
language of this appendix, the requirements of the rule apply.  
Note: In accordance with Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield 
Guidance and subsection (3)(b) of the Temporary Rule for COVID-19, it is strongly recommended, but 
not required, that individuals wear a mask or face covering as source control instead of a face shield 
alone. 
Note: The Oregon Health Authority guidance on which this appendix is based applies to counties that 
have reached Phase Two Reopening. Such operations in Phase One counties are covered by separate 
Oregon Health Authority provisions not necessarily reflected by this appendix. 
A. Physical Distancing Measures. To ensure appropriate physical distancing, employers operating 

such facilities must do the following:  
1. Ensure tables are spaced at least 6 feet apart so that at least 6 feet between parties is maintained, 

including when customers approach or leave tables;  
2. Businesses must determine the appropriate seating configuration to comply with these physical 

distancing requirements. If available, businesses may allow for footprint expansion to outside 
space for service maintaining the physical distancing requirements of at least 6 feet;  

3. Remove or restrict seating to facilitate the requirement of at least 6 feet of physical distance 
between people not in the same party; and  

4. If booth seating is back-to-back, business must use no more than every other booth, unless a 
barrier is installed in accordance with the following: Install acrylic (Plexiglas, Lexan, etc.) or other 
impermeable physical barrier that is easily cleaned, between counter and bar seating in lieu of 
having 6 feet of distance, if the barrier is at least 1 foot higher than head level for customers 
seated and at least 3 feet wide or at least the width of the seat if the seat is wider than 3 feet. 

B. Masks, face coverings, and face shields. To reduce the risk of transmission from potentially 
infected individuals, employers operating such facilities must review and implement OHA 
Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield Guidance; if at any point such guidance is no longer 
available, such employers must require all employees, patrons, and other visitors five years of age 
and older , unless they are eating or drinking, to wear masks, face coverings, or face shields in all 
indoor spaces, and in all outdoor spaces whenever at least 6 feet of physical distancing cannot be 
consistently ensured. 

Note: While reasonable accommodation for those unable to wear a mask must be provided under 
applicable state and federal laws, such an accommodation does not include exempting individuals 
from the requirement to wear masks, face coverings, or face shields. 
C. Signage. To reinforce the need to minimize COVID-19 risks, employers operating such facilities 

must do the following:  

https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
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1. Post clear signs listing COVID-19 symptoms, asking employees, volunteers, and visitors with 
symptoms to stay home and whom to contact if they need assistance;    

2. Use clear signs to encourage physical distancing;  
3. Post clear signs about the mask, face covering, or face shield requirements; and  
4. For drive-through operations, post signs at the drive-through entrance advising customers to wear 

masks, face shields, or face coverings when interacting with employees during any transactions 
and delivery of product (beyond such required posting, employers need not take additional steps 
to enforce requirements that customers wear masks, face coverings, or face shields while using 
the drive-through). 

D. Special provisions for Video Lottery Terminals (VLTs).  To minimize risks associated with the use 
of VLTs, employers with such terminals must do the following: 

1. Place VLTs at least 6 feet apart. If VLTs cannot be spaced at least 6 feet apart, businesses may 
install an acrylic (Plexiglas, Lexan, etc.) or other non-permeable physical barrier that is easily 
cleaned, between VLTs in lieu of having 6 feet of distance, if the barrier is at least 1 foot higher 
than head level for customers seated and at least 3 feet wide or at least the width of the VLT if 
wider than 3 feet; 

2. Require individuals to request VLT access from an employee before playing; an employee must 
then clean and disinfect the machine to allow play. A business must not allow access to VLTs or 
change VLTs without requesting access from an employee;  

3. Consider a player at a VLT machine the same as a customer seated for table service; and  
4. Limit one player at or around a VLT.  
Note: Oregon Lottery will not turn on VLTs until the agency is satisfied that all necessary conditions 
have been met.  
Additional Resources:  
• Oregon Health Authority Signs You Can Post  
• Oregon Health Authority Guidance for the General Public  
• Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, and Face Shield Guidance  
 
  

https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
http://healthoregon.org/covidguidance
http://healthoregon.org/covidguidance
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2342D.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2342D.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
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Temporary Oregon OSHA COVID-19 Rule 
Appendix A-2 

Mandatory Workplace Guidance for  
RETAIL STORES 

Application: This appendix applies to retail stores. To the degree this appendix provides specific 
guidance, it supplements, but does not replace, the requirements of the Temporary COVID-19 Rule 
(OAR 437-001-0744). 
Note: In accordance with Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield 
Guidance and subsection (3)(b) of the Temporary Rule for COVID-19, it is strongly recommended but 
not required that individuals wear a mask or face covering as source control instead of a face shield 
alone. 
A. Physical Distancing Measures. To ensure appropriate physical distancing, employers operating 

retail stores must limit the number of customers in the retail store and focus on maintaining at 
least 6 feet of distance between people and employees in the store. Store management must 
determine maximum occupancy to maintain at least 6 feet of physical distancing, considering 
areas of the store prone to crowding (such as aisles and certain sections or display areas) and limit 
admittance accordingly. 

Note: Employers operating retail stores are encouraged, but not required, to use the following 
additional practices to encourage appropriate physical distancing: 

• Consider offering alternatives, such as “order ahead” or “curbside pickup,” as appropriate and 
applicable.   

• Consider placing clear plastic or glass barriers in front of cashiers or customer service counters, or 
in other places where maintaining 6 feet of physical distance between employees and customers is 
more difficult.  

• Encourage one-way flow with marked entrances and exits, but do not block fire exits. Use signs to 
direct one-way flow of traffic.  

• Use signs and tape on the floor to maintain physical distancing while waiting for cashiers.  
B. Masks, Face Shields and Face Coverings. To reduce the risk of transmission from potentially 

infected individuals, employers operating such facilities must review and implement OHA 
Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield Guidance; if at any point such guidance is no longer 
available, such employers must require all employees, patrons, and other visitors five years of age 
and older, unless they are eating or drinking, to wear masks, face coverings, or face shields in all 
indoor spaces, and in all outdoor spaces whenever at least 6 feet of physical distancing cannot be 
consistently ensured.. 

Note: While reasonable accommodation for those unable to wear a mask must be provided, such an 
accommodation does not include exempting individuals from the requirement to wear masks, face 
coverings, or face shields in the store. 
C. Sanitation and Cleaning. To reduce the risks from surface contact, employers operating such 

facilities must comply with the sanitation provisions of the rule and must frequently clean and 
sanitize work areas, high-traffic areas, and commonly touched surfaces in both customer/public 
and employee areas of store.  

Note: Employers operating retail stores are encouraged, but not required, to take the following 
sanitation measures: 

https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
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• Prohibit customers from trying on items that are worn on the face (masks, scarves, headwear, and 
eyewear).  

• When processing returns, employees should wash hands or use hand sanitizer before and after 
handling items. Retailer may set items aside for a day or longer if concerned about perceived risks 
of exposure.  

• Decide whether to re-open fitting rooms. If fitting rooms are re-opened, customers should wash 
hands or use hand sanitizer before and after trying on clothes. Retailers should provide hand 
sanitizer or hand washing stations near fitting rooms.  

Note: Applicable Oregon Health Authority guidance in place at the time this rule was adopted requires 
the wiping down of changing room doorknobs, walls, and seating between each customer use. 
D. Signage. To reinforce the need to minimize COVID-19 risks, employers operating retail stores must 

do the following:  
1. Post clear signs listing COVID-19 symptoms, asking employees, volunteers, and visitors with 

symptoms to stay home and whom to contact if they need assistance;    
2. Use clear signs to encourage physical distancing; and  
3. Post clear signs about the mask, face covering, or face shield requirements.  
Additional resources:  
• Oregon Health Authority Signs You Can Post  
• Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, and Face Shield Guidance  
• Oregon Health Authority Guidance for the General Public  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
http://healthoregon.org/covidguidance
http://healthoregon.org/covidguidance
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2342D.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2342D.pdf
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Temporary Oregon OSHA COVID-19 Rule 
Appendix A-3 

Mandatory Workplace Guidance for  
OUTDOOR AND INDOOR MARKETS 

Application: This appendix applies to employers who operate or who provide goods and services in 
indoor and outdoor markets and street fairs. To the degree this appendix provides specific guidance, it 
supersedes the requirements for physical distancing, the use of masks, face coverings, or face shields, 
and sanitation of the COVID-19 Temporary Rule (OAR 437-001-0744); to the degree a situation is not 
addressed by the specific language of this appendix, the requirements of the rule apply. To the degree 
the market or street fair engages in activities covered by other appendices, such as food and beverage 
service or personal services, those appendices must also be followed. 
Note: In accordance with Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield 
Guidance and subsection (3)(b) of the Temporary Rule for COVID-19, it is strongly recommended but 
not required that individuals wear a mask or face covering as source control instead of a face shield 
alone. 
Definitions: For purposes of this appendix, the following definitions apply:  
Indoor and outdoor markets means indoor or outdoor spaces where agriculture products, food, 
merchandise, or services are sold by vendors, generally from booths or tables, and vendors may pay a 
fee to participate. Indoor and outdoor markets may include but are not limited to farmers markets, 
flea markets, craft fairs, and other markets that do not include interactive rides or exhibits. Indoor and 
outdoor markets do not include retail stores, shopping centers, or malls.  
Operator means a person responsible for management and operation of an indoor or outdoor market 
space or street fair.  
Street fair means an outdoor public event requiring a street closure where food, merchandise or 
services may be sold, and vendors may pay a fee to participate. A street fair does not include 
interactive rides or exhibits.  
Vendor means a business that sells food, merchandise or services at an indoor market, outdoor 
market or street fair and may or may not pay a fee to participate.  
A. General Operations. Employers operating indoor and outdoor markets and street fairs are 

required to implement the following measures: 
1. Ensure that ventilation systems operate properly. Increase air circulation and ventilation as much 

as possible by opening windows and doors. Fans should be used indoors only when windows or 
doors are open to the outdoors in order to circulate indoor and outdoor air. Do not open windows 
and doors if doing so poses a safety risk to employees or customers; and  

2. Provide separate facilities, including restrooms, if there is more than one indoor or outdoor 
market or street fair operating at the same time at the same location. Customers, vendors and 
market/fair staff must use only the facilities for their designated market or fair.  

B. Physical Distancing Measures. To ensure appropriate physical distancing, employers operating 
indoor and outdoor markets and street fairs are required to implement the following measures: 

1. With the exception of Farmers Markets, limit the gathering capacity to a maximum 100 people 
indoor or 250 people outdoor, not to exceed 250 combined indoor and outdoor, or the number of 
people, including staff, based on a determination of capacity (square footage/occupancy), 
whichever is less. For Farmers Markets, determine maximum occupancy to maintain at least 6 feet 

https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
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of physical distancing, considering areas of the market prone to crowding (like aisles) and limit 
admittance accordingly;  

2. Ensure customers, staff and vendors maintain physical distance of at least 6 feet from other 
individuals who are not part of the same party. A distance of at least 6 feet must be maintained 
between parties;  

3. Implement one-way flow with marked entrances and exits, but do not block egress for fire exits. 
Use signs to direct one-way flow of traffic;  

4. Use signs or markings on the ground to maintain physical distancing while waiting for cashiers;  
5. Assign 1 physical distancing monitor per 50 people to ensure physical distancing requirements and 

gathering capacity limits are maintained at all times for both indoor and outdoor spaces, including 
at entrances, exits, restrooms and any other area where people may congregate; 

6. Determine seating and configuration to comply with all physical distancing requirements;  
7. Do not combine parties or allow shared seating for individuals not in the same party;  
8. Remove or restrict seating and standing areas to facilitate the requirement of at least 6 feet of 

physical distance between parties; and  
9. Prohibit people in different parties from congregating in any area of the facility, both indoor and 

outdoor, including in parking lots.  
Note: Employers operating indoor and outdoor markets and street fairs are encouraged, but not 
required, to take the following additional steps to encourage physical distancing and minimize contact. 

• Consider placing clear plastic or glass barriers in front of cashiers or customer service counters, or 
in other places where maintaining 6 feet of physical distance between employees and customers is 
more difficult.  

• Provide separate entrances/exits for employees and/or vendors, if possible.  

• Consider offering alternative order ahead and pick up options, such as curbside pickup, as 
appropriate and applicable.  

• Use touchless or cashless payment options, without contact with customers.  
C. Masks, Face Coverings, and Face Shields. To reduce the risk of transmission from potentially 

infected individuals, employers operating such facilities must review and implement OHA 
Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield Guidance; if at any point such guidance is no longer 
available, such employers must require all employees, patrons, and other visitors five years of age 
and older, unless they are eating or drinking, to wear masks, face coverings, or face shields in all 
indoor spaces, and in all outdoor spaces whenever at least 6 feet of physical distancing cannot be 
consistently ensured.   
Note: While reasonable accommodation for those unable to wear a mask must be provided, such 
an accommodation does not include exempting individuals from the requirement to wear masks, 
face coverings, or face shields. 

D. Sanitation and Cleaning. To reduce the risks from surface contact, employers indoor and outdoor 
markets and street fairs must implement the following:  

1. Must comply with the sanitation provisions of the rule and regularly clean and sanitize work areas, 
high-traffic areas, and commonly touched surfaces in both customer/public and employee areas of 
the market or fair. For example, wipe down seating areas between each customer use. Use 
disinfectants that are included on the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) approved list for the 

https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
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SARSCoV-2 virus that causes COVID-19 (No product will be labeled for COVID-19 virus yet, but 
many products will have a label or information available on their websites about their 
effectiveness for human coronavirus);  

2. Ensure that vendors frequently clean and sanitize work areas, high-traffic areas, and commonly 
touched surfaces in the vendor areas. For example, wipe down seating areas between each 
customer use. Use disinfectants that are included on the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 
approved list for the SARS-CoV-2 virus that causes COVID-19. (No product will be labeled for 
COVID-19 virus yet, but many products will have a label or information available on their websites 
about their effectiveness for human coronavirus);  

3. Assign at least 1 sanitation attendant whose sole duties are to clean restrooms hourly and ensure 
adequate sanitary supplies (for example, soap, toilet paper, 60-95% alcohol content hand 
sanitizer) are available during all events; and  

4. Assign at least 1 sanitation attendant whose sole duties are to frequently clean and disinfect work 
areas, high-traffic areas, and commonly touched surfaces in areas accessed by employees and 
customers.  

Note: Employers who operate indoor/outdoor markets and street fairs are encouraged but not 
required to take the following additional sanitation measures:  

• Strongly encourage vendors/attendees/participants to wash hands with soap and water for at 
least 20 seconds or to use hand sanitizer (60-95% alcohol content) regularly.  

• Provide hand sanitizer (60-95% alcohol content) at entrances. 
E. Signage. To reinforce the need to minimize COVID-19 risks, employers operating retail stores must 

do the following:  
1. Post clear signs listing COVID-19 symptoms, asking employees, volunteers, and visitors with 

symptoms to stay home and listing whom to contact if they need assistance;    
2. Use clear signs to require physical distancing throughout market or fair, including but not limited 

to eating areas and near restrooms; and  
3. Post clear signs about the mask, face covering, or face shield requirements.  
Additional resources:  
• Oregon Health Authority Signs you can post  
• Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, and Face Shield Guidance  
• Oregon Health Authority Guidance for the General Public   

https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
http://healthoregon.org/covidguidance
http://healthoregon.org/covidguidance
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2342D.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2342D.pdf
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Temporary Oregon OSHA COVID-19 Rule 
Appendix A-4 

Mandatory Workplace Guidance for  
PERSONAL SERVICES PROVIDERS 

Application: This appendix applies to employers of personal services providers. To the degree this 
appendix provides specific guidance, it supersedes the requirements for physical distancing, the use of 
masks, face coverings, and face shields, and sanitation of the COVID-19 Temporary Rule (OAR 437-
001-0744); to the degree a situation is not addressed by the specific language of this appendix, the 
requirements of the rule apply.    
Note: In accordance with Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield 
Guidance and subsection (3)(b) of the Temporary Rule for COVID-19, it is strongly recommended but 
not required that individuals wear a mask or face covering as source control instead of a face shield 
alone. 
Note: Applicable Oregon Health Authority guidance, which also applies to personal services providers 
who are not employees subject to Oregon OSHA jurisdiction, is not affected by the adoption of this 
rule. 
Definitions: For purposes of this appendix, the following definitions apply:  
Personal services providers is defined as barber shops, hair salons, esthetician practices, medical spas, 
facial spas and day spas, non-medical massage therapy services, nail salons, tanning salons, and 
tattoo/piercing parlors.  
A. General Operations – Advance Screening. Employers of personal services providers must ensure 

that the following screening measures are taken:  
1. The provider or another representative of the employer must contact the client prior to an 

appointment and ask the following questions:   
 Have you had a new or worsening cough?  
 Have you had a fever?  
 Have you had shortness of breath?  
 Have you been in close contact with anyone with these symptoms or anyone who has been 

diagnosed with COVID-19 in the past 14 days?  
2. Reschedule an appointment if the client answers “yes” to any of the questions above until the 

client’s symptoms (cough, fever and shortness of breath) have been resolved, and fever has been 
resolved without medication for at least 24 hours, or (in the case of the final question) at least 14 
symptom-free days after contact with a person sick with cough, fever, or diagnosed COVID-19.  

3. During the conversation with the client, review information about how COVID-19 is spread from 
one person to another: namely, through coughing, sneezing, touching, or via objects touched by 
someone with the virus.   

