Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »


Topic index


Plain language can describe almost any concept clearly – except Oregon OSHA’s jurisdiction. It’s complicated, and the devil is buried in the details. In fact, it’s easier to explain the kinds of employers that do not fall under Oregon OSHA’s jurisdiction. They include:

  • Independent contractors, sole proprietors, and partnerships that have no workers’ compensation insurance coverage and no employees.
  • Corporations that have an owner as the sole employee and have no workers’ compensation insurance coverage.
  • Corporate family farms that employ only family members.

In addition, Oregon does not have jurisdiction over most maritime operations adjacent to navigable waters, commercial diving activities originating from an object afloat, construction activities on floating vessels in navigable waters, the U.S. Postal Service, U.S. military installations, and tribal and Indian-owned enterprises.

Delve into the details in Oregon OSHA’s Program Directive A-231: Jurisdiction: independent contractors, limited liability corporations (LLCs), partnerships, corporate officers, and corporate family farms.

  • References
    • Guide to jurisdiction in OSHA, Region 10
      Federal civilian employers are covered by OSHA throughout the four-state region. State, county, municipal and other non-federal public employers are covered by state programs in Washington, Oregon, and Alaska. There is no state program in Idaho, and OSHA's coverage of public employers in Idaho is limited to the federal section; OSHA regulates virtually all private employers in Idaho.
      English  11/27/2018

No items are currently available

No items are currently available

Borrow from the Resource Center

No items are currently available

Watch Online

No items are currently available

Additional Resources