Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »


Topic index


In 1870, there were 173 sawmills in Oregon and throughout much of the 20th century, sawmills were a defining symbol of the state. Oregon has fewer sawmills today; technological improvements have made those remaining more efficient and many mills have retooled to concentrate on getting more value from second- and third-generation timber. As a result, there are fewer work-related injuries in the mills – and the majority of those are sprains and strains caused by overexertion.

Oregon OSHA’s safety requirements for sawmills cover log and lumber handling, sawing, trimming, and planing; waste disposal; dry kilns; finishing; shipping; storage; yard equipment; and the power tools used for the work.

No items are currently available

No items are currently available

Borrow from the Resource Center

No items are currently available

Watch Online

No items are currently available

Additional Resources