4. Record client contact information, date and time of appointment and provider for each client. If 
there is a positive COVID-19 case associated with the business, public health may need the 
business to provide this information for a contact tracing investigation. Unless otherwise directed, 
this information may be destroyed after 60 days from the appointment.  

Note: To the extent possible, employers of such providers are encouraged, but are not required to use 
touchless infrared thermometers to check the temperature of each client who enters the business and 
then explain to any client who has a temperature above 100.0°F that services cannot be provided, and 

https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2351C.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2356.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2356.pdf
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the appointment will be rescheduled until at least 24 hours after fever and other symptoms have 
resolved without medication. If the client must wait for a ride home, provide a space where the client 
may self-isolate away from employees and other clients.  
B. General Operations – Other Practices. Employers of personal services providers must immediately 

send home any employee with COVID-19 like symptoms (cough, fever, shortness of breath, etc.) 
and not allow the employee to return to work until at least 24 hours after fever and other 
symptoms have resolved without medication.  

Note: To the extent possible, employers of such providers are encouraged but not required to use 
touchless infrared thermometers to check temperature of each employee before their shift begins, 
immediately send home any employee who has a temperature above 100.0°F, and not allow the 
employee to return to work until at least 24 hours after fever and other symptoms have resolved 
without medication.   
C. Physical Distancing Measures. To ensure appropriate physical distancing, employers operating 

such facilities must adopt the following measures:  
1. Determine the maximum occupancy of the business to maintain at least 6 feet of physical 

distancing between clients and limit admittance accordingly;  
2. Limit the overall number of providers and clients in the business (including waiting areas) at any 

one time and focus on maintaining at least 6 feet of physical distance between people in the 
facility, except when required to provide services such as massage, haircuts, etc.;  

3. Have clients wait in their car or outside to be contacted when the provider is ready for the 
appointment;    

4. Limit visits to scheduled appointments. Provide curbside pick-up arranged ahead of time for 
product purchases outside of scheduled service appointments;    

5. Assign one provider per client throughout the encounter;  
6. Ensure at least 6 feet of physical distance between pairs of provider/clients. If necessary, use 

limited number of stations and stagger shifts to adhere to physical distance requirements. 
Maintain at least 6 feet of distance between provider and client unless providing service that 
requires provider to be within 6 feet of client; and 

7. Ensure that providers minimize face-to-face contact within 6 feet of clients.  
D. Masks, Face Coverings, and Face Shields. To reduce the risk of transmission from potentially 

infected individuals, employers of personal services providers must take the following steps: 
1. Review and implement OHA Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield Guidance, except as 

otherwise provided by this appendix; if at any point such guidance is no longer available, 
employers must require all employees and visitors five years of age and older to wear masks, face 
coverings, or face shields except as otherwise provided by this appendix;  

Note: While reasonable accommodation for those unable to wear a mask, face covering, or face shield 
must be provided, such an accommodation does not include exempting individuals from the 
requirement to wear a mask, face covering, or face shield. 
2. Allow clients wearing face coverings to remove the covering when appropriate to or necessary for 

certain services; for example, a client does not need to wear a face covering when face-down on a 
massage table. And some services, such as mustache or beard trims, may require the cloth, paper 
or disposable face covering to be temporarily removed; and 

https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf


 Appendix A, Page 11
   

 

3. Allow employees to wear medical grade masks if they choose to do so when providing services. 
Note: To the extent possible, providers are encouraged but not required to take the following 
additional measures to minimize the risks of face-to-face contact:  

• Provide at no cost to the employee and require the use of medical grade masks by employees when 
providing services that require close contact (within 6 feet), such as in the case of a haircut, 
massage or pedicure.  

• Provide at no cost to the employee and require the use of both face shields and a face covering for 
face-to-face services, such as mustache trims and brow waxing.   

E. Client Service Sanitation. To reduce the risks from physical contact between clients and personal 
services providers, such employers must employ the following sanitation measures in relation to 
each client service: 

1. Drape each client in a clean cape, if applicable, for the service. Businesses may consider using 
disposable capes for one-time use;  

2. Wear a clean smock with each client. Businesses may consider using disposable smocks/gowns for 
one-time use;    

3. Wash hands with soapy, warm water, for a minimum of 20 seconds between each client service;  
4. Wear disposable gloves when providing client services and change gloves between each client;  
5. Request that clients wash hands with soapy, warm water, for a minimum of 20 seconds prior to 

receiving service;  
6. Ask clients to wash their own hair prior to arriving for their appointment; and  
7. Change into clean clothes between clients if providing services that require extended close client 

contact such as massage therapy and tattoo artistry.  
F. Sanitation and Cleaning. To reduce the risks from surface contamination, such employers must 

employ the following sanitation and cleaning measures: 
1. Remove all unnecessary items such as magazines, newspapers, service menus, and any other 

unnecessary items such as paper products, snacks, and beverages;    
2. Provide training, educational materials (available at healthoregon.org/coronavirus), and 

reinforcement on proper sanitation, handwashing, cough and sneeze etiquette, and using other 
protective equipment and measures to all employees;  

3. Wash hands after using the telephone, computer, cash register and/or credit card machine, and 
wipe these surfaces between each use;  

4. Ensure all sinks in the workplace have soap and paper towels available;  
5. Change into clean clothes before leaving the business each day;  
6. Ensure breakrooms are thoroughly cleaned and disinfected and that employees do not congregate 

in them;  
7. Thoroughly clean restroom facilities at least once daily and ensure adequate sanitary supplies 

(soap, toilet paper, hand sanitizer) throughout the day;  
8. Thoroughly clean and disinfect all areas of business prior to reopening after extended closure due 

to COVID-19. Disinfect all surfaces, tools, and linens, even if they were cleaned before the business 
was closed;  

https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
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9. Use disinfectants that are Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)-registered and labeled as 
bactericidal, viricidal or fungicidal. Products are unlikely to be labeled for COVID-19 yet, but many 
will have human coronavirus efficacy either on the label or available on their website. The EPA has 
a list of disinfectant products that meet EPA criteria for use against the virus that causes COVID-
19. If in doubt of the product’s effectiveness, check the EPA website;     

10. Mix and change disinfectant for immersion of tools daily and replace sooner if it becomes 
contaminated throughout the workday. Disinfectant only works on a clean surface, so clean all 
surfaces and tools with hot soapy water, other appropriate cleaner or cleaning wipes (if using 
wipes, be sure to cover surface thoroughly) before disinfecting;    

11. Observe contact time on the label so disinfectant will work. Contact time refers to how long the 
disinfectant is visibly wet on the surface, allowing it to thoroughly destroy pathogens. Typical 
contact time for immersion/sprays is ten (10) minutes, for disinfectant wipes, time is 2-4 minutes;  

12. Clean and disinfect all workstation and treatment room surfaces, including countertops, cabinets 
and doorknobs, chairs, head rests and arm rests. Clean and disinfect all reusable tools and store in 
airtight container. Clean and disinfect all appliances (including cords), shears, clippers, clipper 
guards, clippies, rollers, combs, brushes, rolling carts and any other items used to provide client 
services;  

13. Check to make sure all products at workstations, such as lotions, creams, waxes, scrubs, and any 
other similar supplies have always been in a closed container. If not, discard and replace. Remove 
and discard any products that could have been contaminated by unsanitary use and replace with 
new product;  

14. Clean and disinfect hard non-porous surfaces, glass, metal and plastic, including work areas, high-
traffic areas, and commonly touched surfaces in both public and employee-only areas of the 
business;  

15. Use porous/soft surfaces (such as cardboard files, buffers, drill bits, etc.) only once and then 
discard because they cannot be disinfected;    

16. Launder all linens, blankets, towels, drapes, and smocks in hot soapy water and dry completely at 
the warmest temperature allowed. Store in an airtight cabinet after each client use. Store all 
used/dirty linens in an airtight container;  

17. Clean and disinfect all linen hampers and trash containers and only use a container that can be 
closed and use with liners that can be removed and discarded;  

18. Clean and disinfect all retail areas at least daily, including products. Try to keep clients from 
touching products that they do not plan to purchase;  

19. Provide hand sanitizer and tissues for employees and clients, if available;  
20. Clean and disinfect all restroom surfaces including floors, sinks, and toilet bowls. Store paper 

products in a closed cabinet and provide hand soap. Place trashcan by the door. Remove anything 
that does not have to be in the restrooms;  

21. Clean and disinfect all bowls, hoses, spray nozzles, hoist handles, shampoo chairs and arm rests 
between each use. Wipe down all back-bar products and shelves. Discard and replace any 
products that have not been stored in a closed container prior to reopening after extended 
closure; and  
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22. Empty all wax pots and disinfect before refilling them with new wax prior to reopening after 
extended closure.  Purchase new single-use applicators that can be disposed of in an airtight trash 
can. The airtight trash can must have a lid and be lined with a disposable plastic bag.  

Note: To the extent possible, employers of such providers are encouraged but not required to take the 
following additional measures to reduce risks of surface contamination: 

• Use plastic covers for cloth-covered seating because they cannot be properly cleaned and 
disinfected.  

• Discontinue use of paper appointment books or cards and replace with electronic options.  

• Limit the exchange of cash, and wash hands thoroughly after each transaction. Credit/debit 
transactions or other electronic means of payment are preferred, using touch/swipe/no signature 
technology.  

F. Signage. To reinforce the need to minimize COVID-19 risks, employers of personal services 
providers must do the following:  

1. Post clear signs, listing COVID-19 symptoms, asking employees, volunteers, and visitors with 
symptoms to stay home and whom to contact if they need assistance;    

2. Use clear signs to encourage physical distancing;  
3. Post clear signs about the mask, face coverings, and face shields requirements; and 
4. Post handwashing signs in restrooms.  
Additional resources:  

•  Oregon Health Authority Signs You Can Post  
•  Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, and Face Shield Guidance  
  

https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
http://healthoregon.org/covidguidance
http://healthoregon.org/covidguidance
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
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Temporary Oregon OSHA COVID-19 Rule 
Appendix A-5 

Mandatory Workplace Guidance for  
CONSTRUCTION OPERATIONS  

Application: This appendix applies to employers engaged in construction activities. To the degree this 
appendix provides specific guidance, it supersedes the requirements for physical distancing and use of 
masks, face coverings, or face shields of the COVID-19 Temporary Rule (OAR 437-001-0744); to the 
degree a situation is not addressed by the specific language of this appendix, the requirements of the 
rule apply. 
Note: In accordance with Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield 
Guidance and subsection (3)(b) of the Temporary Rule for COVID-19, it is strongly recommended but 
not required that individuals wear a mask or face covering as source control instead of a face shield 
alone. 
A. General Operations – Advance Screening. Each construction employer must develop and 

implement a system to screen employees and visitors accessing the site using a pre-screening 
checklist consistent with recommendations from the Centers for Disease Control. 

B. Physical Distancing Measures. To ensure appropriate physical distancing, construction employers 
must do the following:  

1. Ensure that workers maintain at least 6-feet of physical distance between themselves and their co-
workers on all construction sites, except as otherwise provided;  

2. Limit work in occupied areas of a home or other structure to only those tasks that are strictly 
necessary; and  

3. When it is not practical to maintain a physical distance of at least 6 feet, ensure that workers 
remain separated to the largest degree practical and that the duration of such activity is kept as 
short as possible. 

Construction employers are encouraged, but not required, to redesign workflow, including access to 
stairwells, floor levels, etc., to maximize distance between workers; one-way routes, if used, should 
include signage.  
C. Masks, Face Coverings, and Face Shields. To reduce the risk of transmission from potentially 

infected individuals, employers operating such facilities must do the following: 
1. Ensure that employees wear masks, face coverings, or face shields in all indoor spaces, and 

outdoor jobsites when 6-feet of physical distance cannot be reliably maintained by workers;  
2. Ensure that employees wear masks, face coverings, or face shields working in office settings, job 

trailers, and meeting rooms whenever required by this rule (for example, face coverings must be 
worn in corridors, restrooms, elevators, and stairwells);  

3. Ensure that employees being transported in a motor vehicle for work purposes must wear masks, 
face coverings, or face shields, regardless of the distance involved, unless all individuals in the 
vehicle are members of the same household; 

4. Ensure that employees on construction sites that are either occupied or open to the public wear 
masks, face coverings, or face shields at all times when working indoors, and outdoors unless the 
workers can reliably maintain 6-feet of physical distance from one another and controls (barriers, 
railing, rope, caution tape, etc.) have been implemented to separate workers from the public by at 
least 6 feet; and  

https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
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5. Ensure that employees engaged in indoor remodel work in R3, B, and M occupancy classifications 
(during normal operational hours when the public is present) wear masks, face coverings, or face 
shields at all times. 

Note: While reasonable accommodation for those unable to wear a mask, face coverings, or face 
shields must be provided, such an accommodation does not include exempting individuals from the 
requirement to wear a mask, face covering, or face shield. 
Additional resources:  

• Oregon Health Authority Signs you can post  
• Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, and Face Shield Guidance   
  

http://healthoregon.org/covidguidance
http://healthoregon.org/covidguidance
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
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Temporary Oregon OSHA COVID-19 Rule 
Appendix A-6 

Mandatory Workplace Guidance for  
INDOOR AND OUTDOOR ENTERTAINMENT FACILITIES 

Application: This appendix applies to indoor and outdoor entertainment facilities, including zoos, 
museums, drive-in movie theaters, raceways, outdoor gardens, and aquariums. To the degree this 
appendix provides specific guidance, it supersedes the requirements for physical distancing, the use of 
masks, face coverings, or face shields, and sanitation of the COVID-19 Temporary Rule (OAR 437-001-
0744); to the degree a situation is not addressed by the specific language of this appendix, the 
requirements of the rule apply. 
Note: In accordance with Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield 
Guidance and subsection (3)(b) of the Temporary Rule for COVID-19, it is strongly recommended but 
not required that individuals wear a mask or face covering as source control instead of a face shield 
alone. 
Definitions: For the purposes of this appendix, the following definition applies:  
Raceways refers to a special racing track used for the sport of high-speed racing of specialized vehicles 
or motorcycles. It does not include go-kart tracks or other recreational go-karting facilities. 
A. General Operating Conditions. Employers operating such facilities must ensure they are ready to 

operate and that all equipment is in good condition, in accordance with any applicable 
maintenance and operations manuals and standard operating procedures 

B. Physical Distancing Measures. To ensure appropriate physical distancing, employers operating 
such facilities must do the following:  

Note: Notwithstanding the practicality and feasibility provisions of this rule, applicable Oregon Health 
Authority guidance in place at the time of the adoption of this rule requires covered facilities to cease 
operations and close the facility if they are unable to maintain the physical distancing requirements in 
this appendix or if unable to comply with all other requirements in this appendix. The requirement to 
close the facility applies to both indoor and outdoor operations for entities that have both.   
1. Limit the capacity of the setting to a maximum of 100 people indoor or 250 people outdoor, not to 

exceed 250 combined indoor and outdoor; or to the number of people, including staff, based on 
capacity (square footage/occupancy), whichever is less;   

2. Limit activities to parties consisting of 10 people or fewer. Do not combine parties/guests at 
shared seating situations who have not chosen to attend together;  

3. Ensure physical distancing of at least 6 feet between people of different parties (members of the 
same party can participate in activities together, stand in line together, and do not have to stay 6 
feet apart);   

4. Set-up seating and/or game configuration to comply with all physical distancing requirements;  
5. Remove or prohibit (using barriers or other effective means) seating/consoles/lanes etc. to make 

sure people not in the same party remain at least 6 feet apart;  
6. Prohibit people in different parties from gathering in any area of the facility, both indoor and 

outdoor, including in parking lots;  
7. Keep common areas with chairs benches and tables (for example. picnic tables, day-use shelters, 

and buildings open to the public) arranged so that parties can keep at least 6 feet of physical 

https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
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distance. Post clear signs to reinforce physical distancing requirements between visitors of 
different parties;  

8. Prohibit operation and use of all play areas/ball pits/indoor play structures/playgrounds; and   
9. Do not operate drop-in child care within the facility. 
Note: Employers operating such facilities are encouraged, but not required, to use the following 
additional practices to encourage appropriate physical distancing: 

• Encourage reservations or advise people to call in advance to confirm facility capacity. Consider a 
phone reservation system that allows people to wait in cars and enter facility only when a phone 
call or text indicates space is available.  

• Assign a designated greeter or host to manage visitor flow and monitor physical distancing while 
waiting in line, ordering, and during entering and exiting. Do not block access to fire exits.   

• Assign staff to monitor physical distancing requirements, so that parties are no larger than 10 
people, and to help visitors follow these requirements.  

• Assign staff to monitor visitor access to common areas such as restrooms so that visitors do not 
gather.  

• Route foot traffic in a one-way direction to minimize close contact between visitors. Post signs for 
one-way walking routes to attractions, if feasible.  

• Limit the number of staff who serve or interact with each party.   

• Encourage visitors to recreate with their own household members rather than with those in their 
extended social circles.  

• Encourage visitors to recreate safely and avoid traveling to or recreating in areas where it is 
difficult to keep at least 6 feet from others not in their household.  

• Place clear plastic or glass barriers in front of cashiers or visitor center counters, or in other places 
where keeping 6 feet between employees, volunteers and visitors is more difficult. 

