Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »


Overview of the citation process

If Oregon OSHA concludes from an inspection that a rule or order was violated, a citation will be issued to the employer. (437-001-0205)

Request an appeal or extension, or make a payment


Employer who receives a citation

Must: (437-001-0215)

  • Promptly post the citation, and any amendments or withdrawals, where employees can see it for 3 days or until all violations are corrected, whichever is longer.
  • Correct each violation by the date ordered (abatement date), even if an appeal is requested.
  • Send Oregon OSHA the completed Letter of Corrective Action of the action(s) taken to correct each cited violation (437-001-0231).
  • Pay the penalty within 20 days of the citation order becoming final. Citation orders become final 30 days after received, unless an appeal is requested.

May: (437-001-0240 and 437-001-0255)

  • Request an extension of the date for correcting a violation (more details)
  • Request an appeal of any part of a citation or the entire citation (more details)
  • Request an informal conference (more details)

Employees of an employer who receives a citation may:


For more detail

See also

Posting requirements

Contested citations and penalties - Workers' Compensation Board

Inspections and citations are on Federal OSHA's website

Citation penalties

Payments are accepted by mail and online.

All penalties are due when the citation becomes a final order. If payment is not received within 20 days after the order becomes final, it may be filed as a judgment (ORS 654.086(3)).

A citation becomes a final order 30 days after the employer receives the citation, unless an appeal is filed.

Mail payments to:

Department of Consumer and Business Services, Fiscal Services Section
PO Box 14610
Salem, OR 97309-0445

Include the inspection number and copy of invoice with mailed payments.


Note: Partial or incomplete forms can not be considered as filing an appeal. All forms must be completed within 30 days from receiving the citation to be considered.