Oregon OSHA requires employers to report work-related injuries or illnesses that cause the loss of an eye, an amputation or avulsion that includes bone or cartilage loss, in-patient hospitalization, catastrophe, or fatality, including fatalities from heart attacks and motor vehicle accidents. Reporting an incident neither assigns fault nor proves the violation of an Oregon OSHA rule. It also does not establish an employee’s eligibility for workers’ compensation or other benefits.
Report within eight hours
You must report the death of any employee or a catastrophe within eight hours of when it happened or when it was reported to you or your agents. A catastrophe occurs when two or more employees are fatally injured, or three or more employees are admitted to a hospital or clinic as a result of the same incident.
Report within 24 hours
You must report an in-patient hospitalization, loss of an eye, and either an amputation or avulsion that results in bone loss within 24 hours of when it happened or when it was reported to you or your agents.
A staffing agency or host employer must follow the same reporting rules. They should also establish a procedure by which both are informed if a temporary worker is injured.
Do not disturb the scene of a fatality or catastrophe until Oregon OSHA investigates the incident, unless a law enforcement officer tells you to do so, or it is necessary to safely reach victims or to prevent injuries.