• Consider closing every other parking spot to facilitate at least 6 feet of physical distance between 
parties. This is especially useful in the case of drive-in theaters or other activities where the visitors 
are likely to remain in or near, or frequently return to, their vehicles. 

C. Masks, face coverings, and face shields. To reduce the risk of transmission from potentially 
infected individuals, employers operating such facilities must do the following: 

1. Require all employees to wear a mask, face covering, or face shield in accordance with the 
provisions of this rule;  

2. Provide masks, face coverings, or face shields for employees at no cost to the employees. If 
employees wish to wear their own face coverings instead of those provided by the employer, the 
employer may allow them to do so (but is not required to allow them to do so); 

3. Require all customers and other visitors to follow the Statewide Mask, Face Shield, Face Covering 
Guidance issued by the Oregon Health Authority; if at any point such guidance is no longer 
available, require all employees, customers and other visitors five years of age and older to wear 
masks, face shields, or face coverings whenever at least 6 feet of physical distancing cannot be 
consistently ensured.  

https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
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Note: While reasonable accommodation for those unable to wear a mask, face covering, or face shield 
must be provided, such an accommodation does not include exempting individuals from the 
requirement to wear a mask, face covering, or face shield. 
Note: Employers operating such facilities are encouraged, but not required, to provide appropriate 
masks, face coverings, or face shields for customers and other visitors. 
D. Sanitation and Cleaning. To reduce the risks from surface contact, employers operating such 

facilities must do the following:  
1. Clean and sanitize work areas, high-traffic areas, and commonly touched surfaces in both 

customer and employee areas in indoor and outdoor facilities, using disinfectants that are 
included on the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) approved list for the SARS-CoV-2 virus 
that causes COVID-19 (products are unlikely to be labeled specifically for COVID-19, but many 
products will have a label or information available on their websites about their effectiveness for 
human coronavirus);  

2. Thoroughly clean restroom facilities at least twice daily and, to the extent possible, ensure 
adequate sanitary supplies (soap, toilet paper, hand sanitizer) are available in such areas 
throughout the day. Restroom facilities that cannot be cleaned twice daily should be kept closed 
or a sign should be posted stating that the restroom is unable to be cleaned twice daily; and 

3. Train all employees on cleaning operations and best hygiene practices including washing their 
hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds.  

Note: Employers operating such facilities are encouraged, but not required, to consider providing 
hand-washing facilities for customer use in and around the facility. Hand sanitizer is effective on clean 
hands; businesses may make hand sanitizer (60-95% alcohol content) available to customers. Hand 
sanitizer must not replace hand washing by employees.     
Note: Employers operating outdoor facilities are encouraged, but not required, to encourage visitors to 
bring their own food, water bottles and hygiene supplies (including hand sanitizer) and/or to 
encourage visitors to take their trash with them when they leave.  
E. Signage. To reinforce the need to minimized COVID-19 risks, employers operating such facilities 

must do the following:  
1. Post clear signs listing COVID-19 symptoms, asking employees, volunteers, and visitors with 

symptoms to stay home and whom to contact if they need assistance;    
2. Use clear signs to encourage physical distancing; and   
3. Post clear signs about the mask, face covering, or face shield requirements.  
Note: Retail facilities and other activities operated within Indoor and Outdoor Entertainment Facilities 
but not addressed by this Appendix must comply with the requirements applicable to those activities. 
Note: Applicable Oregon Health Authority guidance in place at the time of the adoption of this rule 
requires covered facilities to cease operations no later than 10 p.m. 
Additional Resources:  
• Oregon Health Authority Guidance for the General Public  
• Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, and Face Shield Guidance  
• Centers for Disease Control Guidance for Administrators in Parks and Recreational Facilities  
  
  

https://www.epa.gov/pesticide-registration/list-n-disinfectants-use-against-sars-cov-2
https://www.epa.gov/pesticide-registration/list-n-disinfectants-use-against-sars-cov-2
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2342D.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2342D.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/parks-rec/park-administrators.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/parks-rec/park-administrators.html
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Temporary Oregon OSHA COVID-19 Rule 
Appendix A-7 

Mandatory Workplace Guidance for  
OUTDOOR RECREATION ORGANIZATIONS 

Application: This appendix applies to outdoor recreation organizations, including (but not limited to) 
outdoor sports. To the degree this appendix provides specific guidance, it supersedes the 
requirements for physical distancing, the use of masks, face coverings, or face shields, and sanitation 
of the COVID-19 Temporary Rule (OAR 437-001-0744); to the degree a situation is not addressed by 
the specific language of this appendix, the requirements of the rule apply. 
Note: In accordance with Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield 
Guidance and subsection (3)(b) of the Temporary Rule for COVID-19, it is strongly recommended but 
not required that individuals wear a mask or face covering as source control instead of a face shield 
alone. 
Definitions: For purposes of this appendix, the following definitions apply:  
Full-contact sports means sports that involve a requirement or substantial likelihood of routine, 
sustained close proximity or physical contact between participants, and include but are not limited to 
football, rugby, wrestling, cheerleading, basketball, hockey, dance, water polo, and men’s lacrosse.  
Minimal- and medium-contact sports include but are not limited to softball, baseball, soccer, 
volleyball, women’s lacrosse, and flag football.  
Non-contact sports include but are not limited to tennis, swimming, golf, cross country, track and 
field, sideline/no contact cheer and dance.  
Note: Applicable Oregon Health Authority guidance in place at the time of the adoption of this rule 
prohibits full-contact sports. 
A. General Operating Conditions. Employers operating such facilities and reopening after extended 

closure must ensure all parks and facilities are ready to operate and that all equipment is in good 
condition, according to any applicable maintenance and operations manuals and standard 
operating procedures  

B. Physical Distancing Measures. To ensure appropriate physical distancing, employers operating 
such facilities must do the following:  

1. Prohibit parties (a group of 10 or fewer people that arrived at the site together) from congregating 
in parking lots for periods longer than reasonable to retrieve/return gear and enter/exit vehicles;    

2. Reinforce the importance of maintaining at least 6 feet of physical distance between parties (a 
group of 10 or fewer people that arrived at the site together) on hiking trails, beaches and boat 
ramps through signs and education;   

3. Ensure compliance with the OHA Guidance for Gatherings, while that guidance remains in effect; 
4. Ensure that physical distancing of at least 6 feet between people of different parties is maintained 

at outdoor playgrounds, including splash pads; and 
5. Keep any common areas such as picnic tables not in shelters/structures, day-use shelters, and 

buildings open to the public arranged so there is at least 6 feet of physical distance between 
parties (chairs, benches, tables).  

Note: Employers operating such organizations are encouraged, but not required, to use the following 
additional practices to encourage appropriate physical distancing: 

https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2351G.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2351G.pdf
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• Consider closing alternating parking spots to facilitate at least 6 feet of physical distance between 
parties.  

• Consider opening loop trails in a one-way direction to minimize close contact between hikers. 
Designate one-way walking routes to attractions if feasible.  

• Encourage the public to visit parks and recreation areas during off-peak use times as defined and 
publicized by park or recreation area management.  

• Encourage the public to visit parks and recreation areas close to home, avoid overnight trips and 
minimize travel outside their immediate area for recreation. Caution the public to not travel 
outside of their home area if they live in an area with a high number of reported COVID-19 cases.  

• Encourage visitors to bring their own food, water bottles and hygiene supplies (including hand 
sanitizer), as well as to take their trash with them when they leave.  

• Encourage the public to recreate with their own household members rather than with those in 
their extended social circles.  

• Encourage the public to recreate safely and avoid traveling to or recreating in areas where it is 
difficult to maintain at least 6 feet from others not in their party.  

• Position staff to monitor physical distancing requirements, ensure groups are no larger than 10 
people, and provide education and encouragement to visitors to support adherence.  

• Consider placing clear plastic or glass barriers in front of cashiers or visitor center counters, or in 
other places where maintaining 6 feet of physical distance between employees, volunteers and 
visitors is more difficult. 

C. Masks, Face Coverings, and Face Shields. To reduce the risk of transmission from potentially 
infected individuals, employers operating such facilities must review and implement OHA 
Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield Guidance; if at any point such guidance is no longer 
available, such employers must require all employees, patrons, and other visitors five years of age 
and older, unless they are eating or drinking, to wear masks, face coverings, or face shields indoors 
and outdoors whenever at least 6 feet of physical distancing cannot be consistently ensured. 

Note: While reasonable accommodation for those unable to wear a mask, face covering, or face 
shields must be provided, such an accommodation does not include exempting individuals from the 
requirement to wear a mask, face covering, or face shield. 
D. Sanitation and Cleaning. To reduce the risks from surface contact, employers operating such 

facilities must do the following:  
1. Encourage hand washing in and around the outdoor playground or play field, including splash 

pads. Hand sanitizer is effective on clean hands. Outdoor recreation organizations may make hand 
sanitizer (60-95% alcohol content) available to people using the outdoor playgrounds or play 
fields;   

2. Thoroughly clean restroom facilities at least twice daily and, to the extent possible, ensure 
adequate sanitary supplies (soap, toilet paper, hand sanitizer) throughout the day. Restroom 
facilities that cannot be cleaned twice daily should be kept closed or a sign should be posted 
stating that the restroom is unable to be cleaned twice daily;  

3. Comply with the sanitation provisions of the rule and frequently clean and disinfect work areas, 
high-traffic areas, and commonly touched surfaces in both public and non-public areas of parks 
and facilities; and  

https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
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4. Close sandboxes as they are not allowed at this time. 
Note: Employers operating such organizations are encouraged, but not required, to provide 
handwashing stations or hand sanitizer in common areas such as picnic areas, day-use shelters, and 
buildings open to the public.  
E. Signage. To reinforce the need to minimized COVID-19 risks, employers operating such 

organizations must do the following: 
1. Post clear signs listing COVID-19 symptoms, asking employees, volunteers, and visitors with 

symptoms to stay home and whom to contact if they need assistance; and    
2. Post clear signs in or around common areas to reinforce physical distancing requirements between 

visitors of different parties. 
3.  Post clear signs in or around common areas about the mask, face covering, and face shield 
requirements. 
Additional resources:  
• Signs you can post  
• Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield Guidance  
• CDC’s Guidance for Administrators in Parks and Recreational Facilities  
  
 
  

https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
http://healthoregon.org/covidguidance
http://healthoregon.org/covidguidance
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
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Temporary Oregon OSHA COVID-19 Rule 
Appendix A-8 

Mandatory Workplace Guidance for  
TRANSIT AGENCIES 

Application: This appendix applies to public transit agencies and providers statewide. To the degree 
this appendix provides specific guidance, it supersedes the requirements for physical distancing, the 
use of masks, face coverings, or face shields, and sanitation of the COVID-19 Temporary Rule (OAR 
437-001-0744); to the degree a situation is not addressed by the specific language of this appendix, 
the requirements of the rule apply. 
Note: In accordance with Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield 
Guidance and subsection (3)(b) of the Temporary Rule for COVID-19, it is strongly recommended but 
not required that individuals wear a mask or face covering as source control instead of a face shield 
alone. 
A. Physical Distancing Measures. To ensure appropriate physical distancing, transit agencies must do 

the following: 
1. Require at least 3 feet of physical distance between passengers;  
2. Require at least 6 feet of physical distance between the driver and passengers (except during 

boarding and when assisting those with mobility devices); cordon off seats as necessary to 
reinforce this requirement;  

3. Use physical partitions or visual cues (for example, floor decals, colored tape, or signs) to 
discourage passengers from standing or sitting within 3 feet of other passengers, and within 6 feet 
of drivers and other transit employees on the bus or train;  

4. Determine and post maximum occupancy for each bus; and  
5. For rail systems, make verbal announcements about maximum occupancy before and after each 

stop.    
Note: Transit agencies are encouraged, but not required, to use the following additional practices to 
encourage appropriate physical distancing: 

• Implement one-way flow of traffic with front door boarding and rear exiting.   

• Consider installing clear plastic barriers between driver and passengers when 6 feet of physical 
distance cannot be maintained.  

• Establish a policy and practice for providing alternate transportation for riders who are ill and need 
transportation to obtain medical care that limits possible exposure to transit employees and other 
members of the public.  

B. Masks, Face Coverings, and Face Shields. To reduce the risk of transmission from potentially 
infected individuals, employers operating such facilities must review and implement OHA 
Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield Guidance; if at any point such guidance is no longer 
available, such employers must require all employees, patrons, and other visitors five years of age 
and older, unless they are eating or drinking, to wear masks, face coverings or face shields indoors, 
and outdoors whenever at least 6 feet of physical distancing cannot be consistently ensured. 

Note: While reasonable accommodation for those unable to wear a mask, face covering, or face shield 
must be provided, such an accommodation does not include exempting individuals from the 
requirement to wear a mask, face covering, or face shield. 

https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
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C. Sanitation and Cleaning. To reduce the risks from surface contact, transit agencies must do the 
following: 

1. Provide transit employees access to soap, clean running water, and drying materials, or at least 
60-95% alcohol-based hand sanitizer at their worksite; and  

2. Clean buses/trains and transit stations frequently. Conduct targeted cleanings every 4 hours, with 
a focus on disinfecting frequently touched surfaces of the bus/train and at transit stations.   

Note: Transit agencies are encouraged, but not required, to install hand sanitizer stations with 60-95% 
alcohol-based hand sanitizer solution in each bus/train to the extent possible.    
Signage. To reinforce the need to minimize COVID-19 risks, transit agencies must do the following:  
1. Post clear signs, in more than one language, listing COVID-19 symptoms, asking employees, 

volunteers, and visitors with symptoms to stay home and whom to contact if they need assistance;    
2. Use clear signs to encourage physical distancing;  
3. Post clear signs about the mask, face covering, and face shield requirements; and 
4. For rail systems, post maximum occupancy for each train car using clear, prominently placed signs.  
Note: Transit agencies are encouraged, but not required, to use signs at high-traffic stops to 
encourage physical distancing while waiting for a bus or train.  
  

https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
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Additional Resources:  
• Oregon Health Authority Guidance for the General Public  
• Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield Guidance  
  
  

https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2342D.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2342D.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
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Temporary Oregon OSHA COVID-19 Rule 
Appendix A-9 

Mandatory Workplace Guidance for  
COLLEGIATE, SEMI-PROFESSIONAL AND MINOR LEAGUE SPORTS 

Application: This appendix applies to collegiate (other than Pac-12 Conference), semi-professional, 
and minor league sports practice, training and play for specified sports statewide (including athletes 
and teams based outside of Oregon that travel to Oregon to play). To the degree this appendix 
provides specific guidance, it supersedes the requirements for physical distancing, use of masks, face 
coverings, or face shields, and sanitation of the COVID-19 Temporary Rule (OAR 437-001-0744); to the 
degree a situation is not addressed by the specific language of this appendix, the requirements of the 
rule apply. In addition, certain activities (for example, those involving education) may be addressed by 
other appendices. When such sports involve the use of pools, such employers must also follow 
Appendix A-10, “Licensed Swimming, Licensed Spa Pools and Sports Courts.”  
Note: In accordance with Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield 
Guidance and subsection (3)(b) of the Temporary Rule for COVID-19, it is strongly recommended but 
not required that individuals wear a mask or face covering as source control instead of a face shield 
alone. 
Note: Applicable Oregon Health Authority guidance in place at the time of the adoption of this rule 
prohibits full-contact sport play; training and conditioning for full contact sports are allowed. Training 
and conditioning, such as weightlifting, running drills and intra-squad scrimmaging, cannot include full 
contact of any kind.  
Definitions: For purposes of this guidance, the following definitions apply:   
Full-contact sports means sports that involve a requirement or substantial likelihood of routine, 
sustained close proximity or physical contact between participants, and includes but is not limited to 
football, rugby, wrestling, cheerleading, basketball, hockey, dance, water polo, men’s lacrosse.   
Minimal- and medium-contact sports include but are not limited to softball, baseball, soccer, 
volleyball, women’s lacrosse, flag football.   
Non-contact sports include but are not limited to tennis, swimming, golf, cross country, track and 
field, sideline/no contact cheer and dance.  
A. General Operations. Employers engaged in such sports must do the following: 
1. Ensure facility ventilation systems operate properly. Increase air circulation as much as possible by 

opening windows and doors, using fans, or other methods. Do not open windows and doors if 
doing so poses a safety risk to staff, spectators or athletes;  

2. Communicate all policies and facilities information to athletes/participants, parents, guardians and 
caregivers prior to resuming or beginning the season;  

3. Prohibit staff and athletes who have any symptoms of COVID-19 from entering the premises or 
sporting location; and   

4. Discourage any person, including athletes, at increased risk for complications from COVID-19 (for 
example, people with chronic health conditions) from attending any sporting activities (If an 
athlete, volunteer or spectator displays symptoms of COVID-19, a staff member should ask them 
to leave the premises, provide the individual with a mask, face covering, or face shield, and help 
the individual minimize their contact with others before leaving the facility).  

https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2351C.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2351C.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2351C.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2351C.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/symptoms-testing/symptoms.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/symptoms-testing/symptoms.html
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B. Physical Distancing Measures. To ensure appropriate physical distancing, employers engaged in 
such sports must do the following: 

1. Limit the gathering capacity for each sporting event to a maximum of 100 indoors, 250 people 
outdoors, not to exceed 250 indoor and outdoor; or the number of people, including staff, based 
on a determination of capacity (square footage/occupancy), whichever is less. Maintain physical 
distancing of at least 6 feet per person. A mask, face covering, or face shield, must be used in 
addition to physical distancing;  

2. Develop and implement a written plan to limit the number of spectators admitted into the 
premises so that all staff, volunteers, contractors and spectators can keep 6 feet of physical 
distance;   

3. Assign a designated monitor to make sure that spectators keep 6 feet of physical distance, 
including at entrances, exits, restrooms and any other area where people may gather;   

4. Encourage everyone at the sports facility, including all athletes, coaches, referees, volunteers and 
independent contractors, to keep a physical distance of at least 6 feet from individuals not 
residing in the same household, especially in common areas;   

5. Assign designated areas for managers and coaches, when not practicing/playing, to ensure they 
can maintain physical distance; and   

6. When multiple sporting events occur at the same sports complex or venue at the same time, 
leagues, coaches and trainers are required to ensure athletes and spectators for sporting events 
do not share space, including but not limited to restrooms, hallways, concession stands.  

