Skip to main content Homepage


Topic index


Plain language can describe almost any concept clearly – except Oregon OSHA’s jurisdiction. It’s complicated, and the devil is buried in the details. In fact, it’s easier to explain the kinds of employers that do not fall under Oregon OSHA’s jurisdiction. They include:

  • Independent contractors, sole proprietors, and partnerships that have no workers’ compensation insurance coverage and no employees.
  • Corporations that have an owner as the sole employee and have no workers’ compensation insurance coverage.
  • Corporate family farms that employ only family members.

In addition, Oregon does not have jurisdiction over most maritime operations adjacent to navigable waters, commercial diving activities originating from an object afloat, construction activities on floating vessels in navigable waters, the U.S. Postal Service, U.S. military installations, and tribal and Indian-owned enterprises.

Delve into the details in Oregon OSHA’s Program Directive A-231: Jurisdiction: independent contractors, limited liability corporations (LLCs), partnerships, corporate officers, and corporate family farms.

No items are currently available

No items are currently available

Borrow from the Resource Center

No items are currently available

Watch Online

No items are currently available

Additional Resources


Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how