Note: Employers engaged in such sports are encouraged, but not required, to use the following 
additional practices to encourage appropriate physical distancing: 

• Stagger arrival and departure times for staff, athletes and spectators to minimize congregating at 
entrances, exits and restrooms to follow required physical distancing requirements.  

• Schedule enough time between practices and games so all people from a previous practice can 
leave the premises before the next group enters. This minimizes gathering at entrances, exits and 
restrooms while providing sufficient time to sanitize the facilities/equipment.   

• Require or encourage attendees, athletes, and their families to stay outside of the premises (for 
example, in vehicles) until scheduled practice or play time (allowing people to leave the premises 
before others enter and minimizing gathering).  

• Require people to enter the premises through a designated entrance and exit through a designated 
exit. Do not block fire exits. Use signs to direct one-way flow of traffic. Consider scheduling and 
staggering arrival times to the premises to minimize large numbers of individuals arriving and 
exiting at the same time.  

• Provide separate entrances/exits for staff, athletes and spectators.  

• Take steps to ensure that there is only contact among participants/athletes needed to play the 
game (refraining from handshakes, high fives, fist/elbow bumps, chest bumps, and group 
celebrations).  

• Space out athletic equipment to prevent athletes coming into direct contact with one another. 

• Allow only trainers, coaches and athletes to attend practices to ensure physical distancing and 
prevent people from gathering.  

• Train or play outside if it can be done safely, when it does not violate any local ordinances.  
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D. Masks, Face Shields and Face Coverings. To reduce the risk of transmission from potentially 
infected individuals, employers operating such facilities must review and implement OHA 
Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield Guidance; if at any point such guidance is no longer 
available, such employers must require all employees, patrons, and other visitors five years of age 
and older, unless they are eating or drinking, to wear masks, face coverings or face shields indoors, 
and outdoors whenever at least 6 feet of physical distancing cannot be consistently ensured. 
 

Note: While reasonable accommodation for those unable to wear a mask, face covering, or face shield 
must be provided, such an accommodation does not include exempting individuals from the 
requirement to wear a mask, face covering, or face shield. 
C. Sanitation and Cleaning. To reduce the risks from surface contact, such employers must do the 

following: 
1. Close water fountains, except for those designed to refill water bottles without contact between 

the bottle and fountain. Encourage athletes to bring prefilled water bottles;  
2. Frequently clean and disinfect shared equipment, including but not limited to bats and rackets. All 

surfaces of each piece of shared equipment must be cleaned and disinfected frequently, as 
appropriate for the sport (for example, between athletes, sets, periods, or games). This includes, 
but is not limited to, equipment such as bats and rackets. Clean all equipment that directly 
contacts the head, face and hands with extra attention and detail;  

3. Use disinfectants that are included on the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) approved list 
for the SARS-CoV-2 virus that causes COVID-19; 

4. Require employees to practice good hygiene including washing their hands frequently and 
covering their sneezes and coughs. Wash hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds, 
especially after touching shared objects or blowing your nose, coughing or sneezing. Avoid 
touching your eyes, nose and mouth;   

5. If soap and water are not readily available, use a hand sanitizer that contains 60-95% alcohol 
content. (Users need to cover all surfaces of their hands and rub them together until they are dry);   

6. Encourage athletes to bring their own hand sanitizer for personal use. Comply with the sanitation 
provisions of the rule and frequently clean and disinfect high-traffic areas, and commonly touched 
surfaces in areas accessed by staff, athletes and spectators;  

7. Ensure restrooms are cleaned and disinfected prior to and after any league activity and/or at least 
twice daily;  

8. If an athlete, volunteer or spectator displays symptoms of COVID-19, immediately disinfect all 
areas used by the sick person;  

9. If teams and spectators at the same sporting event share a restroom, leave entrance/exit doors 
open, if possible, and regularly clean and sanitize commonly touched surfaces such as stall door 
handles and faucets; and   

10. When multiple sporting events occur at the same sports complex or venue at the same time, 
leagues, coaches and trainers are required to clean and sanitize commonly touched surfaces, such 
as door handles, between subsequent games and events and to clean and sanitize high-traffic 
areas such as entrances, exits, check-in tables, restrooms and concession areas between 
subsequent games or events.  

https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://www.epa.gov/pesticide-registration/list-n-disinfectants-use-against-sars-cov-2
https://www.epa.gov/pesticide-registration/list-n-disinfectants-use-against-sars-cov-2
https://www.epa.gov/pesticide-registration/list-n-disinfectants-use-against-sars-cov-2
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Note: Such employers are encouraged, but not required, to take the following measures to further 
minimize the risks from surface contact: 

• Provide handwashing stations and/or hand sanitizer (beyond the existing handwashing 
requirements for all workplaces in Oregon OSHA’s permanent rules). 

• Encourage athletes to use only their own equipment when feasible. Avoid or minimize equipment 
sharing, when feasible 

• Encourage athletes and/or their family members to clean and disinfect equipment after each use, 
where feasible.  

D. Special Requirements related to Travel. To reduce the risks from out of state travel, such 
employers must do the following: 

1. Limit exposure to those outside the travel unit during transit by ensuring that all members of a 
travel unit including staff, athletes, coaches and drivers, if on a bus or in a car, wear a mask, face 
covering, or face shield; 

2. Allow drivers to transport multiple travel units if wearing a mask and sanitizing hands before and 
after each driving each group. Vehicles must be cleaned between transport of each travel unit 
following transportation guidelines; and.   

3. Limit travel to those who have been in regular contact and are considered essential personnel 
(specifically athletes, coaches, and medical staff);    

4. When engaged in air travel, such employers must employ the following additional measures: 
a. When able, consider charter flights instead of commercial air travel. Commercial air travel 

should be on a carrier with robust infection control methods and enforcement of universal 
masking requirements. Avoid traveling on the same private plane with a different team.   

b. Require travelers to carry hand sanitizer that contains 60-95% alcohol content at all times and to 
use it frequently.   

c. Require travelers to wear masks or face coverings at all times and minimize removal for eating 
or drinking.  

d. Document the names of all passengers including the driver, pilot and flight staff, along with the 
date and time of the trip and the vehicle number/license, if applicable; and    

5. After returning from travel to other states, such employers must encourage good hand hygiene, 
physical distancing, and wearing face masks or face coverings, and must ensure that all staff and 
students have a robust process for self-monitoring/reporting COVID-19 symptoms. If those who 
return from other states experience COVID-19 symptoms, either they or their employer must 
contact health care provider to ensure appropriate testing.  

Note: Such employers whose staff and players travel out of state are encouraged, but not required, to 
take the following measures to further minimize the risks from such travel: 
• Aim to travel and play the same day to avoid overnight stays, when feasible. 

• For overnight stays or same-day travel, prepackaged meals or room service should be considered. 
If restaurant dining is the only option, consider take-out food or outdoor eating as preferable 
alternatives.  

• Encourage those who have traveled to limit their exposure to others for 10 days after travel.  
Additional Resources:  

https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2355.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/LE2356.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/LE2356.pdf
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• Oregon Health Authority Signs you can post  
• Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield Guidance  
 
  

http://www.healthoregon.org/covidguidance
http://www.healthoregon.org/covidguidance
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
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Temporary Oregon OSHA COVID-19 Rule 
Appendix A-10 

Mandatory Workplace Guidance for  
PROFESSIONAL AND PAC-12 SPORTS 

Application: This appendix applies to professional and Pac-12 sports practice, training and play for 
specified sports statewide. Professional and Pac-12 conference athletes and teams based outside of 
Oregon that travel to Oregon for play must follow the guidance laid out in this document. To the 
degree this appendix, or the documents protocols developed in response to it, provides specific 
guidance, it supersedes the requirements of the COVID-19 Temporary Rule (OAR 437-001-0744); to 
the degree a situation is not addressed by the specific language of this appendix or the protocols, the 
requirements of the rule apply.  
General Operations. Professional and Pac-12 sports teams wishing to play in the State of Oregon must 
submit protocols to Oregon Health Authority (OHA), Oregon OSHA, and the Governor’s office to 
ensure training, competition and play is in alignment with all public and workplace health guidance 
and county phase requirements. Training, competition and play cannot resume until protocols are 
reviewed and approved by OHA, Oregon OSHA, and the Governor’s office.   
To the degree such protocols have been approved and address the issues covered by this temporary 
COVID-19 rule, they will represent compliance with the provisions of this rule.   
Additional Resources:  
• Oregon Health Authority Signs you can post  
• Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield Guidance  
  

http://healthoregon.org/covidguidance
http://healthoregon.org/covidguidance
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
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Temporary Oregon OSHA COVID-19 Rule 
Appendix A-11 

Mandatory Workplace Guidance for  
EMPLOYERS OPERATING LICENSED SWIMMING POOLS, LICENSED SPA POOLS, AND SPORTS COURTS  

Application: This appendix applies to employers who operate or otherwise use general- and limited-
use pools and sports courts. To the degree this appendix provides specific guidance, it supersedes the 
requirements for physical distancing, the use of masks, face coverings, or face shields, and sanitation 
of the COVID-19 Temporary Rule (OAR 437-001-0744); to the degree a situation is not addressed by 
the specific language of this appendix, the requirements of the rule apply. In addition, certain 
activities (for example, those involving education) may be addressed by other appendices. 
Note: In accordance with Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield 
Guidance and subsection (3)(b) of the Temporary Rule for COVID-19, it is strongly recommended but 
not required that individuals wear a mask or face covering as source control instead of a face shield 
alone. 
Definitions: For purposes of this appendix, the following definitions apply:  
Full-contact sports means sports that require or are likely to have routine or sustained close proximity 
or physical contact between participants, and includes but is not limited to football, rugby, wrestling, 
cheerleading, basketball, hockey, dance, water polo, men’s lacrosse.  
General-use pools are licensed swimming pools, typically involving larger facilities such as municipal 
swimming pools or community center pools.   
Limited-use pools are licensed swimming pools operated in connection with a companion facility, 
such as an apartment complex, hotel/motel, private club, association or organizational camp where 
the pool is limited to residents, patrons or members.  
Minimal- and medium-contact sports include but are not limited to softball, baseball, soccer, 
volleyball, women’s lacrosse, flag football.  
Non-contact sports include but are not limited to tennis, swimming, golf, cross country, track and 
field, sideline/no contact cheer and dance.  
Sports court means any public or privately-owned facilities for the use of sports. 
Note: Applicable Oregon Health Authority guidance in place at the time of the adoption of this rule 
prohibits full-contact sport play; training and conditioning for full contact sports are allowed. 
Training and conditioning, such as weightlifting, running drills and intra-squad scrimmaging, 
cannot include full contact of any kind.  
A. General Operations. Employers operating pools and sport courts must take the following steps: 
1. Prohibit workers with any of the COVID-19 symptoms (fever, cough, shortness of breath, etc.) 

from working or entering premises;  
2. Prohibit visitors with any of the symptoms associated with the COVID-19 virus from entering the 

premises. If a visitor has symptoms of COVID-19, staff must ask them to leave the pool, provide 
the visitor with a face covering or mask, and help the visitor minimize their contact with staff and 
other visitors before exiting the facility. Immediately disinfect all areas used by the sick visitor; 
and   

3. Ensure equipment is in good condition, according to any applicable maintenance and operations 
manuals and standard operating procedures.  

https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
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B. Physical Distancing Measures. To ensure appropriate physical distancing, employers operating 
such facilities must do the following: 

1. Maintain physical distancing of at least 6 feet between people; 
2. Inform visitors that members of the same party can participate in activities together and do not 

have to stay 6 feet apart;  
3. Assign a physical distancing monitor to ensure compliance with all distancing requirements, 

including at entrances, exits, restrooms and any other area where people may gather;  
4. Develop a plan to limit the number of visitors admitted into the pool and/or sport court area so 

that 6 feet of physical distancing can be maintained. Operators may consider requiring 
reservations to limit the number of individuals in the pool area;  

5. Alter pool deck layouts to ensure visitors and staff can keep 6 feet of physical distance;  
6. If using the pool for lap swim, design and implement a plan so that swimmers enter and exit the 

pool on opposite ends and maintain 6 feet of physical distance between one another. Prohibit the 
gathering of people within the facility, including at the ends of lanes;  

7. Designate a waiting area for swimmers that allows for 6 feet physical distancing; 
8. If locker room use is allowed, develop and implement a plan to limit the number of individuals 

using showers and changing rooms at the same time;  
9. If locker room use is allowed, develop and implement a plan to keep at least 6 feet of physical 

distance between people within the locker room(s);  
10. Ensure that the any locker room use does not exceed maximum occupancy. Use the total square 

footage of the locker room to determine the maximum occupancy of the locker room based on a 
minimum of 35 square feet per person; and  

11. For spa pools, limit the use of the pool to one household unit at a time. Operators may consider 
scheduling reservations in 15-minute increments.  

C. Masks, Face Coverings, and Face Shields. To reduce the risk of transmission from potentially 
infected individuals, employers operating such facilities must ensure that all individuals five 
years of age and older, including any lifeguards wear masks, face coverings, or face shields 
when not in the water or in the shower.  
Note: While reasonable accommodation for those unable to wear a mask, face covering, or face 
shield must be provided, such an accommodation does not include exempting individuals from 
the requirement to wear a mask, face covering, or face shield. 

D. Sanitation and Cleaning. To reduce the risks from surface contact, such employers must do the 
following: 

1. Require employees to practice healthy hygiene to reduce the spread of COVID-19 including 
washing their hands frequently and covering their sneezes and coughs;  

2. Close water fountains, except for those designed to refill water bottles in a contact-free manner. 
Water bottles may not come into contact with the water fountain;  

3. For sports courts, frequently clean and disinfect shared equipment. This includes, but is not 
limited to, equipment such as bats, balls and rackets. Use disinfectants that are included on the 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) approved list for the SARSCoV-2 virus that causes COVID-
19;  
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4. Use disinfectants that are included on the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) approved list 
for the SARS-CoV-2 virus that causes COVID-19. No product will be labeled for COVID-19 yet, but 
many products will have a label or information available on their websites about their 
effectiveness for human coronavirus;  

5. Comply with the sanitation provisions of the rule and frequently clean and disinfect work areas, 
high-traffic areas, and commonly touched surfaces in areas accessed by staff and visitors, 
including counters, tables, lounge chairs handrails, door handles, water fountains, showers, pool 
toys and other commonly touched surfaces;   

6. Regularly clean restrooms and ensure they are supplied with soap, paper towels and hand 
sanitizer for planned use;   

7. Ensure hand sanitizer is available at locations around the facility for both staff members and 
visitors;  

8. Have maintenance staff or a pool maintenance company regularly check the pool recirculation 
equipment for proper operation and disinfectant levels prior to the opening of the pool;   

9. Prohibit lifeguards from cleaning and sanitizing while on duty; 
10. Thoroughly clean all areas of pool and sport courts prior to reopening after extended closure. 

Specifically, for pools, flush your water system, both hot and cold water, until the hot water 
reaches its maximum temperature (take care minimize splashing and aerosol generation during 
flushing); and  

11. After extended closure, clean other water-using devices, such as ice machines, may require 
additional cleaning steps in addition to flushing, such as discarding old ice. Follow water-using 
following device manufacturers’ instructions.  

E. Signage. To reinforce the need to minimize COVID-19 risks, such employers must do the 
following:  

1. Post clear signs listing COVID-19 symptoms, asking staff and visitors with symptoms to stay home, 
and listing whom to contact if they need assistance. Operators may post warning signs in visible 
locations of how to stop the spread of COVID-19 virus (including the sharing of items such as 
goggles, and other hard to clean items);  

2. Use signs to require physical distancing throughout facility, including but not limited to reception 
areas, eating areas and near restrooms; and  

3. Post clear signs about the mask, face covering, and face shield requirements. 
Additional Resources:  
• Oregon Health Authority Signs You Can Post  
• OHA Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield Guidance  
• OAR 333, Division 60 (Public Swimming Pools) 

https://www.epa.gov/pesticide-registration/list-n-disinfectants-use-against-sars-cov-2
https://www.epa.gov/pesticide-registration/list-n-disinfectants-use-against-sars-cov-2
https://www.epa.gov/pesticide-registration/list-n-disinfectants-use-against-sars-cov-2
https://www.epa.gov/pesticide-registration/list-n-disinfectants-use-against-sars-cov-2
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19#collapseOHAGuidance
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19#collapseOHAGuidance
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19#collapseOHAGuidance
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19#collapseOHAGuidance
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19#collapseOHAGuidance
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=240968
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Temporary Oregon OSHA COVID-19 Rule 
Appendix A-12 

Mandatory Workplace Guidance for  
EMPLOYERS OPERATING FITNESS-RELATED ORGANIZATIONS 

Application: This appendix applies to fitness-related organizations including but not limited to gyms, 
fitness centers, personal training, dance studios, and martial arts centers. To the degree this appendix 
provides specific guidance, it supersedes the requirements for physical distancing, the use of masks, 
face coverings, or face shields, and sanitation of the COVID-19 Temporary Rule (OAR 437-001-0744); 
to the degree a situation is not addressed by the specific language of this appendix, the requirements 
of the rule apply. In addition, certain activities, such as the operation of swimming pools, spa pools or 
sport courts may be addressed by other appendices. 
Note: In accordance with Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield 
Guidance and subsection (3)(b) of the Temporary Rule for COVID-19, it is strongly recommended, but 
not required, that individuals wear a mask or face covering as source control instead of a face shield 
alone. 
Definitions: For purposes of this appendix, the following definitions apply:  
Full-contact sports means sports that involve a requirement or substantial likelihood of routine, 
sustained close proximity or physical contact between participants, and includes but is not limited to 
football, rugby, wrestling, cheerleading, basketball, hockey, dance, water polo, men’s lacrosse.  
Minimal- and medium-contact sports include but are not limited to softball, baseball, soccer, 
volleyball, women’s lacrosse, flag football.  
Non-contact sports include but are not limited to tennis, swimming, golf, cross-country, track and 
field, sideline/no-contact cheer and dance.  
A. General Operations. Employers of personal services providers must ensure that the following 

screening measures are taken:  
1. Ensure all facilities and equipment are safe to operate and are in good condition after the 

extended closure. Maintenance and operations manuals and standard operating procedures 
should guide this work;  

2. Close water fountains, except for those designed to refill water bottles in a contact-free manner. 
Strongly encourage clients to bring their own water bottles to the facility; 

3. Ensure that ventilation systems operate properly. Increase air circulation and ventilation as much 
as possible by opening windows and doors. In indoor spaces, fans should be used only when 
windows or doors are open to the outdoors in order to circulate indoor and outdoor air. Do not 
open windows and doors if doing so poses a safety risk to employees, children or customers; and  

4. Flush water pipes weekly while the building is vacant and prior to resuming normal building use 
(stagnant water in pipes can create conditions that favor the growth and spread of Legionella and 
other harmful bacteria (see Guidance for Reopening Building Water Systems after Prolonged 
Shutdown).    

Note: Applicable Oregon Health Authority guidance in place at the time this rule was adopted prohibits 
full-contact sports. Gymnasiums must be used only for non-contact sports or individual skills 
development not requiring contact with other people.   
Note: Applicable Oregon Health Authority guidance in place at the time this rule was adopted requires 
saunas and steam rooms to remain closed. It also requires that drop-in child care remain closed. 

https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2322r.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2322r.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2322r.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2322r.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2322r.pdf
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B. General Operations – Client Screening. Employers operating such facilities must record client 
contact information, date and time for client facility use. If there is a positive COVID-19 case 
associated with the facility, public health officials may need the business to provide this 
information for a contact tracing investigation. Unless otherwise required, this information may be 
destroyed after 60 days from the session date. 

Note: Employers operating such facilities are encouraged, but not required, to take the following 
additional steps: 
• Screen clients prior to start of their session in the facility such as asking:  
 Have you had a new or worsening cough?  
 Have you had a fever?  
 Have you had shortness of breath?  
 Have you been in close contact with anyone with these symptoms or anyone who has been 

diagnosed with COVID-19 in the past 14 days?  
Appropriate Response: If the client responds “yes” to any of the screening questions, ask them to 
return home and wait to return to the facility until all symptoms, including fever have been 
resolved for at least 24 hours without medication, or at least 14 days after contact with a person 
with a cough, fever, or diagnosed with COVID-19.  

• Strongly encourage a client exhibiting symptoms of illness to immediately leave the facility and not 
return until at least 24 hours after symptoms have resolved without medication.  

• Strongly encourage clients at higher risk for severe COVID-19 complications (persons over age 60 
or with underlying medical conditions) to continue to stay home to reduce their risk of exposure.  

C. Physical Distancing Measures. To ensure appropriate physical distancing, employers operating 
such facilities must do the following: 

1. Limit the capacity to either a maximum of 100 people indoors or 250 people outdoors, not to 
exceed a combined indoor/outdoor capacity of 250; or the number of people, including staff, 
based on a determination of capacity (square footage/occupancy), whichever is less;   

2. Limit fitness class size to maximum occupancy of the room (as long as it ensures 6 feet of 
separation); 

3. Position staff to monitor physical distancing and disinfecting requirements;   
4. Consider holding fitness activities or classes outdoors if it can be done safely, when it does not 

violate any local ordinances, and when participants and instructors can maintain 6 feet of physical 
distance;  

5. Limit exercise equipment stations to those located at least 6 feet apart;  
6. Establish one-way traffic flow, where possible, for equipment circuits, tracks, etc. Use signs to 

direct one-way flow of traffic; and  
7. For one-to-one personal training, maintain 6 feet of physical distance between trainer and client.  
Note: Applicable Oregon Health Authority guidance in place at the time this rule was adopted requires 
equipment to be blocked from being used if it cannot be moved to facilitate physical distancing.  
D. Masks, Face Coverings, and Face Shields. To reduce the risk of transmission from potentially 

infected individuals, employers operating such facilities must do the following: 
1. Ensure that all staff wear masks, face coverings, or face shields when indoors unless they are alone 

in a private office; 
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2. Ensure that all staff and all clients 5 years of age and older wear a mask, face covering, or face 
shield when exercising indoors; and  

3. Ensure that all staff and all clients 5 years of age and older wear a mask, face covering, or face 
shield when exercising outdoors if 6 feet of physical distance cannot be reliably maintained. 

Note: While reasonable accommodation for those unable to wear a mask, face covering, or face shield 
must be provided, such an accommodation does not include exempting individuals from the 
requirement to wear a mask, face covering, or face shield. 
Note: Employers operating fitness-related organizations are encouraged, but are not required, to 
implement the following additional measures to further minimize the risk of infection due to 
interpersonal contact:  
• Place clear plastic or glass barriers in front of reception counters, or in other places where 

maintaining 6 feet of physical distance between employees and clients is more difficult.  
• Schedule gym time by appointment to limit number of people in the facility.  
• Encourage use during non-peak times as determined and publicized by facility management.  
• Offer virtual fitness classes, especially for persons at higher risk for severe COVID-19 complications 

such as people over 60 years of age or individuals with underlying medical conditions.  
• Encourage one-way flow with marked entrances and exits, but do not block egress for fire exits. 

Use signs to direct one-way flow of traffic. 
E. Sanitation and Cleaning. To reduce the risks from surface contact, such employers must do the 

following: 
1. Thoroughly clean all areas of fitness-related organization prior to reopening after extended 

closure;   
2. Use disinfectants that are included on the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) approved list 

for the SARS-CoV-2 virus that causes COVID-19. No product will be labeled for COVID-19 yet, but 
many will have human coronavirus efficacy either on the label or available on their website;   

3. Require employees or facility guests to wipe down all equipment (for example, balls, weights, 
machines, etc.) immediately before and after each use with a disinfectant provided by the gym 
that is included on the EPA-approved products for the SARS-CoV-2 virus that causes COVID-19. A 
solution of 60%-95% alcohol content also works;  

4. Comply with the sanitation provisions of the rule and frequently clean and disinfect work areas, 
high-traffic areas, and commonly touched surfaces in areas accessed by workers and public;  

5. Thoroughly clean restrooms at least twice daily and ensure adequate sanitary supplies (e.g., soap, 
toilet paper, 60-95% alcohol content hand sanitizer) throughout the day; and   

6. Provide handwashing stations or hand sanitizer (60-95% alcohol content) throughout the facility 
for use by employees and clients.  

Note: Employers who operate fitness-related organizations are encouraged, but not required to take 
the following steps to further increase sanitation: 
• Strongly encourage clients to wash hands with soap and water for 20 seconds and/or use hand 

sanitizer (60-95% alcohol content) immediately before and after gym session as well as several 
times during the session.  

https://www.epa.gov/pesticide-registration/list-n-disinfectants-use-against-sars-cov-2
https://www.epa.gov/pesticide-registration/list-n-disinfectants-use-against-sars-cov-2
https://www.epa.gov/pesticide-registration/list-n-disinfectants-use-against-sars-cov-2
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• Further minimize the risks of one-to-one personal training by having the trainer and client 
thoroughly wash hands with soap and warm water or use hand sanitizer (60-95% alcohol content) 
immediately before and after appointment.  

E. Signage. To reinforce the need to minimize COVID-19 risks, such employers must do the following:  
1. Post clear signs listing COVID-19 symptoms, asking staff and visitors/clients with symptoms to stay 

home, and listing whom to contact if they need assistance. Operators may post warning signs in 
visible locations of how to stop the spread of COVID-19 virus (including the sharing of items such 
as goggles, and other hard to clean items);   

2. Use signs to require physical distancing throughout facility, including but not limited to reception 
areas, eating areas, locker rooms, and near popular equipment; and  

3. Post clear signs about the mask, face covering, and face shield requirements. 
F. Special Requirements for Locker Rooms. If the fitness-related organization allows locker room 

use, fitness-related organizations are required to take the following additional steps:   
1. Develop and implement a plan to limit the number of individuals using showers and changing 

rooms at the same time;  
2. Develop and implement a plan to keep at least 6 feet of physical distance between people;  
3. Ensure that the locker room does not exceed maximum occupancy. Use the total square footage 

of the locker room to determine the maximum occupancy of the locker room based on a minimum 
of 35 square feet per person; and  

4. Assign a physical distancing monitor to ensure individuals follow all physical distancing 
requirements, including at entrances, exits, restrooms and any other area where people may 
gather.  

Additional Resources:  
• Oregon Health Authority Signs You Can Post  
• Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield Guidance  
  

https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19#collapseOHAGuidance
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19#collapseOHAGuidance
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19#collapseOHAGuidance
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19#collapseOHAGuidance
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19#collapseOHAGuidance
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
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Temporary Oregon OSHA COVID-19 Rule 
Appendix A-13 

Mandatory Workplace Guidance for  
K-12 EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS (WHETHER PUBLIC OR PRIVATE) 

Application: This appendix applies to employers who operate schools or other educational 
institutions for children from kindergarten through the 12th grade (or any portion thereof). To the 
degree this appendix provides specific guidance, it supersedes the requirements for physical 
distancing, the use of masks, face coverings, or face shields, and sanitation of the COVID-19 
Temporary Rule (OAR 437-001-0744); to the degree a situation is not addressed by the specific 
language of this appendix, the requirements of the rule apply. In addition, certain activities (for 
example, those involving recreation and sports) may be addressed by other appendices. 
Note: In accordance with Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield 
Guidance and subsection (3)(b) of the Temporary Rule for COVID-19, it is strongly recommended, but 
not required, that individuals wear a mask or face covering as source control instead of a face shield 
alone. 
Note: Although this appendix is based upon the workplace health portions of Ready Schools, Safe 
Learners, published by the Oregon Department of Education and the Oregon Health Authority, it does 
not address many other issues included in that document, including those related specifically to 
student health and to decisions about whether to open on-site educational activities. Employers 
operating schools therefore must be familiar with that guidance as well. 
A. General Operations. As districts plan and implement the requirements and recommendations 

included in this guidance, will necessarily need to consider a continuum of levels of risk when 
some requirements (or recommendations) cannot be fully accommodated. When it is necessary to 
adjust implementation of this appendix because it is not possible to fully comply, school operators 
must take other steps to mitigate the risks. 
For example, maintaining physical distance (6 feet apart from others) is best. There will be times 
when this is not possible based on a necessary activity or the available space is limited. Steps to 
minimize the risks of such close proximity activities could include ensuring it is for a short 
duration, ensuring handwashing immediately before and after, avoiding touching your face, 
teaching safe etiquette for coughing and sneezing, and/or using the required mask, face covering, 
or face shield (unless the nature of the interaction also makes their use impossible). 

B. General Operations Screening and Advanced Quarantine. In order to reduce the risks of 
outbreaks within the school, such employers must do the following whenever they are aware of a 
person required to isolate or quarantine for COVID-19: 

1. Screen all students and staff for symptoms on entry to bus/school every day. This can be done 
visually and/or with confirmation from a parent/caregiver/guardian. Staff members can self-
screen and attest to their own health; 

2. Direct students and staff to stay home if they, or anyone in their home or community living 
spaces, have primary COVID-19 symptoms (cough, fever greater than 100.0°F, chills, shortness of 
breath, or difficulty breathing) or if anyone in their home or community living spaces has COVID-
19. Staff or students with a chronic or baseline cough that has worsened or that is not well-
controlled with medication should be excluded from school, but do not exclude staff or students 
who have other symptoms that are chronic or baseline symptoms (for example, asthma, allergies, 
etc.); 

https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/ode/students-and-family/healthsafety/Documents/Ready%20Schools%20Safe%20Learners%202020-21%20Guidance.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/ode/students-and-family/healthsafety/Documents/Ready%20Schools%20Safe%20Learners%202020-21%20Guidance.pdf
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3. Direct any person (student, staff member, or volunteer) who has tested positive or who is a 
presumptive case for COVID-19 to remain at home to isolate until their medical provider indicates 
it is safe for them to return or at least 10 days have passed and they have experienced at least 24 
hours with no fever without the use of fever-reducing medication;  

4. Direct any person who has been in close contact (less than 6 feet away for more than 15 minutes) 
with a person with a confirmed COVID-19 to remain home to isolate until their medical provider 
indicates it is safe for them to return or 14 symptom-free days have passed since they were last 
exposed (those who have been exposed only to another person who was themselves exposed to a 
person with COVID-19 are not required to isolate); and 

5. Whenever a COVID-19 positive case occurs, implement the detailed Ready Schools, Safe Learners 
guidance related to communication, isolation, and quarantine, in consultation with the local public 
health agency. 

C. Physical Distancing Measures. To ensure appropriate physical distancing, employers operating 
such facilities must do the following: 

1. Establish a minimum of 35 square feet per person when determining room capacity. Calculate only 
with usable classroom space, understanding that desks and room set-up will require use of all 
space in the calculation. This also applies to employee training and staff gatherings or meetings; 

2. Support physical distancing in all daily activities and instruction, maintaining 6 feet between 
individuals to the maximum extent possible; 

3. Minimize time individuals stand in lines and take steps to ensure that 6 feet of distance between 
students is maintained, including marking spacing on floor, one-way traffic flow in constrained 
spaces, etc.; 

4. Schedule modifications to limit the number of students in the building (for example, rotating 
groups by days or location, staggered schedules to avoid hallway crowding and large gathering); 

5. Plan for students who will need additional support in learning how to maintain physical distancing 
requirements. Provide instruction; punitive discipline should not be used; 

6. Maintain physical distancing during all staff meetings and conferences or consider remote web-
based meetings; 

7. Cancel, modify, or postpone field trips, assemblies, athletic events, practices, special 
performances, school-wide parent meetings and other large gatherings to ensure requirements 
for physical distancing can be met; and 

8. Minimize the movement of individuals in hallways and other common areas to the extent 
possible; create hallway procedures to promote physical distancing and minimize gatherings. 

Note: Employers engaged in such sports are encouraged, but not required, to use the following 
additional practices to encourage appropriate physical distancing: 

• Consider utilizing outdoor spaces, common areas, and other buildings in planning. 

• In high schools or settings where students require individualized schedules or elective classes, 
physical distancing between students remains essential, and ways to reduce mixing among cohorts 
should be considered.  

• Reinforce health and safety protocols. Daily activities and curriculum should support physical 
distancing. 

https://www.oregon.gov/ode/students-and-family/healthsafety/Documents/Ready%20Schools%20Safe%20Learners%202020-21%20Guidance.pdf
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D. Use of Cohorts to Supplement Physical distancing Measures. Schools must take the following 
steps to establish stable cohort groups, a key strategy in reducing the spread of disease: 

1. Identify and establish cohort groups in each school. Students can be part of more than one stable 
cohort during the school day, but with each new cohort there is increased risk;  

2. Minimize interaction between students in different stable cohorts (for example, access to 
restrooms (including all-gender or gender-neutral restrooms), activities, and common areas); 

3. Establish a system to ensure that contact tracing can be completed each cohort; daily individual 
student or cohort logs are required; 

4. Where feasible, establish stable cohort groups that are no larger than can be accommodated by 
the space available to allow at least 35 square feet per person, including staff; and 

5. Ensure that no student is part of any single cohort, or part of multiple cohorts, that exceed a total 
of 100 people within the educational week. 

Note: To increase the effectiveness of cohorts in reducing risks of disease, schools are encouraged, but 
not required, to take the following additional steps: 

• A smaller cohort size of 24-36 individuals is recommended for public health and safety, and schools 
are encouraged to create and maintain even smaller sized cohorts when feasible. 

• When feasible, stable cohorts should remain in one classroom environment for the duration of the 
learning day, including lunch, with teachers of specific academic content areas rotating (instead of 
students) to the maximum extent possible. 

Note: As indicated by the detailed guidance in Ready Schools, Safe Learners, students should not be 
placed into full-time cohort groups based on any demographic or disability criteria (for example, 
students with complex medical needs, students with IEPs, students receiving language services, etc.).  
E. Special Precautions Related to Volunteers and Visitors. Schools must take the following steps 

when allowing volunteers or other visitors into the workplace: 
1. Restrict the presence of non-essential visitors or volunteers (examples of essential visitors include 

DHS Child Protective Services, Law Enforcement, etc.; examples of non-essential visitors include 
Parent Teacher Association, classroom volunteers, etc.); and 

2. Screen all visitors/volunteers for symptoms upon every entry. Restrict from school property any 
visitor known to have been exposed to COVID-19.  

Note: Volunteers and other visitors must maintain 6-foot physical distancing, wear masks, face 
coverings, or face shields and adhere to all other provisions of this guidance. 
F. Masks, Face Coverings, and Face Shields. To reduce the risk of transmission from potentially 

infected individuals, schools must take the following actions: 
1. Provide and require the use of masks, face coverings, or face shields by all staff, contractors, other 

service providers, or visitors or volunteers. Individuals may remove their face coverings while 
working alone in private offices; 

2. Require masks, face coverings, or face shields for all students in Kindergarten and up (Ready 
Schools, Safe Learners provides more detailed guidance addressing the use of masks, face 
coverings, or face shields by students); and 

3. Provide and require the use of face masks by school nurse or other medical personnel when 
providing direct patient care and monitoring of staff/students displaying symptoms for COVID-19. 
School nurses also must wear appropriate personal protective equipment (PPE) suitable to their 
activities.  

https://www.oregon.gov/ode/students-and-family/healthsafety/Documents/Ready%20Schools%20Safe%20Learners%202020-21%20Guidance.pdf
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G. Sanitation and Cleaning. To reduce the risks from surface contact, schools must do the 
following: 

1. Encourage all persons to engage in appropriate hand hygiene (wash with soap and water for 20 
seconds or use an alcohol-based hand sanitizer with 60-95% alcohol) on entry to school every 
day and frequently throughout the day; 

2. Develop and use sanitizing protocols for all equipment used by more than one individual or 
purchase equipment for individual use; 

3. Establish policies for personal property being brought to school (for example, refillable water 
bottles, school supplies, headphones/earbuds, cell phones, books, instruments, etc.). If 
personal items are brought to school, they must be labeled prior to entering school and use 
should be limited to the item owner; 

4. Provide time and supplies for the cleaning and disinfecting of high-touch surfaces between 
multiple student uses, even in the same cohort; 

5. Ensure that staff who interact with multiple stable cohorts wash/sanitize their hands between 
interactions with different stable cohorts; and 

6. Ensure appropriate cleaning whenever a COVID-19 positive case is reported. The size of the 
cleaning area depends on the number of people infected and where they and their close 
contacts spent time. For example, it may only be necessary to clean (beyond normal 
procedures) one part of the building if those who tested positive spent time only in that area of 
the school.  

Additional Resources:  
• Oregon Health Authority Signs You Can Post  
• Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield Guidance 
• Oregon Department of Education and Oregon Health Authority, Ready Schools, Safe Learners 
  

https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19#collapseOHAGuidance
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19#collapseOHAGuidance
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
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Temporary Oregon OSHA COVID-19 Rule 
Appendix A-14 

Mandatory Workplace Guidance for  
EMPLOYERS OPERATING CHILD CARE AND EARLY EDUCATION PROGRAMS 

Application: This appendix applies to employers who operate any of the following types of child care 
and early education programs:  
 All licensed programs, including Certified Center (CC), Certified Family (CF), and Registered Family 

(RF).  
 All child care and preschool provided in public school settings.  
 All Recorded Programs, including school-age.  
 Oregon Pre-Kindergarten (Prenatal to Kindergarten), Preschool Promise, and Baby Promise.  
 Oregon Relief Nurseries.  
 Early Intervention and Early Childhood Special Education (EI/ECSE) provided in a child care or early 

education setting. 
To the degree this appendix provides specific guidance, it supersedes the requirements for physical 
distancing, the use of masks, face coverings, or face shields, and sanitation of the COVID-19 
Temporary Rule (OAR 437-001-0744); to the degree a situation is not addressed by the specific 
language of this appendix, the requirements of the rule apply. In addition, certain activities (for 
example, those involving recreation and sports) may be addressed by other appendices. 
Note: Although this appendix is based upon the workplace health portions of Health & Safety 
Guidelines for Child Care and Early Education Operating During COVID-19, published by the Oregon 
Department of Education Early Learning Division and the Oregon Health Authority, it does not address 
many other issues included in that document, including those related specifically to child health and to 
decisions about whether to open on-site activities. Employers operating child care and early education 
must therefore be familiar with that guidance as well. 
Note: In accordance with Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield 
Guidance and subsection (3)(b) of the Temporary Rule for COVID-19, it is strongly recommended but 
not required that individuals wear a mask or face covering as source control instead of a face shield 
alone. 
A. General operations. Operate ventilation systems properly and/or increase circulation of outdoor 

air as much as possible by opening windows and doors, using fans (but only when windows and 
doors are open), and other methods.  

B. Special requirements during drop-off and pick-up. Employers operating such programs must 
implement the following procedures when parents or caregivers are dropping off or picking up 
children: 

1. Require parents or caregivers to drop-off or pick-up children from program staff outside of the 
facility. Registered Family (RF) or Certified Family (CF) providers may allow parents or caregivers to 
enter when only one staff member is on site, but they must wait for the previous family to exit the 
home before entering; 

2. Require parents or caregivers to wear a mask, face covering, or face shield during drop-off or pick-
up; 

3. Require parents or caregivers during drop-off or pick-up to maintain physical distancing when not 
engaged in hand-off of children to staff;  

https://oregonearlylearning.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/08/Health-and-Safety-Guidelines_August-14-2020_English_Web-2.pdf
https://oregonearlylearning.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/08/Health-and-Safety-Guidelines_August-14-2020_English_Web-2.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
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4. Provide hand hygiene stations at the entrance of the facility – outside or immediately inside – so 
that children and staff can clean their hands as they enter. If a sink with soap and water is not 
available, provide hand sanitizer between 60%-95% alcohol at the entrance. Keep hand sanitizer 
out of children’s reach and supervise use; and  

5. Sanitize or switch out writing utensils used for drop-off and pick-up between uses by different 
people. 

Note: Employers operating such programs are encouraged, but not required, to implement the 
following additional measures to provide further protection during drop-off and pick-up. 
• Schedule staggered drop-off and pick-up times for families. 

• Encourage families to have the same person drop children off and pick them up every day.  

• Suggest to families that those at higher-risk of contracting COVID-19 not serve as the designated 
person for drop-off or pick-up.  

• Consider low or no contact sign-in and -out methods such as a different sheet, pen, or clipboard for 
each child, or have staff complete the sign-in and -out process. 

C. Daily health check and isolation/quarantine requirements. Employers operating such programs 
must conduct a daily health check for any children, staff, or other individuals (parents, 
maintenance staff, etc.) coming into the facility: 

1. Require designated staff to take temperature of all entering children and other individuals coming 
into contact with a stable group. If they have a temperature of 100.0°F or over, they must be 
excluded. Staff may self-screen and attest to their temperature on a daily basis. 

2. Ask all entering adults and children (or, if the child is not able to reliably answer, ask the adults 
who are dropping off the child):  
 Has the adult or child been exposed to a person with a positive case of COVID-19 in the past 14 

days? 
Required response: If the answer is “yes,” they must quarantine for 14 days from the date of 
last contact with the COVID-19 case (the required quarantine cannot be shortened by either a 
negative COVID-19 test or a note from a medical professional). 

 Has the adult or child been exposed in the past 14 days to a person with a presumptive case of 
COVID-19 as defined by Oregon Health Authority? 
Required response: If the answer is “yes,” they must quarantine for 14 days from the date of 
last contact with the COVID-19 case (the required quarantine cannot be shortened by either a 
negative COVID-19 test or a note from a medical professional). 

 Is the adult or child experiencing a fever of 100.0°F or greater? 

Required response: If the answer is “yes,” they must be excluded from the program for at least 
10 days, and they must be free of fever (without fever-reducing medication) for at least 24 
hours before their return.  

 Is the adult or child experiencing an unusual cough (not normal for this person due to issues 
such as allergies or asthma) or shortness of breath?  

Required response: If the answer is “yes,” they must be excluded from the program until they 
have been checked by a medical professional is cleared or they have been symptom-free for at 
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least 24 hours, they can remain in or return to the program following the documented 
direction of the medical professional.  

 Is the adult or child experiencing diarrhea, vomiting, headache, sore throat, or rash?  
Required response: If the answer is “yes,” they must be excluded from the program until they 
have been checked by a medical professional is cleared or they have been symptom-free for at 
least 24 hours, they can remain in or return to the program following the documented 
direction of the medical professional. 

3. Require staff members to self-screen and attest to their own health on a daily basis. 
4. Document that a daily health check was completed on every person entering; write down “pass” 

or “fail” only. Do not record symptoms or temperature, in order to maintain privacy. 
5. If a person develops these symptoms while at the facility or learns while at the facility that they 

have been exposed to a positive case, separate them until they can leave the facility and send 
them home as soon as possible. 

D. Group Size and Stable Groups. Employers operating such programs are required to reduce the risk 
of COVID-19 transmission by managing group size and the use of stable groups: 

1. Assign and keep children in stable groups with the same assigned adults. A new child may be 
added or moved to a different stable group if it is a permanent change. 

2. Require staff to practice physical distancing of at least 6 feet at all times within the facility with 
parents or other adult visitors, as well as other staff who are not usually with the same stable 
group.  

3. Require staff assigned to a stable group to practice physical distancing with children from other 
stable groups and take precautions to ensure children do the same. Staff and children are not 
required to physically distance from adults or children within their stable group.  

4. Only staff assigned to a stable group may be inside of classrooms, except that additional adults 
outside of the stable group may be allowed into the classroom in order to provide any of the 
following services:  
 Specialized services to children such as those associated with Early Intervention or Early 

Childhood Special Education.  
 Meet monitoring requirements of publicly funded or regulated programming.  
 Maintain ratios during staff breaks, including through the use of “floaters.”  
 Service to the facility that cannot take place outside of program hours. 

5. When providing outdoor activities, there cannot be more than one stable group of children in one 
outside area at a time. Programs may have separate areas as long as stable groups are kept apart 
and there is at least 75 square feet per child in that area. Recorded programs may use a visual 
barrier to define the outside space. 

6. No facility may serve more than 250 children. 
7. Staff-to-child ratios and maximum group sizes must adhere to those specified in licensing rules by 

provider type and by the provider’s license (which may be for fewer children).  
Note: Early learning and child care employers are encouraged, but not required, to take the following 
additional steps to reduce the risk of COVID-19 transmission: 

• Reduce time spent in whole or large group activities. 

• Limit the number of children in each program space, such as learning centers. 
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• Depending on the size of the group and the age of the children, separate learning environments 
into individual spaces for each child. 

• Minimize time standing in lines and take steps to ensure that distance between the children is 
maintained. 

• Incorporate additional daily outside time (complying with the outside space requirements). 

• Sanitize outdoor play equipment between groups of children. 

• Increase the distance between children during table work. 

• Plan activities that do not require close physical contact between multiple children. 

• Provide children with their own materials and equipment if possible (for example, writing utensils, 
scissors, high chairs). 

• Incorporate assigned mats at circle time. 

• For sensory activities, staff can arrange the room for individually planned sensory activities that 
utilize totes or trays so each child can have their own. 

E. Masks, Face Coverings, and Face Shields, and Personal Protective Equipment for Children and 
Adults. To reduce the likelihood that potentially infected individuals will transit disease, early 
education and child care employers are required to take the following steps: 

1. Require all staff, contractors, other service providers, or visitors or volunteers who are in the 
facility or in the designated child care section of the child care provider’s home, to wear a mask, 
face covering or face shield as defined by the rule; 

2. Require all children who are in grades Kindergarten and up who are in the child care facility or the 
designated child care section of Registered Family (RF) or Certified Family (CF) program to wear a 
mask, face covering or face shield as defined in the rule; 

3. Require all adults and children who are kindergarten age and up to wear a mask, face covering or 
face shield when outside, if 6 feet of physical distance cannot be maintained; 

4. Allow a child between two years and Kindergarten to wear a mask, face covering or face shield, if: 
requested by the parent/guardian, the mask, face covering or face shield fits the child’s face 
measurements, and the child is able to remove the mask, face covering or face shield themselves 
without assistance; 

5. If a child removes a mask, face covering or face shield, or demonstrates a need to remove the 
mask, face covering or face shield for a short-period of time, staff must supervise the child to 
maintain 6 feet or more of physical distancing from all adults and children while the mask, face 
covering or face shield is removed. If needed, show the child how to effectively wear a mask, face 
covering or face shield. Guide the child to re-engage in safely wearing a mask, face covering, or 
face shield. Children should not be disciplined for their inability to safely wear a mask, face 
covering, or face shield; 

6. Allow children in grades Kindergarten and up to not wear a mask, face covering, or face shield:  
 If they have a medical condition that makes it difficult for them to breathe with a mask, face 

covering, or face shield as documented by their doctor’s order.  
 If they experience a disability that prevents them from wearing a mask, face covering, or face 

shield, as documented by their doctor’s order.  
 If they are unable to remove the mask, face covering, or face shield independently.  
 While sleeping.  
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7. Ensure children under two never wear a mask, face covering, or face shield;  
8. Require staff or child to wash hands before putting on a mask, face covering, or face shield, after 

taking masks, face coverings, or  face shields off, and anytime the mask, face covering, or face 
shield is touched. Hand-sanitizing products with 60-95% alcohol content may be used as an 
alternative to washing hands. Children must be supervised when using hand sanitizer, and it must 
be stored out of reach of children when not in use; 

9. Require masks or face coverings to be washed daily or a new mask or face covering to be worn 
daily. After removal of a soiled mask or face covering, it should be put away into a secure place 
that is not accessible to others. For example, it could be placed into a plastic bag or plastic 
container that is inaccessible to children prior to being cleaned;  

10. A face shield must be wiped down with disinfectant at the end of the day after use; 
11. Require disposable masks, face coverings, or face shields to be worn only once; 
12. Masks or face coverings must be changed after a daily health check if the adult interacted with a 

sick child; 
13. Face shields must be sanitized after the daily health check if the adult interacted with a sick child. 

For Certified Centers and Recorded Programs, face shields must be sanitized after the daily health 
checks are completed; 

14. For Certified Centers and Recorded Programs only, require adults who engage in health and safety 
checks to wear a clean, outer layer of clothing (for example, a larger size, long sleeve button down 
shirt, a smock, or an apron) during the daily health checks; and  

15. For Certified Centers and Recorded Programs only, require adults, such as floaters or early 
interventionists, who interact with multiple, stable groups to wear a clean, outer layer of clothing 
when moving to a new group. 

F. Cleaning and Sanitation – Hand Hygiene. 
1. Require staff and children to wash hands for at least 20 seconds (hand sanitize with alcohol 

content between 60-95% is allowed when an asterisk* appears): 
 Before and after eating, preparing food, and or bottle preparation.  
 Before and after administering medication.  
 After toileting or assisting with toileting.  
 Before and after diapering.  
 After wiping a nose, coughing, or sneezing.* 
 After coming in from outside.* 
 Upon entering and leaving the child care facility.* 
 If staff are moving between stable groups.* 
 After sharing toys, learning materials, etc.* 

2. Make handwashing materials easily accessible to each stable group. 
3. Store hand sanitizer out of reach of children when not in use. 
G. Cleaning and Sanitation – Building and Surfaces. Child care and early education employers must 

implement the following cleaning and disinfectant measures to reduce the risks from surface 
contamination: 

1. Require those engaged in cleaning and disinfecting surfaces to employ the following practices: 



 Appendix A, Page 47
   

 

 Wear disposable gloves when cleaning and disinfecting surfaces (instead of disposables, you 
can wear reusable rubber gloves except when cleaning and disinfecting areas around a sick 
person or when in contact with diapers, stool, blood, and other bodily fluids). 

 Wash hands with soap and water as soon as you remove the gloves.  
 Clean dirty surfaces using a detergent or soap and water prior to disinfection.  
 Use products approved by the EPA for use against SARS-CoV-2 for household disinfectant: 

https://www.epa.gov/pesticide-registration/list-n-disinfectants-coronavirus-covid-19. Follow 
instructions on the label (such as concentration, application method, and contact time).  

 Diluted household bleach solutions are also allowable when appropriate for the surface. If 
using bleach, mix water (not hot water) with bleach using instructions on the bleach bottle. 
Leave diluted bleach mixture on the surface for at least one minute.  

 Do not mix bleach or other cleaning and disinfection products together. This can cause fumes 
that may be very dangerous to breathe. 

 If using bleach, make a fresh bleach dilution daily; label the bottle with contents and the date 
mixed. 

 Use bleach products sparingly and, when possible, when children are not in the facility or 
room; if possible, use wipes or apply product directly to a dampened towel, rather than using 
spray when there are children or adults with asthma. 

2. Keep all disinfectants locked up. Keep hand sanitizers out of the reach of children. 
3. Clean in accordance with the “Required Cleaning Schedule” table on the following pages: 
  

https://www.epa.gov/pesticide-registration/list-n-disinfectants-coronavirus-covid-19
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Note: Child care and early education employers are encouraged, but not required, to put a cleanable 
cover on electronics, such as tablets, touch screens, keyboards, and remote controls. 
E. Recordkeeping. Child care and early education employers must maintain the following records 

specific to COVID-19 issues: 
1. Keep daily logs separated by or indicating each stable group (people in that group or people who 

came in contact with that group). In addition to the reasons for recordkeeping under child care 
rules, additional requirements support potential contact tracing. Registered Family (RF) and 
Certified Family (CF) providers only: all visitors during program hours must be recorded and a log 
of residents kept. Residents of the home over the age of 12 do not need to be included in the daily 
child care attendance records – they are assumed to be present;  

2. Indicate in each daily log: Child name. Adult name(s) completing drop-off and pick-up (no 
signature is required). Arrival and departure date and times. Name of any staff or person coming 
in contact with a stable group, arrival and departure date and times. Document daily health checks 
on all children, staff, and any person coming into the program (see Daily Health Check 
requirements for detailed guidance). Record only that the check was a pass or fail – not specific 
information. If transportation is provided by the program, document names of all other riders, and 
their contact information (if not recorded elsewhere); 

3. Daily logs must be retained for 2 years for all children (the usual amount of time per child care 
rules); and 

4. If a program is part of a K-12 school, this information can be recorded and incorporated into the 
school’s records for contact tracing. 

Note: Child care and early education employers are encourage, but not required, to minimize potential 
spread of disease from sharing writing utensils by having staff complete all required documentation, 
rather than parents or caregivers. 
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Temporary Oregon OSHA COVID-19 Rule 
Appendix A-15 

Mandatory Workplace Guidance for  
INSTITUTIONS OF HIGHER EDUCATION (WHETHER PUBLIC OR PRIVATE) 

Application: This appendix applies to public universities listed in Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 
352.002, community colleges operated under ORS chapter 341, and degree-granting private colleges 
and universities that operate in Oregon (referred to collectively in this document as “colleges and 
universities”). To the degree this appendix provides specific guidance, it supersedes the requirements 
for physical distancing, sanitation, and use of masks, face coverings, or face shields of the COVID-19 
Temporary Rule; to the degree a situation is not addressed by the specific language of this appendix, 
the general requirements of the COVID-19 Temporary Rule (OAR 437-001-0744) apply. In addition, 
certain activities (for example, those involving food and beverage service and sports) are addressed 
by other appendices. 
Note: Although this appendix is based upon the workplace health portions of Guidance for the 
Conduct of In-Person Instructional, Residential, and Research Activities at Oregon Colleges and 
Universities published by the Oregon Higher Education Coordination Commission and the Oregon 
Health Authority, it does not address many other issues included in that document, including those 
related specifically to student health, student congregate, and decisions about whether and how to 
open on-site educational activities. Colleges and Universities therefore must be familiar with that 
guidance as well. 
Note: In accordance with Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield 
Guidance and subsection (3)(b) of the Temporary Rule for COVID-19, it is strongly recommended but 
not required that individuals wear a mask or face covering as source control instead of a face shield 
alone. 
A. General Operations: Colleges and universities must: 
1. Allow campus spaces and buildings to be open only for official college or university business. 

Campus spaces and buildings should not be open to the general public. Colleges and universities 
may allow campus use for authorized community programs that lack alternative venues, if such 
programs adhere to the requirements in this and other applicable appendices or guidance; 

2. Ensure facility ventilation systems operate properly. Increase air circulation as much as possible by 
opening windows and doors, using fans, or other methods. Do not open windows and doors if 
doing so poses a safety risk to staff, spectators or athletes; and  

3. Consider modification or enhancement of building ventilation to increase air circulation and 
filtration where feasible.  

Note: Guidance on ventilation and filtration is provided by CDC 
(https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/guidance-business-response.html) and 
American Society of Heating, Refrigerating, and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) 
(https://www.ashrae.org/news/ashraejournal/guidance-for-building-operations-during-the-covid-19-
pandemic). 
B. General Operations Entry and Self-Screening. Require students, staff, and faculty to conduct a 

self-check for COVID-19 symptoms before coming to a campus.  
1. Instruct students, faculty, and staff to stay at their residence if they have one or more of the 

following: cough, fever or chills, shortness of breath, or difficulty breathing. Note that muscle pain, 
headache, sore throat, new loss of taste or smell, diarrhea, nausea, vomiting, nasal congestion, 

https://www.oregon.gov/highered/about/Documents/News-Updates/OHA-HECC-higher-education-health-standards-covid-FINAL.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/highered/about/Documents/News-Updates/OHA-HECC-higher-education-health-standards-covid-FINAL.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/highered/about/Documents/News-Updates/OHA-HECC-higher-education-health-standards-covid-FINAL.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/guidance-business-response.html
https://www.ashrae.org/news/ashraejournal/guidance-for-building-operations-during-the-covid-19-pandemic
https://www.ashrae.org/news/ashraejournal/guidance-for-building-operations-during-the-covid-19-pandemic
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and runny nose are also symptoms often associated with COVID-19, but are non-specific. More 
information about COVID-19 symptoms is available from CDC here.  

2. Emergency signs and symptoms that require immediate medical attention: trouble breathing, 
persistent pain or pressure in the chest, new confusion or inability to awaken, bluish lips or face, 
other severe symptoms. 

3. Faculty, staff, or students who have a chronic or baseline cough that has worsened or is not well-
controlled with medication to stay at their place of residence. Those who have other symptoms 
that are chronic or baseline symptoms should not be restricted. 

C. Instructional Activities. For all general instruction offered for courses that lead to a lead 
certificate or degree, colleges and universities must:  

1. Establish a minimum of 35 square feet per person when determining room capacity, calculated 
based only on usable classroom space. In-person classroom instruction must not exceed 50 
persons, or greater than 25 persons in counties that are at Baseline or in Phase 1; 

2. Modify the physical layout of classrooms to permit students to maintain at least 6 feet of distance 
between one another and the instructor(s). This may include changes to traffic flow, desk or chair 
arrangements, or maximum capacity. Where instruction requires instructors and students to work 
less than 6 feet from each other require physical barriers or face masks, face coverings, or face 
shields, and follow all applicable CDC/OHA guidelines and industry safety standards;  

3. Utilize markings and/or signage to indicate physical distancing requirements within instructional 
settings;  

4. For settings with higher risk of spread, such as laboratories, computer labs, music/performance 
classes, studios, and locker rooms, implement enhanced measures such as greater physical 
distancing, physical barriers (for example, clear plastic), increased fresh air ventilation, moving 
instructional activities outdoors, and enhanced cleaning measures as feasible; 

5. Physical barriers are acceptable instead of, or in addition to 6 feet or more of spacing between 
people; and  

6. Permit remote instruction/telework or make other reasonable accommodations for students and 
employees who are at higher risk for severe illness from COVID-19 including those with any of the 
following characteristics:  
 People 65 years and older 
 People with chronic lung disease (other than mild asthma) 
 People who have serious heart conditions 
 People who are immunocompromised 
 People with obesity (body mass index [BMI] of 30 or higher); 
 People with diabetes; 
 People with chronic kidney disease undergoing dialysis; 
 People with liver disease; and  
 Any other medical conditions identified by OHA, CDC or a licensed health care provider. 

D. Special Requirements for Instruction in the Health Professions. For all instruction and assessment 
in fields leading to certificates and degrees in the healthcare professions, colleges and universities 
must: 

1. For laboratory instruction or demonstration of clinical skills without physical contact: 

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/symptoms-testing/symptoms.html
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 Modify the physical layout of classrooms to permit students to maintain at least 6 feet of 
distance between each other and the instructor(s); 

 Ensure monitoring and enforcement of physical distancing requirements at all times; and  
 Perform enhanced cleaning before and after each session. 

2. For standardized patient simulations or laboratory instruction in close quarters or practicing 
clinical skills with physical contact: 
 Provide mandatory instruction on infection control practices and the appropriate use of 

personal protective equipment (PPE); 
 Require use of appropriate PPE for all personnel that come within 6 feet of each other; and 
 Perform enhanced cleaning before and after each session. 

3. For preceptorships, observerships, and direct patient care: 
 Provide mandatory instruction on infection control practices and the appropriate use of 

personal protective equipment (PPE); 
 Strictly adhere to the clinical facility’s infection control protocols; 
 Confirm that the clinical facilities have the appropriate personal protective equipment (PPE) 

for their students who are involved in direct patient care within those facilities; 
 Conduct regular symptom monitoring of students; 
 Follow the facility’s occupational health protocols if exposed and/or symptoms develop, 

including immediate exclusion from all patient care, testing for SARS-CoV-2, and mandatory 
reporting to university or college student health unit; and 

 Perform cleaning and disinfecting per the facility’s protocols.  
E. Special Requirements for Research Activities. Colleges and university must ensure the following 

measures are implemented for research activities: 
1. Research offices, labs, core facilities, and field locations must be modified to ensure appropriate 

physical distancing, consistent with state and local public health guidelines, and with reduced 
capacity as necessary; and  

2. Human subjects research must be permitted only if 6-foot physical distancing can be maintained 
or can be completed with minimal physical contact while using appropriate PPE or physical 
barriers, or both. Ensure that additional restrictions are used to further to protect vulnerable 
populations. 

F. Masks, Face Coverings, and Face Shields. Provisions related to masks, face coverings, or face 
shields appear in General requirements. Specifically, colleges and universities must: 

1. Implement measures to limit the spread of COVID-19 within buildings and the campus setting, 
such as appropriate cleaning and disinfecting procedures;  

2. Screening, monitoring, and testing for illness among symptomatic students, staff, and faculty; and  
3. Use of face masks, face coverings, or face shields, as more fully described in this appendix. 
4. Require the use of face masks, face coverings, or face shields in settings where six feet of physical 

distance between people is difficult to maintain. 
5. For career and technical education, college and universities must: 

a. Where instruction requires instructors and students to work less than 6 feet from each other, 
require physical barriers or face masks, face coverings, or face shields, and follow all applicable 
CDC/OHA guidelines and industry safety standards. 
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G. General facilities. Colleges and universities must do the following: 
1. Clean and disinfect facilities frequently, generally at least daily when there is activity, to prevent 

transmission of the virus from surfaces. CDC provides guidance on disinfecting public spaces. See 
CDC’s “Reopening Guidance for Cleaning and Disinfecting Public Spaces, Workplaces, Businesses, 
Schools, and Homes;”  

2. Encourage students, staff, and faculty to perform appropriate hand hygiene upon their arrival to 
campus every day: washing with soap and water for 20 seconds or using an alcohol-based hand 
sanitizer with 60-95% alcohol; and 

3. Provide hand hygiene stations with alcohol-based hand sanitizer in high use areas such as 
entrances to buildings and classrooms and other areas, as feasible. Strongly encourage students to 
use hand sanitizer on entry and exit to each room. 

H. Signage. To reinforce the need to minimize COVID-19 risks, such employers must do the 
following:  

1. Post clear signs listing COVID-19 symptoms, asking students, staff, and faculty with symptoms to 
stay home, and listing whom to contact if they need assistance;  

2. Use signage and other communications to remind students, faculty, and staff about the utmost 
importance of hand hygiene and respiratory etiquette; 

3. Use signs to require physical distancing as necessary, including but not limited to reception areas, 
eating areas, locker rooms, and near popular equipment; and  

4. Post clear signs about the mask, face covering, and face shield requirements. 
I. Special provisions related to isolation or quarantine. Colleges and universities must take steps to 

ensure that if a student, staff, or faculty member develops or reports primary COVID-19 symptoms 
while on campus: 

1. The person should immediately return to their place of residence or isolate in a designated 
isolation area until they can safely return to their residence or be transported to a health care 
facility. Students whose place of residence is within a campus residence hall must be isolated in a 
designated isolation area, with staff support and symptom monitoring by a health professional 
wearing appropriate personal protective equipment (PPE); 

2. The person should seek medical care and COVID-19 testing from their regular health care provider 
or through the local public health agency. They should follow instructions from their local public 
health agency regarding isolation; 

3. If the person has a positive COVID-19 diagnostic test, they should remain at their place of 
residence for at least 10 days after illness onset and 72 hours after fever is gone, without use of 
fever reducing medicine, and other symptoms are improving; 

4. If the person has a negative COVID-19 diagnostic test and if they have multiple tests, all tests are 
negative all tests are negative, they should remain at their place of residence until 72 hours after 
the fever is gone, without use of fever reducing medicine and other symptoms are improving;  

5. If the person does not undergo COVID-19 testing, the person should remain at their place of 
residence until 72 hours after the fever is gone, without use of fever reducing medicine, and other 
symptoms are improving; and 

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/reopen-guidance.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/reopen-guidance.html
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19#collapseOHAGuidance
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19#collapseOHAGuidance
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19#collapseOHAGuidance
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19
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6. Any faculty, staff, or student known to have been exposed (for example, by a household member) 
to COVID-19 within the preceding 14 days should stay in their place of residence and follow 
instructions from local public health agency. 

J. Faculty and staff. Colleges and universities must: 
1. Ensure that campus health care providers have the personal protective equipment that they need 

to see students safely. As appropriate, provide face masks, face coverings, face shields, filtering 
facepiece respirators (e.g. N95, P95, or R95), gloves, and protective clothing for healthcare 
professionals and other personnel who might interact with ill staff or students. Local public health 
can help if colleges and universities are unable to obtain PPE through usual channels; and 

2. If feasible, arrange for fit testing for N95 respirators and PPE for healthcare and other personnel 
who might interact with ill faculty, staff, or students.  

Additional Resources:  

• Oregon Health Authority Signs you can post  
• Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield Guidance  
• Oregon Higher Education Coordinating Commission and Oregon Health Authority COVID-19 

Guidance   

https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19#collapseOHAGuidance
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19#collapseOHAGuidance
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/highered/about/Documents/News-Updates/OHA-HECC-higher-education-health-standards-covid-FINAL.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/highered/about/Documents/News-Updates/OHA-HECC-higher-education-health-standards-covid-FINAL.pdf
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Temporary Oregon OSHA COVID-19 Rule 
Appendix A-16 

Mandatory Workplace Guidance for  
VETERINARY CARE 

Application: This appendix applies to veterinarians licensed under ORS 686, and to their assistants and 
other employees. To the degree this appendix provides specific guidance, it supersedes the 
requirements for physical distancing and for the use of masks, face coverings, or face shields, and 
sanitation of the COVID-19 Temporary Rule (OAR 437-001-0744); to the degree a situation is not 
addressed by the specific language of this appendix, the requirements of the rule apply. 
Note: In accordance with Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield 
Guidance and subsection (3)(b) of the Temporary Rule for COVID-19, it is strongly recommended but 
not required that individuals wear a mask or face covering as source control instead of a face shield 
alone. 
Note: These workplace health and safety requirements are distinct from Oregon Health Authority 
guidance about reopening status and the resumption of non-emergency care, which may be restricted 
separate and apart from this appendix or the rule to which it applies. 
A. Physical Distancing Measures. To ensure appropriate physical distancing, veterinary clinics are 

required to take the following steps: 
1. Adopt a curbside model, bringing the animal patient into the facility while the owner remains in 

the vehicle, strictly enforce 6-foot physical distancing in the waiting area, or employ a combination 
of the two;  

2. Allowing owners and animal caretakers into veterinary clinics: 
a. Owners and caretakers may come into the clinic exam room for the purpose of euthanasia;  
b. Owners and caretakers may come into the clinic exam room for the purpose of providing care 

for pets including, but not limited to giving medication, fluids, managing feeding tubes or 
catheters, etc.;  

c. In the case of examining or treating animals that may pose a threat to the veterinarian worker, 
the animal owner or caretaker may be allowed into the veterinary clinic as long as source 
control is observed;  

3. Further minimize human-to-human contact by not allowing clients in the examination rooms other 
than under the circumstances listed above; and  

4. Limit situations where any veterinarian workers or other individuals are in within 6 feet to those 
necessary to safely handle and treat the animal patient.  

B. Masks, Face Coverings, and Face Shields and Personal Protective Equipment. To minimize the risk 
of airborne spread of the disease, veterinary clinics must take the following steps: 

1. Require all those who enter the clinic to wear a mask, face covering, or face shield unless alone in 
a private office or at a work-station in an office setting large enough to provide at least 35 square 
feet per person in addition to consistently adhering to the 6-foot physical distance requirement; 
and  

2. Require those engaged in treating animals to wear a combination of masks, face coverings, or face 
shields and personal protective equipment in accordance with the Centers for Disease Control 
recommendations summarized in the table on the following page. 

https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
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Additional Resources:  
• Oregon Heath Authority Signs You Can Post  
• Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield Guidance  
• Oregon Health Authority Veterinary Facility Guidance 
• Centers for Disease Control Companion Animal Veterinary Guidance 
 

Reproduced from  
“Interim Infection Prevention and Control Guidance  

for Veterinary Clinics Treating Companion Animals During the COVID-19 Response,”  
published by the United States Centers for Disease Control (last updated August 12, 2020) 

Animal History Mask Eye 
Protection 
(face shield  
or goggles) 

Gloves Gown  
or Coveralls 

N95 respirator  
or suitable 
alternative 

Healthy companion animal without 
exposure to a person with COVID-19 
compatible symptoms 

No No No No No 

Companion animal with an illness that is 
not suspicious of SARS-CoV-2 infection 
AND without exposure to a person with 
COVID-19 compatible symptoms 

No No No No No 

Companion animal that is not suspicious 
for SARS-CoV-2 infection BUT has 
exposure to a person with COVID-19 
compatible symptoms 

Yes No Yes No No 

Companion animal with an illness that is 
suspicious for SARS-CoV-2 infection 

Yes Yes Yes Yes No 

Aerosol-generating procedure for any 
animal without an exposure to a person 
with COVID-19 compatible symptoms 

Yes Yes Yes Yes No 

Aerosol-generating procedure for any 
animal with an exposure to a person with 
COVID-19 compatible symptoms  

No Yes Yes Yes Yes 

Any procedure on an animal that is 
known to be currently infected with 
SARS-CoV-2 through detection by a 
validated RT-PCR assay 

No Yes Yes Yes 

 

 

 

 

Yes 

Any procedure where a person with 
known or suspected of being infected 
with COVID-19 will be present  

No Yes Yes Yes Yes 

https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19#collapseOHAGuidance
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19#collapseOHAGuidance
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2322Y.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/veterinarians.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/veterinarians.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/veterinarians.html
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Temporary Oregon OSHA COVID-19 Rule 
Appendix A-17 

Mandatory Workplace Guidance for  
EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES: FIRST RESPONDERS, FIREFIGHTERS, AND NON-EMERGENCY MEDICAL TRANSPORT 

Application: This appendix applies to first responders, firefighters, emergency medical services, and 
non-emergency medical transport employers. It also provides direction specific to Emergency 
Communication Centers. To the degree this appendix provides specific guidance, it supersedes the 
requirements for physical distancing and for the use of masks, face coverings, or face shields of the 
COVID-19 Temporary Rule (OAR 437-001-0744); to the degree a situation is not addressed by the 
specific language of this appendix, the requirements of the rule apply. 
Note: In accordance with Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield 
Guidance and subsection (3)(b) of the Temporary Rule for COVID-19, it is strongly recommended but 
not required that individuals wear a mask or face covering as source control instead of a face shield 
alone. 
Note: Although this appendix is based upon the workplace health portions of Quarantine Guidance for 
Fire and EMS Responders and Information Bulletin 2020-02 on Personal Protective Equipment 
Advisory, published by the Office of the Oregon State Fire Marshal, it does not address many other 
issues included in that document. Employers of first responders, firefighters, EMS, and non-emergency 
medical transport must therefore be familiar with that guidance as well. 
Definitions. 
Emergency Communication Centers means 911 Public Safety Answering Points/Emergence 
Communication Centers (PSAP/ECCs)  
Emergency Medical Services Provider (EMS Provider) means a person who has received formal 
training in prehospital and emergency care, and is licensed to attend to any person who is ill or 
injured or who has a disability. Police officers, fire fighters, funeral home employees and other 
persons serving in a dual capacity, one of which meets the definition of "emergency medical services 
provider" are "emergency medical services providers" within the meaning of ORS chapter 682. 
Fire Department means public and private employers who engage in structural fire service activities, 
including emergency first response, who are covered under OAR 437-002-0182. 
A. General Operations Screening, Isolation and Quarantine. In order to reduce the risks of outbreaks 

within the workplace and the broader community, EMS employers must take the following steps:  
1. Instruct employees to self-monitor for symptoms consistent with COVID-19. 
2. Screen employees for fever and symptoms prior to each shift, excluding them from the workplace 

if they have a subjective fever or a measured temperature above 100.0°F or have COVID-19-
compatible symptoms as described by Oregon Health Authority.  

3. Direct employees who experience such symptoms to withdraw from patient or other public 
contact and don a face mask. 

4. Exclude any employees from the workplace if they test positive via a COVID-19 diagnostic test.  
Note:  Quarantine Guidance for Fire and EMS Responders provides detailed information on monitoring, 
quarantine, isolation, and subsequent return to work. 
B. General Operations – Emergency Communication Centers. Emergency Communication Centers 

(ECC) must comply with the provisions of the rule, with the following specific provisions and 
exceptions: 

https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/osp/Docs/QuarantineGuidanceforFireandEMSRespondersMarch2020.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/osp/Docs/QuarantineGuidanceforFireandEMSRespondersMarch2020.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/osp/Docs/2020-02InformationBulletinPPEAdvisory.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/osp/Docs/2020-02InformationBulletinPPEAdvisory.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/osp/Docs/QuarantineGuidanceforFireandEMSRespondersMarch2020.pdf
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1. To the degree work stations cannot be separated by at least 6 feet, supplemental measures such 
as shields or barriers must be considered and installed, if feasible, no later than December 21, 
2020; 

2. Whether shields or barriers have been installed, ECC communications personnel are not required 
to wear face coverings while handling emergency calls, but must be allowed to do so at their 
discretion; 

3. PSAPs should implement an EIDS or screen for fever, cough, difficulty breathing, and diarrhea for 
ALL calls, when feasible, if local triggers determined by the PSAP director have been met. 
Additionally, PSAPs should ask: 
 Is anyone in the call location a known or suspected COVID-positive individual undergoing 

either quarantine or isolation?  
 Is the call location a long-term care facility known to have COVID-19 cases?  

4. The query process should never supersede the provision of pre-arrival instructions to the caller 
when immediate lifesaving interventions (e.g., CPR) are indicated 

5. If the patient meets the above criteria, then PSAPs should: 
a.  Provide medical care per protocol. 
b.  Alert responding agencies of the possibility of a respiratory pathogen as soon as possible. 
c.  Follow LPHA policies for reporting and follow up of healthcare workers with contact to 

suspected cases. 
d.  For ill travelers at US international airports or other ports of entry to the United States 

(maritime ports or border crossings) should be in contact with the CDC quarantine station of 
jurisdiction for the port of entry CDC Quarantine Station Contact List for planning guidance. 

6. If the patient does not meet criteria, discontinue questioning and follow appropriate case entry.  
7. If call volumes increase to the point that screening is interfering with the timely processing of calls, 

consider suspending EIDS screening. 
C. General Operations – Fire Departments. Fire Departments must comply with the provisions of the 

rule, with the following specific provisions and exceptions: 
1. Spacing requirements do not need to be followed on any Fire Department apparatus when 

responding to or returning from a call, although respiratory protection must be worn as necessary. 
2. To the degree 6-foot distancing cannot be reliably maintained in common living areas in a fire 

station, the firefighters residing there are not required to wear masks, face coverings or face 
shields (this exception applies only to shared living areas; it does not apply to break rooms, shared 
toilet facilities, or other common areas outside of living areas). 

3. A firefighter driving during an emergency response may adjust or remove a mask or face covering 
that impedes their vision or distracts from the safe operation of the vehicle. 

D. Personal Protective Equipment, Masks, Face Coverings, Face Shields. EMS providers must apply 
the following procedures when engaged in emergency medical services or other patient care. For 
call dispatched as: 

1. All patients are initially assessed from a distance of 6 feet to reduce potential for exposure of 
workers to COVID-19 or other infectious illness. There will be situations in which this option will be 
automatically excluded by the acuity of the call;  

2. Patients and family members must be asked to wear their own mask, face covering, or face shield 
(if tolerated) prior to the arrival of EMS personnel and throughout the duration of the encounter, 
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including during transport. If they do not have a mask or face covering, they should be offered a 
mask or face covering, as supplies allow. Bystanders and family will be asked to maintain the 
minimum of 6-foot physical separation from EMS workers; 

3. Masks or face coverings should not be placed on: children under the age of 2 years old, anyone 
who has trouble breathing, or anyone who is unconscious, incapacitated or otherwise unable to 
remove the mask or face covering without assistance; 

4. When circumstances permit, only one provider will directly assess the patient;  
5. If circumstances allow, interview the patient outside the residence in open air; 
6. The minimal expected amount of equipment will be brought to the patient’s side, however, SP02 

is required;  
7. The interview should be done from the maximal distance that still allows for clear communication; 
8. Avoid standing directly in front of the patient; 
9. If a nasal cannula is used, a mask should (ideally) be worn over the cannula. Alternatively, an 

oxygen mask can be used if clinically indicated. If the patient requires intubation, see below for 
additional precautions for aerosol-generating procedures; 

10. Masks or respirators must be worn by EMS providers while they are engaged in emergency 
medical services or other patient care. Face coverings must not be used as a substitute for a mask 
or respirator when respiratory protection (droplet precautions for a mask, airborne precautions 
for a respirator) is required; 

11. Respirators with exhalation valves must not be used as they allow unfiltered exhaled breath to 
escape; and 

12. When dealing with an individual known or suspected of being infected with COVID-19,  EMS 
providers must wear a NIOSH-approved N95 or equivalent or a higher-level respirator, a gown, 
gloves, and eye protection (face shield or goggles). 

E. Special Provisions for the Transport of Patients (Emergency and Non-Emergency). For any 
patient meeting any of following criteria:  
• Symptoms of lower respirator infection, such as fever, cough, or shortness of breath, 
• Recent contact with someone with known COVID-19; or  
• Call location is a long-term care facility known to have COVID-19 cases. 
EMS providers must apply the following procedures when engaging in transporting, whether 
emergency or non-emergency: 
1.  Involve the fewest EMS personnel required to minimize possible exposures; others riding in 

the ambulance must be limited to those essential for the patient’s physical or emotional well-
being or care (for example, care partner or parent.). 

2.  Ensure that the patient is masked. 
3.  Provide medical care per protocol. 
4.  Ensure that personnel use contact, droplet, and airborne precautions, as follows: 

a.  Wear a single pair of disposable patient examination gloves 
b.  Wear disposable isolation gown. If there are shortages of gowns, they should be prioritized 

for aerosol-generating procedures, and care activities where splashes and sprays are 
anticipated. 
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c.  Use respiratory protection (i.e., N-95 or higher-level respirator). If running low on 
respirators, facemasks are an acceptable alternative. Respirators should be prioritized for 
procedures that are likely to generate respiratory aerosols. 

d.  Wear eye protection (i.e., goggles or disposable face shield that fully covers the front and 
sides of the face). 

5.  Use caution with aerosol-generating procedures and ventilate ambulance if possible. 
6.  Notify the receiving hospital (according to local protocols) of potential infection as soon as 

possible. 
7.  Disinfect using EPA registered Disinfectants for Use Against SARS-CoV-2. 
8.  Drivers, if they provide direct patient care (for example, moving patients onto stretchers), must 

wear the PPE listed above.  
a) After completing patient care and before entering an isolated driver’s compartment, the 

driver must remove and dispose of PPE and perform hand hygiene to avoid soiling the 
compartment.  

b) If the transport vehicle does not have an isolated driver’s compartment, the driver must 
remove the face shield or goggles, gown, and gloves and perform hand hygiene, but 
continue to wear a respirator, mask, or face covering during transport.  

Patients who do not meet the criteria listed above can be cared for using standard precautions, with 
use of transmission-based precautions determined by clinical presentation. 
Additional Resources:  
• Oregon Heath Authority Signs You Can Post  
• Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield Guidance  
• United States Centers for Disease Control Flyer on Quarantine and Isolation 
• COVID-19 Strategies for Emergency Medical Services Surge 
• Fire Marshal Information Bulletin 2020-02 Personal Protective Equipment Advisory  
• Oregon Health Authority Oregon EMS Directors and Medical Directors, EMS Healthcare Exposure, 

Work Exclusion Guidance 
• Oregon Fire Marshall Quarantine Guidance for Fire and EMS Responders  

https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19#collapseOHAGuidance
https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19#collapseOHAGuidance
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/downloads/COVID-19-Quarantine-vs-Isolation.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2752.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/osp/Docs/2020-02InformationBulletinPPEAdvisory.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le3235A.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le3235A.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/osp/Docs/QuarantineGuidanceforFireandEMSRespondersMarch2020.pdf
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Temporary Oregon OSHA COVID-19 Rule 
Appendix A-18 

Mandatory Workplace Guidance for  
LAW ENFORCEMENT ACTIVITIES 

Application: This appendix applies to the activities of law enforcement officers in the performance of 
their duties. To the degree this appendix provides specific guidance, it supersedes the requirements 
for physical distancing and the use of masks, face coverings, or face shields of the COVID-19 
Temporary Rule (OAR 437-001-0744); to the degree a situation is not addressed by the specific 
language of this appendix, the requirements of the rule apply. 
Note: In accordance with Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield 
Guidance and subsection (3)(b) of the Temporary Rule for COVID-19, it is strongly recommended but 
not required that individuals wear a mask or face covering as source control instead of a face shield 
alone. 
Definitions: For purposes of this appendix, the following definitions apply:  
Law enforcement agency means the Oregon State Police, a county sheriff’s office, a municipal police 
department, or a police department established by a university under ORS 352.121 or 353.125. 
Law enforcement officer means a member of the Oregon State Police, a sheriff or deputy sheriff, a 
municipal police officer, or an authorized police officer of a police department established by a 
university under ORS 352.121 or 353.125. 
1. Physical Distancing Measures. To ensure appropriate physical distancing, law enforcement 

agencies must implement appropriate physical distancing as required by the rule in locations 
under their control and must do so to the extent their duties allow in other locations. However, 
based on the nature of the law enforcement officer’s duties, the physical distancing requirements 
of the rule do not apply to emergency situations or other situations where the safety of law 
enforcement officers or others involved make contact within 6 feet necessary.  

B. Masks, Face Coverings, and Face Shields. To reduce the risk of transmission from potentially 
infected individuals, law enforcement agencies must require masks, face coverings, or face shields 
in spaces under their control and when employees interact with other individuals. However, the 
following specific modifications apply to certain law enforcement activities: 

1. Law enforcement agencies must ensure that all employees, visitors, and persons in custody wear a 
mask, face covering, or face shield as required in this rule unless enforcing this requirement would 
require the use of physical force or place an employee or member of the public at greater risk of 
COVID-19 exposure; 

2. Law enforcement agencies must provide masks and face shield to law enforcement officers to 
wear in combination in situations when a person in custody fights or objects to wearing a face 
covering; 

3. Law enforcement officers are permitted adjust or remove the face mask, face covering, or face 
shield while interviewing a member of the public when necessary to establish sufficient rapport 
with the interviewee; 

4. Law enforcement officers driving during an emergency response or pursuit may adjust or remove 
a mask, face covering, or face shield that impedes their vision or distracts from the safe operation 
of the vehicle; 

https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
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5. Law enforcement officers are permitted to remove their mask, face covering, or face shield when 
the officer’s ability to clearly communicate is impaired by the mask, face covering, or face shield; 
and 

6. Law enforcement employees transporting a person in custody or a member of the public must 
ensure that that person wears a mask, face covering, or face shield unless compliance would 
require the use of force or place law enforcement employees or a member of the public at greater 
risk for COVID-19 exposure or physical jeopardy.  
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Temporary Oregon OSHA COVID-19 Rule 
Appendix A-19 

Mandatory Workplace Guidance for  
JAILS, PRISONS, AND OTHER CUSTODIAL INSTITUTIONS 

Application: This appendix applies to jails, prisons, and other custodial institutions. To the degree this 
appendix provides specific guidance, it supersedes the requirements for use of masks, face coverings, 
or face shields, of the COVID-19 Temporary Rule (OAR 437-001-0744); to the degree a situation is not 
addressed by the specific language of this appendix, the requirements of the rule apply. 
Note: In accordance with Oregon Health Authority Statewide Mask, Face Covering, Face Shield 
Guidance and subsection (3)(b) of the Temporary Rule for COVID-19, it is strongly recommended but 
not required that individuals wear a mask or face covering as source control instead of a face shield 
alone. 
A. Masks, Face Coverings, and Face Shields. To reduce the risk of transmission from potentially 

infected individuals, jails, prisons, and other custodial institutions must require masks, face 
coverings or face shields within the premises. However, the following specific modifications apply 
within the secure perimeter of the jail, prison, or other custodial institution: 

1. Jails, prisons, and other custodial institutions must require all person entering the secure 
perimeter of the jail to wear a mask, face shield, or face covering when within 6 feet of other 
individuals, if there are no physical barriers between them, with the following exceptions: 
 During scheduled mealtimes when eating or drinking; 
 If a physical or mental condition or disability limits the ability to wear a mask, face covering, or 

face shield; 
 When an order from the Oregon Judicial Department, presiding judge, or local health authority 

provides an exception to the wearing of masks, face coverings or face shields; 
 In a housing unit where all adults in custody have been in quarantine for a minimum period of 

time established by the local health authority after considering CDC and OHA guidelines, 
provided that all staff members wear a N95 filtering face piece or better respiratory protection 
at all times while in the unit; or 

 During an emergency, such as when responding to a spontaneous use of force event, a medical 
emergency, or a suicide attempt in a housing unit. 

2. The jail, prison, or other custodial institution must not charge individuals in custody for masks, 
face coverings or face shields, except in the case of knowing damage or destruction to the mask, 
face covering, or face shield in violation of institution rules.  

3. The jail, prison, or other custodial institution must not charge employees for masks, face coverings 
or face shields. 

B. Meal Times. During any period of time when masks, face coverings or face shields are required 
under this standard, provide adults in custody meals in their cell if possible. If in-cell meals are not 
possible, use appropriate physical distancing for mealtimes within the constraints of the facility.  

C. Physical Distancing Measures. To ensure appropriate physical distancing, correctional facilities 
must implement appropriate physical distancing as required by the rule in locations under their 
control and must do so to the extent their duties allow in other locations. However, based on 
the nature of correctional duties, the physical distancing requirements of the rule do not apply 
to emergency situations or other situations where the safety of involved individuals make 
closer contact necessary.   

https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288K.pdf
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